We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Newton House

Room/Suite (28)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
TripadvisorUS$127
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.comUS$127
CheapTicketsUS$127
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... nothing diminished from the perfect stay we enjoyed. Our room was spotlessly clean as usual, and contained everything we...
... a bad reception upon arrival to the point we went to our room and decided to leave as a result of the owners attitude....
A very well located 12 room Hotel B&B in the centre of Knaresborough. Room spacious and comfortable and good ensuite bathroom...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
974ann wrote a review Aug 2020
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
We returned for two nights to Newton House earlier this month whilst visiting family, and found a few changes, which had to be made, to enable Denise to reopen the guest house although nothing diminished from the perfect stay we enjoyed.
Our room was spotlessly clean as usual, and contained everything we required for a very comfortable stay.
Breakfast was still up to Denise’s own high standards, and everything was served to our table by Jackie, having pre ordered the night before, the dining room was perfectly set up to enable socially distancing and as usual nothing was too much trouble for them.
This is and will continue to be our first choice of where to stay when visiting Knaresborough.
Our thanks go to Denise and all her team for a lovely stay again
David and Ann Busby
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Outside easy access rooms available for disabled visitors
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Paul V wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Terrible,I have never had such a bad reception upon arrival to the point we went to our room and decided to leave as a result of the owners attitude. Manners and courtesy costs nothing especially when paying £115 for one night.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Carter, Owner at Newton House
Responded 22 Aug 2020
I’m sorry you took exception to my request that you wear a facemask when in the public areas of Newton House. Hopefully you have now looked at the Government website, have learnt that it has been mandatory since the 8th August 2020, and wont make the same mistake at another small business trying to adjust to new ways of working, and doing the best they can to stay in business. It was your choice not to stay with us and I didn’t know until after you had left. I really do not know what the problem was, apart from the facemask issue. I did attempt to explain to you how we are now operating to make Newton House a safe place for my guests and my staff, as well as myself. Denise Carter, Owner
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnbarnett2708 wrote a review Aug 2020
Dubai, United Arab Emirates12 contributions11 helpful votes
A very well located 12 room Hotel B&B in the centre of Knaresborough. Room spacious and comfortable and good ensuite bathroom etc. Parking limited but the car park (with CCTV) only five minutes away and cost me only GBP 1.60 for the night.

Breakfast took some time but was delicious.Staff friendly/helpful.

All in all I found this a convenient and very fairly priced place which I have no hesitation inn recommending
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
JONNNOO wrote a review Aug 2020
Nantwich, United Kingdom233 contributions124 helpful votes
I thought very disappointing, I didn’t realise it had won four in a bed and it certainly doesn’t deserve it now. Not very clean, noisy road directly out front and poor secondary glazing to keep noise out. Nice big bed but awful pillows, a broken shower, dirty toilet brush and lack of available electrical sockets to mention a few issues.

Great location for a wander into the town. No parking on site pay for it down the road and with room at £115 a night overpriced for certain.

Breakfast was pre order only at a booked time yet still waited 20 minutes. No gluten free sausages though they were advertised and only 1 egg though asked for 2, at this price you should get what’s advertised.

If it had been £70 a night I would have accepted it as ok. I have stayed in much better fir a lot less.

I should have read more reviews rather than just looking at overall score.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Carter, Owner at Newton House
Responded 21 Aug 2020
I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Newton House and would like to address some of your issues. Regarding the cleanliness of the room, I can only assume my housekeeping staff are concentrating on sanitising everything, and worrying about their own safety, and have overlooked some of the basics. The room you stayed in has now been deep-cleaned. We cannot do anything about the location of Newton House, and again make it very clear on our website that we are situated in the middle of the town on a main road. Many of our guests enjoy being in the front as they are in the original rooms of the 300-year-old property. If you had requested a quiet room when you made your booking we could have allocated you one. You requested it on arrival and this was not possible as the available room had not been sanitised and so I was unable to let it. You mentioned somewhere else that our pillows were too soft for you (rather than just ‘awful’). I checked them personally myself and could find nothing wrong with them. You were given a choice of feather & down, and man-made pillows. And if you required any more you only had to ask. It’s unfortunate the shower in your bathroom was broken and thank you for pointing it out to me. However, it was not unusable, and you did have a bath as well (I couldn’t get the shower repaired the evening of your stay, but it was repaired by 11.00am the following morning). We are very lucky to be able to offer some free parking in the middle of town and we make it very clear that this is restricted. We are also lucky to have a long stay car park that is just 3 mins walk away and costs only £1.60 for 24 hours. As for your Breakfast experience, the way we are having to serve is very alien to the way we normally work and is proving quite a challenge. We can no longer have our breakfast bar which is a feast for the eyes, and I hate having to ask guests to order the night before. I have just checked your breakfast order and it does say 2 English breakfasts with 2 poached eggs – I understood this to mean 1 poached egg with each breakfast. If you had told the waitress when she served your breakfast I would happily have cooked another couple of eggs for you. I did explain that we didn’t have any gluten-free sausages as the butcher wasn’t making them at the moment because of problems with suppliers – I had forgotten it was stated on the menu so apologise for this omission. The new ways of working are a challenge for everyone, and we are doing the best we can during this difficult time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cazzastjc wrote a review Aug 2020
Chandler’s Ford, United Kingdom54 contributions65 helpful votes
Stayed here with my husband on a combined work and holiday visit. Hotel is lovely and the measures that Denise and her team have put in place are working well. Our room was in the courtyard so we didn’t have to go into the main part of the hotel at all, except to get our breakfast - which was fabulous!! Room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I would highly recommend this hotel
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456