We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
100 meters east of the Plaza de Deportes, Playa Potrero 50304 Costa Rica
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/16/22
Booking.com
$66
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/17/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Destinia.com
$60
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/16/22
Hotels.com$66
Priceline$66
travelup.com$79
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (8)
Room & Suite (105)
Pool & Beach (31)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20/06/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 6 hotels in Playa Potrero
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Hotel & Villas Bahía Esmeralda is based between a magical tropical garden. Located in the Guanacaste region, on the North Pacific Coast internationally known for it’s gorgeous beaches, for the microclimate which is particularly favorable for all the aquatic activities throughout the year. Only 300 mts. from Penca beach and 3 Km away from Flamingo beach, two of the best beaches in the area. The Hotel is surrounded by a lush tropical garden, a refreshing swimming pool is available for guests as our main ranch with a pool table, perfect to enjoy your afternoon surrounded by nature.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast available
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Baggage storage
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Boating
Canoeing
Diving
Golf course
Hiking
Horseback riding
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Billiards
Fishing
Walking tours
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Seating area
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian

Location

Full view
52Somewhat walkable
Grade: 52 out of 100
15Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
40Reviews2Q+A4Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 17
  • 16
  • 2
  • 1
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Thomas Y wrote a review May 2021
Chapala, Mexico32 contributions27 helpful votes
The staff are very and accommodating. The rooms and grounds are immaculate. I was in the area on business so I chose a small but certainly adequate room. In my opinion the breakfast is very good. I need to start my day with a good cup of coffee and tasty breakfast and Bahia Esmeralda certainly delivered. The location is perfect as it is a very short walk to the beach and to several restaurants a nd coffee shop. I was very happy with my hotel and I will definitely return. I highly recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
Room Tip: Away from the road/parking area wluld be quieter.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahía Esmeralda, Owner at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 17 May 2021
Dear Irish0992019, First of all thanks for your review and for giving us five star If we had to put a name to this reply, we would write: The guest that everyone wants! You are a dream for any hotelier, receptionist. It was a real pleasure to meet you, please stop by to visit us whenever you like. Pura Vida! Staff Hotel Bahía Esmeralda
Read more
Maria S wrote a review Sep 2019
1 contribution
Rosemary the receptionist was so rude to me ...I DON'T recommend this place to anyone it is terrible: rude words were used to explain rules, the bed are really uncomfortable. I paid for two nights Istay for one I left early the next morning. I will not return. PS I have travelled from Asian and though out Central and South America.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahía E, Manager at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 7 Sep 2019
Dear Maria, We will explain to the other travellers what happened At check in we explained you (as we do) with all the guests, among other things, that according to Costarican law, it is not allowed to smoke in the hotel, inside the room or in the common areas, besides, we have signs, at the reception, in the rooms and at the common areas, however we caught you smoking in your room ´s terrace, a family who were next to your room, warned us about smoke, that is why the receptionist got to your terrace to remained you cannot smoke there, and told you can smoke at the entrance, we apologize if you got that friendly reminder as “rude”, as the receptionist told you, we were about to get a fine because of you were smoking in your terrace. We are really surprised you wrote that bed IS really uncomfortable because you have been several times at the hotel and never before we did not find bed is uncomfortable. As traveler you should know that each country has differents laws and we should respect them as they are if we decide to travel there! Best regards
Read more
Joel Garrod wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution
The staff at Bahia Esmerelda were wonderful and extremely helpful. Everything was very clean and well taken care of. If you're looking for somewhere that provides you with a little more independence than a large hotel or resort, this is the place for you. It is a close walk to restaurants and beaches, and has an excellent pool to cool down in upon your return. We truly enjoyed our stay and hope to return next year.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 1 Mar 2019
Dear JZ Thank you so much for writing this review For us was a pleasure to meet you We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us We hope you can back every year! Regards, Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"
Read more
Karoline B wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Customer service was rude, they made us feel like we were not able to afford this place. They check all the plates and every single thing as they were like new, they are old and not very clean. Also I paid for one more person at the place, they just told me those are the sheet to make the bed. Come on I was paying they had to do it. If you are a tidy person this place is not for you, bathroom has a lot of stains. Handsoap was mixed with water. Beds and pillows are not confortable. This place has nice garden, but the grass was a little bit high. The pool is nice and clean. You cannot use the pool after 8pm.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bahía Esmeralda, Owner at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 17 May 2021
Karoline B It is weird you rented a standard room without kitchen, your stay was one night, the bed was done at your arrival, so, can´t understand your review Pura Vida!
Read more
obtraich wrote a review Feb 2019
San Diego, California10 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed for 3 days at this hotel and was very happy with the location. The room was well maintained and the grounds were well kept. The hotel provides complimentary breakfast every morning and the hotel staff was always upbeat, friendly & helpful. The property is located just a few minutes walk to the beach and has a great pool & dining area to relax in. I would definitely stay there again. Also they have great wifi! Big thanks to the staff for their amazing customer service. Pura Vida.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 15 Feb 2019
Dear obtraich Thank you so much for taking your time and write this review and give us the maximum calification We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us, all the staff is commited to give our guests the best experience we can Also, thanks you for giving clear information about the hotel to other travelers Hope to see you soon again Regards, Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"
Read more
annahell2018 wrote a review Jan 2019
Karis, Finland3 contributions2 helpful votes
Bahia Esmeralda has been the best possible home away from home for me! The owner and all staff are super friendly and help you with anything you need. I had a small cabina with kitchen and bathroom plus bedroom. Everything is very clean and cosy. Really felt like home for me! It is close to several beautiful beaches, restaurants and cafés. Tamarindo only~30min.away if you want shopping and more action. And the most important part for me is that it felt and is so safe! I could not recommend this hotel more!! It has a beautiful garden and very nice pool also. The trees and nature plus wildlife all around only makes it even better! It is perfect for solo travellers, families, couples and everyone who want's a quiet get away from everyday busy life! I am forever grateful to Luis (sorry if I spelled your name wrong) and all his staff for my stay at Bahia Esmeralda 13.01.2019-27.01.2019! Thank you! Best wishes, Anna from Finland
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Manager at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 22 Jan 2019
Dear Anna, We thank you for your wonderful words and make us very happy that you can enjoy our facilities and our staff. We are grateful to have clients like you. We hope you continue visiting us in the future.
Read more
Alex wrote a review Dec 2018
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Here is what happened - you decide for yourself. - The room is about 80 square feet, hardly any space to move around. - The manager restricted us to only 2 towels, 2 tiny soaps and 2 pouches of shampoo FOR THE ENTIRE WEEK. - They never cleaned our room. - No comforter, no blanket. - We left the place 3 days before our reservation ended. When we made our second reservation for a different place, he said "he did not want to injure his reputation with airbnb" and can not refund us even though we were now at a different place. I would not stay here for $10 a night.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Manager at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 4 Dec 2018
Ontimerunning, We also remember your stay as unpleasant for us because, apart from demanding an unjustified refund, although you knew very well the reservation policies that we have through airbnb, you want to use this page to expose points about our hotel that obviously they are not true. To clarify your dishonorable lies (since it is evident that this comment is only due to the fact that you could not be reimbursed for the two nights): - The size of the room is clearly specified on the airbnb page, meaning that from the moment you booked you knew what you were booking. - The manager did not restrict you to anything, we are a budget hotel, a towel is delivered per person, 2 soaps and 2 shampoos PER DAY, YOU PERSONALLY REQUESTED THAT YOU DID NOT WANT CLEANING IN THE ROOM, as you will understand if we can not enter to clean we can not change towel or soaps or shampoo and we can not know if they need more, and still every time you requested it at reception they were provided. - I repeat, the room was never cleaned because you asked for it, our hotel carries out cleaning EVERY day, but if the client does not want it, we can not force it. - Our hotel is located in an area with temperatures of 30º centigrade at night, we do not put blankets because we do not believe that with this hot weather are necessary, however we have them if you require it at reception, it is just a matter of asking. - You did not stay at our hotel for a week as mentioned above, you only stayed 4 nights, AND YOU WERE NOT OUT OF THE HOTEL 3 NIGHTS BEFORE, BUT 2. - Regarding the reimbursement that you require, copy below the policies of our hotel on airbnb and that you clearly accepted from the moment you made the reservation but obviously did not want to comply: * 5 days before arrival 100% refund. * 4 days before arrival, no show or early check out 100% penalty. In addition to all this, I inform you that they left without paying several cups of coffee that they consumed and that they seized without authorization.
Read more
dustymar wrote a review Feb 2018
Grecia, Costa Rica53 contributions4 helpful votes
Stayed during the Blues Festival, so we probably paid a premium -- the apartment was comfortable, and the grounds are lovely. Would have been nice to have an ice machine on the premises and possibly keep the pool open later (closes at 8 p.m.). Nice fluffy towels and the beds were pretty okay. Our apartment was listed as sleeping 4 adults, but they all have to stay in the same room, which would have been a problem -- kinda cramped -- it would have been good for parents with two kids (the 2nd bed was a twin with a trundle bed), but not for 4 adults.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Our "apartment" had a nice kitchen, but one bedroom for 4 adults would have been kind...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 13 Feb 2018
Dear Dustymar, Thank you for writing this important review The managment and our staff is committed to making the experience of our guests as comfortable as possible We will consider your suggestion about ice machine We hope to see you back soon! Regards, Hotel Bahía Esmeralda
Read more
Jose R wrote a review Dec 2017
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Beautiful hotel/villa. Good amenities, good location, nice place to stay. I traveled with 9 guests, and We had the best time ever. This hotel is minutes away from beautiful beaches and good places to eat. Such as La Perla Restaurant. And dont forget to visit the Flamingo Adventure tours. best ATV tour ever.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: comfortable place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 14 Feb 2018
Dear Jose R Thanks for writing this important review We enjoyed to meet you and to meet all your nice family The managment and our staff work hard to give our guests the best experience ever Thanks also to give suc an important information about area, beaches, tour operator, etc. This is helpful to other tourist Hope to see you back soon! Regards, Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"
Read more
Mike wrote a review Apr 2017
Montreal, Canada40 contributions12 helpful votes
Very nice staff but no commodities... no water in the rooms. I had little bit of ants in my room. I guess its normal when you have a room at ground level in costa rica ;). As for the owner he is very nice but the hotel rooms needs improvement. Oh yes bring earplugs its noisy early in the morning because of the cars and rooster ;)
Read more
Date of stay: April 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from bahiapotrero, Recepcionist at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Responded 8 Apr 2017
Receive a warm greeting from all the staff of Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda" We thank you enormously for taking time of your precious time to write us this important opinion, which as all opinions serve us in great form to correct the errors that we may have and thus provide the best service as deserved all our clients. It is a pleasure also to know that among the inconveniences the staff has seemed nice Again we want to thank you for your kind and kind opinion Best regards Hotel "Bahía Esmeralda"
Read more
PRICE RANGE
US$67 - US$90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bahia esmeralda santa cruz
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of GuanacastePlaya Potrero
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Bahia Esmeralda
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Nearby attractions include Potrero Beach (0.2 km) and The Shop (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Conveniently located restaurants include Sol y Mar, La Jama Playa Potrero, and Soda Marcell.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Hotel Bahia Esmeralda have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Bahia Esmeralda offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Hotel Bahia Esmeralda have airport transportation?
Yes, Hotel Bahia Esmeralda offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Hotel Bahia Esmeralda located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Playa Potrero.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Bahia Esmeralda?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, and Italian.