We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin St. John Resort Villas

Save
Share
300B Chocolate Hole Great Cruz Bay, 00830 St. John
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Hotel direct offer!Stay Longer, Save More
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
FindHotel
Trip.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1813)
360
Panoramas (18)
Pool & Beach (523)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Updated 04/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Updated 04/03/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#6 of 6 hotels in St. John
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Stretched out along a cove of white sandy beaches at Great Cruz Bay on the island of St. John in the U.S. Virgin Islands is The Westin St. John Resort Villas. This 47-acre paradise provides distinctive amenities and intuitive services all framed by a picture-perfect backdrop of a lush tropical paradise. Enjoy our spacious one and two-bedroom villas or townhouses of up to 2,850 square feet that comfortably accommodates up to eight adults. Each villa features fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, generous living and dining room areas, private balconies with ocean views, and complimentary Wi-Fi.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Boating
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Poolside bar
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Car hire
Photo copier / fax In business center
Spa
Body wrap
Facial treatments
Massage
Waxing services
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Picnic area
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Additional bathroom
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Whirlpool bathtub
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Bottled water
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Radio
iPod docking station
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, German, Greek
Hotel links
Special Offer:Stay Longer, Save More
3379Reviews85Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,311
  • 1,119
  • 460
  • 287
  • 202
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robpierang wrote a review 6 Jun
Avon, Colorado1 contribution
This is a nice property with a beautiful beach. It was fairly costy. Unfortunately, our experience was poor. Indifferent staff, dirty poolside restrooms and inappropriate music (F Bombs) played at the beach where families pick up water toys. The property offers "Free" sailboat use so long as the user pays to take their sailing course. We did that. Unfortunately, two days later, not a single boat was operational. The attendant told us (Without looking up from his cell phone or any apology ) that no boats would be available that week. Unacceptable. Lastly, the resort said that due to Covid protocol, they would not clean rooms. This included refusing to gather trash from units (They did tell us where we could find a dumpster ). This resulted in occupants leaving trash at the walkway outside of the units which brought in local wild chickens to dig through and spread trash around the property. I expressed my concerns to Marriott in an email. I got a response saying they would get back to me in three days. Have not heard a peep.Truly a letdown....
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Make sure you get a unit near the pool and not across the street!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Rob, thank you for your review of your recent stay at Westin St. John Resort Villas. We are saddened to learn about and apologize for your experience at our resort. While the beach is a public space, we do expect each party to be respectful of those around them. We are not happy to hear about the discard piles left in the hallways during your stay, while housekeeping is not conducting daily cleaning should pick up trash when seen around the resort. We apologize you have not heard back from our Marriott International Hotel partners. If you still wish to discuss your stay you may do so by calling Customer Advocacy at 1-800-860-9384 or via email at Customer.Advocacy@vacationclub.com.
Read more
Marissa S wrote a review May 2021
Rye, New Hampshire139 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
Ok so you are probably doing right now like I did, you are skimming through all these recent reviews to find out if this place is worth it or not. I was worried reading some of them as well but I gotta say, as worried as I was about what kind of experience we would have here, it ended up being pretty nice and a lot better than I had anticipated. First of all the property is HUGE and the grounds are absolutely STUNNING. HUGE props to ALL the gardeners for keeping this place looking super clean outside and gorgeous with local flora. We had a 3 bedroom balcony unit that was supposed to have a pool but that’s another story and has nothing to do with the staff or property. The check in staff were ALL super nice and welcoming, Q was an absolute delight to meet and helped get us checked in ASAP. We never had problems getting a golf cart, maybe once or twice they took a while but it was SO busy (all units were booked) so a little patience never hurt anyone and there was always a way to call and get someone. We walked a couple of times to get where we wanted, we figured it wouldn’t hurt as we were guzzling 10 million calories a day in scrumptious St. John food and cocktails. The villa was nicely appointed and clean and VERY quiet. We never heard a peep from anyone else around us. Kitchens are stocked well with items (dishes, cups, wine openers, etc.) and there are also SEVERAL grills around the property for you to use wherever you are staying. Food was not too shabby either but then again you are getting a review from someone that doesn’t really get excited about hotel food. Breakfast was ok, not a ton of options but enough and it was always consistent and good. Not amazing but good. In my opinion, the omelette and breakfast bowls were the most bang for your buck. I also have to say that the potstickers and steak tacos were VERY decent. Service is slow yes, but honestly not any slower than what I have experienced at other resorts like this and plus, you are on island time, so where you gotta go so fast? Whitney waited on us several times and she was just so sweet and took care of us every day she was there. The other ladies and Fitzroy (jolly fellow) tending the pool and only restaurant (Snorkels) were very pleasant and trying their best to keep up and if I may say so they did a great job seeing how busy it was. Yes, there were some staff that weren’t interactive at all or outgoing but they weren’t rude or mean. I do wish there was more open like the Spa and daily cleaning service but everything we needed was there. Beach was nice, clean and well appointed....while most chairs were occupied by 1030/11 there were plenty of them. Beach is calm and great for little ones and they have these complimentary floating devices that are quite nice. Their little grocery shop is open and a great place for sandwiches and so is the gift shop (lovely little place) with a super sweet manager. I do think they could step it up a couple of notches to match other Westin properties but honestly it was a lovely stay. So relax, look forward to your trip and enjoy!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Marissa, thank you for your review of Westin St. John Resort Villas. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your vacation. Thank you for recognizing our grounds team and their hard work to keep the property groomed and clean. We are delighted Q, Whitney, and Fitzroy went above and beyond to assist you during your stay. We cannot wait to welcome you back for another great family vacation!
Read more
Steve k wrote a review May 2021
Scottsdale, Arizona21 contributions24 helpful votes
St. John is an AMAZING as an island. But this resort is a bit run down. And that has nothing to do with covid. To someone reading this, if you want to stick with this price point and have an amazing and much better trip, maybe look to another Caribbean island. This is NOT a luxury hotel, but charges luxury prices. Hire a few more cocktail servers, and ones who are not grumpy. Or hell, hire another grumpy one or two and offer cocktail and food service while sitting on your old lounge chairs on the beach. I can’t be the only one who wants to escape life while on a beach vacation by getting the occasional drink served to me, especially at a $500 to $700 a night hotel. Housekeeping= nicest people I interacted with. Pleasant and a great attitude. I could just tell they were smiling behind the masks. A note to the property General manager... your housekeeping manager must be doing something right, your food/beverage manager and front desk manager= not so much. Beach bar, lobby, deli and other employees felt like I was an inconvenience to them. Well that just sucks day in and day out on a week vacation. Also, hire a few more golf cart drivers. That hill is annoying. That poor attitude starts with Managment, they have to lead better. Holes in lounge chairs on the beach, 3 or 4 different types of OLD beach old towels (I know this is a petty, but y’all are charging so much, you should have some PRIDE in the product you’re selling) and old beaten up pool floats at the small pool up the hill near villas 3200 buildings. You think a ritz, a st Regis, a W, or a JW would have these poor standards? Hell, a four points or courtyard keeps up on these little things better then your resort does. And all these small petty things sets a tone and an impression. This review is coming from a experienced traveler, currently titanium with Bonvoy and over 500 nights stayed with Marriott in total. And my 3rd time at this resort, last time was over 10 years ago. This time I was in room 3223. (Ac worked good but every time the compressor kicked on AND off it sounded like a small dog barking or tires screeching. this has nothing to do with my review, just probably a quick fix for the Maintance crew if someone at westin reads this and just wanted to give ya a heads up)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi, thank you for your review of Westin St. John Resort Villas. We are saddened to learn of your experience at our resort. The experience you describe is not what our owners and guests have come to know and expect. We do appreciate your patronage and hope to provide a better experience on a future stay.
Read more
Simstravel wrote a review May 2021
Simsbury, Connecticut88 contributions29 helpful votes
The Westin St John is okayyyy. Great location and St John is wonderful, of course. We stayed in a one bedroom unit (3425) at the top of the hill. The hill is an understatement. It’s way off the beaten trail and you have to commit to a 20 minute walk up a VERY steep hill or wait for a ride in the golf cart to get to the pool/beach. The interior of the unit smells like a wet wool sweater and desperately needs updating. The air conditioning did not work upon our arrival and the unit was 80 degrees. That said, staff were all friendly and once out of the unit and down the hill we had a great time.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Definitely book dinner reservations well before arrival, travelers are back and it’s tough to get...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Simstravel, thank you for your review of Westin St. John Resort Villas. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We are saddened to learn about the odor and temperature in your villa upon arrival. We hope you will visit us again!
Read more
Scott wrote a review May 2021
Chicago, Illinois1 contribution
This was our second trip to the Westin in St John and the USVI, and unfortunately this visit was a far less superior than our first. Our first visit was 5 stars all around, and I honestly could not find one negative thing to say about anything with our experience. It all started with booking the trip. We were told we had until February of 2022 to book our package only to be told we had until August of 2021. There was absolutely zero flexibility offered with the pandemic, and we only were aloud to book for 4 nights even though we paid for 5.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Marriott Vacations Worldwide, Other at The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Responded 3 weeks ago
Hi Scott, thank you for your review of Westin St. John Resort Villas. We are saddened to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We apologize if there was an error in the booking process, but hope that you enjoyed some of this stay. If you wish to speak to someone about the duration of your stay versus what was purchased you may reach out to Customer Advocacy. They may be reached by dialing 800-860-9384 or via email at customer.advocacy@vacationclub.com.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$318 - US$996 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. John
NUMBER OF ROOMS
252
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Westin St. John Resort Villas
Which popular attractions are close to The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Nearby attractions include Bamboo Studio (1.4 km), Scott Bay Beach (1.3 km), and Trunk Bay Beach (3.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a poolside bar during their stay.
Is parking available at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Conveniently located restaurants include Our Market Smoothies, Pizza Pi, and Drink St. John.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Westin St. John Resort Villas?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Annaberg Sugar Plantation (7.5 km), Cinnamon Bay Nature Trail (4.7 km), and Catherineberg Ruins (2.5 km).
Does The Westin St. John Resort Villas have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.