We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grand Hotel Irpinia

Save
Share
Via Nazionale Uscita Avellino Ovest, 83013, Mercogliano Italy
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Agoda.com
StayForLong
FindHotel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (105)
Dining (27)
Room & Suite (19)

About

#3 of 4 hotels in Mercogliano
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Kids stay free
Wifi
Hot tub
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Adult pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Saltwater pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Snack bar
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Swimup bar
Poolside bar
Horseback riding
Babysitting
Children's television networks
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Kids club
Kids pool
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Highchairs available
Strollers
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Car hire
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot bath
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Hand massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Manicure
Massage
Massage chair
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Currency exchange
Executive lounge access
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
ATM on site
Doorperson
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bidet
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / closet
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Whirlpool bathtub
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
Pool view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, French, Italian

Location

Full view
50Car recommended
Grade: 50 out of 100
26Restaurantswithin 1 km
2Attractionswithin 1 km
207Reviews4Q+A1Room tip
Traveler rating
  • 42
  • 50
  • 53
  • 23
  • 39
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Elizabeth W wrote a review Sep 2019
Southport, United Kingdom14 contributions10 helpful votes
We arrived not knowing what to expect having read the reviews it was a little daunting to say the least. How wrong could we be the staff greeted us so warmly. Our room was spacious extremely clean and yes there was silver paint on the walls but it suited the overall look perfectly. The Air conditioning worked well and the shower was good. Our room overlooked the pool which was a lovely view maybe not the best if you enjoy early nights as the hotel often hosts outdoor parties but considering that the noise was well contained. Breakfast Although the bacon and eggs could have been hotter there was always good choice of foods to eat and an array of hot drinks. Dinner Even when parties were being held the food was cooked beautifully and the staff very obliging. We did prefer days when we could eat outside as it was a lovely atmosphere but we accept that it wasn’t always possible. Overall we had a lovely relaxing stay with super food and excellent staff. If you want a relaxing stay without the hustle and bustle this is the place however if you are looking for a typical resort destination then keep looking. Thank you to all who worked so hard to create a relaxing holiday. PS the pool is cold but lovely when you are in.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from AvellinoGrandhoteli, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Irpinia
Responded 4 Sep 2019
Thank's for the beautiful words, we appreciate your review and we hope to see you next year. P.S. As you wrote the water of the external pool is cold in September but soon will be hot with new Spa opening.
Read more
Rachel patterson wrote a review Aug 2019
3 contributions
On arrival thought the place was ok, then we met the waiter who made us feel uncomfortable with his horrible attitude, towards paying customers of the hotel at dinner, throwing cuttelry down on table, serving an un cut pizza, giving small saucers instead of plates which the waitress kindly replaced, gave us water but no glasses to drink it from, asked for wine never got it had to wait & wait then ask again. The looks from this guy were not nice no need not sure what his problem is. There’s a bar with no one there to serve you, the only entertainment is for Private guests who book the large area outside leaving hotel guests to wait for service as there to busy dealing with the private parties which are loud and go on all night keeping guests awake. Got bites from the room, as it allows dogs I’m guessing it’s flea bites, couldn’t stop itching when in room. Gym outdated most things not working, paid for a massage waste of money no better than what I could do myself after a basic massage course I did a decade ago. Save your money for a proper masseuse. Be sure to take ear plugs if you stay & be prepared to travel for a nice welcoming restaurant.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from AvellinoGrandhoteli, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Irpinia
Responded 26 Aug 2019
Your first and unique reviewed is for us, we guess you ever been in our property. So no response is necessary.
Read more
Ashley S wrote a review Jul 2019
17 contributions17 helpful votes
I had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights (got back last night) and it really is a very good hotel. Unsure about some of the poor reviews i read on here, its a wonderful hotel and it isnt that expensive. Are there bigger better hotels in Italy? Yes, but you will pay 5x the price of this lovely place. The hotel staff were fantastic, from picking us up from the airport to making sure we ate late at night. Nothing was too much trouble for anybody. The food on offer was lovely and at very good prices (18euros for 2coarses including a glass of wine). The rooms are a little bit dated and basic but ours was very clean and towels were changed daily and beds all remade etc. The view from our room was amazing (see pictures). The pool was also a huge bonus for us as we had two young daughters with us who loved it. As it is situated in Avellino it can be hard to find your way around if not driving but again the hotel staff were happy to take you anywhere in the minibus for a fee (very reasonable). I wouldnt hesitate to stay here again as for the price, you wont find better.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Rafał S wrote a review Sep 2018
Radomsko, Poland31 contributions8 helpful votes
Rooms are nice but for bathroom need to be renovated. dinner was very good with various type of food to chose with top quality what for hotel reassurance not always like this. Considering quality and price good hotel .
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled on business
Helpful
Share
Daniela Fudge C wrote a review Aug 2018
21 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
With my roots firmly placed and being a regular visitor for the past 50 years to this area of Campania, I am more than familiar with the best and the worst the region has to offer but never before have I resorted to accomodation other than that of relatives. After spending a week in a beautiful agriturismo elsewhere in the region, our party of three adults and a teenager decided to spend some time visiting relatives in Monteforte Irpino so the Grand Hotel Irpinia became our base for three nights. Big mistake. I am not sure how this establishment has retained its 4* status as it is very tired, dated, and, dare I say, scruffy and leaves an awful lot to be desired. Some attempt has been made on a shoestring do-it-yourself budget to redecorate some of the areas with sparkly silver paint effect on some of the walls and a lot of the floor tiles have been covered in cheap wood effect laminate. We booked a quadruple room and the booking site gave the impression of a double bed and two singles however, we were faced with two double beds in the room available - not an ideal situation when our adult son was forced to sleep in the same bed as his younger teenage sister. The room itself was very dim with the only illumination being from a single window and an inset wall lighting configuration, no ceiling light. The en-suite bathroom was very small with cracked tiles, dirty grouting and the shower door was so poorly fitting that water overflowed. On a slightly humourous note was the full length mirror on the back of the door affording a full view of one’s self sitting on the throne! The self-service breakfast can only be described as dreadful. Processed, supermarket quality pastries, ‘fresh’ fruit which had obviously been left over from previous days due to it’s colour and state, cereals in dispensers with no dispensing wheels attached and very watery, poor quality machine beverages/juice however, the very pleasant waiter was happy to take orders and bring the drinks from another bar to the dining gazebo around the pool area where breakfast was taken. This hotel does not reflect its star rating and really ought to undergo complete refurbishment with a serious injection of cash and the eye of a good interior designer. The only plus for me is its proximity to the Avellino-Ovest motorway exit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from AvellinoGrandhoteli, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Irpinia
Responded 18 Aug 2018
Thank's for the review, read your self it's been very amused, you said a lot of words and photo, but you didn't write how much you spent, I tell to the haters on tripadvisor, € 78.5 per night per room included breakfast and swimming pool in high season that means €19.25 included sheets clear the room Wii-fi tax and commission for booking per person . Now if with this price per person you judge a place without understand price-quality is a problem of you not mine. I know what I sell and if all season i'm fully a reason there is . If you would ask to change room with two split bed there were no problems to change, Thanks for this reportage, we understood in base of so many guests from all over the word that when they told me about bed reviwes on tripadvisor i responded them i'm very happy to read you cause you are 1 % of my guests that i don't want in my hotel , So you help me to recommend guest as you to not book my hotel . Greeting from grand hotel irpinia & SPA
Read more
Previous
12
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
ItalyCampaniaProvince of AvellinoMercogliano
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Grand Hotel Irpinia
Which popular attractions are close to Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Nearby attractions include Movieplex (0.6 km) and Cinema Movieplex (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Sirena, Le Campìe, and El Borracho.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Grand Hotel Irpinia have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Grand Hotel Irpinia offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Grand Hotel Irpinia?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.