Acqua Dive

Acqua Dive

Maluay, Zamboanguita, Negros Oriental 6218 Philippines
Enjoying the diving.
Traveler (397)
Don't want to dive? Hang out by the pool!
Pool & Beach (74)
Dining (48)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#1 of 3 hotels in Zamboanguita
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Acqua Dive is a boutique resort dedicated to scuba diving and related activities in Apo Island, Dauin and Zamboanguita. Apo Island is a short 20 minute boat ride away, and Dumaguete is just up the road approximately 30-40 min by private vehicle. Acqua Dive is perfectly located for diving at Apo Island, one of the Philippine's most highly rated and oldest marine sanctuaries, as well as Dauin and Zamboanguita noted for their impressive muck diving opportunities. We have guaranteed daily trips to Apo Island for both diving and snorkelling tours. Outside guests are welcome to join our tours. Acqua Dive is privileged to have one of the most highly rated muck dives as our house reef. We also believe in comfort and good food, so in between dives or on your rest days you won't be left wanting. We have two boats dedicated to diving and snorkeling tours ensuring comfort and regular availability.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Diving
Airport transportation
Massage
Secured parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Hiking
Snorkeling
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Private check-in / check-out
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, Korean

Location

Maluay, Zamboanguita, Negros Oriental 6218 Philippines
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 51 out of 100
51
Dumaguete Airport
25.1 km
See all flights
Dipolog Airport
60.2 km
See all flights
347Reviews9Q+A52Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 324
  • 20
  • 2
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Ted G wrote a review Jan 2020
Adelaide, Australia
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Acqua Dive is operated by Australian Sean Stone and his Korean wife Chae . They are a lovely couple and they run a wonderful 7 bedroom , Dive Resort , with great swimming pool , a very well managed diving operation with their own dive boat running daily trips from their beach side location out to Apo Island only 30 -40 minutes away .They also have a very good restaurant , and a well stocked bar , and after a day of diving our party of 6 would enjoy a few drinks relaxing around the swimming pool , before dinner , and then a good night's sleep in the very well furnished , en - suite rooms .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen Z wrote a review Jan 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family of four joined two day trips to Apo island with Acqua Dive and found the services to be good value and flexible. Other resorts may charge a day rate for diving to Apo, Acqua dive had the per dive option which suited me who wanted just two dives. The location of the resort is most direct to Apo and the trips took around 25 mins each way on their nice boat. The dive team were so sweet and helpful to make our trips seamless. Lunch boxes were yummy too. Thanks for the great time Acqua Dive!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
lisasensei wrote a review Jan 2020
Wiesbaden, Germany
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed with Acqua Dive from December 28- Jan 1. My husband and I completed our advanced open water certificate with diving instructor: Iris. She was a fabulous teacher and we really enjoyed our class. We also appreciated how efficient Acqua Dive was with contacting PADI regarding our certificate. We had issues with our other certificate (open water dive that we got in Palau) because the other company we used in Palau didn’t follow through with submitting it on time, so AcquaDive contacted the company and PADI for us to make sure we were in the system! That was very kind and I liked that they “took care of us.” Sean, the owner (manager?), was super nice and friendly. He was always walking around and asking how we were doing. He was also extremely helpful with answering our emails/questions. He even assisted with helping us arrange for our car transport.

We did several dives at Apo Island. The boat that Acqua Dive owns is really nice. Spacious, freshly painted, and lots of seating. The other staff members on the boat worked so hard for us. You should see them load and unload the boat! There is no dock, so prepare to get wet before you do your excursion because you have to walk/swim to the boat depending on low/hide tide. All those cylinders and each person’s crate is carried out and back each day. In addition, the staff assisted with helping us put on/takeoff our equipment, anchoring the boat to buoys, provided us with towels, offered tea/coffee and bananas after the first dive. They also served us our bento boxes (or you can order sandwiches instead) The Acqua Dive House reef was also a nice surprise. Apo Island was beautiful, but the house reef was good for muck diving. We did our night dive at the house reef.

The food at Acqua Dive was yummy. Kitchen staff works like a well-oiled machine. Be sure to pre-order and give them a time that you want to eat! They were always punctual with the meals and the ingredients were all local/fresh.

The rooms at Acqua Dive were spacious and clean. The air conditioning worked and I liked how they had a drying rack on our deck. The bathrooms were slightly dated, but again the entire place is very clean so it wasnt a big deal for us. Free water, tea, and coffee was available throughout the day. The grounds are well groomed and maintained. I saw security around frequently and the gate is closed at nighttime to ensure our safety. Oh and the sunrises were epic each morning. (No filters needed)

Thank you Acqua Dive! We will recommend you to all our friends!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aynlslrn24 wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I only joined their day tour at Apo Island but the boat crew are very accommodating and patient. One of their crew members, swam with me for an hour just to find some sea turtles and he also took good photos and videos for my trip! The boat is big and comfortable. Their day tour package is also worth every penny. It already includes everything you need for your excursion. Even though I didn't stay on their resort, I find it clean, posh and peaceful; a perfect place to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ana A wrote a review Jan 2020
Brussels, Belgium
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I did a day trip to dive in Apo Island and didn't stay in the property.
The experience was extremely positive and Iris, the dive master, was great and super patient. I was alone and hadn't dove for a while, but she took the time ro review everything with me and to help me when I had a panic attack during one of the dives.
It was overall a lovely day, the diving group was small and the lunch provided was super good.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Elle M wrote a review Sep 2018
San Francisco, California
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We came here only for one night on our way to Apo Island (as the coastguard won’t let you cross at night) but it far exceeded my expectations.
The staff is so friendly, the rooms are so clean, beds are comfortable, food is DELICIOUS.
Also, the grounds are gorgeous! They did an excellent job paying attention to the details.
While we didn’t dive here, I can safely say that this is a great, comfortable place to stay while on a diving trip.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
William M wrote a review Mar 2016
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff staff are poorly trained, very inexperienced, and have no idea how to organize a safe dive excursion. The briefings were very poor, and there is no basic dive safety like dive logs. The hotel staff were not happy and this [place felt uncomfortable to be there.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sean S, Owner at Acqua Dive
Responded Mar 11, 2016
Hello William, We were absolutely devastated to see your review as we pride ourselves on offering professional and personalized diving services at Acqua Dive. Unfortunately you have not given us much to go on with your review, and we have checked all profiles for the period you have mentioned you stayed and cannot find any guests profile that may fit yours. Given just how bad your experience seems to have been, we were surprised that you might not have raised some of these issues while you were staying here? We are just wondering if in fact you have posted in the correct establishment profile? Our staff are generally rated as one of our greatest assets, so it is very hard to understand how we could have so underachieved during the period you stayed. We also have great pride in our diving operation with excellent Scubapro rental equipment serviced regularly, our own (very new) 65ft dive boat with very experienced crew from the area and dive masters who are generally rated very well by others on this site and directly to us in our feedback requests, hence the reason they continue to work for us. We have sent you a direct message to gather more feedback and are yet to hear from you, we would very much appreciate more clarification on your experience and possibly an update that you have in fact ranked the correct establishment? We will continue to investigate on our end as thoroughly as we can, because this is absolutely not the type of experience we have ever had guests tell us about, or would ever want to have a guest experience with us. Kind regards, The Acqua Dive Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Edlene C wrote a review Sep 2018
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a tour with Flying Fish Hostel in Dumaguete (where we stayed for 2 nights) and had our Apo Island Day tour with Acqua Dive. It was a great experience from the moment we walked in - everybody was very accommodating and helpful, the resort was very clean and pleasant. Everything was just so organized. I was expecting a smaller boat since there were only 4 of us joining the tour, but I was surprised we had a big boat with more than 2 boat men and crew - made us feel much safer. All of the essentials were provided without extra fees - from water shoes to snorkeling equipment and fins (which I tried and did not work for me, I just didn't know how to use it :D)! Unlimited coffee and tea (prepared and served by the crew, which was awesome!) and bananas; lunch was also included. You'll never go hungry with Acqua Dive. During the tour, the crew never let us feel to hurry up (which usually happens to group tours), but instead encouraged us to explore as much as we wanted on every spot. After the tour, there were fresh towels prepared for us and so it saved us from taking wet towels with us back to the hostel. We were also offered to have a dip in the pool while waiting for our ride back to the hostel (although we did not take a dip for some reason). We instead just walked around the garden, a very pretty one, to relax a bit from the trip. Excellent service!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ae_Cha890 wrote a review Jun 2015
Brunei Darussalam
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A truly beautiful resort with service second to none. The landscape of the resort is simply AMAZING with Apo Island across (25-30mins direct boat ride) and a beautiful garden surrounding its landscape, what more can you ask for a dive holiday!!! Food was delicious. The staffs were super helpful at all times. They even made sure everyone's asleep before they return home.

Host themselves are divers, i believe they have full filled every divers' needs. No doubt about that. Good spotters as well. They have lots of diving experience and great knowledge about marine life. Acqua Dive is simply the best diving experience you'll get at Zamboanguita. Their house reef is amazing (7 frogfish in 1 dive). You can also go to Oslob and Sumilon island from here.(30min van ride to the pier and another 45min boat ride to a guaranteed whale shark dive)

I was referred to this resort by a diver friend, Tim Ho (scubatim). He himself came along to this trip. I like to thank sean and chae for being a great host and their amazing staff for making our dive trip a very memorable one. Lastly but not least, best swimming pool ever!!!! Dip in to wear your wet suit and dip in after a long day of diving, order your cocktails or beer straight from the pool!!! I m already planning another dive trip back for 2016. So, why wait any longer, you've just found an amazing place!!!

Our stay: 26th-31st May 2015. (sea was calm, extremely HOT, no wind and no rain at all)

This review is based on my own experience and is my genuine opinion, and that I have no personal or business relationship with Acqua Dive and have not been offered any incentive or payment originating from Acqua Dive.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
bill f wrote a review Nov 2019
Havelock, North Carolina
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The resort and dive experience was awesome. Esmael was a highly professional dive master. He was extremely helpful, and knowledgeable, and he could find so many interesting, small creatures. The boat crew helped me (a senior citizen) with my gear before I got off the ladder by taking BCD, tanks and weights so I did not have to lug them to seat. Hotel cuisine was delicious and always prompt. The staff was so friendly and positive. The Apo Island dive venue was unbelievable- flamboyant underwater experience- a sensory experience not to be missed. Room was clean, quiet, and spacious. Thanks you Chae, and everyone, for the best dive vacation I could have hoped for!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Best rooms are upstairs with ocean view & balcony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
henry n asked a question Jan 2019
Edmonton, Canada19 contributions10 helpful votes
how far is Acqua dive to malatapaya warf? How many mins walking? whats the distance?
Answer from Sean S
Manila, Philippines22 contributions17 helpful votes
It’s about 5min walk
Karen V asked a question Oct 2018
Manila, Philippines3 contributions2 helpful votes
How far is this place from the city? Using a private car, how many hours drive? Thanks.
Answer from Brendan M
Cork, Ireland24 contributions11 helpful votes
A taxi or 3 wheeker will get you to Aqua Dive cheaply and in less than an hour as the other replies say.
Answer from Marcy S
Calgary, Canada24 contributions10 helpful votes
They have an excellent dive coordinator/instructor from Australia. I am a Dive Master from Canada and watched a session with a Discover Scuba client in the pool and was very impressed with how professional they were. They do all levels of certifications and based on what I observed it would be an excellent place to get certified.
Answer from Sean S
7 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi Princess, the day pass is P600 consumable.
karenjojo wrote a tip Nov 2019
Hong Kong, China44 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"I enjoy to stay at "Seahorse"' one of the cheapest room type"
Read full review
bill f wrote a tip Nov 2019
Havelock, North Carolina12 contributions23 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best rooms are upstairs with ocean view & balcony"
Read full review
Ruud v wrote a tip Mar 2019
Cebu City, Philippines45 contributions21 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view and garden view available. Most rooms are upstairs bt there are several on ground floor with direct access to pool area."
Read full review
Renee B wrote a tip Jan 2019
Singapore River, Singapore7 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The Turtle Room or Barracuda room for sure"
Read full review
jenniehh wrote a tip Jan 2019
Hong Kong, China8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed at the room on second floor facing the sea, it was spacious and quiet."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Zamboanguita area.
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasNegros IslandNegros OrientalZamboanguita
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ACQUA DIVE - Hotel Reviews (Zamboanguita, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Acqua Dive
Which popular attractions are close to Acqua Dive?
Nearby attractions include Malatapay Market (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Acqua Dive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Acqua Dive?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Acqua Dive?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Acqua Dive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Thalatta Restaurant, White Chocolate Hills Restaurant, and Cafe Tropika.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Acqua Dive?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Acqua Dive have airport transportation?
Yes, Acqua Dive offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Acqua Dive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Korean, and Filipino.
Does Acqua Dive have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Zamboanguita HotelsZamboanguita Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Zamboanguita
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars