We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau

Save
Share
West Bay Street at Nassau Street, Nassau New Providence Island
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
$161
View deal
Hotels.com$161
Booking.com$161
HIExpress.com$161
Travelocity$161
Priceline$161
Destinia.com$219
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (100)
Room & Suite (47)
Pool & Beach (8)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#16 of 35 hotels in Nassau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in beautiful Nassau Bahamas The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Nassau is in a prime location only 10 miles from the Airport. Just step out of our front gate and walk across West Bay Street to the beautiful Junkanoo Beach, where you can enjoy the Aqua blue water of the Atlantic Ocean while relaxing in one of our complimentary beach chairs & beach towels provided by our kiosk staff, Drinks and snacks are also available however these are room charge only This amenity exclusive to our guests only. Cabanas are also available for a fee. Discover everything Downtown Nassau has to offer. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau is a short walking distance from shopping, dining, art, entertainment, night life and the open air Straw Market where local artists display and sell their art. Our prime location offers easy access to different places in the area such as the world famous fish fry, fort Charlotte and Ardastra Garden & Zoo.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
145Reviews22Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 41
  • 38
  • 38
  • 13
  • 15
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tam wrote a review Jul 2022
Marietta, Georgia2 contributions
+1
I spent the first two nights of a four-night stay in a room filled with so much stench. After I pleaded with the front desk to find another room and assured her I would report the room to the health department, When I asked her to refund my money, she said she would “try” to find a room. When I returned to the room it was lit with the smell of sewage. She relented and gave me a key to room 201, where the bed was unmade, the sink was filled with some foreign matter, and bottles, opened food packages and other stuff was littered about the room. When I told her how the room was mired in filth and showed her pictures of the filth, she found room 205. After turning down the sheets, I found stained sheets with hair of another person. The issue of unsafe health conditions in room 511 must be resolved! Sincerely, Guest of rooms 511, 201, and 205 all in one night!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at ALL COSTS!!!!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from GuestXperience Team, Sales at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay and feedback about our hotel. I apologize you felt this way during your stay. Our team always strives to give the service our guests expect & deserve. I appreciate the comments as we are always looking for ways to improve the service we give our guests. I wish to apologize for the lack of cleaning that was provided by our housekeeping department. That is unacceptable and has already been addressed with our housekeeping team. I would also like to apologize for the lack of service you received during your stay. That really is not our norm, please know it is always our goal to exceed our guest's expectations and in this case, it is evident that we have fallen short. Thank you again for being our guest and we do hope you will return and allow us another opportunity to provide you with an experience you would expect from an establishment like ours! Warm Regards, Guest Experience Team
Read more
Voyage782218 wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
It was a good experience with this hotel but we did not get what we were expected. In this 2022 no smart Tv in the room that’s weird and no more than one towel 😢 Breakfast was good, there is lady who make us feel special every morning
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 21 Jun 2022
Hello Voyage782218, The opinions of our guests are always welcome. Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. I have taken the issues you encountered to our management for appropriate action. I apologize for the shortcomings. Our local team is addressing all of them as we speak. We always love making you feel at home. Thank you so much for choosing us for your stay. I hope you will visit again in the future. It would be a pleasure to host you once more. Stay safe and healthy until then! Alejandro G. Case Manager. IHGService.
Read more
msgee39 wrote a review May 2022
Toronto, Canada66 contributions61 helpful votes
Location is good as it's a short walk into downtown. 15-min walk to the Fish Fry and 5-min walk to the National Art Gallery. Beach right across the street (not one of the nicer ones, but still a beach), although you have to cross a T-intersection to get there and cars are whipping by at top speed. Room is dated and looks like it's not cleaned daily. I got a single bath towel that was never changed (yuck). The only toiletry is a bar of soap. I had to ask for shampoo and they gave it to me in a plastic cup. There's no hot water for the shower. Not what I expected from IHG. Breakfast is ok. At least there's hot food and it's buffet style.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: Go next door to the Courtyard by Marriott
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 13 Jun 2022
Hi msgee39, Thank you for staying in Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau. Our hotel is the best place to enjoy a quality stay in an environment of simplicity. I read your remarks and am sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. This is not what we want our guests to experience, and with this in mind, I forwarded your comments to our local area managers. We took the necessary measures to prevent this from happening again. I invited you to visit us on your next trip so you can enjoy a quality stay. Regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Jaymyn M wrote a review May 2022
Chicago, Illinois48 contributions23 helpful votes
After getting screwed over by West Bay Medical, we saw a sign that said the Holiday Inn Express did rapid antigen tests. We went in and were informed by Abanique that it was by appointment only on weekends but she would be happy to call and make an appointment for us. We told her we didn't need it till the next day and she told us to be there at 2 pm. At 2 the next day we returned and the testing lady was there and we had our results within 15 mins. It is this kind of customer service that makes me look at IHG as a brand I should be loyal too. Abanique is an asset to the front desk and the type of employee that management should be proud of.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Lynn wrote a review May 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I had three nights of anniversary rewards for IHG. We decided to stay in Nassau, pre-Exuma, to sit on the beach. This resort marketed lounge chairs and beach towels for Junkanoo beach across the street. Sounded great and exactly what we were looking for. After a long flight/connecting flights we landed and had about a 60-minute wait in line at the airport. We grabbed a cab for $40.00 + tip to Holiday Inn Express and arrived around 4:30-5:00 pm. CONS Another family of 5 was waiting in the lobby for their room and the desk clerk asked us to sit and wait as our room wasn't ready either. I thought that was a bit odd since check-in was at 3:00 pm. My husband went and found some beer and we patiently waited. Finally, after an hour or so we were given the keys and sent to our room. The cleaning supplies were still in the room. We kicked our shoes off and headed for the shower. We did have warm water so we were satisfied after reading reviews of "no hot water". What we didn't have were towels. Zero, None. We had to drip dry. After we stood on the floor to drip dry (which took forever) we lifted our feet and they were filthy dirty. (I did take a pic of my husband's feet, YUK) We made sure we wore shoes for the remainder of our stay. The laundry facility was on our floor so my husband tried to get towels, but they said they would put some in our room. That did not happen. On our way out we stopped at the front desk and asked if housekeeping automatically cleaned the room daily or if we needed to request cleaning. She assured us it was daily, automatic and they would leave towels. I left a large tip with a note begging for towels. Our room was never cleaned, the tip was gone and we received one regular towel and one washcloth. I gave the large towel to my husband to dry off with and I used the washcloth to dry. The washcloth was soaked and I had to drip dry again with wet hair. The last thing we want to do on vacation is frequent the front desk and complain about no towels and having our room clean so we skipped it. Our room was never cleaned for the duration of our stay, but they did pick up our one towel and washcloth. We didn't have any towels for the remainder of our stay. We continued to drip dry. (if we have to drip dry at any other hotel in our lives we are checking out) They need to write on their website BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS. This is a basic and a much-needed amenity unless you don't shower. Remember above when I said we chose this location for the beach and loungers provided by the resort. We stopped by the lobby desk to inquire about where we would find the beach towels. (when we checked in the desk clerk said they were available around the corner every morning) we never saw one at 7-8 or 9:00 a.m. or at any time. There were none. Gee, what a surprise. AGAIN, BRING YOUR OWN TOWELS. The desk clerk proceeded with "the beach is closed today". I thought I misunderstood, and she repeated it again. A staff member called in sick and they didn't have anybody else to get the lounge chairs out for us. SERIOUSLY!! Holy Moly. I hope that person working that hut doesn't quit because they would never be able to get any guest a lounge chair in the future. By then we were extremely disappointed, and she said she would try to find someone to unlock some chairs for us. We waited for one and a half hours and my husband went back to the desk and about 15 minutes later a man got us two lounge chairs. We were thrilled. The following two days the woman did show up for work and opened the hut. She sold beer in this hut which sounded great. We asked how much the beer cost and she said she did not know, they would just add it to our bill. SERIOUSLY, again.....that would be a "NO" Thank you. Hummm... a person selling the beer, but doesn't know the price. Check-out...our reservation through IHG stated that our three anniversary nights were "FREE". These were not reserved with points, they were anniversary nights. The resort said they were points. They were NOT. Can't they easily confirm that! We still had to pay $40.00 per night taxes and fees. I'd appreciate knowing the fees before I booked instead of writing "FREE" on my invoice. We are Platnium Elite members so our room was upgraded . We SO appreciated that gesture. Thank you. Our room had a balcony and we love to sit out and admire the view. The only problem is we couldn't do that. The balcony, chairs and table were filthy and we didn't have anything we could clean it with. So disappointed. PROS The staff, The staff....all so kind, and tried to be helpful, but they aren't properly trained. You can see they want to help, but don't have the means to solve any of the problems. How do they get towels to appear? How do they get housekeeping to clean the rooms? I feel for them. We didn't bother them, we knew. The staff was the only reason we didn't check out after the first 3 hours. Breakfast...this is not the best breakfast you will ever eat, it was just breakfast. It was repetitive but convenient. We appreciated having it available as it is very expensive to eat and drink in Nassau. The pool bar....expensive, but the bartenders (Mother and Son) are fantastic, personable, and fun. Best we met in Nassau. To end....obviously, we will never stay here again under any circumstance. It is unacceptable to think that people don't want to shower and don't need basic amenities as towels. We can normally adjust to any room, as we have had some very bad rooms around the world, but at least they were clean. Is that too much to ask? We are sorry to say we are cutting our ties with IHG and canceling both of our credit cards. (we each have one) I can't even fathom that IHG would allow this resort to market its name. If you have free nights to use PACK TOWELS and CLEANING SUPPLIES if you insist on staying here. Read less
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bring Towels and Cleaning Supplies
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 31 May 2022
Dear Linda R, I appreciate you for sharing your review about your recent stay. I am very sorry that you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay because of the level of service you have received. On behalf of our hotel, I apologize for the cleanliness in our room and for the check in experience. This is not what we want any of our guests to experience. I have sent you a private message to reaffirm my apologies. I very much hope that you will grant us the opportunity to prove ourselves again. Best Regards, Ben W. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Mia Z wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for one night after a (4) days wedding at one of the islands in the Bahamas. Unfortunately there was no hot water from the time we arrived to the time we left. I spoke to both managers at the time and never got a clear response about when the problem would be resolved. When we returned from our trip I called the hotel again but was given the run-around. I then called customer service and sent an email, no response. On a positive note the breakfast was good. Also, the location was busy, but directly across from the beach.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 30 Apr 2022
Hello 953miaz, Thank you for your choosing our Holiday Inn Express Nassau for your stay and for taking the time to give us feedback. We are all about giving exceptional service to our guests and are committed to comfort in every way. I am sorry that amenities were not readily available during your stay. I'll share your sentiments with our hotel management team as their reference for improvements. I hope we get the chance to serve you and create a better experience for you in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Myriam F wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I wish I could rate this HOTEL 0 and below !! 1 star is too much ! We booked a room online and when we arrived, they told us they didn’t have any more room for us! 2 days later, they took 450usd on our card and they don’t want to give it back to us! We didn’t sleep there and they took our money !! RUN from those thiefs
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 20 Apr 2022
Hello myriamf665, Thanks for sharing feedback. We offer a simple and engaging place to rest. However, what you experienced is not a reflection of this. I am sorry for the letdown. Your review was made known to the team. Comments such as yours are valuable and relayed to the team to help point out areas needing additional attention. In line with this, do know that I sent a private message to further reach out to you. Despite the setbacks mentioned in your review, I hope you find your way back to us should your travels bring you again to the area for a chance to make your stay better than the last. Best, Ronald R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Gab M wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The Holiday Inn Express at the Bahamas is a beautiful location right along the ocean, and so far has been an almost perfect vacation spot. The front desk staff is nice and welcoming. The bartenders by the pool are nothing but attentive and wonderful! However, we have hit a few snags on our so far wonderful trip. As we are staying in a room for four people, and have four guests on our reservation, getting the number of towels for all of us has been incredibly difficult. To waiting more than six hours to get fresh towels to the room, to housekeeping sending only one towel but insisting they sent more has been an annoyance, something that we would not care about however with us constantly needing to shower from being by the beach all day it’s just a small thing that should not be the issue it is, along with it almost impossible to get clean linens and the room done daily as well. We have had to ask every day for towels and when we can see clean towels in the laundry room they say they have none. We are met with resistance and have to ask multiple times for towels, only to be given one or two at a time hours apart. The reason we are given is that they are in the dryer for hours, each time we ask, but again we can see them. With all of this being said, we hope to continue our vacation for the rest of the week that we are here in the nice pool with the local scenery and lovely beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 29 Mar 2022
Hello Y8681LHgabriellem, Thank you for your patronage of Holiday Inn Express And Suites Nassau. We provided a quality stay in an environment of peace and simplicity. I read your evaluation of our services and appreciated you mentioning our great location. I am sorry for the inconvenience with our housekeeping, towels, and linen. I understand your disappointment about these matters and with this in mind, I forwarded your comment to our local area managers. We created a plan to better our maintenance services to avoid this from disturbing future guests. I hope you allow us to serve you on your next stay so we can change your mind about us. Warm regards, Oscar C. Case Manager IHG Service
Read more
Gwendolyn W wrote a review Mar 2022
Detroit, Michigan44 contributions67 helpful votes
We stayed in a suite that had 2 queen beds and a sitting area with a couch. There were two flat screen TVs, a small refrigerator and microwave. The room was clean and housekeeping came every other day. Breakfast was offered every morning. There were plenty of options to choose from including, hot and cold items. The staff was friendly and helpful. This property was located across the street from the beach, close to downtown and in walking distance from the cruise port. An area called the Fish Fry was about 2 blocks away. There are many restaurants and eateries. We liked Ah Honduras the best. Our only complaint was regarding our exit Covid test. The hotel was supposed to offer testing in their lobby. The day before our departure, we were scheduled to take a Covid test at 3:00pm. At the last minute, we were informed that the lady who performed the test wasn’t coming. We had to scramble around at the last minute trying to find a Covid test. Luckily, we found a clinic in town that performed the test for $35.00.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Kristen wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We stayed in Nassau for one night on our trip home. Live music by the pool was fun for a little while, but was so loud in our room that we couldn’t hear the tv or each other talk. We weren’t even that close to the pool. It went until 10p. Then we woke up COVERED in bug bites all over our bodies. Housekeeping came in and told us “it was just mosquitos”. It may have been, but we saw no signs of mosquitos. She seemed confused by our concern as if a bug infested room was normal. We asked to speak to the manager at the front desk, were told he wasn’t in. I asked for his email address, sent him an email, and am yet to hear back. Glad our stay was only scheduled for one night.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Responded 10 Mar 2022
Hi kwwiley, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We're committed to providing you with the best overall experience and it seems that it didn't happen this time. I'm sorry to hear about the loud music coming from the pool area and the undesirable circumstances encountered during your stay. I recognized your disappointment with the level of service taken in addressing this. I brought this up to our local management's attention. I'm confident that the necessary actions will be taken to ensure better service. I also sent you a private message discussing this further. We're grateful to have you as one of our valued guests. I hope you'll give us another chance to host your stay and we'll do our best to make your next visit better than the last! Safe travels, Jomar M. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$221 - US$271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanBahamasNew Providence IslandNassau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
58
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Nearby attractions include The National Art Gallery of The Bahamas (0.4 km), Tiki Bikini Hut (0.04 km), and John Watling's Distillery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crabs and Ting, Tasty Teas, and The Salty Crab Bahamas.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Queen's Staircase (1.3 km), Fort Charlotte (0.9 km), and Fort Fincastle (1.3 km).
Is Holiday Inn Express & Suites Nassau accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.