We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Reyes Street Kayvaluganan, Basco, Luzon 3900 Philippines
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (19)
Dining (9)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#13 of 26 Specialty lodging in Basco
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A prime mountain eleven-room boutique hotel and restaurant in world-famous Basco, Batanes, Pension Ivatan is more than just a place. Rather, it is the must-have Batanes experience. Our kind of service is highly personal yet very professional. It is intimate yet never intrusive. Staying at Pension Ivatan feels more like being welcomed to a private home, albeit one with the service ethic of a first class hotel.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Conference facilities
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Minibar
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
17Reviews0Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 1
  • 8
  • 6
  • 1
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Czar Emmanuel wrote a review Jul 2022
Manila, Philippines6062 contributions730 helpful votes
+1
This pension house's restaurant may not have a spectacular view of Basco's sunset to offer (as other eateries in town do), but it has a very nice and neat dining area, a good selection of food and drinks (including some native Ivatan dishes), a strong WIFI signal, and is located just right across the Basco Airport. The staff members are also very friendly and accommodating and service is fast. The town proper of Basco is just a stone throw's away, too. Thumbs up!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
vansky wrote a review Jun 2019
Pasig City464 contributions115 helpful votes
This review is for their restaurant. The restaurant offers local Batanes dishes so well that I feel this is a must-try for first-time visitors to Basco. Of course they also offer some standard fares which are quite good. The menu offers a good list of seafood but they are not always available (depends on the season). Their line-up of local dishes is quite admirable but it's still a matter of preference. Some wouldn't find minced banana pith very exotic nor delectable for their taste. On our visit, all our first choices were not available so we settled for what was there during the day. Good thing someone from our group ordered vegetables because they were really fresh and good and helped a lot with my digestion. The place looks good from the outside but quite ordinary on the inside. Service isn't very notable because they had minimal staff. The orders came fast enough though. The price is a bit designed for tourists (but that is the general condition in Basco). It has a good location because it's just beside the airport - in case you want to eat before/after your flight. Our only disappointment was that coming in, we could smell fresh bread baking in the oven of their bakery next door - only to be told that they weren't ready yet. After lunch, we tried again and got the same answer. We left without being able to taste the freshly-baked bread.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
sarah_alzona wrote a review Jan 2019
Makati, Philippines130 contributions49 helpful votes
I ate here twice when I was in Batanes it is near in my hometel accomodation marfel. The ambiance is nice,the price is reasonable, the taste of the food are good I tried the inihaw na baboy and inihaw na manok, but the most surprise me is the kamote leche plan its so good and new to my taste.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
ktmp830 wrote a review Jan 2019
Dubai, United Arab Emirates22 contributions2 helpful votes
We visited last december 2018 and ordered the Ivatan Platter. We expected too much because they are all over instagram. The food was presented really well but all tasted bland. :( You will be overwhelmed when your order arrives at the table because it is well presented, but you will be underwhelmed once you’ve tasted it. We were disappointed with the Ivatan platter because it was supposed to showcase the delicious and authentic cuisine of the Ivatans. The only delicious thing we’ve ordered is the dessert which is the kamote flan. We even ordered another round of the dessert after we finished the first flan. If you come at Pension Ivatan, just order the Kamote Flan. If you want traditional authentic Ivatan food, you’re better off somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ferroviario P, Manager at Pension Ivatan
Responded 10 Jan 2019
Hi ktmp830, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please let us know what time and what day you ordered the food, we'll see to it that our chef will be informed of your experience. Food taste is subjective and most tourists come to us because of our food. We do, however, value your opinion and we'll find ways how to satisfy all if not, the majority of our customers' palate. We are happy that you're able to enjoy our Wakay Flan (Camote Flan) Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Izzicomeizzigo wrote a review Nov 2018
Bocaue, Philippines75 contributions2 helpful votes
I gave them 5 star because of their halo halo! Better than Chowking I sweaaaar. We ordered sizzling chicken, grilled pusit and fresh wakay lumpia. Love their pako salad and tumeric cold tea! One of the better few resto you can visit in Basco.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Manuel I wrote a review Jun 2018
Manila, Philippines1592 contributions164 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The hotel is conveniently located just behind the airport in Basco. The hotel is nice. The room I got had a queen-sized bed and it came with all amenities of a big hotel --- nice bed, fresh towels and linens, toiletries, free coffee and tea, refrigerator. However, the room did not have a telephone, no WIFI system and no room safe. Breakfast came with the room which was served either ala carte or buffet (which was good) depending on the number of guests the hotel has. Restaurant of the hotel is small but known to be a place to get you local dishes. Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The hotel has its own bakery located just beside the main entrance which sells freshly baked bread everyone. Hotel has shuttle service and may be contracted for you to move around during your stay. If you are in Basco for business or pleasure, I recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Caryl Dela Cruz wrote a review Feb 2018
130 contributions13 helpful votes
Went here for our first dinner at Batanes. This restaurant was highly recommended by the tour and "popular" among tourist. We've tried the boodle feast platter here. Forgot what's the name of the platter we ordered. Food was generally ok but sadly I was not satisfied with the taste of the food. Shrimp on the boodle feast was overcooked as shell of shrimp was hard to peel. We also ordered inihaw na liempo? It was surprisingly good. Over all worth the try but not again for the second time. :( wishing they could improve more of the service and the taste of the food. :)
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
jhules wrote a review Dec 2017
Manila, Philippines13 contributions9 helpful votes
We were in Batanes for an official business trip for 3 days and 3 nights. We were scheduled to have our dinner in Pension Ivatan. The food was great and was served to us by their friendly staff. On the third day however, I was a little surprised to have been served by the same set of food that was served to us on our first day. Upon checking their menu, the choices for a large group food package is limited...
Read more
Date of stay: November 2017
Value
Service
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Maria Joanna D wrote a review Jan 2016
Metro Manila, Philippines2 contributions2 helpful votes
food is bad , so pricey and yet so ordinary. we ordered the ivatan traditional dishes, read good reviews and my family thought it would be good to give it a try. but we were so disappointed with the food, so ordinary, even grilled chicken is tasteless, the only best food we ordered is the pako salad, everything is expensive. a 25 pesos per kilo of camote at the wet market, will cost you 150 at pension ivatan. gosh! And one more thing, lots of flies , too!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ferroviario P, Guest Relations Manager at Pension Ivatan
Responded 16 May 2017
Hi Maria, We're sorry to hear about your disappointment. We done several major improvements in our property and our restaurant, to make sure that our customers will have a memorable time in Batanes. We are more dedicated to great customer experience. Thank you for your feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WaGne C wrote a review Jul 2014
68 contributions70 helpful votes
I would say that it always takes perspective to appreciate things. Everything in Pension Ivatan is dated, but hey, Basco is dated so I'd say my stay was at par with what the province has to offer. I flew to Batanes with literally no expectations except for the scenic views I am to experience in the couple of days I was to roam around the islands. And the province does not disappoint, even as you fly over, before landing, you'll really see rolling hills everywhere and yes, the music from the Sound of Music start humming in your ears. Back to my review of Pension Ivatan. At the airport, we were greeted by Jhazon holding waving our name. Then we rode that their Starex (soon enough we found out, everything is walking distance, so the van ride really was a good transition from Urban to Rural experience). Then we went to their restaurant to Check-in. Pension Ivatan restaurant is literally across the street from the airport and the hometel is some 2 minutes drive. The is humid and hot when we arrived so our decision to have our tours on day 2 was a good one for us to really adjust to the climate. Yes, for three days, the wind was hot which is quite norm as the locals didnt really bothered with it but I was sweating my everywhere in my body. So we stayed in our rooms (for Day1), as it was airconditioned, and only went out for a very late Lunch. Day2 we were quite adept to the heat already but still I was sweating like hell. We requested for breakfast to be served super early as our tour was scheduled to start at 6AM as we were going to Sabtang Island. Jennifer smilingly delivered our breakfast at 530AM. We had simple tocino, but it was the best tocino I have ever tasted. Right sweet taste as well as pork tenderness. Coffee was also good, later on we knew that it was Kaliraya Brew (if i'm not mistaken). After that, we have looked forward to breakfast which was always served with Jennifer's smile and that brew of coffee goodness. We had choices for Tapa, tocino and fish fillet. Tapa was also super good. Jennifer religiously made up our room everyday and changes our towels as well. That was all that I needed for a hotel stay in the province, fresh towels and daily clean up. There is no wifi in the hometel but there is satellite cable. Other hotels offer wifi (but with no bfast, it really was a trade off we had to consider and we went for free bfast) but with the signal quality telecoms offer in the province, the choice was clear for us to go for food. Signal in Batanes only affords for E and 3G never occurs. In some areas you dont get service. All in all, on our next visit, im definitely staying again in Pension Ivatan as location wise it is good and service wise it is at par with what the province has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2014
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: There are only three rooms in this hometel. We got room 2 which I think is the most spacious but...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ferroviario P, Public Relations Manager at Pension Ivatan
Responded 16 May 2017
Dear WaGne C, Thank you for your review, we hope you'll be able to visit us again and experience our newly renovated hotel and the food prepared by our new chef. Thank you also for mentioning the good experiences you have, we'll make sure that our people gets to hear them and continually be motivated to give our guests a very good service. Thank you.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
12
ALSO KNOWN AS
pension ivatan hotel basco
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Pension Ivatan Hometel and Restaurant
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCagayan Valley RegionProvince of BatanesBasco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
3
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PENSION IVATAN - UPDATED 2022 Lodge Reviews (Basco, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pension Ivatan
Which popular attractions are close to Pension Ivatan?
Nearby attractions include Basco Lighthouse (1.3 km), Marlboro Hills (6.0 km), and Naidi Hills (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Pension Ivatan?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and room service.
What food & drink options are available at Pension Ivatan?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Pension Ivatan?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Napoli, Phil's Brew, and Cafe du Tukon.
Are there any historical sites close to Pension Ivatan?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dipnaysupuan Japanese Tunnel (1.0 km).