La Haut Resort

La Haut Resort

sublime vue sur les pitons depuis la chambre
Traveler (692)
Panorama of the Back Pool at the La Haut Resort
360
Panoramas (6)
La Haut Resort
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 guest houses in Soufriere
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
La Haut resort is a 3 star Resort which is family owned, A working plantation with great cooling sea breezes, magical views of the Pitons, Caribbean Sea and the rain forest. La Haut Resort is ideal for couples, families, weddings, groups, nature lovers and health and wellness holidays. La Haut or Le Haut literally means "the height" in Patois, a French dialect that is commonly spoken by St. Lucians. La Haut sits on a hill overlooking Soufriere, one of the oldest towns in St Lucia. Part of a 52-acre former coconut and cocoa estate, the main Guest House possesses a unique history. Nearly 100 years old, the main guesthouse was originally a cocoa house used for fermenting and drying cocoa beans hand-picked on the estate. In 1995, the building was converted and refurbished into a 6-room guesthouse. The nearby cottage was a former copra house where coconuts were once processed.Although the rich aroma of cocoa beans no longer wafts through the air, at La Haut you can enjoy the perfume-scented, tropical fauna or the salty breeze that blows off the Caribbean Sea. The Resort consists of 15 rooms which can sleep 30 persons with some rooms large enough to accommodate additional persons. The rooms are scattered around the plantation, some in a refurbished cocoa house and copra house. Rooms are spacious, bright and airy with private balconies, bathrooms and all have amazing views. Most of the rooms have Air conditioning with only 3 rooms not containing Air conditioning. One can relax and step back in time where you can enjoy the flitter of the hummingbirds, soaring of hawks on the air currents, the bray of the donkey at sunrise, sound of crickets and sparkle of fireflies at night. Each room is equipped with a toaster,microwave, mini fridge, electric kettle, fresh fruits (seasonal), a luxurious King sized bed, ceiling fan\Air Condition ,en-suite bathroom and a amazing view of the pitons from every angle. At the Comlukyah Restaurant on property, it is currently privately operated and is open for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Friendly and helpful staff offer all guest an unforgettable experience of St. Lucia country life. Please note that handicap accessible rooms are not available.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Massage
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Taxi service
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Kitchenette
Microwave
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Ocean view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French
Hotel links
Special Price:35% off room rate

Location

West Coast Road Colombette, Soufriere St. Lucia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 56 out of 100
56
George F. L. Charles Airport
18.5 km
See all flights
Hewanorra Airport
535Reviews30Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 300
  • 161
  • 43
  • 19
  • 12
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Judith R wrote a review Feb 2023
Property's Favorite Review
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just stayed at this delightful property for 5 days. Not for the luxury crowd and more of an eco-experience, but we are seniors fro the US and found no comfort lacking!
Delightful and extremely comfortable accommodation—large room, balcony with furniture and hammock; kitchenette, and best of all, a perfect view of the highlight of St. Lucia, the Pitons.
Warm, friendly, helpful staff. Unforgettable visit! Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The “cashew” rooms have the best view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded Feb 26, 2023
Dear Ms, Judith, Thank you for the excellent review of your stay with us at La Haut Resort. We appreciate you mentioning the wonderful service you received while at our hotel and we will be sure to pass along the comments to our staff about them being warm, friendly and helpful. We are glad the accomodations met your needs and thank you for the great recomendation of our resort. We hope that you will give us a try again when your travel brings you to Soufriere, St Lucia again. Thank you once again. Warm Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Senka T wrote a review Feb 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed 7 days at one of the Cashew rooms. Room is spacious, terrace is large with breathtaking views. WiFi was amazing in our room and on the terrace, a bit off at the restaurant which is not a big deal at all. Our room had everything we needed. We understood this is a 2 star resort, however staying at Cashew room exceeded our expectations and definitely has a great value for money.
Having breakfast included felt so great. Every morning we would walk to a something you can describe as a homemade food. Omelette is made in front of you, always great choice of muffins, fruits (I loved watermelon), then juices, coffee, cocoa tea, regular tea, cereals, fruit yogurt... really great selection and we loved the taste of everything. Nothing was pretentious, but very rich and tasty. We liked relaxed island service, no pressure and always with a smile.
Resort serves lunch which we have not tried as we were always on the go, but having a snack bar opened until 8pm has been a life savior at moments. We loved ham and cheese sandwich!! And two girls that work there (that we met) were super friendly and nice.
Infinity pool is definitely the best spot!! Early morning swim, chilling in the sunset or just being there at any moment- you can never get bored of looking at the pitons. Another great thing is that pool is never too crowded.
Staff that works at the property is always friendly, saying hi and always there to help.
All in all- one great experience and something that we would recommend for everyone that is looking for a nature inspired stay.

Thank you again, Glenda, for making our stay great!!

Senka & Niko
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded Mar 2, 2020
Dear Ms Senkat/Mr Niko, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us at La Haut Resort. Thank you so much for the excellent picture you have painted of our property we greatly appreciate it.These are the things we want our guests to experience with us. I am especially proud of you referring to our staff as friendly and that they are what truly makes a difference. Our hotel has a family and home feeling to it and we enjoy the opportunity to make a personal experience for each and every guest. Also, we do appreciate you mentioning everything that made your day special. We were happy we exceeded your expectations and cannot wait to host you in the future. One again thank you for your great recommendation to other travellers. Best Regards, The La Haut Resort Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
grace wrote a review Jan 2023
New York City, New York
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value for the money.
The room was spacious, bed comfy, the view of Pitons from the balcony is utterly stunning.
The room even has a little kitchenette, equipped with a small camping stove , few pots and pans and a tea kettle. It was extremely useful .
Housekeeping was immaculate. The room was cleaned and refreshed every day while we were out and whatever issues we had were addressed and resolved immediately.
Great location, you are about 5 minutes drive from Soufriere
The infinity pool is breathtaking. Joe, the property owner is the definition of island hospitality and good vibes.
Will absolutely stay there again.
CONS: no TV in the rooms. Wifi is ok, but not streaming quality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded Feb 26, 2023
Dear Gracealexperez, Thank you for posting this wonderful review of your recent stay with us at La Haut Resort. I am glad that we met your expectations and every thing appeared to go well for you during your stay with us, also, thank you for the kind words regarding the room, views, staff and location. We are continually trying to improve the Wifi at the resort. Thank you for staying at La Haut Resort and we hope that you will consider us for your next trip to St Lucia. Warm Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Vladimir G wrote a review Jan 2020
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the two bedroom unit 9a for five adults for two nights last week looking forward to enjoy a nice resort and breathtaking views . The views were really great but the unit we stayed in was far from what we expected . We found it dirty, dusty and with stinky bathrooms. Everything we touched was literally falling apart - chairs , windows, doors were so old that we gave up locking the unit. The toaster had to be held with a risk of being electrocuted, some power outlets did not work too.
Taking a bath was an interesting experience from privacy standpoint.
WiFi was supposed to be fixed - never happened.
Needless to say we were completely disappointed and the place is extremely overpriced. Don’t waste your money and be deceived by the pictures.
Five minutes after we checked in we asked to leave and get a refund as the unit was not for five adults .
The owner declined the refund request and refused to accommodate us in any way.
I am thankful that was one of the few bad experiences from the incredible vacation we had in Saint Lucia .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaHautResort, Front Office Manager at La Haut Resort
Responded Jan 26, 2020
Dear Mr Vladimirg494, Thank you for taking time and posting your review of your experience at La Haut Resort. We value your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed our Views from the resort one of the best in Soufriere, St Lucia. We listen to the guest comments and appreciate you sharing your concerns with us, This provides us with ideas on how to improve on our services and how to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. I am sorry that you felt disappointed about the two bedroom which you booked and expected it to have three bedrooms to accommodate 5 persons.We also offered you the option of renting out a second room at a very discount price but you refused this offer. The wifi was not working during your stay with us due to the internet being down in the Soufriere area. La Haut Resort is one of the most reasonably priced resort in St Lucia and I am sorry that you think other wise. Once again, thank you for your comments and business. Best Regards, La Haut Resort Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christie L wrote a review Feb 2022
Alpharetta, Georgia
4.0 of 5 bubbles
La Haut property is lovely. The view of the Pitons and town of Soufriere below are beautiful.
As with most places you stay on the island, if you aren't renting a car, you should be prepared to be picked up at property for any tours.
A round trip taxi ride to/from town will cost between $20-30 USD.
Communication with staff at La Haut was excellent and we appreciated them arranging our pickup from the airport.
Lush restaurant on site is very good and the staff are quite friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded Apr 25, 2022
Dear Ms. Christie L, Thank you for choosing our hotel La Haut Resort and for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our property. Thank you for mentioning the great communication skills of our staff and the the on site restaurant. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to enjoy your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Best Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
paindoc770 wrote a review Jan 2023
New York, NY
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a fairly simple and rustic resort with spectacular views of the Pitons and Soufrie from its mountainside perch. There is not much that this place offers other than the rooms, the pool, and a restaurant. The rooms are simple and clean, and ours had a decent sized kitchen area (some had a smaller space) and simple but functional bathroom. After 4p nothing can get done. If you need more sheets or towels you need to wait for the next day. The staff is helpful but their availability is limited. There are pool/beach towels available at the registration building. Most rooms have AC. We had an issue the first night with our accommodations, and unfortunately nothing could be changed until the next day. But the next day, the staff went out of their way to make sure that we would be happy with our new rooms. my biggest piece of advice is that if you want to stay here please make sure you get an email with pictures of what your exact room is going to look like so that your expectations can be fully met. You will pay more for this accommodation than you are used to because this is the southern part of the island and accommodations are limited.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Get pictures and a detailed description of the room that you are going to be getting
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded Feb 26, 2023
Dear Paindoc770, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us at La Haut Resort. We are grateful for your comments about your stay with us at the resort, we will take them into consideration for future use. We are looking forward to welcoming you back here again in the not to distant future. Warm Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GFLiisa wrote a review Jan 2020
California
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Killer views of the Pitons while eating breakfast. Super cool infinity pool with more amazing views. Rooms are spacious, adequate and some have air conditioning... You'll need it! Enjoyed our four night stay and views on this plantation. We could see the volcano steam mineral baths across the valley. Typical of carribean accommodations (perhaps more rustic than this American is used to), but certainly adequate. Mosquitos seemed aggressive here and around Soufriere (bring your Deet!) but they like me in general. Read the other reviews here and arm yourself with knowledge and you'll be fine. They did provide pool towels. Breakfast was included (local juice, eggs, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee, tea) since we booked direct. Friendly and nice staff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from LaHautResort, Front Office Manager at La Haut Resort
Responded Jan 5, 2020
Dear Ms GFLiisa, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of La Haut Resort with others. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay immensely and thank you for highlighting the products that we pride ourself in It was our pleasure hosting you, and we do hope to see you at La Haut Resort again in the not too distant future. Best regards La Haut Resort Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eric G wrote a review Mar 2020
Cave Creek, Arizona
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Cashew 1 (room name). The room was very spacious. The back porch was also large with spectacular views of the Pitons. Such views were also accessible at many points on the property. The infinity edge pool was a wonderful way to cool off while enjoying the same views . Breakfast was not buffet but served. We were served a plate of fruit, a basket of toast and given a choice of howto have our eggs prepared. We had a rental car parked right outside the room. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from La Haut Resort, Other at La Haut Resort
Responded May 21, 2022
Dear Eric, Thank you so much for the excellent picture you have painted of our property. I am especially proud of you referring to our staff as friendly and helpful , they are what truly makes a difference. Our hotel has a family and home feeling to it and we enjoy the opportunity to make a personal experience for each and every guest. We were happy you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot wait to host you in the future. Again, thank you Warm Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tanis W wrote a review Jun 2022
Brandon, Canada
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The front office staff are amazing. The location of the hotel is second to none with stunning views of the Pitons. The rooms themselves are well stocked but could use some updates. The restaurant on site is currently closed which made meals a little challenging without a vehicle but again the front desk staff were extremely helpful
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thomas L wrote a review Oct 2021
Frankfurt, Germany
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I stayed here and were not disappointed. The view from the balconies and pool is as stunning as shown on the pictures, maybe even more impressive!
Even though it is named a “Resort” I would rather called it a B&B, also since the restaurant has a different owner than the hotel part.
Nevertheless the staff of both, the restaurant and the hotel are very friendly and kind.
And for this price you won’t find anything comparable on the island!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Stephanie Allain, General Manager at La Haut Resort
Responded Oct 25, 2021
Dear Sir, We at La Haut Resort would like to thank you for posting this raving review of your stay with us. It gives us great pleasure to read about your amazing experience with us, this is what we strive to do for all our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed the stunning views, the accomodation, pricing, pools and staff. We are looking forward to welcoming the two of you here again at La Haut resort in the not to distant future. Best Regards, Glender Chesmin.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
dylanaustex asked a question Jun 2022
Austin, Texas1 contribution1 helpful vote
Where would I be able to get the required COVID test prior to return US flight?
Answer from LaHautResort
Soufriere Quarter, St. Lucia40 contributions
You can get this done at the Tapion Lab in Soufriere town the day before you leave the island.
Answer from Thomas L
Frankfurt, Germany38 contributions15 helpful votes
I‘m afraid the internet didn’t work at all during our stay there. Though you can easily buy a simcard at a local shop. It was only around 15USD and the network worked reliably in the inhabited areas.
gkblhb asked a question Dec 2020
Knoxville, Tennessee34 contributions17 helpful votes
How far to Soufriere other restaurants and bars? Can you arrange tours?
Answer from Lahaut_Resort
Soufriere, St. Lucia4 contributions
Sufriere is only 5 minutes away from our hotel via car. It is 1.5 miles. Yes, we can arrange tours with our certified drivers to certified sites and attractions.
smyers39 asked a question May 2020
Granbury, Texas65 contributions49 helpful votes
Hi there! Do any rooms have AC? I need one room 2 adults June 6-13th! Thanks.
Answer from LaHautResort
Soufriere Quarter, St. Lucia40 contributions
Majority of our rooms have AC
Answer from Sue G
Sorry font know but I can recommend the La Hair Resort .The view is spectacular of the Pitons in the background.
embankment wrote a tip Mar 2024
Belfast, United Kingdom95 contributions62 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you’re not a driver / have no car. It’s you to cost you almost $20 return getting anywhere"
Read full review
Judith R wrote a tip Feb 2023
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The “cashew” rooms have the best view."
Read full review
Amanda wrote a tip Feb 2023
Brooklyn, New York5 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Premium Vista (Cashew Rooms)"
Read full review
Us and them wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Basically have the place to yourself."
Read full review
paindoc770 wrote a tip Jan 2023
New York, NY262 contributions86 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get pictures and a detailed description of the room that you are going to be getting"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Soufriere area.
PRICE RANGE
₱10,414 - ₱14,239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la haut plantation hotel
LOCATION
CaribbeanSt. LuciaSoufriere QuarterSoufriere
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

LA HAUT RESORT - UPDATED 2024 Guest house Reviews & Price Comparison (Soufriere, St. Lucia) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about La Haut Resort
Which popular attractions are close to La Haut Resort?
Nearby attractions include Gros Piton Nature Trail (1.1 km) and En Bas Saut Trail (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Haut Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Haut Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at La Haut Resort?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at La Haut Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Haut Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Treetop Restaurant and Bar, Fedo's, and The Beacon Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Haut Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does La Haut Resort have airport transportation?
Yes, La Haut Resort offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at La Haut Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to La Haut Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balenbouche Estate Heritage Site (12.1 km).
Does La Haut Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
All Soufriere HotelsSoufriere Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in SoufriereHotels near La Haut Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars