We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Gym
at Hotel Galvez & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel

4 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$113
US$107
View Deal
PricelineUS$107
WyndhamUS$107
TravelocityUS$107
Expedia.comUS$107
Hotels.comUS$107
Lol.travelUS$113
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Gym review highlights
... bathhouse. Easy to access. Need appointment to access fitness center. Valet $20, is a little steep compared to other area...
... Great pool, great drinks, great room, friendly staff, nice gym. nostalgic hotel. If you time it right you can get a room...
... One guest room at a time is allowed to use their fitness center by appointment. Nice to have the distancing but do not...

Reviews that mention gym

Write a review
GERALD J. wrote a review Oct 2020
Spring, Texas257 contributions164 helpful votes
Historic charming upscale hotel. Nice greeting and checkin by front desk. Very relaxing atmosphere in the hotel. Rooms a little small, but this is how it was in 1911. Hotel does a lot to preserve it’s historic character. Food and service superb. Hotel pool and pool service outstanding. Beach is right there, along with the historic Murdocks bathhouse. Easy to access. Need appointment to access fitness center. Valet $20, is a little steep compared to other area hotels. Great stay, highly recommend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Eurasthsmus b D wrote a review Sep 2020
1 contribution
My wife and I love this hotel. Our stay is usually 3-4 days, and it is flawless. Great pool, great drinks, great room, friendly staff, nice gym. nostalgic hotel. If you time it right you can get a room for 3 for $90 a night. Very reasonable. Money left over for 3 days of valet service. I’m sorry that some reviewers have disparaged this wonderful place, and I would like to meet them, and review them after. Five minute conversation.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
STM0041 wrote a review Sep 2020
Bullard, Texas549 contributions901 helpful votes
Overall, the hotel was fine. We were here during COVID pandemic mid week in September so extra precautions were being taken by everyone. Found the hotel to be exceptionally clean. Was a little surprised, however, that although they state that masks are required in public areas and most people did abide by this rule, the hotel did not enforce the rule to those that did not wear masks.

We chose a king bedroom, non-smoking, full gulf view room for our stay. I did that because of the wonderful pictures I saw on Tripadvisor. Was disappointed with the view we had from our window having paid the extra expense. I will attach a picture so you can see for yourself.

The room we were assigned adjoined to another room. Unfortunately, the family booked in that adjoining room was very noisy until 11:30 pm. Asked the front desk to move us the next morning and they moved us to room 200. A corner room, much smaller than the one we had but comfortable and had a nicer view.

Parking is an option of valet and self park in the garage across the street, both at a cost per day.

One guest room at a time is allowed to use their fitness center by appointment. Nice to have the distancing but do not know how thorough the cleaning is in between guests using the fitness center. They don't ask you what you used which makes a large area to clean in the short time in between reservations.

Pool are was wonderful. Noticed staff took l great care is disinfecting lounges in between guests. Bar service was provided for food and drinks. drinks, food and service were spot on.

Would I stay at the Hotel Galvez again? It would not be my first choice when in Galveston. It is a nice hotel with friendly staff and that comes at a price.
Personally, I would prefer to be in one of the nice hotels in the Strand area. Plenty to do and great restaurants around the pier/harbor area of the Strand.

P.S. - Saw a question below about security at the parking garage. You do access with your room key but the walk in gate is usually left open negating some of the security of the vehicles in there.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Charles H wrote a review Aug 2020
Buffalo, New York2 contributions19 helpful votes
I had the misfortune of staying at Hotel Galvez during what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend and celebration of a friend’s birthday. I was disappointed in my overall experience and especially that I booked a room for two nights at a cost of $1000 and the room was small and the hotel lacking in most amenities. I felt so exasperated by my experiences here I felt compelled to write the review during my actual stay.
Concerns:
• Valet parking, concierge can’t help you with bags; but room service is functional and delivering to rooms. So you can bring food to the room, but can’t push a hotel cart.
• Really impersonal vibe: no one explained logistics of bike rental, dining, amenities such as the spa, at check-in; I had to follow up myself on multiple occasions to obtain this information, further lowering the quality of service during my stay. Imagine trying to navigate a new environment without any information to do so. Very frustrating. Given their ineptitude with the basics, I wasn’t even going to bother with the spa, which I’m sure is its own special, separate nightmare.
• Threadbare dining menu both at restaurant and room service. When ordering, expect to wait a long time even if there is barely any one there and multiple workers are available to take your order. The dining staff is completely disorganized, and I found myself waiting 30 minutes to order a cup of coffee (no joke).
• The room itself is quite small and photos of the room online are deceptive and would give the impression of much better room.
• The hotel itself is a bit dated; nice exterior but once you enter it’s clear that the place hasn’t been updated in decades.
• Don’t expect late check out or any other courtesy, even if you’re willing to pay for it; you will be told BECAUSE OF COVID WE CAN’T; at check in ,asked if there was any special service that could be offered by the restaurant for my friend’s birthday (was told no BECAUSE OF COVID). When asking if a late check out was available, the worker didn’t even try to offer another evening.
• Separate issue but at check in the hotel worker did not explain any of the hotel amenities or logistics; she didn’t explain bike rental procedure, how to use the fitness center (which you need to book in advance for an appointment and need to work with the front desk to schedule).
It’s unacceptable that they are not offering most of the amenities they offered pre-COVID but are charging as though they are. I can’t change the fact I stayed here but maybe reading this review will help a future patron reconsider or at least have a full disclosure of a more recent customer experience, so they know what they’re getting themselves into…
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
jjlalumi wrote a review Jan 2020
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii51 contributions21 helpful votes
We just left this hotel as it was so dirty we had to end our vacation at this property, early.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we knew something was afoot.

When we pulled into the valet the attentant asked us if we were checking in, and we said, “Yes”.

With that, she wheeled over the luggage cart to us and told is that when we were done, to go inside, get our room number, and then come back out and give them the room number, and they would have the bags brought up.

We had to load our own bags on to the luggage dolly. Not the end of the world, but strike one.

When we got to the desk, the lady at reception was pleasant, but there were no formal pleasantries welcoming us to the hotel, or inquires as to if we have ever visited the property. No amenity information was provided. Granted, if we needed something we could have asked, but she seemed as if she wanted to get back to whatever she was doing. Usually when you arrive at a property you get some type of welcome and explanation of the property. That didn’t happen. Again, not the end of the world, but we were left unimpressed by the first two employees we encountered.

The hotel lobby is dark, dated, and dirty. It is also dank with must, mould and moisture. The elevator doors had some liquid stains on them, handprints everywhere and we’re just dinged and dirty. The interior of the elevator had seen better days, and it, too, was filthy. While wear and tear is expected, the level was unacceptable for the caliber of hotel that this property indicates that it has been noted to be.

Things did not improve when we arrived at our room. We stayed in 628. We walked in and the odour was so musty we did what we could to air room. The room was FILTHY! There were finger prints all over the tabletops left from past guests, we found hair on the bed, the bathroom
was inexcusable and floor was dirty and mouldy. The white grout was black with age, dirt, mould and whatever else I am sure happens in a washroom. The shower leaks, which I am sure contributes to the black grout. There was grudge and grime around the sink water taps and the light switches were just disgusting. There are also several places in the bathroom and near the rubbish bins where the walls are lined with dried fluids.

Given the late hour we arrived, we just cleaned and wiped down what we could, used sanitary wipes on the surfaces we needed to touch, and tried to make the best of it. We were tired and just wanted to get something to eat and then try and rest.

The lobby grill was still open when we went down at 9:00pm, so we were grateful for that, but it didn’t take too long to see that the restaurant was as unkept as the rooms. There were many dirty tables, cluttered with dishes and food, the floors were littered with wrappers and silverware as well as food remnants.

While it is understood that fewer employees are at these hotels in the off season, it doesn’t mean that the level of service and cleanliness should suffer.

Our server was very nice and the food was decent for the price point. Our stemware was dingy and spotted, but by this point we were not surprised. While not willing to accommodate anything above just getting by, the pleasant staff and the food are the only two slight positives to this property.

After dinner we decided that we were not going to stay for the duration of our visit. There were just too many things wrong with this property.

It was only when we returned to our room, after dinner, did we notice that our bed was unusually high. The top of the mattress was several inches higher than that of the bed tables, and it was almost even with the top of the dresser/TV stand. The bed was on plastic risers which made getting on and off the bed a bit more work than need be. Both of us are six foot, and we had to do the “knee climb” to get on the bed, so I can’t imagine the difficulty for children, the elderly and folks less in stature. Our mattress also had a dip in the middle which made sleeping difficult at best.

The next morning we went down to the gym only to find there were no cleaners, towels or wipes to clean the machines before or after use. We used water and some try towels to wipe down the equipment. With all we had seen the pool was definitely a no-go.

Later that day we got back to our room, after housekeeping had come through, and noticed that the rubbish bins were not emptied, the toiletries were not replenished, the room had not been vacuumed, and the coffee items were not restocked. We used our own plastic bags to empty the trash and replace the liners.

That’s when we left.

There were many other small things, but I’ve made my point.

There is really nothing management could have done to fix this experience. Upgrades, discounts, coupons .... all would not be applicable as the hotel is just too dirty and run down, and we wouldn’t even think about returning. It needs updating and a HEAVY CLEANING.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GM_Front_Desk, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear Jjlalumi, Thank you for taking the time to share your insightful feedback. We sincerely apologize for the concerns you mentioned. What you have described does not match the high level of standards we strive to uphold. Your report will be discussed with our team to ensure that every concern will be addressed immediately. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you'll reconsider allowing us another chance to deliver the exceptional experience we're known for.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous