We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Carretara 996 Km 4.3, 00765 Puerto Rico
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (220)
Room & Suite (34)
Pool & Beach (32)

About

#6 of 8 hotels in Isla de Vieques
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on the island's southern coastal road, less than a mile west of Esperanza on Vieques Island. The Blue Horizon Boutique Resort is perfectly situated on a bluff overlooking the waters of the Caribbean Sea; 800m of ocean front coastline. Its centerpiece is an airy seafront house, built in a Mediterranean style in 1975, whose soaring living area opens onto a view of the blue horizon. It's 10 air-conditioned rooms. Our restaurant, Carambola and Blue Moon Bar open 7-days a week year-round! Massages are available in-room, cliff or pool side by our selective therapists.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Internet
Pool
Infinity pool
Bar / lounge
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Private balcony
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Romantic
Languages Spoken
Spanish
466Reviews16Q+A13Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 236
  • 95
  • 40
  • 43
  • 52
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Barbara P wrote a review Sep 2022
Imperial Beach, California11 contributions
+1
Absolutely one of the best experiences we have had, even through Hurricane Fiona! Best restaurant--chef was always amazing! Before storm we enjoyed food, infinity pool, view, quiet. During & after Fiona, staff continued excellent service. Took great care of us! You know they care & are committed to your well being when they do all they can even under trying circumstances. Beautiful rooms, staff, and food.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Cheapest easiest way on and off island is the ferry. Fast. Inexpensive. Easy.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Santosh V wrote a review Sep 2022
New York City, New York3 contributions
My girlfriend and I booked a last-minute trip to Vieques to celebrate her birthday. This hotel really dampened our experience on the island. The customer service is beyond awful - management especially. The hotel itself has extremely spotty (and sometimes non-existent) wifi. There is often no one at the Front desk, so expect to be waiting quite a while if you need any service. The staff is not inclined to share recommendations with their guests. Boutique hotels are often great due to exemplary customer service when managing a smaller establishment - not here. Most importantly - quadruple-check what you're charged. Management is extremely scheme-y and will try to overcharge you (wish I had read some of the recent reviews before booking). I would recommend El Blok if you can get a room - far better customer service and many tours use that as their base (understandably). My experience with the overcharging below: On September 2nd around 6:30pm, we booked a room directly on their website for the next day (not recommended - book through Expedia for protection!). The website refreshed mid-booking and we were processed for a booking for that same night instead of September 3rd. We immediately called the hotel when this happened. The front desk said we didn't need to worry and they would make a note that the booking was one day early day. Additionally, they said they would reach out to management to adjust the booking since they couldn't do it on their end. We sent an email to management as well to ensure this change was noted. The next day, we don't see any response from Management. We called the Front Desk again, and they said the safest option would be to book another room so it's reserved in the system and Management would make an adjustment once they saw the email. A little while after we make a new reservation, we get an email from Management saying that they would be charging us for both nights well since we had made a "non-refundable booking" both times. At this point, we were already in-transit to Vieques. Still thinking this is a simple misunderstanding (because which hotel would ever do this?), we arrived at the hotel and asked to speak with a manager and were told that there is no manager available. We could only communicate with decision makers on our booking via email. Long story short, we're going to need to dispute this with our credit card company.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Ocean view rooms aren't really worth it - you have a similar view from most rooms and cannot...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Secretaria P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I can assure you that it is a beautiful place, well located, surrounded by well-kept nature, free horses and the views are unbeatable. It has a medium size pool where we saw horses drinking water, and we decided not to use it. They have some stairs that take you to a very small rocky beach not suitable for swimming. At all times, the staff was very friendly. Upon our arrival (Friday) we had made a reservation at 6PM for dinner at Carambola Restaurant, at 8PM we were able to have our appetizer and the deliciousness of the food was overshadowed by the excessive waiting time at the table. The room and the bathroom were very good in size, with air conditioning and a very good wi-fi signal, it does not have a television. The bathroom maybe needs some reform. Sheets and towels very clean and well presented. Beach towels and chairs are available and can be taken outside the hotel. They have chairs on the balcony of the room and in the nearby garden. The horses are loose throughout the property, so you have to consider it if you go out for a walk at night. On Saturday, after a whole day of touring the beautiful beaches of Vieques, we were dead tired, we picked up the bottle of champagne but they didn't have glasses or anything else to serve it, really? Well, finally when we were going to open the champagne around 1AM the power went out, yes! There was no electric generator, or if there was, they didn't turn it on. We couldn't open the glass doors to the balcony because the mosquitoes literally ate you. We spent the night awake, sweating and in total darkness. At 7:30 AM the power came back on (or they turned on the generator). We freshened up, picked up, checked out at which point I asked if there was a generator, but neither of the 2 ladies there answered the question. Only one of them said "what a pity", no one apologized for the inconvenience and they did not have the delicacy to offer a discount in consideration of the lousy night without electricity. It is hard to believe that they are not prepared for a situation like this, Vieques and all of Puerto Rico in general, suffers from problems with the electrical service. This hotel advertises itself as one of the best in the area, which is why we chose them. It was not the cheapest option at all as we paid $743 for 2 nights (1 of them without electricity), overpriced. Puedo asegurar que es un lugar precioso, bien situado, rodeado de naturaleza bien cuidada, caballos sueltos y las vistas son inmejorables. Tiene una piscina de tamaño mediano donde vimos caballos bebiendo agua, y decidimos no usarla. Tienen unas escaleras que te llevan a una muy pequeña playita rocosa no apta para nadar. En todo momento, el personal fue muy amable. A nuestra llegada (viernes) habíamos hecho reservación a las 6PM para cenar en Carambola Restaurant, a las 8PM pudimos tomar nuestro apperitivo y lo delicioso de la comida quedó opacado por el exagerado tiempo de espera en la mesa. La habitación y el baño estaban muy bien de tamaño, con aire acondicionado y muy buena señal wi-fi, no tiene televisión. El baño quizás necesita alguna reforma. Sábanas y toallas muy limpias y bien presentadas. Las toallas y sillas de playa están disponibles y se pueden llevar fuera del hotel. Tienen sillas en el balconcito de la habitación y en el jardín cercano. Los caballos andan sueltos por toda la propiedad, asi que hay que considerarlo en caso de salir a pasear de noche. El sábado, después de un día entero de recorrer las hermosas playas de Vieques, estábamos muertos de cansancio, recogimos la botella de champagne pero no tenían copas u otro para servirlo, en serio? Bueno finalmente cuando ibamos a abrir el champagne como a la 1AM se fue la luz, si! No había generador eléctrico, o si lo había no lo prendieron. No pudimos abrir las puertas de cristal del balcón porque literalmente los mosquitos te comían. Pasamos la noche en vela, sudando y en total oscuridad. A las 7:30AM volvió la luz (o encendieron el generador) . Nos refrescamos, recogimos, hicimos check out momento en el cual pregunté si había generador, pero ninguna de las 2 damas que estaban allí respondió la pregunta. Sólo una de ellas dijo "qué pena", nadie se excusó por el inconveniente y no tuvieron la delicadeza de ofrecer un descuento en consideración a la pésima noche sin luz. Es difícil de creer que no estén preparados para una situación como esta, Vieques y todo Puerto Rico en general, sufre de problemas con el servicio eléctrico. Este hotel se anuncia como uno de los mejores en el área, por eso los elegimos. No era la opción más económica en lo absoluto ya que pagamos $743 por 2 noches (1 de ellas sin servicio eléctrico). Muy caro.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Sasha D wrote a review Jul 2022
3 contributions1 helpful vote
My boyfriend and I stayed at the property July 2nd through the 8th. When we came to check in we were told that due to a storm there was no WIFI in the hotel. When asked when will they get the WIFI back we were told they didn’t know and we weren’t provided with any alternate options or updates throughout the stay. As someone who had to work this was obviously incredibly inconvenient and we asked to check out one or two days early. The Manager mentioned we needed to reach out to Booking.com and request to shorten the reservation. Of course this was a hassle as now we needed to keep calling the 3party and to continuously check if the property received their call as yet again no one provided us with any updates. Finally, the reservations department (after going back and forth with us for a couple of days) said that they do not allow cancellations (this would’ve saved us the headaches of calling booking 3 times a day) and we will be charged regardless. I should mention that when we arrived, multiple outlets in the room weren’t working, the blowdryer wasn’t working, the iron only sporadically and the housekeeping service wasn’t consistent. We needed to ration the soap and after a long day would have to call the Front Desk and ask for service. Granted after we mentioned this our room has been services for the last two days of the stay. We decided to leave one night before and the Manager in passing asked ‘Are you guys leaving today?’ When we told her we will checkout on Friday instead of Saturday she just said ok. At checkout time Friday morning we were met with a new woman at the Front Desk who knew nothing about the wifi issues and only said we were due out that day. We were shown a credit on the bill for the last night that we later learned would not be applied to our card due to cancelation policy. Overall, the property was nice however the service was extremely poor and unprofessional. No one ever tried to reach out to us and check how the stay was going considering the issues we reported, there was a lack of communication amongst the staff and we had to keep explaining the issues to each new employee and no one ever showed empathy. In hospitality , especially when someone is paying a lot for their stay, it is not enough to say ‘yes i understand’ with a forced smile. They didn’t show any care towards the guests and continuously provided us with generic answers which made no sense and are not relevant to the issues at hand. I can say with certainty this was one of the worst customer service experiences I ever had and needless to say I am never returning. I hope this was worth the $700 that were not returned to us.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Andrew wrote a review Jul 2022
Utah2 contributions1 helpful vote
I was fraudulently charged almost $700 by this hotel and it’s been over a year with no resolve. The charge appeared on my card in June 2021, when my reservation was for July/August 2021. I attempted to resolve the issue with the hotel directly, including during my stay. Nothing has been done. AAA travel has also spent almost a year attempting to help, as the booking was through them. They haven’t been able to get in touch with anyone at the property for over 6 months. November 2021- AAA did speak to the manager (at the time) and they had said the money would be refunded. When it was followed up on, a new manager had taken over and they said they would follow up with AAA. That was the last contact had with the property. I also reached out to my bank to help, but it had fallen outside of the 60 day window to resolve a charge. As beautiful as the property is, it’s hard to get past a fraudulent $700 charge, on top of an already expensive reservation.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Rent a vehicle BEFORE you arrive. Transportation can be hard to come by, especially after hours....
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Erika M wrote a review Jun 2022
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
First of all you should be aware that Vieques is a small island with no ubber or cab service. There are some locals who do transportation services but if you want to go to a beach you need a car. That being said, this hotel is very beautiful and has an amazing view of the horizon. But what they don’t tell you in their description is that they do not have a beach access in which you can swim. The portion of the beach that this hotel has is full with algae and rocks. Is not even good for a stroll. The staff was very nice and the food was good. But that was it. The pool only has one umbrella so unless you get it first there is no shade and you will roast. Also, they have horses that roam free in the facilities, and while they are pretty to watch they drink water from the pool which I found disgusting. The room had no tv, and there was a weird setting going on with the bathroom. The sink was outside of the bathroom and the bathroom had no door so you could basically see the other person in the bed while using the toilet. Or you could see the person taking a shower while using the toilet. They also did not disclose that is a non smoking facility, they asked us not to smoke in ANY area of the hotel. We saw another guest hiding to smoke a cigarette. If you are thinking on the convenience of walking to the beach from the hotel, this is not the place to stay. We had to rent a car for $110 a day to drive 20 minutes to get to one beach. While they provide beach chairs and towels they do not provide coolers, so think about that when you are planing your trip. By the time we got to the beach the six pack we had bought was warm and since we were just staying for 2 nights it was not worth buying a cooler. For the price we paid we felt disillusioned with our stay in this place.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: If you are thinking convenience and relaxation this is not the place for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Profesora L wrote a review Jun 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Honestly surprised at the amount of perfect reviews.It is marketed as one of the best boutique hotels in the caribbean....working in the industry, I'd STRONGLY disagree, but let's start with the PROS: as many have stated, the property itself is beautiful, quite unique for Vieques as it has beach access (below the stairs)& ocean view. The waiter at the restaurant was nice . So one star each for those. Cons: where to begin? from the get-go, it seemed there was a lack of overhead/management, not a huge passion for the hotel, or the job from some staff + the room itself felt uncared for. I tried to check in early as I was feeling sick+ was moving from a different hotel- tried calling Blue but no answer so drove over there around 11:30. Receptionist was initially nice + told us she'd send a text when the room was available- great! so went to the beach. Returned 3hrs later (no text) to try again- still not available. Asked if it would be ready soon, receptionist starting getting a little rude saying they were still working on the room. I was surprised since it had been a few hours but she said "you don't know the state of the room"...I didn't push it, and went for an appetizer at their restaurant (food is okay, better spots in town) Returned to reception at 3:15 bc I felt a migraine coming, so I asked "is it possible the room is ready? im not feeling very well" This is where she got rude and bluntly said "checkin is at 4"-- I said that we had waited almost 4 hrs after the check out of last customer + she kept repeating "checkin is at 4pm" in what wasn't a nice tone-- I contested if that was the case, why even say "I'll text you when it's ready" because I wouldnt have returned to try. The receptionist kept rudely repeated "checkin is at 4pm" only. it felt very unprofessional + there was no empathy about how I was feeling as a customer. Furthermore, I checked the bookings and there were 3+ OTHER rooms available they may have offered!! They were not busy, but perhaps short of staff for cleaning---if that was the case, which I can fully understand considering I know how tourism is lately-- COMMUNICATE from the get go. But communication was a huge issue here throughout. The experience didn't get much better. We finally checked in after 4pm but I immediately noticed it wasn't the room we had booked- ocean front- no window faced the ocean, the room faces another room/patio. it was right by the bar, + as I dont drink, I wasn't feeling it (Note: certainly this could be ideal for some vacationers ). It was a big room , but a bit rundown/ drabby(could be just difference in taste of decor). I had to rest due to my migraine contemplated asking to change but I didn’t want to be treated rudely again! Thankfully, the evening receptionist was more profesional + ended up changing our room to what looked liked our booking- a smaller room but more direct view of the ocean. I was happy with the change, but over my stay more small disappointments. No one really checked in, the room was never cleaned, and there were ants all over which Id get if this was sold as a rustic/in nature hotel but FOR THE PRICE, I expected WAY more. I get it if they were short on cleaning staff but at the very least ask if the client wants their rooms cleaned, beds made? Also, laundry was way overpriced and they only accepted cash ($20 for a small bag of clothes- maybe 4 t shirts/4 shorts) CONCLUSION: I would not return here unless there was a change of management and rooms were given an upgrade. I was on the same flight back to SJ as another Blue client who also said he felt the rooms were shabby, lots of ants, and he felt unwelcomed + the receptionist was rude when he asked for a late check out. Our requests are NOT uncommon in the industry, and if it's not available, make that known to your clients. Truly not a welcoming vibe, and that's not the feeling a customer wants when on vacation paying $$$$ - I know Vieques isn't cheap, but this place is not worth the price . I’d recommend Finca Victoria for a better experience & value.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: The queen ocean front are OK... but not worth the price. Lots of ants. Seems old/rundown. (see...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tripsgaloreandmore wrote a review May 2022
Providence, Rhode Island93 contributions18 helpful votes
We went to Blue Horizon for dinner, imagining it would be something special given the location. Our table on the porch had a gorgeous view. The dinner was hands down the worst dinner we ate on the island. We waited over an hour for dinner and were even encouraged to go to the roof top deck while we waited. They were out of our first four choices of white wine. The coconut shrimp was decent. Both our entrees were over cooked and with no sauce or salsa as advertised- the mahi mahi and red snapper. The salad had no dressing and the plantains were cold.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
itsmejennyj wrote a review May 2022
Mesa, Arizona5 contributions
+1
We came to Vieques for a day trip to just see the island. We heard about the bioluminescent bay, and decided to try to stay the night. We booked a room at the Blue Horizon on Expedia, knowing nothing about the resort. WOW! Were we thrilled when we arrived! There are wild horses all over the resort. Near the pool area there was a pregnant mare, 2 month-or-so old nursing babies, plus yearlings and 2 year olds following their mothers. All around the rolling hills of the spacious grounds there were little bands of horses. Most were minding their own business. A couple of yearlings were curious and would come up and smell my hand, if I stood very still. We decided to stay at the resort and enjoy time with the horses rather than head to the little town. Our room provided beach chairs, so we set them up in the middle of the field to watch the beautiful animals roam around us. We also enjoyed watching the hens gather their tiny baby chicks, and the beautiful white cranes that would follow the horses. The water seemed a bit rough at the beach, but we walked along and found sea anemones and hermit crabs. When it got dark (after a gorgeous sunset over the island), we caught a ride with another couple to town. We ate a delicious dinner at the Blok (steaks and veggies to die for!), then went on our incredible tour with Jak Sports (I never leave reviews, and I reviewed ALL of these great places. All recommended by our Taxi driver Ali [Gerry 787-610-6667]) We hadn’t arranged a ride back to the hotel, so we walked. It was a bit of a walk, but we enjoyed the night sounds of birds and tree frogs. The colorful lights on the trees of the hotel grounds welcomed us home. We are on the ferry back to Puerto Rico now (after an amazing breakfast at The Roost! I’m telling you, everything our driver recommended was Off. The. Hook.), and I’m sad to have had such a short stay. I hope to bring our whole family back again someday. The only thing I would change would be the length of our stay. 💞
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The resort had free toothbrushes, for those of us who hadn’t planned to stay the night. 😁
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Whitepond71 wrote a review May 2022
Windsor, New Hampshire77 contributions66 helpful votes
A week at this lovely property. Quiet, immaculate suite with outstanding views, wild horses ambling about and charming, friendly staff. Bar/restaurant staff did an excellent job managing guests/diners with limited staff! Shower in the honeymoon suite was quite cool, needs adjustment…but small nuisance. Welcome respite from the busy town of Esperanza bars, restaurants and Malecon. Suggest rails/supports for pool entry…especially for visitors of an interesting age! Loved my week there, would definitely highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Honeymoon suite had lovely views, spacious, quiet, bright!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$284 - US$372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
blue horizon boutique hotel isla de vieques
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Inn on the Blue Horizon
LOCATION
CaribbeanPuerto RicoIsla de Vieques
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BLUE HORIZON BOUTIQUE RESORT - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Blue Horizon Boutique Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Nearby attractions include Playa Caracas (7.8 km), Bioluminescent Mosquito Bay (4.2 km), and Balneario Sun Bay (2.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Coqui Fire Cafe, El Quenepo, and Bili.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Blue Horizon Boutique Resort?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Puerto Ferro Lighthouse (7.8 km).
Does Blue Horizon Boutique Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.