We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
2-4PAYIN Brgy. Chanarian Batanes, Basco, Luzon 3900 Philippines
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
eDreams
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (91)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (7)

About

#5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Basco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bernardo's Hotel brings Nature closer to you. Our room rates range from Php 2,000 to 4,000. Located in municipality of Basco, Batan Island in Batanes. The Pacific Ocean waves the right side of the island, and the South China Sea on its right side. Mountain ranges is comfortable 180 deg views and the other side is the Ocean view. The roof deck offers the 360 Natural beauty of the Island. The hotel did open last February 1, 2014. Newest in Batanes.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
78Reviews15Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 31
  • 41
  • 3
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
Sor Oremor wrote a review Jan 2020
7 contributions
A trip to Batanes is one of my bucket list. Except for wifi not working that time due to a network station tower problem, our stay and tours were a blast! Staff were truly accommodating. Thank you! Will definitely come back. 😊
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Bicolanong Lakwatsero wrote a review Aug 2019
Makati, Philippines31 contributions1 helpful vote
This is my second stay at Bernardo's Lantia. My first stay was back in January 2019 with my family and the hotel had just opened back then. I never had any complaints during my first stay especially that the staff was extremely accommodating and helpful and the package we got was pretty good bang for the buck. Flash forward to 6 months later, and I can still say the same. There have been a lot of changes at the hotel, but all is for the better. Casa Napoli has been moved to Lantia, a more spacious place for dining compared to the original spot Casa Napoli was located in. Food is still great. And they now have Wi-Fi Internet access, which is such a plus if you're in Batanes for work. We stayed in a room for 5 (Rm. 316 if I'm not mistaken). It was spacious, had a balcony, and has 2 bathrooms, which is another plus. Highly recommending this for those wanting to visit Batanes, but would still like the modern comforts of a city hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vansky wrote a review Jun 2019
Pasig City464 contributions115 helpful votes
This is a new and nice hotel with some very good staff. The rooms are limited though because of the property size but it exudes a certain warmth feel that you usually find in countryside hotels. When we arrived in the morning, the hotel had arranged for an airport pick-up and we were immediately given breakfast in their restaurant. Although we were not able to check in at once because the previous occupants in the room decided not to leave yet, the staff was apologetic. Good things about the place: clean, new, water cooler in every floor, you can order from the Italian resto in the other hotel and have it delivered here, staff can 'order' a tricycle for you. Not so good things: far from main road and tricycles are sometimes hard to come by, no phone signal, no internet, no elevator, quite far from airport & commercial area. Good place to stay when in Basco.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the ground floor (you'll do a lot of walking when in Batanes).
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
GraceBuencs wrote a review Jun 2019
Manila, Philippines6 contributions1 helpful vote
Our group of eleven (11) had a blast! We stayed at Bernardo's new addition, Lantia hotel. The hotel staff - site manager, front desk, waiters, cooks, drivers, guides - was promptly responsive, courteous and friendly. They even helped us organise a surprise birthday dinner for four of our friends. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Food was very good, including the food they ordered from another restaurant for us. The tours covered most of Batanes' beautiful sites, and the tour guides were great. What else could one ask for?
Read more
Date of stay: June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Adventurer751504 wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
LANTIA Hotel is one of Bernardo's hotels where I stayed with my family during our trip to Batanes. A beautiful place. The room is very spacious and very very clean. The comfort room is very clean as well. I love the amenities. I love the towels. Aside from our room, the hotel area is very relaxing as well. To top it all, the staff (all of them) were very courteous and helpful. The breakfast that they serve every morning is an icing on the cake. If I will go back to Batanes, I will surely go back to this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Rooms at the top most floor usually have a balcony.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Ankur N wrote a review Apr 2019
Metro Manila, Philippines82 contributions35 helpful votes
+1
The good, clean simplistic hotel, nice staff and a real brick oven pizza, pasta on their menu at Casa Napoli. We ended up eating 3 times of the 5 nights The bad, private tour @130 per person for 3 half day tours, although inclusive of fees and rides and average lunch selections (@300 pesos per head) was a bit too much for a remote locality like batanes. We did enjoy it though as our guide Jack and Driver JV were all smiles. Tour rates are deceiving as they quote days n nights, nights only cover transport to a restaurant of your choice. Overall a great Batanes experience
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Z L T wrote a review Apr 2019
Manila, Philippines48 contributions6 helpful votes
The hotel looked fairly new or at least I was checked into one of the rooms in the new building. The staffs are friendly. No one came in to make up my room though in 3 days and the bathroom was smelly if u turn the exhaust off hence you have to keep it on the whole time. There were no refs in my room nor were there bottled water or glasses provided. You have to ask for them. But my room had a balcony which was a nice touch. Cellular reception is very poor so you will literally be unplugged from the rest of the world.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Elizabeth Q wrote a review Mar 2019
Quezon City, Philippines2 contributions
We clearly stated in our email communications and repeatedly told Ms Thea (person who I spoke to) to ensure 100% functionality of toilet and bathroom. She assured us of it and reserved our rooms at their newly built hotel -Lantia, however our T&B concerns unfortunately happened —Water pressure was low from the sink faucet and the shower, and worse was the drainage which reeked of canal smell and was slow to drain. We had to leave door and window opened to air out whenever we were back in the room. Staff was called to fix but was not successful...Another thing was the room assignments, they were not able to provide two adjacent rooms for us for triple sharing..room blockings were messed up and one room already given to us - with all our bags in place was no longer our room when we got back from our tour around 4pm as they gave it to a couple who was also complaining upon check in. No advise was given to us while we were out which we thought was very rude and unprofessional...We didn’t even get a proper apology from the management..As what we have generally observed , the locals may be nice,friendly and kind but I think there is a need for improvement in terms of customer service for the hotel staff. Rooms : 103 and 212 March 3-6, 2019 Quirante sisters
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 0214casa-bernardo, Owner at Bernardo's Hotel
Responded 19 Mar 2019
Thank you for taking time to review us here. You have listed your expectations thru email that your rooms must be adjacent or beside each other, hence, we blocked and reserved Rooms 102 and 103 for you. You have originally reserved 2 double rooms for total of 4persons. However, when you informed us few days before your arrival date of "possible" additional 1 pax, we mentioned an extra bed will be put at Room 103 but upon arrival you were 6pax in all that needs some adjustment in room assignment. We apologize that we caused you inconvenience about the room transfer. About the water pressure - our locality advocates water conservation so we opted not to use water pressure. We posted in each room the scarcity of water supply in Basco so we are soliciting consideration in the reuse of towels and linens if possible too. We have checked the bathroom and toilet drain and are now working well. Thank you again for this review as this will help us a lot along the way and our sincere apology for all our shortcomings. DIOS MAMAJES !
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cheriemhelc0404 wrote a review Feb 2019
Philippines42 contributions48 helpful votes
Batanes was one of the destination that I wanted to visit and I had the opportunity to finally visit the place when a dear friend had his wedding at Batanes.. and Bernardo's Hotel was one of the recommended hotel.. it was October last year whe I decided that I'll spend my "me-time" unfortunately it was fully booked already (my trip was Feb and inquired October). Anyway, Ms. Thea Ordas informed me that they will open another or extension of Bernardo's, so I decided to make a reservations. Anyway, finally in Batanes! The room was spacious and clean.. I am a breastfeeding mom and since I am alone on this trip, I pump. The staff are very accommodating, the let me use their freezer for my BM stash. Staff are so friendly and staff. I'm surprised that I have breakfast when I arrived, usually at the other hotels, breakfast will be on the following day. Food are delicious. Well, there a no phone signal (well, no signal everywhere, actually :)) Overall stay was pleasant.. I really enjoyed every moment of it. I hope to comeback with my husband.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 0214casa-bernardo, Owner at Bernardo's Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Thank you for this 1st review of our New Building Bernardo's LANTIA Hotel which is located a minute walk from the Main Building - Bernardo's Hotel. Phone signal is really difficult in the area but we have a roofdeck where signal is much stronger than some specific areas at the ground floor. We really do hope signal in the area will be improved soon because the community also needs it. We would be happy to have you back with your whole family. Dios mamajes!!!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ira L wrote a review Dec 2018
3 contributions1 helpful vote
The rooms are clean and staff are very helpful. Breakfast is just right.They also own Casa Napoli which serves the best pizza in Batanes (better than Cafe de Tukon). It's just a minute walk from the beach where you can marvel the beautiful sunset or do star gazing at night.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from 0214casa-bernardo, Owner at Bernardo's Hotel
Responded 17 Mar 2019
Thank you for taking time to review us. Casa Napoli beside Bernardos is a branch of CASA NAPOLI main in Basco Town proper that serves Taco and Nachos that you will surely enjoy too. DIOS MAMAJES!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCagayan Valley RegionProvince of BatanesBasco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BERNARDO'S HOTEL - Reviews & Price Comparison (Basco, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Bernardo's Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Bernardo's Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Basco Lighthouse (2.1 km), Marlboro Hills (4.4 km), and Naidi Hills (2.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bernardo's Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Bernardo's Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Bernardo's Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Bernardo's Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bernardo's Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Napoli, Phil's Brew, and Cafe du Tukon.
Does Bernardo's Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Bernardo's Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are there any historical sites close to Bernardo's Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dipnaysupuan Japanese Tunnel (1.9 km).