We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Water To Forest Ecolodge

Save
Share
Valladolid, Loboc 6316 Philippines
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
FindHotel
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (108)
Dining (7)
Room & Suite (3)

About

#1 of 9 in Loboc
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A haven for nature-lovers and those who want to experience total relaxation, fun and adventure. The rooms are predominantly made of bamboo using local architecture combined with European convenience in designs and functionality. The mariage of water and forest gave rise to an enthralling place to weave more magical and wonderful memories. (Filipino warmth; European comfort.)
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Boating
Diving
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Hiking
Snorkeling
Water sport equipment rentals
Currency exchange
Mosquito net
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Filipino and 1 more
57Reviews3Q+A3Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 47
  • 5
  • 1
  • 0
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Grant M wrote a review Apr 2022
7 contributions
Owner cancelled booking and was very unprofessional. This has cost me more money as it is holiday season and had to pay a high price to stay at a comfortable, service orientated accomodation that knows how to run things properly and put the guest first.. so actually a blessing 😊
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
Carissa C wrote a review Aug 2021
24 contributions
+1
This place is unique and will give you the relaxation you need if you want to escape the busy life in the city. I just feel thankful that there are still places like this. This place is so much better in person than in pictures.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
rigonanfm wrote a review Aug 2021
Philippines2 contributions
Although it is listed as a hotel, Water to Forest Ecolodge feels more like glamping. We have meant to stay here long before, but the resort is always fully booked. Fortunately, my wife and I were given a chance to stay here during the pandemic. The owners were pleased to extend the promo rates even after they expired. At the time of writing, the rates have changed but are still affordable. Before booking your stay, it is essential to know that this place is in the middle of a tropical jungle. The location you are staying in requires you to climb stairs or a treehouse. If you have a walking disability, please call in advance, so the staff will assess if they can accommodate you. How do I get there? From Panglao Airport, it will take you about 1 hour to reach the Ecolodge. You can reach the place using a vehicle or motorcycle. If you are commuting, I am sure that buses, jeeps, and tricycles can access the main highway from Panglao leading to the Loboc area. Google Maps have the most accurate guide among Waze, Apple Maps, and other navigation applications. The resort is connected to the main highway (Petron Gas Station) via a road. The road is adjacent to the river of Loboc. It may be challenging to get there because the road is not fully developed yet. You know you are on the right road when you get past Fox and the Firefly and Nipa Huts Village. What was the initial reaction? It’s just wow and amazing. You will feel that the money is worth the moment you step into the front gates. The staff will welcome you warmly. If you get lucky, you can get greeted by the owners themselves. On top of the beautiful place, the resort has direct access to the Loboc River. The resort has a unique view of the river. Make sure to read the rules carefully when you arrive, so you’ll be able to maximize your stay. The resort also follows IATF protocols in case you book during the pandemic. Would I have a relaxing stay here? Since it is a glamping type of stay, don’t expect something extra. You would experience a great connection with nature instead. If you get the chance to book the treehouse, I would highly recommend it. You get two hammocks and a personal restroom. The treehouse does not have an aircon, but it is well ventilated. At night it can be freezing. The bed and pillows are very soft. A mosquito net is available to protect you from insects. The treehouse can be a little bit tricky at the start. Rest assured, the staff will teach you how to have a safe stay. I recommend turning off the treehouse lights from 6 pm to 8 pm to avoid attracting insects in the area. From 8 pm onwards, you will have the best sleep of your life. You will also notice that there won’t be roosters that wake you up. Sometimes 2 or 3 fireflies will visit the area. What can I do there? There’s not a lot to do there besides relaxing, SUPs, and recommended tours. Speaking of SUPs, they have the cheapest rates for Stand-Up Paddle Boarding. Unlike other SUP providers in the area, the experience won’t feel rushed. You can take as much time as you can as long as you feel comfortable. How about the food and drinks? The food might be a little pricy, but the servings are big. One serving is good for two already. I would recommend trying Quesadilla, Turon, Fried Bananas, and Creamy Pesto Pasta. Regarding the drinks, the famous WTF Gin Tonic is a must-try. If you don’t like alcohol, Salabat Tea can be a good alternative. They do not allow outside foods taken into the resort. Also, you can’t use the kitchen for personal use. What would I suggest? I am not sure what they offer pre-pandemic because I stayed here during the pandemic. The place can improve by having more things to do. Aside from having the best sleep of your life, they can also add relaxing zen activities. I suggest the following: Yoga classes Massages Bonfires Kawa pool Kayak Bamboo water rafting
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Traveled
Helpful
Share
1itinerant wrote a review Feb 2021
Phuket89 contributions66 helpful votes
Booked here for my girlfriends birthday as had heard good things about it - wow what a shock we were in for! I can’t be bothered to waste my time writing about this place so will bullet point the problems. - the fan in the room revolves so slowly after just 15 minutes we were caked in sweat. - asked for it to be remedied (staff was visibly puzzled) and we were given two 20cm high fans that were not high enough to clear the foot of the bed, so useless. - asked for a stand up fan was told only 1 in the whole resort and it was being used by some -non staying- local guests who had come for some form of party. Told it would get cooler at night ! WiFi signal is so weak in Tree House we used our MiFi unit and only stayed long enough (1 hour) to cancel my girlfriends credit card which had been lost before deciding it would be impossible to stay and enjoy the romantic trip we had planned - instead opting to drive two hours back to Panglao so as to totally not ruin her birthday. In addition be aware: - Unless you were inside the mosquito net on the bed you were subject to them as the nets outside only cover approx 40/50% of the exposed area. - Restaurant is no such thing, consisted of we could cook you this ? Resort is not on the river their is a dirt road between it. And we could barely even see it from our tree lodge which had about the best view of it. Nearest place to buy snacks is two miles up a bumpy dirt road, which would be unlit at night and un-negotiable if it rained - lucky we had come on a trail bike for some fun. All in all highly recommend you do not even consider it - as it was not even particularly cheap even during CoVid. Nb also even a partial refund was not given even though we left the place in EXACTLY the same state as we arrived in. We didn’t even sit on the bed! Owner or Managers excuse was it had been booked through a OTA - when it had actually been booked through their Facebook page ! I wasn’t going to ruin my girlfriends day arguing though so promptly left. Dont make the mistake we did in looking for some quiet romantic bliss unless of course your the type of masochists that like all of the above! And then I’d recommend booking 1 night at most by CC so you could get it refunded as you’ll likely stay about as long as we did !
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Dont there aren’t any!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jean michel Cereda, General Manager at Water To Forest Ecolodge
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hello. First of all let me tell you that your review was reported and we informed TripAdvisor in November after you came about your threat of giving us a bad review to get your refund. Your girlfriend was the one to book to us and she was the one to choose what she wanted for her birthday. When you arrived you directly complained as there was no aircon although its very clear that we dont as all our bungalows are open air and aircon would be just useless. Your girlfriend knew this when she booked but you were the one surprised and after a while you requested a refund. Of course we did not grant your request for several reasons: - Your girlfriend made a non refundable booking. - You came to the resort and stayed for a while (if you would have asked cancellation the day before we could have managed as we had other guest that wanted to come but we refused them as at that time we could only bebooked at 50% capacity due to covid) - Your attitude was very unapropriate and you were disrespecting the staff at the moment you entered the property. - You clearly told us that if we do not refund you then you will leave a bad review (which is against TripAdvisor or any other similar website policy) Here are some of your false declarations: -mosquito net covering 50% of the area (our mosquito net cover all the bed 100%) - fan in the room revolve slowly (we have ceiling fan with 3 speed like most ceiling fan and rhey are in perfect working conditions) - restaurant is no such thing (we have a restaurant and our food is appreciated please refer to our reviews...) - resort is not on the river and there is a dirt road between resort and river ( false again. There is no road between us and the river. We are actually one of the only property like this. The road ends at the entrance of the hotel) We understand that our place cannot fit everybody's needs. We are an ecolodge and some people prefer closed rooms with air-conditioning when other prefer unique places close to nature. Our reviews in all platforms shows that obviously we are not as your described. But you cannot blame us for your girlfriend's booking. She was the one to choose us and was aware of everything. Understand that now businesses like us are struggling and we cannot refund rooms just because someone does not agree with his partner on what she/he likes or not. Try also to refrain from doing false statements just because you got mad of not getting your refund and try not to use these platforms to threaten owners of making bad reviews if ever you do not get what you exige. Fortunately we stand for ourselves and will never entertain any threats from anybody.
Read more
Kristina P wrote a review Apr 2020
San Francisco, California21 contributions1 helpful vote
This was one of our favorite and most memorable places we stayed at during our 2.5 week trip in the Philippines. Location is beautiful and so peaceful. It's at the end of a very long dirt road, but it's worth the trek as it's completely secluded in a lush jungle with access to the river and still really easy access the tourist spots (chocolate hills, tarsier sanctuary, etc.) There are only 3 bungalow/huts (sleep 2) and then one shared dorm type of lodging, so there is never going to be a lot of people around. While the bungalows are open, there is a curtain for privacy and a mosquito net. The bathroom and shower are below the bungalow and the shower is also outside. The bungalow is nicely appointment and is cleaned/beds made up everyday/swept, etc. You'll need to be ok sleeping somewhat outside, but it was a really great experience and a fun way to mix up our trip with a more unique/outdoorsy experience. The forest/jungle really comes alive at night with all the sounds of wildlife! The owners and staff were truly some of the kindest people. They knew us by name, helped us rent motorbikes/scooters and gave us awesome recommendations for things to do/places to explore outside of the typical spots (chocolate hills, etc). Not to mention we had some of our best meals here! We really enjoyed coming back to this peaceful oasis after a day of adventuring and relaxing at the outside dinner area with a great dinner and nightcap (best gin & tonic). We also did the sunset/firefly sup tour, which was a fantastic experience. Book Water to Forest Ecolodge for a truly authentic and unique experience outside of a regular hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$42 - US$47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasBohol ProvinceBohol IslandLoboc
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Water To Forest Ecolodge
Which popular attractions are close to Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Nearby attractions include Tarsier Conservation Area (2.0 km), Mahogany Forest (7.2 km), and St Peter's Church (2.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Food & Fables Café, Lodge Restaurant and Bar, and Village Pizza.
Are pets allowed at Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Water To Forest Ecolodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Water To Forest Ecolodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Baclayon Church (12.2 km).