We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Pool
at Castello Village Resort

Pool & Beach (86)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Pool review highlights
... on arrival to the hotel we got shown down to our room by the pool on the ground floor with terrace doors straight outside. Not...
... nor do the rooms... we got shown down to our room by the pool ground floor with terrace doors straight outside. No light...
... them to dry especially as our patio didn’t get full sun. Pool super not busy, able to use hotels inflatables and very...
Most popular question about the pool
Hi, can you advise if the pool is freshwater not salt? Also are the showers salty or fresh? Very important due to eczema. Many thanks
Jan 2017 |
Good morning from the sunshine Crete. Herewith I would like to introduce myself as the Gen. Manager of Castello Resorts and to th...
Read more
Featured pool amenities
Outdoor pool
Poolside Bar

Reviews that mention pool

Write a review
LesandLyn21 wrote a review Sep 2020
Hastings, United Kingdom6 contributions
We originally booked with TUI but after the holiday was called off due to the UK Government overseas holiday restrictions we decided to book direct with the hotel.
It was our 55th Wedding Anniversary so we booked an Executive sea view room, with balcony which was an extra cost. However, on arrival to the hotel we got shown down to our room by the pool on the ground floor with terrace doors straight outside. Not a lot of natural light in the room zero privacy on the terrace.

And so we phoned back to reception and eventually got shown to another room. It was a suite with a side sea view, again not what we had booked, it looked straight into another building. Again we complained but was told that the room we had booked was not available for 3 days so we had to stay put. Eventually we got the room that we had booked even though the hotel was half full.

We cannot fault the staff on reception and in the restaurant, Sevi and Ervis in particular. The other restaurant staff tried their best but it was obvious that they were still being trained. The food was very disappointing, unadventurous and repetitive.

Entertainment? Well there is none, apart from a 1 hour Caribbean Show on a Monday night.
Other nights there is only disco music in the pool bar which made our room shake until midnight each day.

No complaints about the room that we booked except the bed is slightly more comfortable than the floor. The maid cleans the rooms daily, sheets and towels changed every 3 days.

For the last week the staff was reduced and the restaurant went downhill, Sevi and Ervis were let go and it was left to the untrained waiters to cope. On top of this there were about a dozen French residents who thought no better than to stand behind your seats with food and try to talk across you, in a very loud manner, as you tried to eat.

Well we have been all over the world during our 55 years of marriage, in three to five star hotels, but the Castello Village Resort is not one that we would come back to. Very disappointing indeed, certainly NOT 4 STAR.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Liapakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello Village Resort
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear LesandLyn21 Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Castello Village Resort! Your booking was for an Executive Room Sea View. You had requested a room with a balcony which we informed you – via email – that we would do our best to accommodate you as per your wish. These rooms have either a balcony or a terrace and neither of these extensions are extra charged. We gave you the room you had initially booked. Nonetheless, after you expressed your dissatisfaction with the room given, we upgraded you to a One Bedroom Suite Sea View with balcony until the room of your preference became available. Regarding the Food and Beverage comment, even though some members of the staff were not anymore part of the team, the quality of service did not change. We are sorry that our buffet food did not meet your expectations. We offer daily entertainment program, and the evening entertainment is comprised of two weekly shows plus dancing lessons from our dancing teacher. We thank you for choosing to spend your 55th wedding anniversary with us and hope to be able to welcome you once more in our hotel. Kind regards, The Management Team.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross S wrote a review Sep 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
I’m the type to do an honest review, hence the 2 star review which I struggled on how to rate the hotel.. I thought this was appropriate.

On booking the hotel we booked an executive sea view room which was an extra cost and went all inclusive as it looked great. However, on arrival to the hotel. It looked NOTHING like it does online nor do the rooms... we got shown down to our room by the pool ground floor with terrace doors straight outside. No light in the room nor any natural light as there’s zero privacy. It’s all very open, Also from what we saw and paid for online to what we received was not even remotely close to the room. So we opted for another room, Room 121. Not a bad room. Very little amenities. You will not get shown or told anything about the hotel so it’s all a ‘find it yourself’ type of place.

Once I mentioned it to the hotel regarding the grounds and actual rooms in comparison to reality they wasn’t particularly bothered although we’d paid a premium extra...

The food, so.. we opted for the all inclusive side. To which is very limited. You’re pretty much penalised the entire time for having all inclusive too. Your menus are mainly 2 options which are chicken or fish. The buffet is very questionable too. It’s a mish mash of food.. none it makes sense and we found ourselves going without. Same with breakfast.

Entertainment, there is none. Whatsoever... also for kids? It’s very dull for children. There’s no activities etc. There is no spa here whatsoever... very confusing?

Rooms, in your room you’ll have a safe that you have to fight for a key... it’s got a very small fridge. The bed is slightly more comfortable than the floor. I emphasise slightly... and they clean the rooms daily. Sheets changed every 3 days.

Overall, the hotel in my eyes is a hash of false advertisement... I wouldn’t place it in a 4 star category. I would suggest 3 at the absolute most! You’re penalised for actually paying more money for amenities and all inclusive... would I rebook? Definitely not... would I come back to Sissi? Absolutely! It’s stunning!.... the best part about the hotel was leaving to go out for food etc down the harbour.

Such a shame and a big waste of money. My advice is... don’t waste your time. Honestly.. I HATE reviews like this because I’m the ‘you can’t please everyone’ type... however.. this is an honest review
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Nikos Liapakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Castello Village Resort
Responded 15 Sep 2020
Dear Ross S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Guest feedback is important to us and all of our department's supervisors monitor reviews from our guests closely. We set a high standard for ourselves and we are truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Working with the greatest enthusiasm, constantly improving our services and taking into account your well intended, constructive criticism and comments, we truly hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel with confidence that we will meet your highest expectations. Kind Regards, The Management Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy D wrote a review Oct 2019
Gloucester, United Kingdom17 contributions7 helpful votes
Peaceful resort, we loved it, room clean adequate, although a trifle tight for three adults, beds quite hard and the third was really child size, only one pillow but a second available on request. Towels again adequate but could have been softer and larger, we did struggle to find space to hang them to dry especially as our patio didn’t get full sun. Pool super not busy, able to use hotels inflatables and very clean., would have been good to have been able to hire pool towels from hotel. Breakfast was buffet style and something for everyone, sometimes a little cool. Coffee very good. Would visit again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from STamboukos, General Manager at Castello Village Resort
Responded 7 Oct 2019
Dear Mary G Thank you so much for your evaluation and recommendation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Castello Village Resort . We have made a notice of your constructive comments to help us improve our services to our guests We look forward to having the pleasure in welcoming you back to our hotel on your next vacation Greetings from sunny Crete
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat_davidson wrote a review Oct 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom22 contributions24 helpful votes
We visited this hotel in September stayed 11 nights. Although it was very clean .didn't warrant 4stars. breakfast was very basic tin fruit was on offer. Not very appertizing. The evening selection not much better. Same desert every evening. Which was good for me didn't need two helpings. A couple of safety issue's bottom pool had no rail into the pool which made it a bit scary getting into. The tiles around top pool were very slippery ,saw a few people taking a fall. Also notices round pool advising not to leave towels on beds reserving them fell in deaf ears. 8am onwards no beds vacant.wasn't impressed at all.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
PerthPensioner wrote a review Oct 2019
Doune, United Kingdom23 contributions8 helpful votes
Our first time with this hotel. Normally use our timeshare. We had a one bedroom suite. It was nice having a living area away from the bedroom. Very good shower. We had a sea view and saw the sunrise and amazing sunset daily. Breakfast had a large selection of food. I don’t eat much breakfast but my husband had plenty with a good variety. Staff very helpful and efficient. I had a fall by the pool and staff immediately attended with a pack of ice to stop a large bump on my head. Manager checked that I was alright. I had a sore head but nothing more. All in all it has been a good stay albeit it a bit warm. Went to Knossos one day. Very hot with no shelter. If you are over 65 you get in for half price with ID.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Room Tip: Sea view is worth the extra cost.
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from STamboukos, General Manager at Castello Village Resort
Responded 7 Oct 2019
Dear PerthPensioner Thank you so much for your evaluation and am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at the Castello Village Resort . We have informed the personnel of your kind words which they highly appreciated We do hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to our hotel on your next vacation Many greetings from sunny Sissi
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous

Questions & answers about the pool

Jan 2017 |
Good morning from the sunshine Crete. Herewith I would like to introduce myself as the Gen. Manager of Castello Resorts and to thank you for your interest for our hotel. Concerning your questions, kindly let you know that both of them are fresh water. I remain at your entire disposal. Kind regards Nikos Kritsotakis Gen. Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1