We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant

Save
Share
Old Military Road, Meikleour PH2 6EB Scotland
Lowest prices for your stay
$107
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/05/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$108
Travelocity$107
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (235)
Dining (47)
Room & Suite (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
The Meikleour Arms is a boutique country hotel in Perthshire at the heart of Meikleour Estate, renowned for one of the best salmon fishing beats in Scotland and spectacular woodlands. With 11 stylish bedrooms and 5 luxurious family cottages we can welcome up to 40 guests. Completely renovated to high standards in 2017, all hotel bedrooms have superking beds (some with four-poster), luxurious marble bathrooms (Superior Rooms have separate walk-in shower as well as bath) and top of the range hypoallergenic bedding and toiletries. Dogs are welcome free of charge in all family cottages and in our downstairs bedrooms which have wooden floor. Our award winning restaurant offers beautiful country food using the produce of our land. We are only a short distance away from Perth, Scone, Blairgowrie, and Dunkeld. The Meikleour Arms is your ideal accommodation for a sporting holiday in Perthshire or a lovely family break in the country.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Hiking
Horseback riding
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Darts
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Desk
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Clothes rack
Iron
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French
634Reviews5Q+A88Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 457
  • 126
  • 28
  • 12
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Jane_fulton wrote a review Jan 2023
Dundee, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
We booked to come for food and stay over after having had a good stay in early December. We were unclear as to whether the check in was 1530 or 1600 so went for a drive and arrived at 1625. When we checked in we were told that it was extra busy the next morning — which was a Sunday — and we could breakfast at 0700, 0715 or 0800. For a relaxing week d stay, this was not really what we were expecting. The room — Mercer — was comfortable, clean and well appointed but so close to the reception that you can literally hear every single word spoken. Food was lovely and it is a comfortable place but sadly not the relaxing weekend stay we needed. We won’t return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Jane, I am very sorry to hear that your experience was not relaxing and I would like to apologise. Our guests are welcome to have our cooked breakfast whenever they wish, the breakfast service is of course busier at times. I am also terribly sorry for the noise in the corridors that morning, with several parties departing at the same time. It is a pity as we had great pleasure of welcoming you. With bet wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TFANDDNG wrote a review Jan 2023
8 contributions7 helpful votes
We spent 3 days at Meikleour Arms over the New Year period and cannot recommend the place highly enough. Our whole stay was very enjoyable from start to finish, from the excellent food (especially the kedgeree for breakfast!), the very relaxing & comfortable lounge area and the huge comfy bed and excellent shower in our room. The hotel was also nice & warm and very clean throughout our stay which helped make our stay so good. A special mention has to go the staff, in particular in the bar/restaurant area who were all very relaxed and pleasant at all times and looked after us very well. Also the housekeeping staff who we never saw but they very quickly & efficiently cleaned our room each day when we were having breakfast. Thanks again to everyone at Meikleour for a great time over New Year- we will definitely be returning, hopefully soon!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Rhona M wrote a review Jan 2023
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom19 contributions27 helpful votes
The staff were very helpful and although very busy when we arrived we didn’t have to wait to be served. Menu choices were varied with an additional range of specials. Good mix of dishes. Food was excellent. Overall we really enjoyed our evening and will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
nursey14 wrote a review Jan 2023
Edinburgh, United Kingdom137 contributions113 helpful votes
+1
We recently spent 2 nights in one of the stables cottages with our 2 dogs. What was good? - Cottage was spotlessly clean - Beds were comfortable - Shower was powerful and plenty of hot water - Decent sized towels, not the tiny ones often used in hotels - Real fire with plenty of fire wood and kindling - Enclosed garden for the dogs - Great walks on our doorstep - Helpful and friendly staff - Very dog friendly, we appreciate being able to bring our old boy with us, including into the bar What could be better? - The lounge could benefit from an extra armchair for comfort - The tv was so small it was quite comical - More kitchen essentials would have been appreciated, extra bin bags and an antibac/surface spray for eg - Door mats for after muddy walks - Breakfast which was included in the price, was only available in the hotel. We were offered a table at 8:15am which unfortunately was a little early for us on New Years Day, so we had to miss out. Perhaps a continental option, that could be dropped off at the cottages, could be considered? One thing we were disappointed by was the fixed price hogmanay menu. We had initially booked a table but received an email from the hotel with the menu, stating it was £85pp. We felt this was just a little expensive and meant that we had to cancel our reservation, which is a real shame. For 4 people including drinks, the bill probably wouldn’t have been far off £400. Unless the restaurant is regularly fully booked, then perhaps this is something to consider? It was fairly empty on New Year’s Day when we visited for drinks, which is a real shame because it has such potential. Despite this we did have a fantastic couple of nights and plan to return when the days are a little longer, so we can make the most of our time. I hope the hotel sees this as constructive feedback, not criticism, as it really is a fantastic place to stay and with a few tweaks could be exceptional. If you are looking for upmarket, dog friendly accommodation then this is it! Thanks Meikleour, we’ll be back!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Jules wrote a review Jan 2023
Scotland, United Kingdom68 contributions92 helpful votes
2nd visit to cottage. Stayed 2 nights in walled garden cottage no1. Couldn't fault. Friendly housekeeping staff. Breakfast excellent. Ate in hotel on both nights, attentive staff, cosy atmosphere. Would recommend & return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review. we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely time. With many thanks Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Megan J wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions6 helpful votes
A party was going on until after 1am in a room below us which was extremely loud. When I went down to locate a member of staff to request my mother and I be moved rooms, none could be found. The next morning when I made my complaint regarding my nights stay to a member of staff on reception I was told to email the manager... 5 days later Laura responded suggesting on my next stay I should "ask for a quiet room". I've never had to request a quiet room when booking a 4* hotel before. Poor customer service due to no staff being present when I required assistance and the managers almost laughable response to my written complaint. The restaurant staff were friendly and attentive, but the meal was average quality and 3 pieces of gem lettuce and a small ration of mixed leafs is £3.95. Do not spend your hard earned money at this establishment. My mum and I left feeling tried and disappointed - I've had better nights sleep in hostels.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear Ms Jamieson, thank you for contacting us, I have just replied to you on Google where you left the same review.I am terribly sorry for the noise you experienced at the inn during to an inconsiderate group (all our rooms were full). The night porter was very much dealing with the individuals at 1am (this is maybe why you could not find him) and i believe he succeeded although you were woken up. We are a country inn and our 19th century building although fully renovated does not have the same sound proofing quality as a reset purpose built hotel. We close our bar at 11pm if not earlier and in the vast majority of the time our clientele is quiet and respectful. On that December night, some were not. Regarding the price of the salad it is in line with other local establishments. We use local small producers and for example growing salads when it is minus 8 outside (as it is while I am writing to you) means they have to heat their polytunnels... . As the owner I am very sad and disappointed that you had a bad experience at the Meikleour Arms, there were unfortunate circumstances which didn't help but that does not make things better and I understand your disappointment and once again would like to apologise. With best wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
laura m wrote a review Nov 2022
Edinburgh4 contributions
We stayed in the newly refurbished stables, Absolutely beautiful would truly recommend, the place is pristine and done up-to a very high standard. The surrounding areas are lovely with plenty of walks. We had dinner and breakfast in the Meikleour arms hotel. There was plenty of choice on the menu it was really lovely. I have nothing negative. Just great
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are so glad you had an excellent stay and enjoyed our country food. With very best wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Chris H wrote a review Nov 2022
Aberdeen, UK25 contributions28 helpful votes
Our Gang of ten friends met at the hotel to celebrate my 70th birthday. Our rooms in the main hotel building were all memorable - ours had an extremely comfortable 4-poster bed, beautiful decor, spacious bath and shower room (with a powerful and hot shower!), generous selection of teas and coffees (with tasty shortbread biscuits baked in the hotel kitchen) and a fine decanter of sherry. We pre-booked the ten-seater private dining room for a superb a la carte dinner, and enjoyed breakfast in the enchanting "key" room. All of the food was very tasty, very well cooked & presented, and the portions were very generous. The bar had a wide selection of beers, wines and spirits, and the residents lounge was spacious with comfortable settees and welcoming log fire. Best of all we loved the staff, who were all courteous, friendly, helpful and always willing to help. We will definitely return!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Your review went straight to our heart, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so glad you had a wonderful time it was an absolute pleasure to serve you. We would love to have the pleasure of celebrating with you again. With best wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
E C wrote a review Nov 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
The rooms were very comfortable, newly decorated and clean but bizarrely no anti slip bath mats which was a big oversight in a shower over a bath. Lots of cobwebs in higher points in public areas. The dining room was a huge disappointment for a hotel pertaining to be a boutique hotel. No game on the menu, (very disappointing for a Perthshire hotel), items unavailable which we weren’t informed about until after we’d made our choices so had to re select. Service was poor with only 4 out of 5 dishes being served for each course meaning one guest had a long wait while their meal was then cooked. Breakfast was very average. I’d describe the food as pub grub and definitely not the standard we’d expected. Very very disappointed for our special occasion.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear that you found the room comfortable and I am surprised that there was no anti slip bath mat as there should be one rolled on the little shelves. Being part of an estate we have access to game and venison and it is on our menu as much as we can. We only put on the menu what comes from our own butchery and what is shot from the land around Meikleour and dealing with wild produce supply can not always be reliable although it is in the vast majority of the cases. I am so sorry you felt we were "pub grub" we have certainly worked really hard to be so much more than that. I can only apologise. With best wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
apc_11 wrote a review Nov 2022
Stromness, United Kingdom58 contributions51 helpful votes
Wow! Loved everything about the Meikleour Inn from the luxurious bedroom to the excellent food in the restaurant. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. I will be back! I actually decided that as soon as I saw the room!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: The rooms in the cottages beside the main hotel are really lovely. Very quirky decor but suits...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Meikleour Arms Hotel , Owner at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We cannot wait to welcome you agin in a not too distant future. With best wishes, Claire
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$126 - US$184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandPerth and KinrossMeikleour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MEIKLEOUR ARMS HOTEL & RESTAURANT - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Which popular attractions are close to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Nearby attractions include Stanley Mills (8.0 km), The Ericht Alehouse (5.9 km), and Meikleour Beech Hedges (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and extra long beds.
What food & drink options are available at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Conveniently located restaurants include Little's Restaurant, The Wee Coffee Shop, and Dalmore Inn and Restaurant.
Is Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Meikleour.
Are pets allowed at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stanley Mills (8.0 km).
Is Meikleour Arms Hotel & Restaurant accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.