We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge

Save
Share
Traveler (56)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (8)
Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good29%
  • Average10%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible4%
  • 2 Nov 2016
    “Great kite spot with friendly staff”
  • 19 Feb 2016
    “Disappointed”
Off 40 Km Post Kalpitiya Road 2 km towards the sea, Sethawadiya, Kalpitiya 61360 Sri Lanka See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Restaurant
Airport Transportation
Room Service
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
34
20
7
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
34
20
7
5
2
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Srilankakite is a great spot for kiters! It offers the best options for kiting with launching area just outside your bungalow for the experienced kiters and super easy launch just across the lagoon for beginners. I came with my family and the Srilnkakite took good...More

Thank 211Axel
Reviewed 20 February 2016 via mobile

The site is amazing but the place almost only attracts people who just want to kitesurf, party and have little interest in sri lanka nor nature. The boss says it is called eco because it is economic (which is not even true with a bottle...More

Thank Skoolpool
Response from Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco LodgeResponded 1 March 2016

Dear Skoolpool, We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you said our place is mostly dedicated to kitesurfing, hence the name "Srilankakite". We are often having random parties but to avoid disturbing our guests we turn down the music...More

Reviewed 16 September 2015

My wife and I stayed 5 nights at the camp of Srilankakite. We had a very nice stay. We had the first bungalow located next to the kite school. It was great, it has a lot of space and several shelves in the main room,...More

Thank Antoine F
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We stayed in the 'villa' which was made available after the terrible fire at the main camp. It is a private house now offered via Sri Lanka Kite / Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge. The house itself is quite spacious and has a large outdoor...More

Thank josdevries0031
Response from Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco LodgeResponded 28 September 2015

Dear josdevries0031, First of all thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry about that situation. As said in a previous review the place you stayed is not part of camp, it's a house we rent with the owner's staff. We reported...More

Reviewed 12 August 2015

We are kiters and choose this place because of the best location directly in front of the lagoon. In fact, thats the only thing that justifies the relatively high price and we accepted this. However, we planned some trip for a few days across Sri...More

Thank Martin L
Response from Stefdec, Owner at Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco LodgeResponded 21 August 2015

Dear Martin, First of all thank you for staying with us and we are very sorry about your loss. I'd like to clarify one point: the place you stayed is not part of camp, it's a house we rent with the owner's staff. We reported...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Nestled between the salt pans and the lagoon, our Sethawadiya property comprises four eco chalets with views of the ocean beyond picturesque sand bars. The chalets include a private sitting area and bedroom ...More with attached bathroom. This is the perfect getaway for those looking for an experience beyond commercialized resorts. Just opened from 1st July 2011, Srilankakite located at Sethawadiya Dolphin view ecolodge. This kite centre is dedicated for beginners intermediate and advance lessons with the latest equipment available at the centre from north boarding that include rentals sale and repairs of all kiteboarding equipment. Get advise from world famous Fabio Ingrosso staying throughout the season at the centre testing the kites for north boarding again one of the most technically advanced reputable kite brands in the world. Less
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Airport Transportation
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$33 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Hotel Kalpitiya
Location
Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Number of rooms
12
Price range
US$33 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Hotel Kalpitiya
Location
Sri Lanka > North Western Province > Kalpitiya
Photos
Traveler (56)
Room & Suite (15)
Pool & Beach (8)
Dining (6)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Kalpitiya
Dutch Bay Resorts
68 reviews
4.60 km away
Blue Whale Resort
19 reviews
4.88 km away
Elements Beach & Nature Resort
187 reviews
12.31 km away
The Backwaters
39 reviews
12.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 21 restaurants in Kalpitiya
Angel Rest Restaurant
18 reviews
1.36 km away
Welle Wadiya Beach Restaurant
32 reviews
4.11 km away
Lak Laguna Bar-Restaurant
9 reviews
1.97 km away
Kitesurfing Lanka Restaurant
14 reviews
4.71 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 22 attractions in Kalpitiya
Kalpitiya Diving Center
99 reviews
.47 km away
Margarita Village Kitesurfing School and Kite Camp
32 reviews
.87 km away
Visit Kalpitiya Tours & Holidays
30 reviews
1.13 km away
Surfpoint Srilanka Kite Village
27 reviews
3.32 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sethawadiya Dolphin View Eco Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
vickil100
hi, me and my partner are arriving in Colombo on the 27th Sep - we were wondering if it would be possible to arrange airport transfer with you and come straight to Kalpitiya rather than stay a night in Colombo (we arrive about 8am in the morning)? also, please can you let me know how much a double chalet costs (with lake view) - and also how much a beginner kite surfing course would cost? look forward to hearing from you! Vicki
19 July 2015
  • Response from StefdecProperty representative
    Hi Vicki, Thank you for your message. It would be much easier to talk by email but I cannot give you any contact address in this message Please visit our website srilankakite where you can find our email addresses and we...More
    0
    Votes
Room Tips
"with a gun to my head I would choose the master bedroom"
Read review
"Magic spot boat trip is great but pricey at 45Euro, the rooms and food are good but basic, besides..."
Read review
"no A/C in any room. But they all have fans which for me sufficed in making the room cool. Don't keep food..."
Read review
"Take the windy oriented rooms - no fan needed"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing