We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Blvd. Costa Mujeres, Playa Mujeres, Costa Mujeres 77400 Mexico
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotel direct offer!Receive 500 free points
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$212
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/11/21
Snaptravel
US$196
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/11/21
Riu.comUS$252
TravelocityUS$212
ZenHotels.comUS$280
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (3497)
Pool & Beach (803)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Hotel Riu Dunamar
Updated 18/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#13 of 15 hotels in Playa Mujeres
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Newly opened in December 2017, the 24h All Inclusive Hotel Riu Dunamar opens all year round and is located on the beachfront of Costa Mujeres. The RIU Classic Hotels offer comfortable rooms and excellent facilities with great leisure and relaxation facilities, as well as international gastronomy. Enjoy a relaxing holiday - whether alone, with family, partner or friends! The location is ideal because of its proximity to Cancun International Airport CUN (35km), Cancun (18km) and invites you to explore the area. The hotel has 740 comfortably furnished rooms and offers modern amenities. Relax in the spa area or get in shape at the gym. 5 outdoor pools. RiuLand Kids Club (age 4-7 & 8-12 years) and for adults, day and evening entertainment, as well as our discotheque. For lovers of gastronomy, we offer live cooking stations at our main restaurant, Italian, Asian specialty restaurants, Gourmet restaurant and Steakhouse, 6 bars.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Water park
Babysitting
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Kid-friendly buffet
Snack bar
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Aerobics
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Nightclub / DJ
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Airport transportation
Business Center with Internet Access
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family Resort
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
Spanish
Hotel links
Special Offer:Receive 500 free points
2373Reviews1039Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,172
  • 689
  • 299
  • 131
  • 82
Traveler safety
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
David A wrote a review 21 Sep
San Pedro Garza Garcia, Mexico2 contributions
Worst service I have received in a hotel 2 times my room was closed because some mess up my reservation arriving a day after and leaving a day before, food is not so good maybe COVID is affecting them but the food on buffet taste bad they try to sell a chorizo argentino and it a slice of hamburger con the grill and over cook.. the only good restaurant is bamboo the other one are 2/5 not really recommend this hotel..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: If you are looking this hotel as a all vacation resort they are far more best options out there.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
GG B wrote a review 21 Sep
5 contributions2 helpful votes
Yes, you can pay more, or pay less for an all inclusive property, but the RIU Dunamar hits right in the middle and is a great value. Room: The room was excellent and perfect housekeeping. Only shortcoming was the bath hairdryer. Bring you own hairdryer or ear protection, loudest hairdryer you have ever heard. Food: The hotel does not pretend to be "gourmet" but the selection and variety was huge. You could always find something you liked. Only negative was the pool grill at lunch. No vent or fan over the grill. Smoke everywhere over the guests and the poor cooks had to work in the smoke for hours. Also the ribeye I ordered at the steak place was really bad (could not eat), but my wife's chicken was good. Service: Wow, especially at the beach for drinks. Fantastic service. The bars also had excellent service. A nice touch was having a menu board for drinks, thus allowing you to read and try something new you had not tried before. Service in the restaurants was also very good but a bit rushed. Beach: yes the pools were good, but the beach was our highlight. Lots of lounge chairs and palm trees, along with great drink service. This is where we stayed most of the day. But there are also lots of nice pools and if you have kids the water park they would love. Other notes: The transfers the hotel provided for free went perfect. The covid test the hotel provided free was also. This adds great value to the RIU Dunamar. The grounds and hotel itself were nice and well maintained. As others have mentioned, the hotel is away from the "action", which means an uncrowded beach. Would love to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Zoe H wrote a review 11 Sep
San Diego, California8 contributions1 helpful vote
An excellent choise for those looking for relaxation.Very friendly and helpfull staff.(thank you Nancy,Joshua,Eva.Salas and all the others).Good and varied food.Great beach.An absolut recommendation!!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with riu.com
Date of stay: August 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Yana P wrote a review 8 Sep
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Reading all the negative reviews before going made me very nervous. Thank goodness we had a great time. We were there the first week of September. I’m back for 2 days and want to go back. Food was decent. No one got poisoned, so I’m happy. Super clean hotel, which is extremely important for me. The beach was great and the the seaweed didn’t bother us. I wanted still and clear water. That’s not going to happen. There are waves but they were a pleasure. If you swish your arms the seaweed moves away and it’s fine. You don’t have to get up at 6 am and get chairs on the beach or the pool. There are always chairs available and a lot of shade. The water park was so much fun. Never any long lines. 0-2 people in front that’s how fast it goes. Over all the vacation was wonderful.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Go on jet ski and take banana boat.
See more room tips
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
France L wrote a review 6 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
From not enough food, not one single trash can onsite resulting in glasses everywhere to no more beach towels at 15:00, this was the worst hotel I have ever been. Checked-in at 15:45 but was told my room wasn’t ready because check-in is at 16:00 (we are looking at a 15 minutes difference here!), it should have been a sign. Room not done 3 times and when it was done, it was half-done: noTOILET PAPER, towels, never once washed the glasses nor the sinks, etc. Not enought food in the buffet, à la carte restaurant set up outside with the humidity and mosquitos, returned food because it was cold. The main reason why I chose Riu was because of the food… SO WRONG! When we arrived at the beach in the morning, all kinds of dirty glasses everywhere, chairs not cleaned, nobody to help, garbage, etc. I’ve been in more than 50 all inclusive hotels and this is the first time I ever witnessed this: someone pooped in the pool! Not the hotel’s fault but how gross?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from RIU Hotels and Resorts, Owner at Hotel Riu Dunamar
Responded 1 week ago
Dear France, Thank you for choosing Hotel Riu Dunamar and your evaluation. We are disappointed to read that your experience was not to your expectations and certainly well below the general feedback we receive. Please accept our apologies for all the challenges that you had to face during your stay with us, but be assured this is not reflective of our standard. We always strive to provide wonderful experiences to our beloved guests. Your valuable comments have been taken down and surely will be delivered to all the departmental heads for a proper follow up. It is our hope that you will again give us a chance to change your opinion about our hotel. We appreciate your time for posting a valuable feedback about our hotel. With Regards Hotel Riu Dunamar Online Reputation Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$159 - US$336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
MexicoYucatan PeninsulaQuintana RooCosta MujeresPlaya Mujeres
NUMBER OF ROOMS
740
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Riu Dunamar
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Nearby attractions include Rafa Nadal Tennis Centre (4.0 km) and Isla Blanca (3.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chic Cabaret & Restaurant Costa Mujeres, Cenacolo Puerto Cancún, and Cilento.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Hotel Riu Dunamar have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Hotel Riu Dunamar offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Riu Dunamar offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Riu Dunamar?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hacienda Mundaca (13.0 km).