We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort

Save
Share
Rte. 6 Smith Bay Smith Bay Road, 00802 St. Thomas
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (924)
360
Panoramas (8)
Room & Suite (431)

About

#3 of 4 hotels in East End
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone.

Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today!

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Beach
Snorkeling
Self-serve laundry
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fishing
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Safe
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Kitchenware
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
809Reviews44Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 224
  • 257
  • 140
  • 88
  • 100
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Keith C wrote a review Jul 2022
Loganville, Georgia17 contributions10 helpful votes
this place is hardly maintained at all, its much the same as it was after the last cat 5 hurricane that hit the island in 2017. Its truly a 1 stat motel that happens to be on a beach that is not really usable. Sapphire Beach is choppy, windy and rocky, not a sandy bottom type beach your feet will be tore up on day one. If you don't have a rental car you will be miserable the entire stay, its a dump and the beach is not nice and the people in St. Thomas are the rudest I have ever encountered.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 20 Oct 2022
KeithC717 Quite a bit has been repaired and improved since 2017. There is a remodeled bar that often has live music with a grill that has great beach fare and drinks. The buildings have been painted on a regular schedule. There is a new pizza restaurant and very soon a new roof top restaurant. There is a breakfast cafe and a new shop so quite a lot has changed. Guests get complimentary beach lounges and there are sun fish, paddle boards, snorkel equipment, and various floats and water toys. Of course the marina has been open for a long time since the hurricane so there are boat trips etc, on site. Your comments regarding the beach make me wonder if you stayed on Red beach as that is not a swimming beach and is rocky with coral. The main beach, Sapphire beach is sandy and has great snorkeling. The resort is located less than a mile away from Red Hook and there are always taxis to take guests where ever they want. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Sapphire but most guests do and come back year after year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bristal C wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions3 helpful votes
Condo is on the water. Beautiful view of the surrounding islands. With that said, that’s about it. The beach is clean however small and almost unusable due to sharp rocks and choppy rough water, extremely windy. You definitely need water shoes to get into the ocean. The bar area is not nasty but dingy as is the entire property, the place is still dingy from hurricanes past and never repaired properly so it’s dilapidated. Nothing relaxing about this place. Good luck getting a decent meal. There is one guy cooking for everyone and service is slow. Food was mediocre. The rooms are dated and ours smelled extremely musty. The room was big enough for three people however zero privacy. One bed and a pull out sofa. There is a partition you can close if you can get the rolling doors to close. We gave up. There were tiny bugs continuously on the kitchen counter. Speaking of kitchen. If you’re coming to the island thinking you’ll make dinner at home. You’ll be in shock. The cost of groceries are outrageous. For example: $15.89 for a pack of bacon, $9.00 half gallon of milk, $7.99 for a 12 pack of cokes, $5.99 for a small mayo, $8.99 for Carl Buddig lunch meat. We got food for sandwiches and breakfast. Four bags $325. We only went to the beach at the condo once. The beach is covered in sargasso weed at sapphire beach. They do try to clean it up though so they are trying. We drove to Magens Bay which really saved our vacation. $5 person to get in and it’s perfect. Calm beautiful waters and a decent food bar with drinks for those who like mixed drinks. A rental car is a MUST at sapphire beach “resort”, otherwise you will pay just as much for taxis’s. If you want an excellent meal we suggest Prime at Paradise Point. A little pricey but so worth it. The filet, au gratin potato’s and creamed spinach. Out of this world. We also at at Carribean Fish Market. Mediocre at best and way overpriced. Nice atmosphere but food was in line with Chilis in my opinion. Pangea was also a gray place to eat. If you’re looking for a place to rest your head and you’re not counting on staying at the condo all day this will do. However the price should be about $100 a night cheaper, fair price for one bedroom should be about $150 a night. I recommend a nice hotel Vice the condo because you still will have to rent a car drive to a decent beach! I won’t say the name but we also visited another resort that was close by. The name relates to a popular frozen drink. Their beach was no better, In fact worse. Very small beach and unusable. So much sargasso weed and the smell was horrible. It smelled like raw sewage. I suggest you research well if coming to St Thomas and realize that if you left something you need at home good luck picking it up while here. Pack your suitcase full of staple grocery items, as the cost is nothing short of shocking for groceries on st Thomas. To provide scale here for how expensive st Thomas is l, even cruise ships are much cheaper than st Thomas. That was a shock for us !! I would defiantly come back just to go to Magens Bay however would really dig into reviews and resorts before paying through the nose like this again.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 24 Oct 2022
I can understand your confusion. The name of the resort is Sapphire Beach Resort and Marina (SBRM) and for legal reasons the name cannot be changed. In the beginning it was more of a resort but that format changed many years ago. If you are looking for an activity director to organize a beach volleyball game or a gym you will not find any. However, there are many resort type features such as restaurants, breakfast cafe, ice cream, a marina with all sorts of boat trips , jet skis, paddle boards, sun fish and all sorts of water toys. The main beach is sandy and there is no need for water shoes. The resort is about a mile away from the village of Red Hook where there are restaurants, bars, live music, etc and the ferry to St. John. A taxi to Red Hook costs $5/pp. It is important to do your research before booking as all the condos are individually owned so are decorated and maintained by their owners. It is wise to rent directly through an owner after examining pictures and reviews on vrbo or a similar site. You pick the condo and location you want. It a shame you didn't enjoy your stay at and you are correct that some research would have made a better experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Keith Cox wrote a review Jul 2022
Spartanburg, South Carolina17 contributions17 helpful votes
Most rooms have a gorgeous view of St. John. Even the marina view is great! We've stayed here three times and will continue to stay here as we are always impressed by it's location, employees, and beauty. Security does an incredible job making you feel safe! Talk to Oliver, he's awesome. The plants on site are beautiful as David does an incredible job caring for them. Expect everything to work properly as Vince does a fantastic job maintaining the resort. If you want to experience St. Thomas, this is the resort for you.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Darrin S wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
My family and I recently took a vacation to St.John. At the conclusion of our trip we needed to stay one night on Saint Thomas in order to catch a early flight the next day. I booked a beach front villa 8 months in advance so that we could enjoy the view for our one night there. Despite the verbal confirmation I received 2 weeks before our stay, when we checked it, they slid us into their neighboring sub-par property Crystal Cove, claiming “maintenance issues” with the beachfront villa. Crystal Cove accommodations are terrible and certainly had no view of the water whatsoever. Don’t fall for their bait and switch tactics. Here’s a picture of the rusty, dilapidated courtyard/door.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Darrin The condos at Sapphire Beach are ALL individually owned, decorated, and maintained. Some owners choose to have a small management company handle their condo rentals. It is highly recommended that you rent directly with the owner using vrbo or a similar site. That way you can see pictures and read reviews. You must have rented through a third party. I say that because as a condo owner I can only rent the condo I own. I can't "bait" because I don't have anything to "switch" you to. It a shame your experience was disappointing but I think it would have been much different if you rented directly.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Den R wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
We were not expecting much from the location going into our experience. It was a place to lay our heads for 2 days and show our kids St Thomas before heading to another area island. We have been to USVI & BVI several times with our children but never stayed in St Thomas with our children. Sapphire is weathered from the hurricane and age but we did not mind that at all. Again, just a place to lay our heads. It had a Beautiful beach and great location. Upon checking into our room the door handle to enter the condo broke off. We were locked in the 2nd floor condo with no way out. The front desk sent someone after 20 minutes of being locked in our room. The lock had to be removed after another 20 min and we were told that they could not get us a new door handle for another day or two. The door did have the bolt lock but with an empty void where the handle was made it fairly easy to access the room even with the bolt lock. I travel weekly for business for the past 15 years and never have I been locked in a hotel or condo before. As soon as we were able to get out of the room we left the resort and relocated to another property thanks to the incredible services of our credit card company. Sapphire did refund us the full amount of our stay. These kind of issues can happen from time to time we realize that but after flying all day from cold climates and the only thing we wanted to do was jump in the ocean and have a dinner on property we were disappointed. My rating is based on my experience and take it for what you will when booking.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Den I sorry your vacation got off to such a bad start. It's unfortunate but sometimes things happen and in the islands solutions are not always quick. I hope the rest of your vacation went well.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Holly F wrote a review Apr 2022
Haymarket, Virginia8 contributions2 helpful votes
My family and I went in March and stayed on the 1st floor of the condos which allowed fantastic access directly to the beachfront. Although the condo was a bit dated inside it had nice appliances and plenty of space for 3 people with a large bathroom. The bar area right out front our condo was non functional as they were doing repairs to get it working again but the pool was still open for swimming and lounging. Further down the beach there are 2 really nice beach bars with supplemental food (hot dogs, hamburgers, pizzas, salads etc) with really great mixed drinks. It was nice that you didnt have to leave the condos to get a decent meal. The beach was beautiful though it fills up quickly so go early if you would like a decent spot. They offer cheap snorkel gear but would not suggest getting any it is low quality and often broken, the mouth pieces also were chewed by previous customers- yikes. But the wildlife you can find at this beach is incredible there were lots of colorful tropical fish (including large Barracuda), iguanas, lizards and plenty of hermit crabs. Ultimately would suggest going if you are able to get a more modernized condo.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Ann Marie C wrote a review Feb 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
+1
Stayed in Building A. Hot water knob in shower kept coming off, torn screens, only two burners on stove worked and could not cook on one of them because it was so crooked, spots on floors and ceilings, old and flat pillows, bad smells, bad decor, bad experience. Crowded beach due to also public access beach. Room entered SEVERAL times despite Do Not Disturb sign.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 26 Oct 2022
Ann Marie The overwhelming majority of the condo owners use vacation rental sites like vrbo so you can see pictures and read reviews and then you choose the condo and location YOU want. It's a shame you rented a unit that had been neglected as most are very well maintained.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karyn M wrote a review Feb 2022
New Haven, Connecticut255 contributions165 helpful votes
This place is in serious need of a face lift! View is spectacular and in its prime, this was a lovely resort. Units do differ based on owners. Last year we had a decent unit in Building B, however this year we were in D. First night our daughter complained of a terrible nights sleep. Come to find out, downstairs couch had bed bugs. Her arms and legs were covered in bites. Front office said sorry, when you leave we will “bomb and clean” the unit and don’t use anything on the first floor, stay upstairs. Really now? Also this unit had a terrible odor and I realize with age, moisture, etc. that these places tend to be a bit musty. Cleanliness is definitely not their top priority. Towels, sheets, etc all poor quality. Do not expect fresh towels-you are given one towel/person for your stay, a teeny tiny bar of soap, 2 rolls of toilet paper, dish soap that is totally watered down and a used kitchen sponge (gross!!). The pool has water, but nothing has been repaired in terms of outdoor buildings. Bar, grill and breakfast spot are opened. Amenities are so so unfortunately. There are beach chairs and they try to minimize the seaweed. If you choose to stay or return (in our case) be vigilant with the unit choice. Our units pictures were totally outdated. Pretty disappointing actually-afraid to use even a glass. Bought disposable everything at the market except for a wine opener, which a neighbor kindly supplied.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Be careful when choosing a unit. Parking can be sketchy. All have lovely views.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Rynne, Owner at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
Responded 28 Oct 2022
Karyn I'm sorry to hear that you had some problems with your accommodations on Sapphire. From time to time I see reviews on the island of St. Thomas about bed bugs. It's possible you had them but when I've looked into the situations it has usually been the case that it was actually noseeums that live in the sand and come out at dawn and dusk. They can have a very nasty bite but seem to bite some people and not others at all. If you rented directly from the condo owner you could have contacted them and most owners would have taken care of the problem as fast as possible.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica B wrote a review Dec 2021
Omaha, Nebraska220 contributions102 helpful votes
No complaints about my stay at Sapphire Beach Condo resort. Located on the amazing sapphire beach and loved the beach bar! Room was very modern with modern appliances and a view of the marina from our back deck. We also had a grill and electric smoker. Would stay again!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
MsB22903 wrote a review Nov 2021
7 contributions2 helpful votes
My boyfriend and I spent 4 days/3 nights due to a bait and switch scam on hotels.com. It is not a hotel, but individually-owned condos. The owner, Michael, of apartment 204 Building C advised it as a " hotel" on hotels.com. He renamed the location "View at Sapphire Beach" to deceive travelers. Everything was wrong with this place!! The blow dryer and dresser draws were broken. The headboard wasn't secured to the bed. An abandoned and dilapidated bar is next to the pools--which wasn't conveniently not shown in any pictures. The beach is okay but quiet; the people are nice. After we contacted Michael to share our concerns, he sent us a threatening text.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Don't Stay Here !!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$287 - US$436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
sapphire beach hotel east end, hotel sapphire beach, sapphire beach resort
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. ThomasEast End
NUMBER OF ROOMS
171
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

SAPPHIRE BEACH CONDOMINIUM RESORT - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (East End, U.S. Virgin Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort
What are some of the property amenities at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Sapphire Beach Condominium Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.