We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes

Save
Share
Coastal Road, Pointe d'Esny, Mauritius
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (339)
Room & Suite (50)
Dining (21)

About

#2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pointe d'Esny
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Set on a breathtaking lagoon, Chantauvent is a charming guesthouse situated in Pointe d'Esny, near Mahebourg, on the South East coast of Mauritius. Mahebourg is a colorful and lively town, steeped in Mauritian history. Fisherman and shopkeepers ply the streets, adding to the rich and dynamic atmosphere of this coastal treasure.Dark volcanic rock makes for a stark contrast to the bright white coral sand on the long and open beaches of Pointe d'Esny.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Beach
Canoeing
Airport transportation
Massage
Public wifi
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Complimentary welcome drink
Diving
Hiking
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Taxi service
Salon
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Private beach
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Bath / shower
Safe
Seating area
Sofa
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Microwave
Refrigerator
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Dutch, Italian
339Reviews8Q+A44Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 110
  • 133
  • 53
  • 24
  • 19
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Bhavna T wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
It was my 3rd time at Chantauvent. But it’s definitely the last time. Worst experience ever. I called to book for half board which cost Rs 4800, the person who attended my calls, we discussed, they told me that i have a variety of foods to choose for dinner. But surprisingly, when we went out for dinner, they gave us a menu card with only 4 choice of pizzas. That’s all!! They have 2 restaurants, they didn’t communicate on the phone that we’ll have only pizza for dinner as they were lack of staffs to open the other restaurant. What i found more ridiculous is that we didn’t even had our breakfast, we ran out late for only 5mins, they told us that they are out of stock for provisions, also that we can have only bread and butter or else nothing. They should have done their provisions according to how many guests they are accommodating. I couldn’t spoke to anyone there as they left the guest house with a trainee from a school? How could you leave the entire guest house with a trainee?? How could you guys couldn’t give us the service that we paid for? How come i choose to pay Rs 4800 to have bread and butter at your guest house??? And only pizza to eat for dinner, and my husband doesn’t eat pizza. I had to go out and pay extra to have breakfast and dinner. We neither enjoy our dinner nor our breakfast. No one bothered to refund us our money for breakfast. I paid to have nothing at all!!! That’s horrible. Poor service 100% !!! It’s a nice place but the staffs and the foods and services i rate them 0/10!!! My husband loved this place, i even celebrated my birthday on March 2020 there. Extremely Disappointed!! My money went into waste.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Asha. M wrote a review Jun 2020
1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at Chantauvent with family and friends. The kids enjoyed a lot and the food was great. Friendly and helpful staff, especially Wendy and Etienne. A special thanks to Angela for the amazing massage. The best place to relax and enjoy nature:) regards, Asha
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Lou-H-UK wrote a review Mar 2020
Dublin, Ireland16 contributions11 helpful votes
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. I was so looking forward to staying here, although the reviews were a bit mixed I decided it couldn’t be so bad. I was so wrong. This has got to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The place is infested with insects, ticks and cockroaches, and they have stray cats living in the roof above the kitchen. The first night I was here I woke up in the middle of the night with my eye bleeding because a tick had attached itself to my eye lid, from the bedding. The room I stayed in had an ant infestation in the bathroom, and consequently all my makeup bag and toiletries were crawling with ants. There was black mould all over the shower curtains and there were also giant cockroaches in the room. I tried to ask for help one evening after I found a massive cockroach in the bathroom but this place closes its doors at 9pm, and despite the website saying there is reception security etc there was no one at all available. I phoned and text every number I could find, and rang doorbells, but you are completely on your own here between 9pm and 8am. The staff are also very unfriendly and really don’t care, I inquired about a boat trip advertised in the hotel, and the girl I asked just shrugged and told me to phone the number on the flier myself. I was also very sick after I lunch I ate here, I expect it’s due to the lack of hygiene in the building. When I initially complained the next day, the manager all though initially very dismissive offered me a full refund and moved me rooms. He then provided me with a bill saying that they would only refund 5 nights of the 7 night stay, and that would be less taxes and other charges. So all in all less than half of the price of the stay. When I eventually found him the next day and asked him why this had changed, he made me discuss the matters with the ‘director’ of the hotel, who basically dismissed everything I reported, claimed because they use the same pest control as the five star hotels that he is not responsible for anything found in his hotel. He wouldn’t take anything I said seriously, and after I explained the issues I had had he just kept saying ‘and now I will correct your understanding’. They were both very aggressive, rude and I found the whole process so upsetting. They then revoked the refund and the manager literally ran off with the bill I had been given and refused to hand it back. These people are truly awful, most people only stay here for one or two nights, and when I said I’d come for a relaxing holiday and didn’t want to travel round, the manager said ‘well that’s the problem’. Jesus. They are saying I’m a bad customer, and that I’m only complaining because it’s the end of my stay, and I’m threatening them with a bad review to get a free trip, and that people like me do this all the time. I’m not due to check or until tomorrow, having raised the issues initially on day 4 of my stay, having waited until they were so bad I could no longer ignore them. I am now frightened about spending any more time here. I have never been treated like this before and I can’t wait to leave this place. DO NOT STAY HERE.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantauvent G, Manager at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
Responded 18 Mar 2020
Dear Louise Hogan, We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your holidays on Mauritius Island. You threaten us to write bad reviews if we refund you your whole stay. This is what you are doing. I am sure our guests will also read the other amazing reviews that we have. As we explained we are working with one of the best pest control of the Island "Pest Control Specialists" and they come twice a month to our facility. We are also using very specific protocols for cleaning and in our kitchen we have the certification HCCP. Chantauvent is a charming guest house, run by the de Falbaire Family since 50years. We take guests reviews very seriously and we are working hard to satisfy our guests. We are located on blue bay beach on one of the most beautiful snorkeling spot of the Island. We offer free turtle monitoring tours every Thursday. We offer free snorkeling equipment and free kayak and stand up paddle. We like to advise our guests on what they can do around and we care for our guests and do our best to make them enjoy their stay and Mauritius. Since this incident with you we already took action and will send an in house / during stay survey 1 day after check in to understand if the guests are enjoy their stay. It is too easy to come the last day of your stay saying every thing is not good, lying about things and asking for a full refund. We always take actions for our guests and are always happy to have happy guests. Val The Manager
Read more
Daniel D wrote a review Mar 2020
Winnipeg, Canada50 contributions55 helpful votes
I hate leaving negative reviews, but as someone who is a manager of hotels and has worked at resorts and properties all over the world, i must express my experiences. I was not impressed with their aging infrastructure, the dirty towels, lack of information given to guests at check-in and the attitude of some staff. I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this, based on their reviews on tripadvisor, there were mixed reviews. More good than bad, so that’s why i decided to stay here for my final leg of my Mauritian tour. I wish i would have read more of the reviews as i would have gladly decided to stay somewhere else :( The location is fantastic! It’s a beautiful spot on the beach, the staff are not interested from my experience and not really into the hospitality realm of working in a little guest house. Check-in wasn’t good. I had received an email two days prior to my arrival asking about my arrival times and if i was needing a taxi, i emailed my arrival time and didn’t hear anything back. When i arrived, i was told it was going to be about an hour until my room was ready, which was fine, but after over 90 minutes of waiting in their small common space, i asked. While waiting, i looked around the little lobby and find the wifi code posted and all other information which should have been given to me upon arrival. I asked if they did currency exchange as i only had euros on me and was told the nearest shop was 6km away. It was the end of that conversation Finally, One employee said it was going to be another 10 minutes then i was told by another employee my room was ready in the same breath. I was taken to the room, which was across the road in their garden area, fine. But it wasn’t a personalized experience. Just routine and mundane. Thankfully I’m somewhat fit as i had to carry my luggage up the stairs as the employee just led me like a dog. She showed me the pool and restaurant but didn’t explain anything about Operating Hours or such. And there was No offer to take any of my bags or anything. She Gave me my key and essentially left. I gave myself a tour of the room as she had just left and there was a kitchenette in the back with a kettle and such, which was pleasant. The washroom appeared nice but upon further use of the facilities, the hot water in the sink did not work. The towels were stained brown and yellow, the toilet set was cracking and chipping where you sat down and the shower had minimal water pressure and hot water. The bed was comfortable, throw pillows had stains all over them. It wasn’t pleasant. The best thing was there were minimal insects or bigs which i had experienced previously in my stay. The worst part was when it rained on my first morning, i woke up to water all over my floors and bed. The roof was leaking all over the place. I feel like this wasn’t a unique situation. I had decided to check out a day early and move to a different hotel for my last night in the island as my flight is early on Saturday and I’m not confident that the taxi i would request would show up on time. And if it didn’t, i would have been screwed as the reception doesn’t open until around 8am on Saturday.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantauvent G, Manager at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear Mr Davyduke, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Thank you for pointing out that the location is fantastic, that we have a beautiful spot on the beach, that bed was comfortable, there was no insects which you appreciated. Rest assure that at Chantauvent Guest House our staff usually receives very good reviews and we all CARE for our guests. We are an authentic guest house, one of the first one of Mauritius, celebrating 50years this year! We want our guests to live the real experience. Chantauvent is located on the best snorkeling spot of the Island and we also have an NGO that takes care of the marine environment. Guests are welcome to go with them for a free turtle or reef monitoring or visit our coral farming project. All that to let you know that we care for our Island, our staff and our Guests. We are sorry that you had the wrong feeling. I must say that you were very unlucky with the weather and that we had a torrential rain alert that night. I think this must have played an important factor in your view of Chantauvent. Regarding our taxi driver they are always on time and very responsible. Even in those difficult times with CoronaVirus our taxi drivers are working and we can count on them. We look forward to welcome you again at Chantauvent Guest House and let you discover the real Chantauvent! Best regards, Val The Manager
Read more
Baukje W wrote a review Feb 2020
Quatre Bornes19 contributions3 helpful votes
We spent a weekend at Chantauvent guest house and we loved it! A beautiful authentic place at the sea side. Good price for money. We recommend to have dinner at the restaurant of the guest house since the food was amazing!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Chantauvent G, Manager at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
Responded 23 Mar 2020
Dear Baukje, Thank you so much for your nice review. We appreciate that you loved the food served at Diner, I will let our Chef Jean Louis know about your nice review. At Chantauvent we stay authentic and real and we are happy that you could appreciate that and get this feeling. We hope to welcome you again some day! Take care and stay safe! best regards, Val The Manager
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$49 - US$88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
chantauvent guesthouse - maison d`hotes hotel pointe d`esny
LOCATION
MauritiusGrand Port DistrictPointe d'Esny
NUMBER OF ROOMS
22
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes
Which popular attractions are close to Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Nearby attractions include Ile des Deux Cocos (0.9 km), Pointe d'Esny (2.3 km), and Blue Bay Beach (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Conveniently located restaurants include Le Bazilic, Le Jardin de Beau Vallon, and La Vielle Rouge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Italian, and Dutch.
Are there any historical sites close to Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Île du Phare (8.2 km).
Does Chantauvent Guesthouse - Maison d'Hotes have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.