Flamingo Boutique Hotel

Flamingo Boutique Hotel

Calle 6 Norte 81, San Miguel de Cozumel, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
Traveler (305)
Superior Room
Room & Suite (94)
Aqua Bar at the Flamingo Hotel
Dining (29)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 8 hotels in San Miguel de Cozumel
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Flamingo is a unique boutique property located in the cultural center of Cozumel and steps away from the water front, dining and shopping attractions of the town square yet quietly hidden away. The Flamingo was recently fully remodeled in natural stone and wood to reflect the Mayan region along with updated in room amenities to make your stay comfortable. For those looking to getaway from today's rapid pace, we provide a spacious and stylish environment in which to relax, meet new friends, and enjoy the better things in life. Our bar and grill is a favorite place to make new friends and enjoy a cold drink after a day of activity at the beach or out diving on the reefs.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Rooftop pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Diving
Car hire
Massage
Street parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Game room
Snorkeling
Fishing
Rooftop terrace
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Wardrobe / closet
Laptop safe
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Quiet
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish

Location

Calle 6 Norte 81, San Miguel de Cozumel, Cozumel 77600 Mexico
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cozumel Airport
Aerodromo de Playa Del Carmen
18.3 km
See all flights
570Reviews14Q+A90Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 352
  • 160
  • 27
  • 15
  • 16
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TONDUE1234 wrote a review Jul 2020
Saint Peters, Missouri120 contributions47 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stay here every year, sometimes twice a year! The staff is great. The hotel bar and restaurant are quant, personable and accommodating. Breakfast is so delicious and made fresh every morning to order - so nice! The rooms are clean and well appointed. The refrigerator is stocked with beer, water and refreshments and not overly priced. For a fee, you can have your laundry done. The hotel is just a couple blocks from the square, so relatively quiet and super location in terms of delicious restaurants within walking distance (one almost next door and a taco stand across the street - both yummy). Just a block up from the water (you can see the Caribbean from the roof top sitting area).

Negatives: I really can't think of any unless you want a swimming pool - there is not one of those. Try it, and you'll return!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: we like the upper 2 floors on the corner - nice little balcony for our dive gear and wet stuff!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
susiqw m wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
this place is right in the middle of town and the rooms that face into the central Courtyard are pretty quiet at night. The beds are good, the front desk service is very willing and very knowledgeable. I've had breakfast there daily during picture of my stays and found it to be well made and very tasty. I've been here more than once and I would recommend it. the nightly price is very fair considering what you get for it. I will return on my next oppportunity.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lurana wrote a review Feb 2020
Fort Lauderdale, Florida32 contributions18 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was my second stay at this hotel. It is clean, comfortable and located near the plaza and the shoreline. I was here to dive, so I needed to take a taxi to the dive boat, but it is a minor inconvenience and worth it to be walking distance from restaurants and shops. The staff is very friendly and helpful, nice breakfast available for $5.00. I will stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hotelflamingo, Owner at Flamingo Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 8, 2020
Hello Lurana Thank you for all of your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you get another chance to stay with us again very soon. Best wishes Thomas
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John wrote a review Jun 2021
Albuquerque, New Mexico1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Our room was not as advertised, to the point that it was a nearly a scam. There was no minibar, no tv, no telephone, no bathrobe, no mosquito net, no hairdryer, no alarm clock.

There was no drinking water provided in our room, not even one of those tiny plastic 12 oz. bottles. There were no hangers in the closets. The was not single picture on the walls. There was a safe, but it was locked. After it being opened by the staff, the bolts to secure it to the shelf or wall were discovered inside.

There was no towel rack in the bathroom, which looked like it wasn't quite finished. There were still spacers in the stonework, some alarmingly sharp. There was an exposed electrical junction box over the sink. The shower curtain was a 99 cent model from the discount store, hung from a cheap expandable rod. The bathroom windowsill was filthy with debris.

What we did have is dust. The ceiling fan needed a good cleaning, as did the closet doors. The room had clearly been cleaned, but neither deep nor often enough. There were pipes sticking out of the walls to the right of the bed, and a cloth plugged into a hole.

The bar had its share of dust on the chairs, the lamps, and the bartop. There were exposed wires hanging down from the ceiling where recessed lighting should go.

The rooftop deck looked nothing at all like the picture. Railings to keep guests from plummeting to their deaths would be a nice addition, but there were also no railings in the stairwells, which were dirty, with broken marble risers and lots of sharp, jagged edges.

The king bed was great, there were good sheets, and the staff was nice. The hotel is in a great location. The WiFi existed, though it wasn't particulary strong in our room and went out often.

There are dozens and dozens of other hotels to choose from in Cozumel, and I reccomend trying any of them other than the Flamingo. Whoever is in charge here should be deeply ashamed.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cokerbud wrote a review Oct 2023
Baytown, Texas1,057 contribution547 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a clean basic hotel. It is in a great location if you don’t have a car due to the proximity of town and many restaurants. If you do have a car parking is a disaster. It is quiet, comes with breakfast, and has a small bar. The bar apparently uses airport pricing because I was charged 20 usd for one double vodka soda. Also when you leave the room and take the key card the air conditioning deactivates so the room is very hot on return. There is no TV in the room and the liquid soap in the shower looked exactly like the hair conditioner. The room does have a safe, that is not screwed to anything so it is laying loose in a cabinet. Would I stay here again? Sure. Would it be my first choice? Probably not.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Fryer, Owner at Flamingo Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 7, 2024
Thank you for staying with us ! Yes, we do use a card key system for the air conditioner because doing so saves a lot of energy and we are trying to do our part to reduce our carbon foot print and also keep our costs down so rates stay reasonable. It takes less than 5 minutes for a room to cool down once the card is placed and the AC turned on. The safes cannot be removed because they are enclosed in a tight closet space that prevents them from being removed. Our bar charges normal rates for the area but like anything, if you order a top shelf brand and a double, it will be more.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay S wrote a review Feb 2023
10 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
WOW, Este lugar es genial! (WOW, This place is great). The hotel vibe is so relaxing beautiful and clean. Staff was superb and friendly, even the other guest staying were super nice. This penthouse 😍! Spacious, clean, the decor "chef kisses"! Beds better than my own, slept like a baby! Definitely used the cabana outside the bedroom doors, so comfy. My one and only thing that I feel needs attention is the mild on bathroom ceiling. Because we don't spend much time in there, it didn't bother us much but definitely a concern. YES we'd come and stay again hands down!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: The Flamingo hotel breakfast is Great, Amazing staff, super friendly! Tip them well they deserve...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Fryer, Owner at Flamingo Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 5, 2023
Thank you Kay for your review and for choosing to stay at the Flamingo. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope you have another opportunity in the future to stay with us !
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul D wrote a review Oct 2021
Chicago11 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
With the exception of the staff, we were very disappointed in our stay this time. Villa was dirty, had to buy a new coffee maker since theirs was rusted and lid broken. Nobody comes to clean bathrooms and no cleaning supplies available. No hot water twice, pool was not operational, no breakfast available and every morning at 8:00 a.m. they were banging and drilling on the roof so there was no chance of sleeping in at all. We were there in June 2021 and they were renovating. This time in October they are still renovating. While The Villa met our needs, we would not book again. The staff was great but the hotel is definitely not worth the cost and aggregation. Very disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rick W wrote a review Jan 2024
6 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, comfortable, modern quiet, and right in the middle of downtown. Flamingo hotel is a great place to relax and the perfect launch point to explore the rest of Cozumel. You are steps from restaurants and nightlife, but the rest of the island is still a short taxi ride away. Consider this boutique hotel before booking at a larger resort, you will be more comfortable.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Fryer, Owner at Flamingo Boutique Hotel
Responded Feb 17, 2024
Thank you for all your comments ! We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and hope you have another chance to come visit. Best Wishes
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
richard geurin wrote a review Dec 2023
Ardmore, Oklahoma1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
No water ! Just drips out of shower head, we have 2 rooms same in both rooms, front desk is not helpful at all.
We always stay at hotel plaza Cozumel much better place to stay.
We checked in today late will ask for refund in the morning if we can find other accommodations.
Have always stayed in down town first and last time here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Stay someone else
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Thomas Fryer, Owner at Flamingo Boutique Hotel
Responded Jan 1, 2024
Interesting. Yes, we do give one key because the same card key is used to activate the air conditioning unit and many people will use the second key to keep the AC active while away from the room. We are trying to conserve energy and the majority of guests understand this. There was an issue with the water one morning due to the automatic pressure pump not coming on. We had to manually turn it on until the electrician came to fix it that morning. After this everything was working well with the water pressure. Over a half million was spent to fully remodel the property recently and we have many happy clients who return each year and call the Flamingo their favorite spot. 😊
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tulu wrote a review Mar 2024
48 contributions10 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
If you plan on not spending time at the hotel Flamingo is a good location. No TV or wi fi on the 3rd floor. All of the lights in the room continuously flickered, as in a short. I was told this has been an ongoing issue, but expensive. Only lounge cushion on the roof by the pool was moldy, and no comfortable chairs. No bartender in the empty bar. I got locked out one night until night employee showed up. I feel very deceived from the ad. It even advertised beach bars! The location is good but I will not return.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the San Miguel de Cozumel area.
PRICE RANGE
₱4,917 - ₱7,435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
flamingo hotel cozumel, flamingohotel
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCozumelSan Miguel de Cozumel
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

FLAMINGO BOUTIQUE HOTEL - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (San Miguel de Cozumel, Mexico) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Flamingo Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Flamingo Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Milano Diamond Gallery (0.5 km), Havana Bob's Cuban Cigars (0.2 km), and Sergio's Silver from Taxco (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Flamingo Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a lounge, and laundry service.
Which room amenities are available at Flamingo Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Flamingo Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Flamingo Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Flamingo Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fuego Restaurant Cozumel, Bajau Seafood & Steak House, and Guisados.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Flamingo Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a rooftop pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Flamingo Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Flamingo Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting San Gervasio Mayan Archaeological Site (1.2 km).
Does Flamingo Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
All San Miguel de Cozumel HotelsSan Miguel de Cozumel Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in San Miguel de CozumelHotels near Flamingo Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars