Dive Batanes Lodge

Dive Batanes Lodge

72 Chajajas St., Barangay Chanarian-Tukon, Basco, Luzon 3900 Philippines
Dive Batanes Resort
Traveler (40)
Dive Batanes Resort
Pool & Beach (13)
Room & Suite (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#5 of 14 lodges in Basco
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located a stones throw away from Chanarian beach, relaxing atmosphere, beautiful buildings and landscaping. Scuba Diving and Scenic Land Tours available. Enjoy our new Swimming Pool and WaterSlide. Our Full Service Restaurant is available for your Dining pleasure.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Public wifi
Pool
Yoga classes
Free breakfast
Beach
Boating
Kids pool
Pool / beach towels
Swimming pool toys
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Outdoor dining area
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Evening entertainment
Fishing
Karaoke
Walking tours
Waterslide
Free airport transportation
Airport transportation
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business center
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Bidet
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino
33Reviews2Q+A5Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 10
  • 13
  • 4
  • 5
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Czar Emmanuel wrote a review Jul 2022
Manila, Philippines9,486 contributions796 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Located just 5mins away (by tricycle ride) from the town proper of Basco, this resort offers you all the peace and quite you want for a relaxing vacation. It's also just a 5min walk from the Chanarian Beach and marine sanctuary.

The place has two separate buildings with rooms for accommodation. The main building houses the reception area, a restaurant, and a lovely swimming pool. The second building, on the other hand, located closer to the main road, only has rooms.

The resort would have been great, except for some limitations. First is the lack of a WIFI signal (limited to the ground floor of the main building). Second is the limited list of food and drinks on the restaurant menu. Third is the difficulty in commuting from the resort to the town proper of Basco.

On the other hand, worth-mentioning is the extraordinary kindness and hospitality of the place's hosts and helpers. They feally saw to it that we had everything we needed. The rooms are also very comfortable, with an AC, a private toilet/shower room, hot and cold water, and a TV with cable channels.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Stay in the main building for easy access to the WIFI, the house restaurant, and swimming pool.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jhona u wrote a review Jul 2018
Makati, Philippines337 contributions41 helpful votes
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pros: big room for 3 persons (family room), reasonable price with breakfast and airport pick-up, friendly staff, 5 minutes to airport, facing the beach though no a good one, walking distance to good restaurants such as casa napoli and amboy’s.

Cons: aircon is not good for a big room it’s not cooling so they gave us 2 fans, they don’t do housekeeping unless you ask, location is a dead spot, no signal even their signal booster is ineffective, we don’t have tv for 2 days before they fix it. Staff is friendly but push button, they need to be told every time.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mitzi a wrote a review Mar 2016
3 contributions13 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We found the nicest people in this place! Nowadays, It's very seldom that we'll find people who would reach out and do some unexpected things for their guests. Since Day1, they are really accommodating. They also serve big portions of breakfast compared to other hotels we stayed in. I was requesting for a special breakfast on the day of my birthday and they surprised me with a Birthday Cake! :) Thank you so much, Dive Batanes! You made my Birthday trip extra special! More Power!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Josie L, Owner at Dive Batanes Lodge
Responded Mar 29, 2016
Hello Mitzi! Thank you for staying with us at Dive Batanes Lodge. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guests whenever you are in Batanes..Best regards and God bless..Josie
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
junebugia wrote a review Apr 2015
Quezon City, Philippines9 contributions13 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I am not on a budget tour but since the travel agency told me that other hotels are fully booked we do not have any option but to accept this hotel.
My family stayed there for 3N4D. The rooms are not properly maintained. Water supply is low. Sometimes the water pump is busted, you will wake up with no water in the restroom because the water pump is busted, imagine that you need water very badly in the morning. Staff were sometimes around to assist to your needs. So you become helpless. Simple breakfast are not prepared well, either it is cold already or meat is overcooked that you can't eat it.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guillaume B wrote a review May 2019
Manila, Philippines304 contributions128 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Yes and no, would recommend if other night hotel are fully booked. They advertise as a diving resort, it is definitely not.

Pro:
Room was clean
We were upgraded (luckily, because room was quite simple..)
Breakfast good (Filipino breakfast, no choice, but fresh).
Possibly for diving! (But would then recommend to stay somewhere else and come for diving only).

Cons:
No room cleaning even when you ask for it.

No signal on smart or Globe (very little in the lobby) and no WiFi, unlike in Basco town where you have signal.

Location is not so good if you don't have your own motorbike, as you need to go to town or other places to have other dinning options.

Diving was good, the marine sanctuary dive is really amazing, but this is definitely not a diving resort (no boat, it was broken, and therefore not so much dive spot without boat). Even ask for dive, weather was perfect, they say they will look for a boat.. and they didn't, sad :(

After second night we ask for room cleaning during the breakfast, answer was yes and that we must leave the sign on the door.. we came back end of the afternoon the sign was still on the door, no house keeping, even can't find any staff to ask for toilet papers.. luckily I meet the owner on the way back. Staff came and give us what we need, saw the sign "clean the room" on the door and laugh saying sorry..

So, if other nice place are booked it's ok. If you are into diving you can just come in the day for diving.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zamboangueno wrote a review Jan 2016
Xiamen146 contributions78 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
pros: the staff were very hospitable, albeit too shy sometimes (very low voices, sometimes inaudible). 40m away from the rooms is the sea, facing the West Philippine Sea, with rock formations that look very interesting. they fetched and sent us to the airport, which seems to be the norm in Batanes at this price range. the staff seems to be willing to give out a helping hand, as long as you ask for it. We were served breakfast at around 5am, which meant for them waking up around 4am.

cons: while it breaks my heart to give out a bad review to such a sweet group of people, these must be said. no mobile reception, so don't think of bringing your work here. no internet service. for people looking to cut off from the rest of the world, this is no problem. but for the rest of us looking to serve our clients even during vacation, this is terrible. their car wasn't working, although we were thankful that they still fetched and sent us to the airport, we had to pay 500 PHP(for the whole van) more than we'd have to going to and from Ivana Port. the staff didn't seem to know much about Batanes, so knowing that you won't get internet here, you'd have to write down everything, because there'd be no reference for traveling around this place. For the price we paid (more than 3000 PHP/night/room), our rooms were incredibly basic. The door wouldn't properly shut, the water had low pressure, no internet.

For the same price you could find better places. I feel bad for the people running the place since they seem very nice people, "a classic Ivatan" as one could say. But if you could put up with the cons I've written, you should stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2015
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Josie L, Owner at Dive Batanes Lodge
Responded Jan 11, 2016
Hello XFreebird. We are very sorry that you had an unpleasant stay at our Lodge. As for the lack of internet...we are on a waiting list for a subscription that all of the other Lodges in Basco and Chanarian have. We were the first to build our lodge, but we are not politically affiliated with the other Lodges and Inns which seem to know the right people at the Internet service in Basco. The other lodges and inns advertise wifi Intenet...but the signal is sooooo slow that we cannot honestly advertise this service. We are in the Process of having Satellite internet installed which will be superior to the local internet service ( but much more expensive for us to service and maintain.) Our staff members are local Ivatan residents and they are typically "Shy" by nature. Other Lodges have hired staff from the Mainland to service and run their Lodges... We keep all of our staff ...full time year round as they have families to support and they are not here for the Short term employment which the other lodges and Inns provide. Also the "water pressure problems" that you referred to is because Every lodge and Inn in Batanes is on a gravity fed system...The water is pumped from a lower storage tank to our Roof Top water tanks....we are not allowed to have a pressurized pumping system like the Main land. If there is Good water pressure in a Lodge or Inn in Batanes...that is because they are illegally pumping water from a local Spring source...and pressurizing their system. We strive at maintaining local laws and regulations that are in place to Conserve the Resources and Heritage of the Batanes Islands and the Residents here.. We are always listening to our Guests and trying to give them everything that we can, while maintaining our Integrity as True Caring Citizens of Batanes Philippines. We thank you for your concerns and Input and we will bring these concerns up with the local "Hotel and Restaurant" association in Batanes.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
hadaniels71 wrote a review Jun 2016
Tacoma, Washington7 contributions10 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The lodge is very comfortable with attentive staff. A quiet location out of the city but a quick trike ride away from food and entertainment. We may have been the only foreigners in the Province which made the visit even more memorable. The lodge can coordinate all activities from diving to island hopping.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
joyfey wrote a review Jan 2015
Dreamworld, Florida, United States1 contribution2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Room is too small for family luggages. The lodge Manager is always out. And acts to concerns very slow. No key person to talk to. There's always no one in the front desk. Only one attendant stays during night, so when the water dispenser runs out of water the only lady incharge can't refill it. Nice place but service is poor. You can hear other people conversations in other rooms. Love the food though.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alfred u wrote a review Sep 2014
manila, philippines35 contributions53 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We went to Batanes as a couple for 5 days (July 27-31, 2014) via Philippine Airlines. Firstly, our only requirement is to do Scuba Diving in the place which 'I guess' the only one have the service currently.

The place is a resort which looks like a big house that creates a 'homey atmosphere' - containing kitchen, dining set, sofa set and more. We took on the family room good for 2 pax with shared bathroom as we anticipate no one will be going to the place during the off peak season but I stand corrected. The place is an all around season where visitors complete to discover nature whether it's on rainy months. What makes good about the place is that we had our check-in early with no additional charges (as early as 8am) and had free breakfast on the 1st day.

The service is good and the people are very polite and heart-warming. The only cons that I had were: restroom was not cleaned on a daily basis (every 2 days perhaps) and my most concern is the reason that I went to the place is to have a fun dive. Unfortunately, as the place is very secluded to the rest of the regions, only 1 is identified as the dive master which fell sick (fever) for the whole duration of our stay.

Above all else, we have enjoyed the beauty of nature at its best. Walking on the hills with cows, buffalos and goats, swimming in south china sea, eating lots of seafood especially their very own coconut crabs and met new friends along the way.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: all rooms seems to be fit and clean
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ima wrote a review Apr 2019
Sweden59 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were happily surprised to see a padi sign at Batanes! If you think you’ve seen paradise on land, it’s equally amazing under water. Crazy formations makes you feel like swimming among underwater mountains. Serene sealife and the best visibility. We also had the luck of spotting two huge cuttlefish!
I am open water certified and my partner is advanced, but even if you’ve never dived but is curious you can do a discover dive.
They also offer sunset cruises.

All staff and divers are all so friendly and you feel instantly at home.
The equipment was all fresh and new.
We did not stay at acommodation at the dive lodge, which we regret not doing because it’s a beautiful house and breakfast and dinner is delicious.

Thank you for an amazing time that made our trip to the Batanes a memory for life!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Josie L
Canada
Hello Mrs.Tayzon. Yes we include airport transfers. Please contact Emmanuel Domingo, booking agent for Dive Batanes Lodge. You can call him directly at 011 63 939 922 4609
Czar Emmanuel wrote a tip Jul 2022
Manila, Philippines9,486 contributions796 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Stay in the main building for easy access to the WIFI, the house restaurant, and swimming pool."
Read full review
Jenny wrote a tip Jun 2019
Makati, Philippines2 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"beach front rooms has better view"
Read full review
okemabeach wrote a tip Mar 2019
Saskatoon, Canada93 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is a great bakery walking distance down the road."
Read full review
atrielle wrote a tip Apr 2017
107 contributions40 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Take the rooms with it's own toilet"
Read full review
alfred u wrote a tip Sep 2014
manila, philippines35 contributions53 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"all rooms seems to be fit and clean"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Basco area.
PRICE RANGE
₱3,667 - ₱4,482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCagayan Valley RegionProvince of BatanesBasco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

DIVE BATANES LODGE - Reviews & Price Comparison (Basco, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Dive Batanes Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Dive Batanes Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Basco Lighthouse (2.0 km), Marlboro Hills (4.4 km), and Naidi Hills (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Dive Batanes Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Dive Batanes Lodge?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Dive Batanes Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Dive Batanes Lodge?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Dive Batanes Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Napoli, Cafe du Tukon, and Phil's Brew.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Dive Batanes Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and yoga classes during their stay.
Does Dive Batanes Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Dive Batanes Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Dive Batanes Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Dive Batanes Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Dive Batanes Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Dive Batanes Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.