Punta Bulata Resort & Spa

Punta Bulata Resort & Spa

Barangay Elijan, Cauayan, Negros Occidental 6112 Philippines
Amazing pool view.
Traveler (561)
Panorama at the Punta Bulata White Beach Resort & Spa
360
Panoramas (20)
Sunset Session
Room & Suite (343)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 resorts in Cauayan
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Nestled 154 kilometers south of Bacolod City lies one of Negros Island’s best-kept secrets. Punta Bulata White Beach Resort and Spa is a tropical hidden paradise. Enjoy one whole kilometer stretch of white sand beach in privacy and exclusivity as you spend quality time with your friends and family. From native Filipino nipa‐hut cottages to luxurious spa rooms, guests at Punta Bulata Resort are able to choose from a wide variety of accommodations that are all just a few steps away from the beach. Punta Bulata Resort is known to have one of the finest and whitest beaches in Negros Island and its waters are teeming with marine and coral life.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Public wifi
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Parking
Infinity pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary welcome drink
Canoeing
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Fishing
Airport transportation
Car hire
Meeting rooms
Spa
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Massage
24-hour security
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Bathrobes
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private balcony
Room service
Seating area
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
284Reviews6Q+A59Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 143
  • 84
  • 35
  • 11
  • 11
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mark C wrote a review Jun 2022
Nasugbu, Philippines188 contributions108 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had a few days after a family event, and decided to take a short vacation in Sipalay. She had heard great things about another resort, the highest-rated in the area, but they had no availability for our dates. After some research we thought Punta Bulata would be a good second choice. Turns out it's not just a good second choice, but a great first choice! Nice rooms (we had a beach cabana), pool, spacious and relaxing garden area and beachfront, friendly staff. A lovely, quiet and relaxing spot.

One of our days there we decided to take a mini "road trip" around the area, and stopped into a couple of the other top-rated resorts, including the highest-rated one. After doing that, we both said that we were glad we ended up in Punta Bulata; not one of the others could even approach its charm.

Like most of the resorts in the area you're depending on their restaurant for all meals; our experience was generally positive and the Lechon Manok was absolutely delicious!

We also did a couple of dives through the affiliated EasyDiving dive shop, to Danjugan Island, and "Mad Max" (the Bulata pier). Danjugan had beautiful corals and abundant fish; the pier was my first "muck dive" and chance to see and photograph many small creatures including colorful nudibranchs and shrimps; and also get close (but not too close!) to schools of lionfish. Many thanks to our divemaster Panay for fun and safe dives!

The only glitches were with the "free internet" as we were informed on arrival that there was actually no internet but they would rent us a portable hotspot for our stay. It took getting the manager involved but she quickly resolved the problem and let us have a hotspot free of charge. Housekeeping didn't show up one of the days but I guess we were too relaxed to worry about it; also in the restaurant we commonly experienced the annoyance where the waitperson takes my wife's order (she's Filipina) and then walks away without taking mine (I'm not Filipino). This happens almost everywhere in the Philippines, I just wish that the restaurants at the nicer resorts would train their staff better!

So just a couple little issues but an otherwise wonderful stay. We'll be back on our next visit to Negros!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Beach Cabana was great; I think any room starting with "beach" would be good.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, Owner at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Jul 9, 2022
Dear mwcowan, Greetings from Punta Bulata! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! It is always pure delight to read wonderful comments about the resort. We are certainly very grateful that we were able to meet your expectations. Indeed, it is always our pleasure to provide you memorable vacation all the time. Looking forward to your next visit! Dawn Monge Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mike L wrote a review Jan 2023
Manila, Philippines1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our stay was just overnight. Our main intent was to see Danjugan Island which we did during the day. The room was great though the bathroom could be more PWD, senior-friendly. Hand rails and shower mats in the showers would be useful...Walking up the steps for a PWD (myself) was difficult. Handrails would be very good if not a golfcart...Food was delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. Serving time of meals ordered was a little too long.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Jan 18, 2023
Dear B3904Kmikel, Greetings from Punta Bulata! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy to know that you had a great time during your short stay with us. As per the PWD friendly rooms, our ground floor rooms are all for PWD but unfortunately all are fully booked during your stay. We have also taken note of your comment about our restaurant serving time and will do our best to ensure that next time it wont happen again. See you on your next visit! Dawn Monge Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sheila Y wrote a review Nov 2023
New York City, New York3 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
As the closest resort to Bacolod City of its calibre, Punta Bulata holds some promise. There are newly renovated rooms now and the bathrooms look much safer for senior citizens. However, these bathrooms have only 2 towel bars, and we found ourselves not knowing where to hang our robes, or our wet swim suits and face towels. Let alone if there are 3 in a room. A nice looking towel hook behind the door or more bars along the blank wall by the water closet would still look appropriate: little details that make a huge difference. As for the service, the restaurant has good food, but it took too long sometimes and an order of a mere chicken sandwich took an hour to arrive even if it was ordered in advance. Also confusion about food orders and which room to charge what. Other than that. we had a peaceful time and the kids had a blast.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Nov 12, 2023
Dear Sayktravel, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Punta Bulata. We appreciate your insights as they help us continually improve our services and facilities. We're delighted to hear that you found the newly renovated rooms and safer bathroom facilities to be a positive change. Your suggestion about the need for more towel bars and hooks in the bathrooms, especially when accommodating three guests in a room, is indeed valuable feedback. We'll take this into consideration to enhance the guest experience and convenience. We also appreciate your compliments about the restaurant's good food. However, we apologize for the extended wait time for your order, as well as any confusion related to food orders and billing. Rest assured, we'll address these issues with our team to ensure a more efficient and hassle-free dining experience for our guests. We're thrilled to hear that your kids had a great time during your stay, and we hope you enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. Your feedback is essential in helping us refine our services, and we're committed to delivering an even better experience on your next visit. Thank you for choosing Punta Bulata, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best Regards, Dawn M. Fernandez Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ichunavarro wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was disappointed to where we stayed (Beach Casita). The bungalow is dilapidated and need huge repair. A lot of ants crawling inside the bedroom and very dangerous to go inside the bathroom due to the wet floor because of the water coming from the shower room with lack of floor mat.
The breakfast buffet was great though but ordered food was quite expensive. Staff is respectful and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 1, 2022
Dear ichunavarro, Greetings from Punta Bulata! We are very happy to read wonderful comments about our food and the staff. We would also like to apologized for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Rest assured we have taken note of your feedback and will do the needful moving forward. Thank you and Stay Safe! Dawn Monge, Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Yvonne G wrote a review Mar 2024
Manila, Philippines8 contributions11 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked 2 rooms for one night directly with the resort including island hopping to Danjugan. Upon arrival, we were told that the trip to the island was not confirmed.
Several calls and arrangements were made to no avail but to settle for next day island trip. One concern was the check out since it would take 3 hours for the trip and by the time we reach the resort, we had to check out leaving us no time to freshen up. We requested for a late check out and only one room was allowed due to the other room had quests checking in. They would only allow a late check out if we upgrade to another room. After the inconvenience of not being able to do the island trip on our preferred date with that being confirmed by the resort's front office, we had to find a way on how things would be settled in a win win situation. Operations Manager Dawn was contacted but she refused to allow a late check out and insisted that it was a third party's fault i.e Danjugan Island Office. The website even has an advertisement about the Island thus making it a partner in their offers to guests. It would have been better if a service recovery was extended to us instead of blaming the third party. Kian, the staff on duty, was very accommodating and tried his best to rectify the situation. It was only when we suggested that he calls the incoming guest what time they will be checking in so that room can be extended to us for a late check out. We were fortunate that they were checking in late.
Kudos to Kian and Jenny for the extra mile.

What made our stay special was the F&B
Team under the leadership of Francis. They were witness to our predicament and they did all possible for us to enjoy our stay. We requested his team to surprise us with a delicious dinner. He arranged a beautiful set up under the tree by the beach and prepared a sumptuous variety of food just the way we imagined. Francis, Choco and Edmund made that evening a memorable one as well as the rest of the meals we had at the restaurant.
Breakfast buffet was great with lots of choices.
We also had a relaxing massage at the SPA.

After all the frustrations, we enjoyed our brief stay and will recommend it to friends and family. What made our stay memorable was the hospitality of all the staff on duty.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JealineMD wrote a review Aug 2022
Bacolod, Philippines6 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I had such a relaxing and tranquil stay at this place. The staff are very attentive and courteous (From the security guard to the hotel staff to the restaurant staff )!

Plus points for the afforable yet delicious food at their restaurant. If you visit the place, be sure to order drinks during happy hour since the cocktails were a delight as well.

All in all, We had a beautiful and romantic stay since it is situated in a secluded yet serene location.. everything and everyone was pleasant.

We highly recommend this as a go-to place to relax or go on romantic getaways with your partner. Families can also enjoy the place because of the amenities here and water activities that the resort offers.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 8, 2022
Dear JealineBaylonMD, Greetings from Punta Bulata! Thank you for taking the time to write this sweet review! We are elated to know that you had the most enjoyable experience during your stay with us. We are likewise grateful for the good feedback about our food and staff. Until then, Happy Travels! Dawn Monge Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Abby F wrote a review May 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Punta Bulata is such a gorgeous location. Having not seen the resort before we were a bit unsure about choosing them for our beach wedding but we took the risk. We were very glad that we did because everything was worth it. From the planning stage their staff was really helpful when we had inquiries and specific requests. When we finally saw the place, we were just amazed at the beauty of it. The sunset was incredible and their service was top notch. Everyone was so helpful and had big smiles on their faces. My family had an incredible time and we had the wedding of our dreams. Some of their rooms needed updating and they are currently in the process of doing that. The jacuzzi was warm, however, the jets weren't working during our stay. There are some improvements that are under way. Overall we had a really good stay. Thank you Punta Bulata for making our wedding dreams come true. Special shout out to Ms. Sheila, Ms. Cris and Coco for looking after us.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Jun 1, 2023
Dear 960abbyf, Thank you for choosing Punta Bulata for your beach wedding! We're thrilled to hear that you took the risk and had a wonderful experience. Our staff is dedicated to providing exceptional service, and we're glad they were helpful and accommodating throughout the planning process. We're delighted that you found the resort beautiful, especially with the incredible sunset. Your kind words about the service and the smiles on our team's faces mean a lot to us. We appreciate your feedback regarding the rooms and the jacuzzi. Rest assured, we have taken note of these areas for improvement, and we are actively working on updating the rooms and addressing the issue with the jacuzzi jets. We strive to create a memorable experience for all our guests, and your feedback helps us in our continuous efforts to enhance our facilities. Thank you for your kind words and for acknowledging the exceptional service of Sheila, Cris, and Coco. We're glad they took good care of you during your stay. It was our pleasure to make your wedding dreams come true. Congratulations once again, and we hope to welcome you back to Punta Bulata in the future for more memorable experiences! Best Regards, Dawn Monge-Fernandez Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
raidfox2016 wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff was really nice. Place is nice, clean and very relaxing. The food nope! The menu selection is too few and the taste is not that good. Breakfast buffet is disappointing. We pretty much ordered almost everything in the menu, pricey and they charge 20% on top of the bill if you choose room service.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 2, 2022
Dear raidfox2016, Greetings from Punta Bulata! Thank you for taking the time to write this review! We are very happy with all the good words you have and for knowing that you had a relaxing stay. Please know that we highly appreciate your valuable feedback and shall use it to improve the areas you mentioned moving forward. Looking forward to your next visit! Dawn Monge, Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Xenia wrote a review May 2024
La Mesa, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I have been to a lot of beach resorts in Negros and Punta Bulata is definitely our favorite beach, somewhere we love visiting frequently. They made our honeymoon memorable. They have spacious rooms, really comfortable bed, beautifully decorated stone and wooden buildings, their shore is idyllic, and their hospitable staff made us feel the fun beach community vibes. They even have outdoor cinema by the beach in the evenings complete with popcorn! Amenities and welcome treats are the best, only thing we can think of that could've added to our stay is Netflix for chilling in the room after a good swim or during the hottest hours of the day.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Internet connectivity is limited in their restaurant premises, special arrangement can be done if...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alvinbalbuenamd wrote a review Aug 2023
Malvar, Philippines1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A newly discovered tranquil oasis in Negros Occidental instead of going to our usual place in another island. Our family bonding was made more special by an intimate dinner at the beach and the warm welcome of the staff. The sun greeted despite the monsoon rain days before the arrival making us enjoy the relaxed atmosphere Punta Bulata Resort and Spa offers.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dawn Monge, General Manager at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Responded Aug 22, 2023
Dear alvinbalbuenamd, Thank you for your wonderful review of Punta Bulata Resort and Spa! We're thrilled that your stay was filled with tranquility and serenity, providing a fresh experience in Negros Occidental. We're touched that our intimate beach dinner made your family bonding time special. Our staff takes pride in their warm hospitality, and we're delighted you felt it during your visit. Even the sun's appearance after the monsoon rain added to your stay's magic. We're glad you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere we're known for. Thank you for choosing us and sharing your feedback. We'd be honored to welcome you back for more memorable moments. Warm regards, Dawn Monge-Fernandez Operations Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Scenic818597 asked a question Mar 2019
Ourimbah, Australia5 contributions
Does the Ceres bus from Dumaguete go past the road to resort?
Answer from lamy3rda
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia182 contributions157 helpful votes
Hello! Yes this is possible. You take the bus from Dumaguete via Hinobaan and ask the driver or bus conductor to drop you off at (Punta Bulata Resort & Spa) Bangga Salamat Po. From there you can take trike and it is about 3KMS to reach the resort. You may contact the resort in advance, so they can arrange a pedicab driver to pick you at the Bus stop***
Answer from peapeaShrewsbury
Sauveterre-de-Bearn, France87 contributions36 helpful votes
From Bacolod city it's a long drive, I think about 3 to 4 hours, there is a smaller airport at Sipalay, closer but it only has local flights. That airport is about 30 mins though.
Answer from tomzayco
Bacolod, Philippines25 contributions12 helpful votes
Yes,there is wifi. However it's only provided through a satellite connection and is shared by all users so the speeds can be inconsistent. This also depends on the prevailing weather conditions as cloudy skies can make speeds slower or lose connection completely. For best results it is good to use the wifi during hours with as few users as possible. Early morning or late night.
Answer from adianau
Philippines315 contributions49 helpful votes
Hi, Thanks for aking, It depends on the season. if it is off-peak season you can have the rooms within a friendly budget of not more than a Php1,000
Xenia wrote a tip May 2024
La Mesa, California2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Internet connectivity is limited in their restaurant premises, special arrangement can be done if you want wifi in your room."
Read full review
Carmela R wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Wifi was a slight issue and overall signal was in and out but if you are here to distance yourself from technology this place is it!"
Read full review
Trek13200884151 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Will recommend this place, but if you want to dine with family and friends ask the restaurant manager Francis- don’t ask the receptionist. "
Read full review
Paola T wrote a tip Oct 2023
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"This resort is 4-5 hours away from Bacolod (by bus). Choose an early morning arrival in BCD airport to catch the sunset at the resort."
Read full review
Mike wrote a tip Aug 2023
Bacolod, Philippines1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring your favorite instant for that first coffee in your room, brand provided not so good. Coffee at restaurant excellent."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cauayan area.
PRICE RANGE
₱6,159 - ₱6,981 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
punta bulata white beach hotel cauayan, punta bulata white beach resort and spa
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasNegros IslandNegros OccidentalCauayan
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PUNTA BULATA RESORT & SPA - UPDATED 2024 Reviews & Price Comparison (Cauayan, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Punta Bulata Resort & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Sugar Beach (7.0 km), Danjugan Island Marine Reserve and Sanctuaries (3.6 km), and M/V Guimaras (Julien's Wreck) (3.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include Buenaventura Beach Resort Restaurant, Driftwood Village Restaurant, and Sulu Sunset Beach Resort Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Punta Bulata Resort & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Punta Bulata Resort & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Punta Bulata Resort & Spa?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Does Punta Bulata Resort & Spa have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars