Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort

Carretera Costera Norte Km 2.5, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
Traveler (889)
Infinity pool
Pool & Beach (260)
Deluxe Oceanfront King
Room & Suite (198)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#21 of 57 hotels in Cozumel
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Oceanfront resort located on the North side of Cozumel Island, just 10 minutes away from downtown. Hosting 140 bright and spacious rooms with wonderful landscapes, outlooking the beautiful Caribbean Sea or the exotic jungle. As we stand on top of coral reef formations, snorkeling and diving experiences are just one jump away. Introducing the new restaurant Amaryllis Chef's Choices Resto with a beautiful oceanfront setting, and a terrace with stunning views of the Caribbean Sea is open from 8 am to 4 pm, offering a wide variety of Mexican and international dishes, all made with fresh, high-quality ingredients. Raúl and his team will alleviate all the tensions with their magical body therapies at Spa Coral. Our commitment to the community and the Planet makes us follow positive environmental practices and promote conservancy programs to reduce human impact. We follow very strict protocols about Covid-19 following CDC's and WTTC's guidelines.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Wifi
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Infinity pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Taxi service
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Karaoke
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Currency exchange
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Express check-in / check-out
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Separate dining area
Separate living room
Telephone
Bottled water
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
City view
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Carretera Costera Norte Km 2.5, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
Name/address in local language
1,361Review67Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 673
  • 444
  • 135
  • 62
  • 47
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ALadyNCal wrote a review Aug 2021
Laguna Niguel, CA
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel was perfect for us and exceeded our expectations. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms and entire property very clean, A/C very cold, excellent water pressure, one bedroom suite was very roomy with an amazing ocean view (I included several pics). Kitchen was dated but perfectly usable. Bedroom large with lots of closet space. Beds on the firm side but we got used to it. They asked us to schedule cleanings but it wasn’t a hassle and you could have daily cleaning if you wanted. We worried about the Wi-Fi and I inquired before booking. In 12 days we had a few hours a couple times that it was not working but it was fine 95% of the time in our room. Infinity pool is beautiful and the perfect temperature, we also enjoyed the faux sandy beach area. Plus you can snorkel or swim in the ocean out front and the sea temp was 84 while we were there. Lots of lounge chairs with umbrellas and showers and sinks to rinse everything off. You can have drinks or lunch at the bar near the pool which is shaded. The staff always wore masks and try their best to keep everyone as safe as possible. There's an ice machine, but if it's empty, the front desk will get ice for you. The main restaurant is still only open for breakfast / lunch, but Hotel B is two buildings down and theirs is open for dinner. Otherwise, town is a short taxi ride that costs about $5 or there's an App that let's you order food delivered from many restaurants. We met lots of people who have been coming to the CP for years. We came for diving and this was our first stay on Cozumel and were very pleased with the CP. We dove with the on-site dive shop but there are many dive ops that will pick you up at the CP dock. One small criticism is the restaurant opens at 8am but the dive boat leaves at 8:30 so divers are unable to have breakfast. Some things still aren’t open at the hotel so inquire before you go. They also price match. I found a great online rate for our one bedroom suite and emailed them. They matched it so I booked direct with the hotel. They do currency exchange at the front desk but often doesn't have pesos available. Every chance we had, we got pesos from the ATMs. Paying the taxis, restaurants and the dive shop in pesos gave us the best exchange rate and value all around. We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the CP and hope to return. It was so hard to leave that stunning view.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
eh1777 wrote a review Jul 2022
Boulder, Colorado
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the second time I’ve stayed here and the view is great, the staff friendly, and well kept grounds, good small dive shop on site, all would be four stars for me but the first night the noise was awful. The TV and people in the room next door talking and coughing sounded like they were in my room with me. I had to stuff a towel under the adjoining door which didn’t help much. And Hotel B next door blasted music at their pool till midnight when like the grand finale in a fireworks show they actually turned it up at the end. So not much sleep that first night. And every night the AC is so loud all the time it’s either be hot or deal with it. Bring earplugs.

Diving during mornings with Pepe Scuba was good. But their choice of sites was off one day they took us to a shallow spot with not much to see, weird considering this is one of best reefs in the world. The next day they were all booked up so I had to get another operator to come get me, Salty Endeavors, who picked me up at the coral princess pier. So much better, took us to Palancar Caves. Used them in previous cozumel trip and they are the best. Did get a good night dive in with Pepe Scuba though with several octopi which was fun.

The view from the room is so great, I was on 4th floor and you look over the pool and man made beach at ocean all the way to horizon. Turquoise water. And since it is on west side of island and beach is raised there was no sargassum that plagued playa del carmen.

Bad news was they won’t let you pay cash and you must charge all meals and drinks to room. This seems a way to scam guests since the bill was padded with many unrecognizable charges at checkout, and with a bill all in spanish there was no way to figure it out, Multiple unrecognizable charges plus some kind of fees and taxes that aren’t there when you sign at restaurant and bar. Significant add ons. I would’ve had to compare the receipts to the bill. I didn’t argue and paid it just to get away but that ended stay on a bad note. Management shouldn’t do that as clipping guests detracts from an otherwise great place at a good price.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Pay for ocean front and avoid rooms with adjoining doors due to noise.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Leslee H wrote a review Jan 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff is amazing & look after all your needs. View is incredible. Pool is very warm. Our room was right above the restaurant, however,and was very noisy. Restaurant staff arrive at 6 am and have the music playing(often loudly) from 6 am until they close at 11 pm. New Year's Eve party was so loud (until 2 am)that we couldn't sleep even with our patio door closed and the air conditioning on. Not only that but if you didn't buy a $75 US ticket per person to go to this function, the restaurant and bars were closed so you had no service at all. When we complained to Juan, the manager, he said there was nothing he could do and wasn't willing to try to do anything to appease us. An epic fail for a manager. Aside from Juan all else was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andrew P wrote a review Jul 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I are on our 3rd day of 6, and are enjoying the relaxed vibe here at Coral Princess. Our 2nd floor room faces the ocean, beautiful views across the channel, especially the vibrant Cozumel sunsets. The infinity pool is large and clean, the water temp is perfect (love the iridescent sky blue tiles). You get fresh beach towels upon request at the front desk. Service has been very good, from reception, to room, to the restaurant. The menus for breakfast and lunch are somewhat limited but the food and presentation is good, prices reasonable. It’s actually good dinner is closed… forces you to go into town and sample different restaurants. Taxi to Hemingway Lounge (close, great ambience there on the 2nd floor, bar downstairs begins playing dance beats at 9pm) for dinner was $6 U.S. each way. The rocky shore out front offers some quality snorkeling, angelfish, parrotfish, etc, just climb down the ladder and you’re good. The in-house Pepe’s dive shop boat departs from there.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John L wrote a review Nov 2021
Sydney, Australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Has used Covid as an excuse to cancel everything, Spa closed, Gym closed, (well full of boxes) the pool is small and cold, (although pictures suggest otherwise). What facilities exist include only pay options, such as, coffee, tea, water in the room! All add up to 1 star accommodation.

Covid safe practice includes a strange UV/chlorine dioxide gate that guests are forced to face ID themselves on and stand in the poisonous vapours for 3 minutes.

Meanwhile room doors have 1 cm air gaps to ensure any airborne pathogen will pass into the room.

One temperature Aircon (cold), old beds.

Outside a nice dive spot with live reef and colourful fish, bring goggles.

Food available from 8-4 no evening meal

About 40 minute walk to town, no public transport is available and fixed priced taxis (US$5) rare at night when leaving the property, plentiful in town.

On street parking available

The positives
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Take food, wine/grog coffee and cutlery,
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
richard c wrote a review Jul 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Did not deliver what was promised. My WiFi never worked correctly. My phone which I asked the front desk to fix 3 times never got fixed . Hung the room service placard on door when I needed it cleaned and it only happened once in 4 nights even after a request or two. Had a friend stop by so we could have a drink or two at the pool side Bar and they wouldn’t let him in. I was told it was a policy and I asked to see it and they could never show me a copy of the policy on the contract or on the website. Nice employees but a Useless management. There was nothing on the website stating that the restaurants and all the bars weren’t operating at normal hours or not open at all.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
morganatravels wrote a review Dec 2021
Kentucky
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff at Coral Princess is one of its' major attributes. Many have been there for years and remember returning customers. But, they also treat the new customers as if they'd been part of the place for years. The location is north of the main town (about 15 minute walk , this area is less congested than the southern portion. If you have an ocean view unit the view is spectacular. It provides gorgeous sunset views and the beauty of the ocean can't be beat. The jungle view faces the road, so the sounds of trucks, cars etc can be heard 24/7. If you are a light sleeper avoid the jungle rooms. That said, it's truly no worse than a downtown hotel in most major cities. The rooms are large, and have lots of storage. Many are dated, so if that's an issue... Under current times, the main restaurant stops serving mid afternoon. Service around the pool area seemed to change during the 2 weeks we were there, so not sure if it's becoming more available as the place fills or ??? There's an area by the ocean where sand was brought in, but not a true beach. There's a boat dock in front (where the onsite dive shop leaves from) and some beautiful snorkeling can be accessed from there as well. Pepe's Scuba is located on the property and as an avid diver it's one of my favorite reasons for returning to the Coral Princess as often as I can. There are many positives about the Coral Princess.

IT IS NOT a party hotel, no special play areas for small children, no separate pool for adults only, it has limited facilities to assist with disabilities. Also be aware that the flooring in common areas can be super slippery when wet (ie heavy rains), the staff will immediately begin mopping it, but during rain times that can be a losing battle.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Date of stay: November 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Richard G wrote a review Jan 2020
Fayetteville, Arkansas
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have never been to Cozumel so wasnt sure about the area when booking the hotel. It's about a mile walk into downtown on a safe sidewalk. The hotel was quiet and had a lot of storage so you didnt have to live out of your suitcase. The restaurant food was good and had a different menu for dinner. Very clean and staff service was there for anything you need. They also have a dive wash station if you dive, and Pepe scuba had excellent service. I will book again.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rebeckirsch wrote a review Jan 2021
Evergreen, Colorado
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second stay at the wonderful Coral Princess Hotel on Cozumel. What brings us back is the staff! They've been there for years and will do anything to help you feel welcome and comfortable. During this time of Covid, I feel they've done everything possible to make you feel safe. Rooms are spotless (albeit dated) but so spacious. We love the comfortable bed, the full kitchen (with King Suite) and incredible water pressure in the shower! Our view from our balcony is expansive and a great place to watch the sun set each night. Christmas eve dinner produced the most attentive service and one of the best meals we had while on Cozumel. Please take advantage of the delicious meals they make at the restaurant. Some things were different in this stay....a UV light box in the lobby (an extra effort to be cautious during Covid) no open bar outdoors by the pool (drinks and food can be ordered by the attentive staff) and workout room closed. Snorkeling is really good and you can walk in right by the pool! Cab fare is about $5 into San Miguel, but we often just walk! It's about a mile. We will most definitely be back. Such a great value and our happy place on Cozumel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Hotel restaurant is great! Walk to town. King Suite is worth the view and kitchen is nice as well!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Travel Lover wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a 10 day stay booked (which I've done every year for many years) but had to cancel my trip due to travel restrictions for Coronavirus (COVID-19). I understand they can't issue a refund but I asked for a full, or even partial, voucher so I could stay there another time. They refused. Said it was a non refundable room and they were completely unwilling to work with me or make any sort of exception, even with a global pandemic that shut down most flights & borders & eventually this hotel as well. Worst customer service I've ever experienced from a man, quite ironically, named Angel.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Coral Princess, Atención al huésped/Recepción at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort
Responded Oct 15, 2020
Dear customer, you are absolutely right about this. We sincerely apologize for our mistake. In our defense, in March we didn't know how bad things were going to be, we didn't know how to handle it and certainly anyone did. We suddenly had to shut down and run home, literally. Please accept our most sincere apologies and hope you could give us another chance in a near future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from James K
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica8 contributions3 helpful votes
I was at the Coral Princess in July 2021. We had made appointments at San Miguel Hospital on Calle 6 N for our Covid tests but ended up getting it done at the hotel. A "lab technician" type person came to our room and administered the tests and I recall that the cost was about $35 US each. The results were available at the front desk later that day, if I recall correctly. When we were on the island in November, 2021 we were staying about one block from San Miguel Hospital so we actually did get the tests done there and it was approximately $27 US each and we returned a couple of hours later to get printed test results, but they will also send the results to your phone. Considering that taxi fare was about 80 pesos each way it turned out to be only a couple of dollars more to have it done at the Coral Princess.
Erik B asked a question Jun 2021
Sacramento, California, United States56 contributions8 helpful votes
How do the bike rentals work? Can you rent by the week? price?
Karen B asked a question Sep 2020
Plano, Texas3 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi, can you share any packages or specials you have for daily diving when staying for a week?
Answer from WIlliam E
Muskegon, Michigan109 contributions82 helpful votes
They have multiple dive packages with the cost per dive reduced with the more dives you take. Recognize that the dive shop, Pepes is not owned by the hotel.
juliahurt05 asked a question Aug 2020
Winston Salem, North Carolina2 contributions2 helpful votes
Does the resort have an all-inclusive option?
Answer from James K
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica8 contributions3 helpful votes
I realize that this is a rather old question but we were there in July, 2021 and the restaurant was closed due to the pandemic so I would suggest renting a suite and stock up with groceries at Mega or Chedraui and plan on cooking. When we were there in November, 2021 the restaurant was open, but only part of the time (breakfast and lunch, I think) and the staff was gone shortly after 3:00 pm. They were serving some limited choices in the little outdoor area next to the pool. Since we were doing a time-share exchange I have no idea if they ever offered an all-inclusive package, but I was under the impression that they did not. In any case, with the pandemic things may change quickly so calling the hotel is probably your best bet.
Cheri Davis wrote a tip Jun 2024
Colorado403 contributions80 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is parking for rental vehicles "
Read full review
Gabriela R wrote a tip Apr 2024
8 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"DO NOT STAY THERE!!!"
Read full review
Sparklejammer wrote a tip Apr 2024
Calgary, Canada343 contributions131 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a mini fridge in your room. Take your own coffee for machine. "
Read full review
Nathalie N wrote a tip Aug 2023
Chesapeake, Virginia579 contributions91 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking avail right outside, has scuba Pepe dive shop in hotel (too pricey in my opinion), nice pool. Breakfast not worth it."
Read full review
tucson2403 wrote a tip Jun 2023
Tucson, Arizona182 contributions79 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't pay the extra room rate for inclusive breakfast. It is only fruit and some bread. Not worth the extra price."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cozumel area.
PRICE RANGE
₱6,119 - ₱8,974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
coral princess hotel and resort, coral princess hotel cozumel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
140
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CORAL PRINCESS HOTEL & DIVE RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cozumel, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Nearby attractions include Cozumel Bar Hop (4.3 km), Milano Diamond Gallery (2.8 km), and Havana Bob's Cuban Cigars (2.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a fitness centre.
Which room amenities are available at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ix Kool, Three Amigos, and Margaritaville Cozumel.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre and an infinity pool during their stay.
Does Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Are there any historical sites close to Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site (3.6 km).
Does Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All Cozumel HotelsCozumel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CozumelHotels near Coral Princess Hotel & Dive Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars