We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Alumbung Tropical Living

Save
Share
Daorong Danao, 6340 Philippines
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveler (207)
Room & Suite (72)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#3 of 177 Specialty lodging in Panglao Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Alumbungs is a small tropical garden approximately 25 minutes away from Tagbilaran and three minutes ride from the renowned Alona Beach. The special shape of the villa and cottage roofs is derived from the typical Balinese Lumbung structure where the upper part of each hut served as a rice barn and the bottom part as a meeting place for the family. This is the perfect place for family vacations, honeymooners or for people that just want to relax.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Breakfast in the room
Airport transportation
Full body massage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Massage
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English, French, Filipino, German
205Reviews2Q+A26Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 132
  • 54
  • 8
  • 5
  • 6
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
trldude wrote a review Mar 2019
Panglao, Philippines6 contributions
We have stayed here for 3 nights. Our room had 2 sepperate bedrooms, bathroom with the shower, proper fan on the cealing, everything made in wood and bamboo .Super friendly staff, great clean rooms, comfy chillout zone outside, good location, free parking for scooters, mini bar and breakfast option and very reasonable price - highly recommended !
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jan Leo Salazar wrote a review Dec 2018
Bacoor, Philippines66 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
I stayed there for two nights and it was truly the ultimate tropical living you can ever experience. The owners were the nicest people and the place was so private and secure. It's also near the airport, Alona Beach and Danao beach so I didn't have to travel long to get to where I wanted to be. I highly recommend you stay there when you visit Panglao.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Traveled solo
Room Tip: book directly to their website and do it in advance.
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Martin R wrote a review Sep 2018
Germany20 contributions15 helpful votes
We liked the decoration of this place , which was visibly done with meticulous attention to detail , in Asian style and somewhat European sensibility. We also liked our room, which was spacious and pretty and had only minor issues with it (various six legged visitors at night , intermittent issues with the shower). Their garden lounge is truly beautiful, and we enjoyed lying in the hammock. The only thing I'd like to point out is that this was the only place we've come across in the Philippines, maybe even all of Asia, that doesn't provide free service water. Instead they offer water in plastic bottles at several times the market rate. Maybe that would be a possible point for improvement. We understand this place has a "pay at check in" policy , like many other guesthouses, and do not object to that at all. We also understand that the hosts would prefer their guests to comply to this policy without exception. However, sometimes it can happen that a traveler does not carry enough cash. We would have very much appreciated if their way of reminding us to pay would have been more courteous (especially as we did leave a deposit at check in), rather than severely berating us for our negligence to not go to the atm first thing in the morning, making us feel like they didn't trust us to pay at all. We also understand it is not so convenient if guests don't park their motorbike on the designated motorbike parking spot. Again, we would have been happier if their reminder to move our bike would have been friendlier rather than making us feel like culprits for that. The whole place is covered with rules and "don'ts", none of which are unreasonable by themselves. However, their sheer number added to the overall impression of staying at your judgemental French relative's house, rather than enjoying carefree "tropical living". I realize I am not the first guest posting such sentiments. I should also like to mention that their employees were very friendly at all times. Most travelers are, in fact, reasonable, honest and reliable. If the guesthouse owners offered their guests more trust, and had a little more patience, they could easily avoid such frictions in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sid68, Owner at Alumbung Tropical Living
Responded 7 Nov 2018
Hello Martin, Thank you for your suggestions and advise but we have already been operating this way for the last 13 years and we do encounter as you say, every now and then, some guest who do not like our ways, most of the time is for the same reason as you, because of the payment. Our policy like 95% of places in the world is to pay for the reservation upon check in. I have never understood and I still really do not see why there is such a problem with this. A german colleague who has a resort on the island once said, "when you book a train ticket, plane ticket you pay when you book, not when you get off the plane or train", now why it is so wrong to ask for accommodation payment upon check in? We do ourselves travel a fair bit and everywhere we have been to we needed to pay when we book and when we check in we have to present our credit card for deposit and incidentals. You booked the room straight with us by emailing and a quick call, the rate was about 25 euros a night, you mean that you come all the way from Cebu City, to Tagbilaran City to the village of Danao in Panglao without 25 euros in your wallet. I already explained in other review response that we are a small family business, we do not have a 24h reception and we just like to operate this way to make it more convenient for all. Glad you enjoyed your room, lounge, garden, we do love and take care of our bubble and we are really happy when our guests appreciate it. You mention all the signs we have and you even post a picture of the one in the lawn. Maybe if we did not have some of these signs our place would not look the same anymore, we have been open for 13 years and try to maintain the place the best as we can at all times... Now how you did not see the sign "motorbike parking" and "please do not block the drive way" I do not know... parking and locking your scooter in front of our gate blocking other guests and ourselves from coming in and out is not so "reasonable".... it would be nice to consider other people are coming in as well. We do also have some "rules" about food in the room which you happily ignored, maybe this is why you experienced various six legged visitors at night. Keeping food, fruits which are not in a fridge or sealed box will instantly attract ants and other insects, some people do not realize that. We would love not to have to post any signs but unfortunately it doesn't work this way when you host people from all over the world. In regards to the water if I remember well we did refill your tumbler for free. The bottled water we sell is for convenience of some guests who ask for it, the price is high to actually discourage people to buy it and reduce usage of plastic bottles. If someone asks for refilling their tumbler or bottle our staff does it. We used to have a water dispenser accessible to guest but we kept on having to repair it, people did not close it properly so water was leaking all over the floor... and also for hygiene reasons (too many hands handling the dispenser) we pulled it out and our staff is the one refilling upon request. Finally where does the "judgemental French relative's house" come from? The first day you where on your own, your girlfriend only arrived the next day, this is the only time we actually had a chance to talk and you were the one insisting to speak in French, having a long conversation while you were having your breakfast about your studies in Strasbourg etc... after that we actually did not see each other anymore and you just sent me emails to order your breakfast for the next day with little notes in french like "merci beaucoup"... Maybe the whole problem is that you would like to be treated like a relative but you are disappointed or upset when you are asked to pay...?
Read more
Ella G wrote a review Apr 2018
Eastbourne, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
After leaving the mania of Manila we absolutely fell in love with Alumbung. We had the smallest of the rooms but were very happy in it. The staff are so polite and the owner is very helpful answering any questions and advising how much you can expect to pay for things but still respectful of your space. He organised a moped for us to hire for the day and a car to take us to the Port on our last day. We had French toast for breakfast everyday as it was so delicious and proper filter coffee too! You can hear a lot of noise from the road and nearby animals in the morning due to the huts not being soundproof but this is to be expected in the Phillipines. Thankyou for a wonderful stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Jan P wrote a review Feb 2018
Prague, Czech Republic61 contributions10 helpful votes
Stayed only 1 day & night - unfortunately. This accommodation offers very pleasant and relaxing stay, with many options to sit or lay and relax, read a book or meditate:) Bit farther from Alona Beach and it's craziness, but I sew it as a plus. Accommodation itself was in a pleasant 1 store hut-style house, which we had for ourselves. It's equipped above the local standards (water heater, fridge), stylish too. The steps to the first floor, where the main room (including beds) is, are narrow ans steep - we didn't mind, but be aware when booking. Bed had a mosquito net, but bit too small for the 100% protection. The staff was very helpful and nice.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$33 - US$94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alumbung tropical living hotel bohol island
LOCATION
PhilippinesVisayasBohol ProvincePanglao Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alumbung Tropical Living
What are some of the property amenities at Alumbung Tropical Living?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Is parking available at Alumbung Tropical Living?
Yes, free parking, secured parking, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alumbung Tropical Living?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vanilla Sky Restaurant, Pearl Restaurant at Linaw Beach Resort, and Smok'd.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alumbung Tropical Living?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Alumbung Tropical Living have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Alumbung Tropical Living offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alumbung Tropical Living?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, and Filipino.
Are there any historical sites close to Alumbung Tropical Living?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Balay Kabilin (15.2 km).