We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham

Save
Share
5007 Estate Shoys, Christiansted 00820-4557 St. Croix
travelup.com
StayForLong
Trip.com
Vio.com
Lol.travel
Algotels
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1780)
Room & Suite (534)
Dining (140)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#1 of 15 hotels in Christiansted
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Founded in the 17th century and family-run for generations, The Buccaneer blends old-world charms with warm hospitality, and the amenities and services expected by today’s discerning traveler. Completely self-contained, the luxury resort offers elegant accommodations, golf, tennis, three exquisite beaches, two freshwater pools, fine restaurants, water sports, wellness program and fitness center, all located on a 340-acre tropical estate. Located just minutes from picturesque Christiansted, The Buccaneer has garnered numerous “World’s Best” awards. All rooms are designed and furnished to be an intimate retreat surrounded by the beachfront beauty of St. Croix. Each room features a private patio or balcony for maximum enjoyment of our spectacular views and cooling breezes. Rooms also have irons, ironing boards, ceiling fans, desk & chair, double sinks, coffee makers and mini refrigerators. Leisure rates include breakfast each morning, welcome rum or fruit punch, wifi, fitness center access, self parking, snorkel gear, kayaks and daily guest activities.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Diving
Babysitting
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Golf course
Snorkeling
Tennis court
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Massage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English
1879Reviews146Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,317
  • 365
  • 95
  • 56
  • 46
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Amy B wrote a review 4 Feb
2 contributions
Our room was spacious, with a lovely balcony. Multiple beaches mean it’s never too crowded, and the options to rent a kayak or paddle board (for free) were appreciated. Food at the multiple restaurant was all solid, but Beauregard's at the Grotto with William at the bar was the best. Many, many beverage options, most with fresh juice and fruit, many of Williams own creation. Great space to relax and just enjoy the scenery.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jennie R wrote a review Jan 2023
Minneapolis, Minnesota6 contributions
As others have noted, this resort has pros and cons, In my opinion, the pros far outweigh the cons and we had a very enjoyable stay. PROS; 1. The location and views are outstanding. There are three nicely groomed beaches to choose from, and they are beautiful. We stayed mid-week in January and the resort was not fully booked, so the beaches were sparsely populated, providing almost a private beach experience (the resort started filling up on Friday but there were still plenty of beach chairs). Also, there is free use of good-quality sea kayaks with an attendant to help and advise on safety. As expected there is towel service at the beaches. 2. The pool area is well-appointed and clean, with towel service, and an attendant keeping everything neat and tidy. 3. The restaurants are pricey, as others have mentioned, but this is expected at an island resort. What was surprising was the high quality of the dinners. They were on par with some 5-star resorts we have visited. We have never had fresher Mahi-mahi and the gulf shrimp skewers were delectable. 3. The resort partners with the local cat rescue to provide food and medical services to the resident cats on the property. These cats are all spayed/neutered, and it's fun to see them wandering around the resort. There is a huge population of strays on the island, and we were glad to see the Buccaneer is doing their part to help address the situation. 4. We found the staff overall to be friendly, engaging, and willing to do whatever to make our stay delightful. CONS: The resort overall could use some TLC. Specifically: 1. The landscaping is lacking, and planting beds in particular are in need of annuals to provide some color and lushness to the property, It looks like they are cutting corners here. 2. Our ocean-side room (#331) was spacious and clean, but the furnishings are more than a little tired and definitely showing signs of aging, The seating featured only a sad little loveseat, no coffee table, and the wall-mounted TV was very small. The room was not very well sound-proofed (we could hear the TV from the adjacent unit). ### Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Jennifer! Thank you for such an honest, comprehensive review! We appreciate this thoughtful and detailed telling of your recent stay. We take pride in our world-class service and feel extremely fortunate to have outstanding staff members. Our team truly makes the difference in our guest experience. Your comment serves as a great morale booster and at the same time helps us to target or improvement efforts. We hope to welcome you back again, perhaps next time in a newly renovated room and a quieter space. Be sure to specify your needs during the reservation process. Until then!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Oliver T wrote a review Jan 2023
The Buccaneer was an amazing location to take a delayed (18 years) honeymoon with my wife. Everything about the visit was amazing. Staff, beaches, amenities, and ambience were great. If you are going to St. Croix, this is the best location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Oliver, We are happy you waited to enjoy your honeymoon with us :) It was meant to be and patience does pay off doesnt it? :) Keep the memories close to mind as we will do the same and remember us for your next anniversary! We hope to see you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alice C wrote a review Jan 2023
Penticton, Canada24 contributions5 helpful votes
We had the best time here for dinner. The drinks ahead of time were great, the staff was wonderful, from bathroom cleaner to bar tender to waitress and bus boy. The food was wonderful. We would return for certain.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Good day! We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience! We have a dedicated team of chefs who are always seeking new ways to amaze our guests' palate. Do come again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa K wrote a review Jan 2023
Cincinnati, Ohio11 contributions2 helpful votes
I brought a student group of 20 teenagers to the resort for a school trip. We stayed in both ocean front rooms and the beach house. The grounds, rooms, and views are absolutely gorgeous at this resort. Fitz helped us with anything we needed at the house and was amazingly helpful with taxis, helping us around the resort and keeping everything stocked. Rooms, pools and beaches are clean and beautiful. The resort is large and has plenty of room so nothing ever felt crowded. We used the kayaks and paddleboards on almost a daily basis. The work out room was dated but decent. There are laundry facilities, tennis, golf, multiple pools and beaches, and beautiful views everywhere. We will absolutely be back and will be requesting Fitz again. The maid service was fantastic, we never had to ask for clean towels or supplies for the rooms. The ONLY issue we had at the resort was at the restaurants. There are three different places to eat but it is really hard to keep up with which is open when and there were times we would go to a restaurant, and they would be closed early and then we would have to walk to another one to see if it was open (one night there were several hours where nothing was open). It luckily wasn't a huge issue for us because we had the full kitchen at the beach house but I could see that being problematic if you didn't want to leave the resort for food. They also seemed ill equipped to deal with large groups. I'm used to traveling with student groups and I am aware that everything takes longer to accommodate that many people but there were evenings that we were at restaurants for over 4 hours waiting for food and bills. Some of the servers seemed to be irritated that we were there and frustrated with our entire existence. Those are the only places on the resort we were ever treated that way, everyone else was super nice and helpful. We did leave the resort to grocery shop (several places within 15 minutes). The area felt really safe but we did appreciate the 24 hour gated service at the resort. This was the best resort I have ever stayed at. I loved the laid back not crowded atmosphere. I loved how large the resort was yet everything was very walkable. We had an absolute blast and will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Good day Melissa, Thank you very much for this refreshing review of your Buccaneer experience. I am glad that your experience was summarily wonderful and encouraged at your plans to visit us again. We appreciate the candidness of your review and apologize for the unpleasant experiences you had at our restaurants. We will work on improving our dining services so as to serve you better in the future. I will share your compliments with Fitz who will stand ready to welcome you back when you return. Be blessed!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Steve O wrote a review Jan 2023
Tucson, Arizona30 contributions12 helpful votes
Top notch accommodations, great food, staff that are second to none made our 10 day stay a dream. We (my wife and I) returned to the Buccaneer after 30 years had passed since our first visit. We are so glad we did. We were a bit concerned that the Wyndham affiliation would detract from the wonderful ambiance but so far it has not seemed to. Quite the contrary. We were welcomed with open arms and made to feel special indeed. It was a relaxing and carefree vacation for us.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Good day Steve O, Sounds like you had a grand 10-day getaway! Thank you for coming back and experiencing the Buccaneer a second time. Our returning guests are always special to us and we hope for a shorter gap between your departure and your next visit! Looking forward to your third trip to us!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dalton wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
William at the poolside bar was fantastic! Drinks and conversation were top notch. The stellar view accompanying the fantastic service made it even more fabulous. Definitely recommend to all vacationers!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Hello! Thank you for your representation us! William is a recent addition to our team and we are delighted that his service and conversations were impressionable. I am certain he will be happy to read your review. Thank you for recommending us and do visit again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherrie D wrote a review Dec 2022
4 contributions3 helpful votes
We were in St. Croix for our parents’ 50th anniversary and Christmas. Knowing most restaurants are closed on Christmas evening, we made reservations at the Buccaneer for the Christmas buffet. While the atmosphere was pretty, the food was terrible and not plentiful and the service was worse! We had trouble even getting water refills and were ignored for at least 20 minutes after being seated. Dirty plates were next to the clean buffet plates and food was not refilled quickly. The quality of the food did not measure up to the price, and overall we were incredibly disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Good day, I am sorry about your experience dining with us. We would want to hear more of your experience and determine the best resolution for this unfortunate turn out. Please connect with us at your convenience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Laurie B wrote a review Dec 2022
Topsail Island, North Carolina25 contributions9 helpful votes
What an experience! Rolling hills, pink stucco and crystal turquoise water are all the elements that make this resort gorgeous but .. what makes it outstanding--the people. We flew into Christiansted to stay in an airbnb--guess what? Disaster. I called the Buccaneer and they had availability at the last minute. Ocean view rooms, spacious and clean--the staff is exceptional. Went out of their way to accommodate us and make us feel valued and special. Outstanding!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Hope you get William the bartender by the Grotto pool--he is fabulous! So personable! This pool...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 4 days ago
Hello Laurie, We are glad to have helped turn things around for a positive and memorable vacation for you. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Do remember us on your next trip!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Veda D wrote a review Dec 2022
1 helpful vote
+1
As a United States Army Colonel who has experienced quality hotels and resorts The Buccaneer has to be one of the top three in the western hemisphere. Staff members like Elisa Gustave, Claude and Gertrude are second to none. My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there, it was amazing! We look forward to returning to The Buccaneer.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Get extra pillows.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Joel Shoy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Responded 5 days ago
Good day, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I shared your shout outs with Claude, Elisa, and Gertrude. They send their best and have expressed hopes to see you again :) We were delighted to play a small role in your anniversary celebration and look forward to helping you celebrate many more. All the best to you and your family until next time!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$593 - US$690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the buccaneer -- st croix hotel christiansted, buccaneer st croix christiansted
LOCATION
CaribbeanU.S. Virgin IslandsSt. CroixChristiansted
NUMBER OF ROOMS
131
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BUCCANEER BEACH & GOLF RESORT TRADEMARK COLLECTION BY WYNDHAM - UPDATED 2023 Reviews & Price Comparison (Christiansted, U.S. Virgin Islands) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Which popular attractions are close to The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Nearby attractions include ib designs (2.5 km), Buck Island Reef National Monument (6.7 km), and Fort Christiansvaern (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Frescos Kitchen & Pub House, Blues' Backyard BBQ & Grill, and Ziggy's Island Market.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham have an airport shuttle?
Yes, The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham have airport transportation?
Yes, The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Buccaneer Beach & Golf Resort Trademark Collection by Wyndham offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.