Nathaniel's Lodge

Nathaniel's Lodge

Nunez Street Brgy. Kaychanarianan, Basco, Luzon 3900 Philippines
Traveler (37)
One of our new rooms located in the annex building.
Room & Suite (20)
Dining (9)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#1 of 7 guest houses in Basco
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Make yourself at home in Batanes and unwind at Nathaniel's Lodge! Our lodge is designed to have relaxation and comfort in mind and we made sure that our rooms are equipped with necessities for guests to enjoy after a tour around the islands. We take pride in our friendly and personal service and we try to resonate the warmth and hospitality that the Ivatans are known for. You can find us at the edge of Nuñez Street in the quaint town of Basco. The street is in the center of the town which is close to commercial establishments yet only a few minutes walk or bicycle ride to Basco tourist spots making it an ideal place for your stay.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free airport transportation
Concierge
Gift shop
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Ironing service
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Filipino

Location

Nunez Street Brgy. Kaychanarianan, Basco, Luzon 3900 Philippines
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travelers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Basco Airport
133Reviews17Q+A19Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 76
  • 44
  • 9
  • 2
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Israel S wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The 3rd floor room #14 is big.
They have this honesty nook per floor where you can get coffee/milo/tea for 20pesos. Just put your payment in the designated tupperware.
Free potable water in a dispenser (cold/normal/hot) also available
The hot shower is working.
My view is the Naidi Lighthouse which is great.
Staffs are friendly and they are nice.
They serve free breakfast and free airport transfer.
They don't have WIFI like most of the lodges in town. I used my SMART mobile data which is ok.

There are sari-sari stores nearby and a grocery store across street.
Town Plaza is like 2mins. walk and Naidi Lighthouse is around 10-15mins. walk.

Restaurants nearby are :
Harbour Cafe/Beehan Restaurant/Octagon Bed and Breakfast/Cafe Napoli/BikSaFraffe cafe
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: 3rd floor room no. 14.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Hey there! Your detailed review with us is awesome! It will surely help future guests when choosing a place to stay in Batanes. We are glad that you found the proximity of the Lodge convenient for you especially the stores, the restaurants and places that you can visit on your free time. Thank you for the concise yet helpful review! Not only did it help us, you also helped prospective Batanes travelers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John R wrote a review Feb 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Everything is complete but just average quality. The service is great, very hospitable and accommodating staff. The tour package recommended was excellent, tour guide knows his stuff. I would stay here again. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Hello, Thank you for leaving a review. We will try our best to be better than average to satisfy our guests more. We do hope that the tour was informative and fun and you were able to appreciate our province more. Please do come back again, we can't wait to show you our improvements! See you soon!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RussDeGuzman wrote a review Feb 2020
Baguio, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very near the airport, walkable if you're into that. They offer airport transfers in case you need one. The place was at the heart of everything, but it was still peaceful and quiet, especially during rest time. Staff are very courteous, rooms are clean, set breakfast ok. Tour assistance was also available and I'm glad I took the tricycle tours which made me enjoy the best views while travelling. I also left my jacket and they sent it to me on the same day, free-of-charge, even when I insisted I pay for the shipping. Thanks Nathaniel's Lodge!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Hello Russ! Thank you very much for leaving a 5-star rating. We are happy that you are satisfied with our accommodation and tours, we hope that this left beautiful memories of Batanes with you. We hope to see you again soon, we'll be happy to give you returning guest discounts :-)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
espielaliv wrote a review Feb 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The service was great. The crew were all nice and accommodating. Hotel's location was perfect. It was at the center of the town and super near to the airport, which made our stay even more convenient. The rooms though need some big improvements. From where we stayed at for 4 nights - it looked a little old and dark - maybe because some lights in the room were not working. Also, the walls were, I think, just made of thin woods, so sometimes you could clearly hear your neighbors' noises, especially when they are being loud. It was annoying because I thought I could get some rest after a day of touring. Overall - I am still thankful for the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Hello, We're very sorry that you we did not meet your expectations. We are doing our best to improve our interiors so please bear with us as we schedule our renovations. We still hope that you had a comfortable stay in our rooms. Thank you very much and we hope to see you in Batanes again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
phoebemhui wrote a review Jan 2020
Metro Manila, Philippines
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hope there was daily housekeeping. We still had to call one of the staff to clean the bathroom. Otherwise, the staff were really nice and accommodating. Breakfast food is simple, but it's okay for the room rate.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Front Office Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Jan 13, 2020
Hi Phoebe, Thanks for the review and the suggestion. We will try to look into your recommendation of daily housekeeping since as of the moment, the daily housekeeping is done every 4th day. We are also looking into upgrading food choices soon. We hope that you'll get to see a better lodge soon! Kind regards, Nathaniel's Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MakatiGuest wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Location is a big plus, very near the airport (with free airport transfers). Room is clean and well-maintained. Staff is very courteous, accommodating and respectful. Special mention too to Jerryson who was my trike tour guide to northern Batan. Will definitely recommend to friends visiting Batanes.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Good day, Thank you very much for commending our location. We hope that our proximity to commercial areas helped you in a way . We will let Jerryson know that you approved of his services, we're sure it will make his day.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Eur R wrote a review Mar 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice and clean place. We were upgraded to a bigger room despite of last minute changes on our booking.

Great staff. Very accommodating and helpful.

Batanes is such a wonderful place and people in general are very friendly,
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel's B, Public Relations Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Apr 1, 2020
Kapian ka pa nu Dios, We hope that you had an amazing stay at the upgraded room and we will let our staff know that you appreciated their helpfulness and hospitality. Thank you for leaving a review and visiting Batanes. We look forward to seeing you again!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
davehwan wrote a review Oct 2018
Manila, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The room is big and spacious. airconditioned with a ceiling fan. The bed is Just a thick foam but comfortable enough for a good night's sleep.Water pressure is strong and water heater is individualize.breakfast is served at your preferred time and comes out newly cooked fresh from the kitchen.coffee, tea, and Milo is free during breakfast (unlimited) but cost 20 pesos outside of breakfast
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: no Elevator, so if you have difficulty with stairs, ask for a room on the 2nd floor.no wi fi...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel0702, General Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Nov 2, 2018
Hello Dave! We can't help but smile to know that our staff made the difference in your stay because we truly believe in the capabilities of our staff to do exceptional service. Thank you for rating us with the highest score possible, it really motivates us to do the best we can to deliver a satisfactory service. Kind regards, Nathaniel's Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
manuel r wrote a review Jul 2018
Quezon City, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
July 11 to 14, 2018... life in basco batanes... simple, unique, quiet, bring us back to the start of spanish era... natheniel's staff, lhynne beronque , jhov cultura, our main staff care takers where really top class.... our tour guides, michelle nalus and jimmy dita gave us a wonderful three day experience of the whole batanes... breakfast, lunch, dinner were really fantastic... to make our journey make out the best, a couple who we met there joined us in group tour and what a great fun we had.... expenses wise, my pocket got the best deals, .... my 20k had still changes at the end of the vacation trip...
My advise, pick batanes and natheniel's lodge.... and all will go good, very good...
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel0702, General Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Jul 15, 2018
Hello Manuel, We are so grateful for your review. We will make sure that Lhynne, Jhov, Michelle, and Jimmy will be informed of their great service. We are also happy that you met new people and had a great time in the group tour. We hope to see you again in Batanes! Kind regards, Nathaniel's Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daryl Dean D wrote a review Jun 2018
Manila, Philippines
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our flght got cancelled multiple times due to Monsoon Rains on the 2nd week of JUNE which made us to decide to move it on it's Batanes week which is a perfect choice, Perfect weather on a Breathtaking Destination.

Nathaniel's lodge has been my home for 4 days. I've been to great places in the Philippine Archipelago and this place is totally different, everything is picture perfect and one of a kind.

I'd like to commend Nathaniel's Lodge for welcoming us and being understanding on every situation. Our trip got delayed multiple times but they were so accomodating and always been in touched. Nathan, it's owner, eventhough I was not able to see him, and all his staff specially Lynn were so hands on in providing us a world class customer experience.

The room that we got has its own balcony and has perfect view of Mt. Iraya. With the set up? It was always a good morning and a great afternoon. Beds are very comfortable and clean which is perfect after a tiring day. Washroom were well maintained. The Lodge is neary a sari sari store, atm machine, pasalubong stop and Basco Plaza. I can't imagine staying on any property once I return to Batanes.

Nathaniel's Lodge, We thank You for everything on making our trip a memory to cherish and a trip to remember.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Nathaniel0702, General Manager at Nathaniel's Lodge
Responded Jul 4, 2018
Hello Daryl, Thank you very much for choosing Nathaniel's Lodge Batanes, we are honored to have hosted you and your companion. We are glad that you like our services to have merited a good review from you. We look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully no more flight cancellations ;-) Dios Mamajes, Nathaniel's Lodge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Voyage743106
1 contribution
You can contact them directly on agoda via msg. They do respond also. Highly recommend accommodation in basco.
Answer from Nathaniel0702
Basco, Philippines3 contributions
Hello, Checkout time is 12NN. Signal of Globe and Smart is strong too and we also have LTE signal already but please note that it doesn't cover some parts of the islands.
Answer from Nathaniel0702
Basco, Philippines3 contributions
Hello, it is 3,300/night for a room good for four (2 double beds). Our rate already includes daily breakfast and airport transfers. Thanks!
jcmpinlac asked a question May 2018
Manila, Philippines
Hi! Do you have a room for 7 people on June 8-13?
Answer from Nathaniel0702
Basco, Philippines3 contributions
Hello, sorry but we're fully booked on those dates already. We hope we can accommodate you some other time.
Jocelyn T asked a question Mar 2018
Gurnee, Illinois1 contribution
do you have a room on April 6-8?
Answer from Nathaniel0702
Basco, Philippines3 contributions
Hello, we only have one room left. You may contact us at 09158973200 regarding your inquiry. Thank you for your interest. :)
Israel S wrote a tip Mar 2020
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"3rd floor room no. 14."
Read full review
camscammayo wrote a tip Aug 2019
Quezon City, Philippines1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Request for a room with a balcony so it is easier to star gaze at night :)"
Read full review
Kate K wrote a tip Jul 2019
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Spacious like that of a real hotel"
Read full review
jamescoucou wrote a tip May 2019
43 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"New building rooms are OK. "
Read full review
jess_jctn wrote a tip Mar 2019
Manila, Philippines111 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room shower takes about 5 minutes to warm up when you turn it on."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Basco area.
LOCATION
PhilippinesLuzonCagayan Valley RegionProvince of BatanesBasco
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NATHANIEL'S LODGE - Guest house Reviews (Basco, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nathaniel's Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Nathaniel's Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Basco Lighthouse (0.8 km), Marlboro Hills (5.9 km), and Naidi Hills (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nathaniel's Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, airport transportation, and kids activities.
What food & drink options are available at Nathaniel's Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Nathaniel's Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Napoli, Cafe du Tukon, and Phil's Brew.
Does Nathaniel's Lodge have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Nathaniel's Lodge offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Nathaniel's Lodge have airport transportation?
Yes, Nathaniel's Lodge offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nathaniel's Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Nathaniel's Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dipnaysupuan Japanese Tunnel (1.1 km).