We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Gasthof Gosauschmied

Room/Suite (4)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
eDreams
Booking.com
Agoda.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... is not very far from Hallstatt by car. The prices for a room, are rather high, like most hotels in Austria or Germany....
... been modernized with a large shower. Nice balcony. The bedroom furnishings were dated, needed a facelift. Would have...
... The manager is the nicest lady we've ever met. The room and the balcony boast a lovely country view. The restaurant...
Featured room amenities
Hot Tub
Internet
Wifi
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Siamez wrote a review Dec 2017
Bucuresti131 contributions50 helpful votes
If you don´t find a place to stay in Hallstatt, this hotel can be an option, is not very far from Hallstatt by car. The prices for a room, are rather high, like most hotels in Austria or Germany. Our room was rather small, the furniture very old, the doors were ancient almost, the bathroom was new and that was a plus - come with your own shower gel, there is none, you receive a tiny soap. The really bad part was the strong smell of cigarette, although the room was for non smokers. Unfortunately only the guests obey this rule, from what I have seen. The owners, normally very polite people, smoke a lot, everywhere. The breakfast is not so diversified.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled with friends
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna W, Leiter Front Office at Gasthof Gosauschmied
Responded 12 Dec 2017
Hello, In summer before and the years ago we had a smoke area in your guest house and we had troubles. But since we have opened in december, nobody smokes here in our house! (Not the guests and not the Family). Regarding the breakfast buffet and the shower gel we will find a great solution. Thanks for your opinion! best regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tippy0828 wrote a review Oct 2017
Cleveland, Ohio31 contributions2 helpful votes
Very nice location near Gosausee. Hotel itself was clean and the bathroom had been modernized with a large shower. Nice balcony. The bedroom furnishings were dated, needed a facelift. Would have been fine if not for the smell of smoke throughout the building.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Traveled with family
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna W, Leiter Front Office at Gasthof Gosauschmied
Responded 20 Oct 2017
Thanks for your rating. We are about to renovate our rooms by and by. From next year we are a non-smoking area
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noam G wrote a review Oct 2017
12 contributions2 helpful votes
Such a lovely place. The rooms are nice, clean and tidy. The showers are excellent. The manager is the nicest lady we've ever met.
The room and the balcony boast a lovely country view.

The restaurant itself is very decent, we had dinner and breakfast and enjoyed them both. It seems like at the evening all the folks from the area come there to eat and the atmosphere is great.

It's just a couple of minutes drive from the wonderful Gosau lake, Definitely the surprising gem of our trip. An unfamous paradise.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna W, Inhaber at Gasthof Gosauschmied
Responded 15 Oct 2017
Thanks a lot for the very positive review. We are very pleased to hear you had a nice stay with us.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
terri h wrote a review Jan 2016
Helen, Georgia141 contributions79 helpful votes
We have stayed here several times over the last few years. It has always been very good. The rooms are not fancy but very comfortable. They are very typical for an Austrian / German gashof.

We ate and drank in the restaurant for all meals. The breakfast, lunch and dinner were all very nice. They go out of their way to make sure you get what you want. We mostly ate the meal of the day and it was wonderful everytime.

There is a nice sitting room to have drinks and wind down the day. Great location!

Internet works great in the sitting room. Not so great in the bed rooms.

Rooms did not have a fridge, but we were there in the winter and just put the baby's milk out side on the balcony.

Would like to go back when there is no snow on the ground and its warm.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Anna W, Inhaber at Gasthof Gosauschmied
Responded 18 Dec 2017
Hello Anna, Thank you very much for your good ranking. We are very glad that you are satisfied with us. best regards, Anna
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gergely C wrote a review Aug 2013
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg52 contributions12 helpful votes
The hotel has a nearly perfect location, only about 3 minutes by car to Gosausee. The room we got was OK, we were unfortunate though ang got a room with windows opening to the road. The bathroom should certainly be renovated as the shower is in a not so good shape... Breakfast was all right, coffee good, choice of bread and suff OK as well. Why do I still say it was disappointing? Because I have been to many places in Austria, especially among the mountains but here at Gosauschmied the usual charm is missing. The owners were nice in words but not in body language - I did not feel the kindness that I felt everywhere else. Somehow it feels more industrial without a heart. I really also have to mention that smoking is still allowed in the common rooms and it smells terrible. In fact all corridors smell like an ash tray and you can also feel it in the room. We did regret a bit having chosen this hotel and we will not return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2013Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share