We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Chemin du Lac, 04160 Chateau-Arnoux France
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Agoda.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (176)
Dining (61)
Room & Suite (21)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 19/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from La Bonne Etape
Updated 19/08/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Chateau-Arnoux
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice

Finding an ideal luxury hotel in Chateau-Arnoux does not have to be difficult. Welcome to La Bonne Etape, a nice option for travelers like you.

Free wifi is offered to guests, and rooms at La Bonne Etape Hotel offer a minibar and air conditioning.

During your stay, take advantage of some of the amenities offered, including a concierge and room service. Guests of La Bonne Etape are also welcome to enjoy a pool and breakfast, located on site. For travelers arriving by car, free parking is available.

Chateau-Arnoux has plenty of French restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like Au Gout du Jour and Le Saint Jean, which are serving up some great dishes.

La Bonne Etape looks forward to welcoming you on your visit to Chateau-Arnoux.

Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
French
452Reviews2Q+A21Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 300
  • 101
  • 34
  • 13
  • 4
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
janenb wrote a review Oct 2021
Little Rock, Arkansas37 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff at this quaint, lovely hotel are friendly, efficient and accommodating. We were scheduled to stay 3 nights, but had to leave early by one night for my husband’s business needs. We did not have a chance to eat in their premier Michelin restaurant due to scheduling, but had an absolutely fabulous meal in their Bistro, with top-notch service! We both highly recommend this clean, well appointed and friendly hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking around hotel is gated in the evening, with a code.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Jany Gleize, Directeur général at La Bonne Etape
Responded 22 Oct 2021
Dear Lady, dear Sir, My brilliant team and myself thank you for taking time to share here this warm recommendation, we are happy to read you enjoyed your staying with us and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you another time in Relais & Châteaux hotel La Bonne Etape so that you may experience our Michelin starred restaurant Best regards Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison
Read more
jamieosh wrote a review Sep 2021
Leatherhead, United Kingdom135 contributions61 helpful votes
We booked 2 nights here as part of a road trip through France. It was a disappointing stay and not up to what we have experienced at other Relais & Chateau hotels. The rooms were fine and comfortable, no complaints there. There was good parking with easy access just near the hotel and in the morning a man washed the car windscreens which was a nice touch. The general area of the hotel is not as nice as the photos show, no real views and the pool area is contained and quite small. Problems? There were a lot of mosquitoes around the pool area, we all got many bites. The service is was not at all attentive and poor - we would go to ask for drinks, they ran out of beer after 4 bottles. Then said they just had no cold beer. We had to suggest bringing an ice bucket and we would wait to chill them. This didn’t happen once, but both evenings. Maybe keep some beer chilled or if asked put some on ice? We asked for gin and tonics… we got some gin and a slice of lemon and bottle of tonic… can we have ice? Oh ok, they come back with ice a few minutes later. Not once, but every time we asked for a G&T! This may all seem picky and why 1 star? The first evening we had booked dinner as we were arriving there after a long drive. It’s a Michelin 1 Star restaurant and we were looking forward to it. But when we arrived in the afternoon we were tired, didn’t really want to dress for dinner so asked to move our booking to the bistro and we would dine in the restaurant the following night. No, they said the restaurant was closed the following night so we should eat there on the first night so not to miss out. We discussed as a group, we were too tired, we just wanted to eat. So we said no, we would cancel the restaurant and eat in the bistro. No they said, the bistro was full and they could not fit is in. Another member of the party went again and asked - no you can’t eat in the bistro it is fully booked. Ok we will cancel the restaurant and find somewhere simple elsewhere. We go through the town for a walk, almost everywhere is closed, but a place on the main street right near the hotel is open. We go there. They check, yes they can seat the six of us. We’re tired and enjoy a good bistro type meal and off to bed. Next day for breakfast we walk through the hotel only to find we had actually eaten in the bistro of the restaurant! It wasn’t obviously part of the hotel from the outside. And when we ate there it was practically empty!! So they basically outright lied to us 3 times to get us to eat in their restaurant. At this type of place it is totally unforgivable to be treated like this as a guest. I don’t care how good the Michelin 1 Star restaurant is there and if that is the main attraction, but to try to force this upon us and lie is terrible. Add onto that the mosquito infestation at the pool and the very poor level of service, this place should not be a R&C hotel and we would never choose to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jany Gleize, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape
Responded 24 Sep 2021
Dear Lady, dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to write your satisfaction for rooms, parking, cars (superb cars you drove), on this site. I am awfully sorry you were disappointed. I am a bit surprised you told the travel agency you reserved with that everything was all right and then you write this awful advice. I must apologize for the unforgivable lack of additional ice buckets with gin and tonic. Regarding cold beers, the stock of your preferred French brand had been raided, I am sorry, then another chilled brand of beer was proposed which you did not want, then bottles of the brand you liked had been placed to chill in ice, you are right. Mosquitoes around the pool (by sun fall, this happens unfortunately, spray is available at the reception and you might have been proposed some). You certainly faced this mosquito episode on Monday night, when you were drinking in the evening by the pool, as you reserved a table for six in the Bistro Au Goût du Jour, you were then asked to know at what time you would have dinner in the Bistro, answered you decided to remain by the pool and have a few drinks and then cancelled the table you had booked for dinner that night. You reserved a table for six of you for dinner the Sunday you arrived, and decided not to eat, you are right. The Michelin star restaurant is closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, this is also right. We close reservation in the Bistro restaurant Au Goût du Jour when the number of persons we can serve in good conditions is reached. This was the case on this Sunday. The aim is to ensure quality. Sometimes people who reserved in advance cancel at the last minute, and then seatings are free again, this was the case in the restaurant Au Goût du Jour when you walked in, and had then chance to be served. We close reservation in the Michelin star restaurant La Bonne Etape when the number of persons we can serve in good conditions is reached. This was the case on this Sunday. Unfortunately nobody else showed up that night when a table of six cancelled. Please allow me to say to restore the truth nobody lied in La Bonne Etape, this is uncalled for, unfair and wrong ! Regards Yours sincerely Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison
Read more
Frank wrote a review Aug 2021
Castricum, The Netherlands435 contributions150 helpful votes
What a lovely place. Upon arrival, you can park your car on the right side of the road in a fenced area. There are some spots under a carport, and the hotel has three charging stations for electric cars. The gate to this parking lot locks at night around 11 pm and is then accessible with a code. The reception of the hotel is next to the stairs in the hall. The two ladies at check-in were very attentive, and one escorted us to our room on the first floor. This room was accessible from the outside and had a small terrace in the front with one table, two chairs, and a parasol. On the right side of the building is a reasonably sized pool, including sunbeds. There is often an employee walking around where you can order drinks. Our room was spacious with a large bed and good air conditioning — bathroom with separate toilet, separate shower and bath, and two sinks. In the evening, we had a delicious meal in the Bistro Au Goût du Jour. The Bistro is the 2nd restaurant in the hotel, where they work with regional products. The menu changes from day to day because the chef cooks with what is available on the local market. A perfect breakfast is provided with lots of sweets, delicious croissants, and a perfectly prepared omelet in the morning. Thank you for your hospitality and kindness.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jany Gleize, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear Sir, My whole team and myself thank you for sharing here this delicious and so thoroughly detailed comment of yours. Should I be looking for a person in charge of Public Relations for La Bonne Etape Hotel and restaurant and Au Goût du Jour bistro, I would definitely contact you :-). Hoping to welcoming you soon again in La Bonne Etape, Best regards Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine Maître de Maison
Read more
AnnieHerts wrote a review Oct 2020
Le Rouret, France32 contributions12 helpful votes
The hotel is located off the centre of town and benefits from secure overnight parking and a lovely swimming pool. We were booked for 3 nights but unfortunately had to leave after 1 due to second lockdown. The hotel was open but its restaurants were forced to close. The plus points for this hotel are the extremely friendly staff from reception (and the owners dog) right through to the barman and restaurant staff. The Michelin restaurant food was fantastic. We had the 3 course autumn gourmet meal which somehow had five courses. Truly excellent. Nice touch was the owner/chef coming around the tables at the end of the meal chatting to the guests. We left midday on day 2 and wouldn't hesitate to go back again. They were also exceptionally helpful regarding a no quibble refund for the 2 nights untaken and made it very easy for us by emailing Agoda to get our money back.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Jany Gleize, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape
Responded 23 Jun 2021
Dear Lady, Please forgive me for not answering before, such a funny period we had to face ! My brilliant team and myself thank you for taking time to write here about your staying with us. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, lavenders are blossoming, we are free to travel, and have a reinforced will to share the flavors of Haute Provence with you. Very sincerely Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison
Read more
Doc wrote a review Aug 2020
London, United Kingdom70 contributions74 helpful votes
We stayed for one night traveling to the south of the country, attracted by the Relais and Châteaux brand. We paid €430 for half board and this turned out to be poor value for money. The positives: - very pleasant and helpful staff without exception - the pool area was nice - our bedroom was large and we slept well. The disappointments: - our dinner in the bistro was mediocre and 3 courses took over two hours due to a lack of staff - tired bathroom with stained toilet - the WiFi was patchy and was not working for most of the time - no milk sachets for the coffee. Staff quickly brought some fresh milk but when they explained that the sachets weren’t available because they had all gone past their use by date this didn’t really suggest an R&C venue - the breakfast was poor. Uninspiring display, poor quality products such as brown over ripe bananas and limited stock - the bistro was a dreadful place to have breakfast, no atmosphere at all, just the clanking of an air conditioning unit. The town is very nondescript, just a busy through road really, and the large concrete post office across the street does nothing to enhance the view from the hotel. We were really disappointed by our experience overall despite the plus points. The absence of any real luxury and a faded past, surprising for a R&C venue, means that we wouldn’t stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Jany Gleize, Propriétaire at La Bonne Etape
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear Sir, Thank you for taking time to write in three lines what you enjoyed during your experience in Château Arnoux. A few words would have been appreciated to understand what in your point of view is « true luxury » (Meanings for the same words can be very different from a person to another, I have received lots of live reports considering as top luxury the kind of simplicity we share in our house) Please allow me to clarify the disappointment you write is the opposite you said (you were happy and everything went well) when asked at departure. I am awfully sorry you hid your disappointment by not saying face to face what you did not like and I sincerely do not understand the aim of this. No milk sachets : you are right, complimentary coffee machine and coffee and tea are at your disposal, as you noticed, but we were not able to order these milky items, every contacted supplier run out of stock, and … fresh milk is not a bad substitute. Tired bathroom : please allow me to disagree, this is opposite to the actual image of La Bonne Etape now. Breakfast : It would have been a true help to discuss with you directly so that I can understand the difference of satisfaction between all the people who are happy with the buffet and yourself. It could have been a great source of improvement. For the bananas, this is not a mistake, ripe bananas are better for health than unripe nice looking unripe fruit are very difficult to digest. We choose the best quality for products according to our standards, the taste is first. The ambiance of the bistro : it has been renewed in January and your comment not liking this is somewhat odd : I understand you may have a different taste, but I must say the word dreadful is not appropriate and forgive me to say your vision could be said to be biased. The connection to wifi is a little bit of a surprise : we do apologize about this problem. The occupancy of the bistro : we do work on asking the time for lunch and dinner upon reservation but still encounter some surprise with everybody arriving at the same time, discipline is not the same as it is in uk, patrons being used in your country to follow these rules for a long time. The village itself can boast of a castle and nice little streets, the words you use to describe it are very restrictive and not very fair in my humble opinion. I wish you very nice time in France and hope you will find better places to your taste during your staying in this lovely country you chose to spend time in. Sorry again not to have been able to meet with your standards and for not guessing what you were looking for in our house. Best regards Jany Gleize Chef de Cuisine, Maître de Maison
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$211 - US$310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
la bonne etape hotel chateau-arnoux, la bonne etape chateau arnoux
LOCATION
FranceProvence-Alpes-Cote d'AzurFrench Riviera - Cote d'AzurChateau-Arnoux
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about La Bonne Etape
Which popular attractions are close to La Bonne Etape?
Nearby attractions include Eglise de Notre Dame de la Consolation (0.6 km) and Eglise Sainte Madeleine (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at La Bonne Etape?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at La Bonne Etape?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at La Bonne Etape?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at La Bonne Etape?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to La Bonne Etape?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Casa Mia, La Bonne Etape, and La Pizza du Pitchoun.
Are there opportunities to exercise at La Bonne Etape?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is La Bonne Etape located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Chateau-Arnoux.
Are pets allowed at La Bonne Etape?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does La Bonne Etape offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to La Bonne Etape?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Les Pénitents des Mées (7.0 km).