We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Drayton Court Hotel

Room/Suite (6)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Agoda.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... could not do enough for you. I had a beautiful and clean room a wonderful veggie breakfast, great coffee and in the...
Paid for a four poster suite guaranteed, got given a totally different and sub par “executive double room” instead. The...
... huge credit to Katie and her staff. Just one niggly point - the room I had was not particularly big although very comfortable.

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Floatheart wrote a review Oct 2019
London, United Kingdom58 contributions19 helpful votes
This weekend I was staying at this beautiful hotel as I was attending a remembrance service RTTW at the National Memorial Arboretum. So it seems apt that I use the term "Above and beyond the call of duty" becuase regarding Kate (the owner) and her wonderful staff that is exactly what they did with regards to the welcome, service and general looking after, just ubelievable. Nothing was a problem and they could not do enough for you. I had a beautiful and clean room a wonderful veggie breakfast, great coffee and in the evening sitting in the bar you just felt so welcome and comfortable. With my work I am away a lot and find myself in many hotels and this hotel is the best I have been to that gives that home from home feeling. I personally cannot speak highly enough of Kate and her staff, as you will see in many of my reviews I always say it's the staff in a hotel, restaurant or bar for me that makes it and on that alone I would give Drayton Court Hotel 5 stars, 10/10. Thank you
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: My room was on the first floor it was a lovely room clean and quite
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dch O, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to look after you. As a small family run business, we try to make each guest feel like they are ‘home from home’ from our freshly cooked, locally produced breakfast to our peelers bar and lounge area. We are delighted you had a great weekend and will pass on your comments to the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for RTTW 2020.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean wrote a review Sep 2019
Edinburgh, United Kingdom332 contributions96 helpful votes
Paid for a four poster suite guaranteed, got given a totally different and sub par “executive double room” instead. The proprietor was super blasé about this, basically claiming that mistakes happen and I could like it or lump it in the simplest terms. No genuine apologies, no remedial offers and actually a rather bold claim that the price remains the same despite their own website even having a pricing tier difference for the one room I originally booked. She made a lot of contradictory defences too which was super frustrating as they only highlighted that the issue was either known or was a case of not paying attention with an unwillingness to just own the scenario (don’t know which is better).

The room I did receive was average at best. Crumbs on the desk from a previous guest, cobwebbed ceiling and a bit dusty. I didn’t bother with the restaurant as wanted to avoid the manager after the weird confrontation when I raised the issue initially.

I wanted to avoid leaving this review as the next morning my room was offered for free, however, I didn’t accept this gesture and paid in full. Because this offer was only made as I left... I felt my stay had already been dampened and actually it struck me more as an attempt from the proprietor on their own reflection to avoid a negative review (one I would rather leave to warn other potential guests).

Prices seem steep for what’s on offer but such is the nature of limited supply I guess. 2 stars for the fact it seemed like it could be a nice cosy spot if your stay remains issue free.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Dch O, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel
Responded 11 Nov 2019
Thank you for your review, we appreciate guest feedback and always act accordingly where necessary. As we only have one four poster room , which became unavailable due to circumstances beyond our control , we offered an alternative room which you were happy to accept . We are sorry that our hotel and alternative room type did not meet your expectations on this occasion. However ,we pride ourselves on our customer satisfaction and usually receive excellent feedback and are therefore disappointed to receive this review despite trying to rectify the situation at the time the issues were initally raised with us .
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jillyp112018 wrote a review Aug 2019
Guernsey, United Kingdom4 contributions
Group of family and friends attending a wedding booked into this hotel by my sister in law. What a find ! Warm and welcoming greeting on arrival, spotlessly clean hotel and superb breakfasts. A huge credit to Katie and her staff.
Just one niggly point - the room I had was not particularly big although very comfortable.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Room Tip: Ask for a room with more clothes storage if staying more than one night
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dch O, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your short stay in Tamworth and are delighted you enjoyed your breakfast and found the hotel spotless, we will pass your kind words onto the staff, and they will be pleased to read your comments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MXBinWDC wrote a review Aug 2019
Washington DC, District of Columbia13 contributions1 helpful vote
We really enjoyed our stay at the Drayton Court Hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. One example: I got takeout one night when the restaurant was closed and I didn’t want to eat in my room, and the staffer on duty set up a nice table for me to enjoy, and re-heated the food. Our room was nicely decorated, the bathroom looked new and spotless, and the beds were wonderfully comfortable (so much so that we miss them now that we’ve moved on to other hotels on our trip!) Breakfast was tasty and served in a charming room (that again, was spotless—we noticed that even the glass chandeliers didn’t have a speck of dust on them.) It had all the warmth of a B&B but the privacy of a hotel. It’s also very close to the lovely canal path, where we enjoyed walks. I would definitely stay there again on future trips to Tamworth!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dch O, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We hope you enjoyed your short stay in Tamworth, It was lovely to hear about your days out and your family history. We are delighted you enjoyed your room and found the beds comfortable, we will pass your kind words onto the staff, and they will be pleased to read your comments. We hope you and your mother enjoy the rest of your time in the UK and have safe travels back to Washington DC.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mec1085 wrote a review Jul 2019
Aspatria, United Kingdom1 contribution
A huge thank you to all the staff at Drayton Court Hotel for our lovely stay. We travelled from Cumbria with our little boy for a 2 night stay for a trip to Thomasland. We were made to feel so welcome on arrival, front door open and greeted to a friendly face. We were shown to our room and brought complementary tea / coffee and cake! (delicious!!) Our room was lovely and clean and beds very comfortable. Although we didn't have evening meals at the hotel the breakfast was lovely. My partner suffers from Crohn's disease and the kitchen had gone out of their way to purchase items that would suit his diet. We don't normally comment on TripAdvisor but feel that this family run business needs a big shout out. Would definatley recommend, and hope to be back for a visit in the future. Thanks so much Michelle, Kenny & Cooper
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Dch O, Front Office Manager at Drayton Court Hotel
Responded 13 Aug 2019
Dear Michelle, Kenny & Cooper. Thank you for your very kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass on your kind words to the rest of the team. There is no better way to wind down after a journey than with a fresh pot of tea and some of Marie’s homemade fruit cake, we are glad you enjoyed both! As our Full English breakfast is cooked fresh to order with ingredients sourced locally, we can cater to most dietary requirements & food allergies. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Drayton Court Hotel soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous