Midway White Beach Resort

Midway White Beach Resort

Cagayan De Oro Tubigan, Initao, Mindanao Philippines
Traveler (94)
Pool & Beach (31)
Room & Suite (14)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

2.0
#1 of 1 resort in Initao
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
2.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
2.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travelers make Midway White Beach Resort their resort of choice when visiting Initao. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travelers like you.

Guest rooms offer air conditioning.

In addition, guests can enjoy free breakfast during their visit. As an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests.

Travelers looking for Asian restaurants can head to Echavez Kitchenette.

We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Midway White Beach Resort as you experience all of the things Initao has to offer.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Beach
Room features
Air conditioning

Location

Cagayan De Oro Tubigan, Initao, Mindanao Philippines
47Reviews4Q+A9Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 3
  • 6
  • 6
  • 12
  • 20
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Angelyn D wrote a review Feb 2023
3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked for 3 nights with family in kinason midway because we are from Europe and just here for holiday but instead of happiness it was a nightmare 😕 they gave us room with the toilet not working ,and after seeing the problem , 1 housekeeping said that im lying because it's working for her opinion but everyone saw,it cannot even flush a pee. They didn't even help us instead pushing the problems to everyone.after changing rooms for 3 times they finally give us an upgrade, not the best 1 still but it's fine after couple of hours when we are heading to bed and saw shirt of my boyfriend full of dirt from bed OMG soo dirty and we ended up going back to city at 12 midnight , MANAGEMENT is Terrible.
Not gonna recommend at all.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
maryjane010 wrote a review Jul 2011
Chicago, Illinois2 contributions29 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We, a family of 8 arrived @ twilight and greeted by what seemed to be "responsible" staff. Everything was settled from room accomodation, rides and breakfast in the morning. Room was good for 8 people with 4 double deckers with ONLY 1 bathroom to share. Accomodation includes a FREE ride to the banana boat , 1 hour use of kayak and free breakfast with a choice of : longganisa or corned beef with egg and rice + drinks . Paid 4500 php upfront.

We ordered food for dinner and patiently waited for about an hour or so give and take. Food was good. Noticed too many resort staff but only 1 person attended to our needs and the rest were just sitting and talking. Woke up early to start off with swimming before the rides. Nice view. Nice place. The only resort with a concrete building to stay among the 4 or 5 in the area. After 2 hrs of swimming when we asked for the rides @ about 8 Am ..the dilemma started. We asked for the glass boat ride which cost @ 500/ride for 15 people..took them forever to get the boat into the waters..which could have been quicker if they used an electric powered machine to pull or push instead of 6-8 people who had not taken their breakfast yet. So we've waited..and spent the time doing nothing. Finally, the boat reached the waters..sadly..the motor propeller didn't run..so we've waited again. So we asked for the "other rides"..so not to waste our time we opted for the banana boat..which should have been FREE but we still will have to pay extra since only 5 people can ride it. There are 8 of us and there are 3 more to ride on the 2nd trip and since a max. of 5 people needed/ ride..they asked us to pay the whole price of 600 php. Can't the boat go with only 3 people on it? NO. We haggled and finally gave us 100 php discount (????). Now everything is settled. Minutes passed so quickly..no banana boat. where the H is that boat?? can we just ride the jetski (2,000 php / 30 mins) instead?.. wasted a lot of time and we'll be checking out soon..tsk..tsk.. later we learned someone has to go to Iligan City (an hour away) just to buy the UNLEADED gas to power the jet ski that drags the banana boat. OMG!!! what the ? are you kidding us? now the lady who is supposedly incharge didn't know about this problem or maybe she's just playing dumb? We are running out of patience here..but we still kept our cool. Okay..let's just do the Zipline..oh no! it's too low into the waters..it won't reach the other end without you drowning first! what the H is wrong with this resort? EVERYTHING !!! from staff to facilities..it's a vacationists' nightmare!! Where's the glass boat all these time? still getting fixed. All right then..let's just do the kayak..2 kayaks were given to us..only interrrupted by one of the " unofficial staff " asking us to give 1 to the other group. Fine. We're not that bad..even with the inconvenience we got from their inefficiencies. And so it was past breakfast..we were getting hungry..can we just have our breakfast served earlier instead of 10 AM? what are we having? the lady "incharge" said " a choice of longganisa or corned beef with egg and a cup of rice + drinks( coffee/ tea/soda). Okay fine. By this time the glass boat was all fix up..alleluiah! oh wait..we do not have a shade for the boat..can you go without it? the sun was up and glaring at us by that time..okay fine..we're good without it..but then someone showed up with the shade and put it up..what the H is going on here?? no shade you said but there it was! excuses..lots of excuses..do you really want us to use it or not? and so we went expecting a good meal after. The glass boat watching was great! God's creations are awesooome! Now it's time to go back and eat..we're starving! good grief the food was ready..let's dig in! only to be surprised again!? oh man..this resort's full of surprises! and magicians! the "longganisa" turned into "hotdog" !!! whaaaat?? patience is drained by this time..disappointed and hungry..we asked the lady "inchrage" ..again she played as if she didn't have any clue what the kitchen cooked for us. "Dili d i okay sa inyo ma'am?? ( is it not good for you, ma'am?) NO! of course it's NOT OKAY ! And so we ended up buying food outside near the highway..ate our food with lots of extras ..FLIES were all OVER !! After we ate..talked a bit how disgusted we were..nobody even bothered to clean up the table. The cottage we saw from last night with full of dirty plates and a mess was still there..left with nobody even cared to clean it up. Oh my goodness..this resort is HORRIBLE!!! it's a shame they have the better looking resort..they are expanding and putting up new cottages but the MANAGER didn't see how terrible there service and staff were. Or maybe the management just didn't care at all ! I hope he reads this to change things for the better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2011
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
boylabo2000 . wrote a review Jun 2014
1 contribution27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This has utterly been the worst stay in my entire life. I've been here thrice within this year. The first time was with my girlfriend. We just stayed there to enjoy the scenery. Let me just say before anything else, that their beach really is one of the best beaches i have ever been. Just the beach! The natural masterpiece nature has sculpted. We ate at their restaurant and just enjoyed the beach. I had a great time the first time i went there maybe because i was with my girlfriend who would constantly suppress any aggression that i feel.

Amazed with the place, i gladly recommended the place to my friends from Manila. And so, the second time i went there, I brought my Manileño friends just to check the place out. I just wanted to show them the beauty of the place and perhaps take some pictures. No plan of staying too long whatsoever. Immediately upon entering the premises, we were greeted with a collection of a so called entrance fee of 25 pesos per head. Once inside the resort, a staff (I think it was one of the front desk personnel) chased us and rudely demanded that we pay 50 pesos each for again a so called entrance fee which we were doubtful because there were no signs of some sort that an amount of 50 pesos for entrance fee is necessary. And besides haven't we already paid 25 pesos for the entrance fee? Oh! And by the way, there was no payment of 50 pesos when i and my girlfriend went there the first time. What a bunch of money seeking lunatics. Anyway, after the hostile confrontation with the hysterical staff, we left the resort.

My third visit this year was with my family and relatives and we stayed there for a night. Again upon entering the resort, we were collected 25 pesos each. But this time my father asked the collector for what reason the 25 pesos is for when we were guests in their hotel. The stubborn staff plainly answered "this is for the owner's mother, this is a different operation from the resort proper" what the?! Why would we even care for their mother!? We're here for the resort. Management should try to look into that tiny detail because that little flaw wards off visitors. Good thing that front desk did not assail anymore of the 50 pesos 2nd entrance fee. Or was there never a 50 pesos charge in the first place? Hmmmmm... We went to our room which they assert that it was the best room in the resort, and in deed it was very nice except for the fact that there was a lingering stench of a dead animal inside the room, tap and bathing water that is as salty as sea water, unlock-able windows, broken windows (in the other room where our relatives were staying), bugs all over the place (you could even see cob webs at the corners of the ceiling), and the very disturbing singing of the guests in their karaoke room which was just below our room. Very nice in deed. And the room rate was clearly over priced as compared to other resorts with far more better (sorry for the redundancy) facilities and services.

Our dinner was served, the food was great. Honestly it was delicious until we saw the waiter who served us stick his hands inside the dorsal portion of his bottom region.

We asked for soft drinks, and only one variety was available and it was the only one we don't usually drink (it was of the diet type). We ordered coffee, and no coffee at all.

And on the next day there was no water in the rooms thus we were left with no choice but to use the public bathrooms for the beach guests.

Clearly, every aspect of this resort is a failure. If there's one thing this resort has best, it's their beach ( i hope they maintain it well). If not for the beach people wouldn't flock to their resort which is always under construction. Had management removed the overly ambitious resort and maintained a simple and well managed one, then that place would be perfect. Until then, thrice was enough for me.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karyl M wrote a review Sep 2012
Kissimmee, Florida12 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First off let me say whatever you see online it's a complete false advertisement. I just came back today from Midway Resort stayed for 1 night and they should be embarrassed for calling this place a resort. We got there around 6pm and tried to see if we can get a room for 10 people 4,500 pesos. At first we got the run around we were told they are going to waive the entrance fee of 25 pesos per head if we were going to check in. Then since they found out we were only staying for 1 night the lady behind the desk said oh the entrance fee is free ONLY if we were to get the bungalow rooms which is basically a big room full of bunk beds. She wasn't the receptionist but it seemed like she was the wife of owners son. Finally the son came out and talked to us and only made us pay 4500 pesos. They were charging us for an extra 300 pesos for 2 additional people to stay in the room even though we didn't need extra beds.Anyhow, we had 4 bunk beds and a queen size mattress in the room. The beds/linens were not comfortable and the bathroom was disgusting. You can smell urine even if you DUMP a bucket of water and by the way it didn't flush at all. Also we wanted to use the karaoke room but they said they are setting it up for tomorrow. From the look of it they only have one karaoke machine because the next day I saw them bring equipment from the karaoke room to one of the larger cottages....OK NOW OFF TO THE NEXT DAY....we all woke up the next day excited about the banana boat ride, jetskiing, zip lining, glass bottom ride and kayak. They served us breakfast rice, egg and longanisa around 9am. Ok woo hooo time to ride the banana boat, jetski, kayak and glass bottom boat. We inquired about the glass bottom ride and we were told that it might break down if they were to take it out. Kayak has a hole in them. Banana boat... the waves are too choppy to take it out. Lastly, the jetski ....they rented it to someone (not from the resort since they didn't anyone booked) but they have a brand new looking jetski just in front of the office but we were told that the owner doesn't like anyone to use it because she is afraid that people don't know how to use it. It's one excuse after the other.. If you are looking for luxury... This should not be on your list!!!!! We were in shock of how rude the staff was and how inconvenient everything was. This place would be shut down if it were in the U.S. and this is not even comparable to motels in the U.S. in fact this is worst than a motel and this place is not worth 4500 pesos or $100 a night!!!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2012Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
obuzmakov wrote a review Mar 2015
Chita, Russia1 contribution22 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed in Midway WB resort from 13.03.2015 to 19.03.2015 in a room called Boy 2. Beautiful veiw , nice beach, friendly staff ,food is quite allright.But two days before me cheking out USD 300.00 have been taken from my wallet which I had left in my room while I have been swimming . I was defilnitely done by some one who has an access to my room. Just three bills have been accuratly take from my wallet leaving the rest of the money intact so I would not noticed it. Without any doubt an inside job. I asked a general manager of the resort name Borge for a help, he called a police just 4 hours before my check out. A police investigator told me that this was not the first time a personal belongins and money had been stolen from the resort rooms. So if you want to keep your valuables safe in this resort the only solution is to keep them in your trunks or swimming suits. Or just choose a more safer place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
edwin m wrote a review Dec 2014
Iligan, Philippines3 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec. 16, 2014(9am)..We are planning for the venue of our christmas party..Midway was highly recommended, but first, we have to check the place before we had a reservation. a place is cool nice ambiance soothed for the party but then terrible happen surprisingly, a security(Dragon security Agency) of the Midway resort stop us ask, in UNRESPECTFUL APPROACH and even shouted us...In that moment we change the venue an had reservation in moonbay resort.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Critic121 wrote a review Feb 2014
24 contributions30 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly there is a 25 peso entry charge per person to enter the place. Cannot be called a resort, the place is a mess. The beach is quite nice and the surroundings are enjoyable. My advice is to look for other accommodation elsewhere. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The place looks like it is under construction all the time. Take a look at my photos and that will show you the truth. Good luck.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Weng426 wrote a review Feb 2013
Iligan, Philippines1 contribution15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I had my Birthday bash celabration recently at Midway Beach Resort. I just thought that what they had on their advertisements were expected when we arrived but DISGUSTING!..really much!

We were just enjoying the white sand but not the BEACH!either the accommodation were not even satisfying for all of the guests. What i thought was If we call It RESORT it has something to do with right accommodation but even some of the the crew and faculty were not good at all.

Hopefully this review of mine as your customer will make some realization of your thought to do better and improve your so called RESORT where we can say and define ENJOYMENT and HAPPINESS at the end the day.

Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2013
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: "to see is to believe"..better consult first
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jade s wrote a review Oct 2012
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines1 contribution15 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
my family decided to spend our holy week in this resort what a surprise the service is sooooooooooooooooooo terrible,irritating,rooms are so expensive,uncleaned comfort rooms and we slept in our cottage coz our reservation was not ready....even when we got up in the morning for a coffee theres no hot water thanked god we do have our own heater butttttt when the waiter saw us using it he charged us 200 pesos for that!!! what a shame there service is a big failure....!!!!!!!terrifying weekend
Read more
Date of stay: April 2012
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
smoothieschocolate wrote a review Aug 2011
binan18 contributions27 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
the banana boat ride was sooooo expensive and its just for 5 minites... if thats not yet the worst, i had a minor injury, and the guy(maybe he was the president/owner of the place because he is inside the OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT) then he had to ask me if i checked in the place before he will entertain me.. when i said no im not sure if we were checked in the place, he refused to check my injury even though i made it clear that i just want to know if the minor injury, which turned out to be a jellyfish sting, has any side effect....bad way to treat guests....
Read more
Date of stay: August 2011Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
John H wrote a tip Mar 2017
2 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"find another resort!"
Read full review
Leo E wrote a tip Jan 2017
Cagayan de Oro, Cagayan de Oro, Philippines30 contributions3 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Of course, top floor is always recommended since it is less noisy and less crowded."
Read full review
Robertaus wrote a tip Nov 2016
Melbourne, Australia47 contributions25 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Balcony rooms are better."
Read full review
MundaneTraveler wrote a tip Jun 2016
Minneapolis, Minnesota66 contributions49 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Get the ocean side"
Read full review
finrayp7806 wrote a tip Jan 2016
Toronto, Canada20 contributions33 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Dont Go to this place at all"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Initao area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
midway white beach hotel initao
LOCATION
PhilippinesMindanaoMisamis Oriental ProvinceInitao
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

MIDWAY WHITE BEACH RESORT - Reviews (Initao, Philippines) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Midway White Beach Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Midway White Beach Resort?
Nearby attractions include Hapitanan Beach (0.3 km), Initao National Park (2.3 km), and Isidro Beach Resort (2.3 km).
Is parking available at Midway White Beach Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Midway White Beach Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Echavez Kitchenette, Minute Burger, and Lasang Echavez Kitchenette.