We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach

Room/Suite (39)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$430
Expedia.comUS$430
WyndhamUS$430
PricelineUS$430
CheapTicketsUS$430
Lol.travelUS$506
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... just got here five minutes ago and I'm so disappointed. The room smells terrible, the toilet doesn't flush, the room is...
Do Not Book A Room Here! You will regret it! Room next door sounded like a bar and a bowling alley from 10 pm through 4 am...
... courteous and adhered to reasonable safety guidelines. The room was adequately cleaned and I feel that I got what I paid for.
Most popular question about the rooms
is there a dvd player in the room?
Answer from james c
Aug 2017 |
There is no DVD player in the room

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
hotel stayer wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution
I'm absolutely disgusted on how nice trip advisor and other sites has made this place look. In reality it is run down and ghetto. I just got here five minutes ago and I'm so disappointed. The room smells terrible, the toilet doesn't flush, the room is dark. I can't open the blinds because there's sketchy people walking by and looking in. I feel so unsafe and uncomfortable. I'm now reading reviews that they don't give refunds so there's no point in trying. I was excited to have a relaxing trip but this is everything but that. I'm so upset.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach
Responded 2 weeks ago
W3074KLhotelstayer, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We sincerely apologize that your room was less than acceptable at our hotel. We can assure you that this is not a typical experience. We continually strive to ensure that our rooms smell fresh and clean upon arrival. If you are unsatisfied with your room, we always try to relocate should the rooms be available. Sorry that circumstances prevented you from asking for another room or letting us know that you were not happy with your accommodations as we certainly would do everything possible to correct the matter. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations should your travels bring you back to our area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jimbrad7 wrote a review May 2021
1 contribution
Do Not Book A Room Here! You will regret it!
Room next door sounded like a bar and a bowling alley from 10 pm through 4 am
Police were finally called around 4 am
Trash all over parking lot in morning
Ignorant, loud-mouthed, dirty people hang out here
Poor wifi
No wash cloths
Staff was relatively professional and courteous
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Relations Manager, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
jimbrad7, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we apologize for any inconvenience from our other guests. We will speak with our night staff to retrain them on the procedure to deal with late-night loud noises. Regarding the trash in the parking lot, we already cleaned the area. We do appreciate the compliments to our front desk staff and we are addressing our policies to prevent the housekeeping issues that you experienced from occurring in the future. We hope you'll return to give us a chance to impress you with a five-star experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlball1108 wrote a review Dec 2020
Washington DC, District of Columbia1 contribution
I have no major complaints about my stay at the Howard Johnson hotel. The staff was polite and courteous and adhered to reasonable safety guidelines. The room was adequately cleaned and I feel that I got what I paid for.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach
Responded 16 Dec 2020
rlball1108, Thank you for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the accommodations and service to be satisfactory. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your five star review, and we can't wait to serve you again!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grateful 74 wrote a review Sep 2020
3 contributions
Pool was under maintenance and was not told. Our room was dilapidated and smelled bad. Door was difficult to open. I've paid half the price and got twice the quality in a room. Very disappointed. Not at all as advertised.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach
Responded 21 Sep 2020
Hi Grateful74, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am so sorry to learn that we failed to meet your expectations of quality service and accommodations. We take value on your report regarding the condition of the unpleasant odor,door and the pool of our hotel. We will act on this complaint seriously and will fix all problems as soon as possible. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane F wrote a review Aug 2020
6 contributions
+1
This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The rooms were so gross! Sheets were not changed. Black hair on the bed. Blood on the bed.... YES BLOOD (See pics). Semen on comforter. Thank god we had blankets in our car!!!! Mold in bathroom. Tub was so dirty no one took a shower before we left for our long ride home. Room rug was wet and room smelled like pee and vinegar. I stood here on 7/9/20. All this during a pandemic. No one was social distancing and I guess their employee are not required to wear mask because none of them were. The part that makes me the maddest is someone was suppose to call me to make this better but never did. That was over a month ago. They obviously don't care about there guest at all.

( I couldn't get the picture of the semen stains on the comforter to load but will be posting on google soon)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tina M, Owner at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Virginia Beach at the Beach
Responded 29 Aug 2020
898dianef, Thank you for rating your recent experience at our hotel. It is disheartening to learn that the room/ bathroom was not properly cleaned and maintained according to the high standards of our housekeeping and maintenance staff. Your feedback is certainly going to be taken into consideration as we are always seeking ways to improve upon the guest experience. We look forward to showing you how we have learned from your experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from james c
Aug 2017 |
There is no DVD player in the room
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1