We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Pine Point Lodge & Resort

Room/Suite (5)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... booked it!?!? They said they will put us up in one another room. They call it a “penthouseroom (there wasn’t even a...
... with shower, and comfortable beds with dressers in each bedroom. The boat we rented was in perfect condition and new. The...
... boat fishing with my family members to worry about a smaller room or a smaller bathroom. You can bring your own food to cook...
Featured room amenities
Kitchenette
Refrigerator in room
Internet
Air conditioning
Wifi
Microwave
Family Rooms

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Kate M wrote a review Sep 2015
Reno, Nevada1 contribution7 helpful votes
My husband and I went to Pine Point Lodge for our honeymoon. We made reservations over a year ago for the Aspen Cabin plus a premium boat for a week, and to have a fishing guide for one full day with a shore lunch.

We received a call from Pine Point Lodge on our layover on route to Minnesota telling us that they double booked the Aspen Cabin on the first day. It’s been booked for over a year, and you find out the day before we arrive from across the country that you somehow double booked it!?!? They said they will put us up in one another room. They call it a “penthouseroom (there wasn’t even a bathroom in our room. You had to share it with other people staying in the same building.) So I wouldn’t really call it a penthouse room. It was a room with a bed and tv. That’s it. They took one day off the cabin and charged us for the penthouse room for a night instead. We still had to move our fishing gear, luggage, and the groceries we bought for the cabin from the penthouse to the cabin, now they did help use move our stuff, however it was, to say the least, not how we expected to be spending the first day of our honeymoon.

We were told on the phone that we would still get the premium boat on Friday and that our guided was still set up for Saturday. When we arrived Friday we find out we don’t get our premium boat until Saturday. They gave us another boat, which was a level down from what we had paid for. They said they didn’t charge us for the boat which is wrong because we had already PAID IN FULL for the cabin and the boat!!!

We also find out Friday afternoon (only because we had to bug the owner for information) that we are not getting a guide for a full day on Saturday. That its only a half-day and there will be no shore lunch. Here is my problem with all this so far…. I don’t understand why when they called us Thursday to tell us about the cabin that Pine Point could not tell us about the guide being a half day. I also don’t understand why they said we would still get the premium boat Friday and we didn’t. The time we had with the guided was awesome. Kieth was great! Very friendly and knowledgeable.

Here are a couple other annoyances… 1) They also said all the cabins have internet. Our cabin did not. Our neighbors all had internet but for some reason the Aspen cabin doesn’t. We told the owner this and his response was “Oh” and nothing else. He started talking to us about other stuff. 2) The boat breaks down three miles away from Pine Point. We can’t get the motor to start. The only cell phone service that works up there is AT&T… we have Verizon. There is no radio in the boat to contact the lodge. So we are stranded out on the lake. After ten minutes of waiving and whistling, someone on their boat comes over to help. He calls Pine Point Lodge and let them know where we are. After a half hour someone from Pine Point comes out to change our battery, and the boat did work fine after that for the rest of the week. Still, not something you want to have happen on your honeymoon. 3) Yes the staff cleans the fish for you, but don’t plan on getting it anytime less than 2 hours if you don’t stand there and wait for it, then they will do it on the spot. 4) Someone spilled hummingbird feeder (sticky sugar water) all over our cabin deck making it sticky to walk on. The bottoms of my shoes are STILL sticky.

The Crane Lake area is spectacularly beautiful, and my husband and I had a wonderful time fishing on the lakes in the area, but we will not be going back to Pine Point Lodge. Paying the difference for their double-booking screw up on our honeymoon is the bare minimum they could have done. We felt like overall we were treated poorly there and the owners (at least Jeff) acts like they really don’t care about their customers. When you screw up the booking, go a little out of your way to make it right, especially when it’s someone’s honeymoon. Cathy apologized on the phone and I am sure she meant it, but not once did Jeff apologize for the double booking, wrong boat, change in the guide, or the boat breaking down.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2015Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Responded 3 Feb 2017
Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. I am not sure how a "double" booking could occur, however after going through emails on both the reservation date before yours and your date, it appears that it happened. PLEASE LET US KNOW WHAT WE CAN DO TO MAKE THIS UP TO YOU. We can't bring back your honeymoon, but there should be plenty of anniversary dates coming up. Please contact us, 1-800-628-4446 to let us know what we can do. I have spent a lot time on trying to figure out what happened...The reservation before yours was confirmed on November 10, 2014 with a checkout date for Saturday and then yours was confirmed on January 17, 2015 for your arrival in September coming into that same cottage on Friday, making it a double booking. It baffles me as to how that could happen, as my system has a big red X when I tired to make double booking. In any case, it did happen. Once that happened, boats and cottages are typically packaged together, therefore your reserved boat would not have been available on Friday, either. Most likely, our cottages were full on Friday and we only had the penthouse rooms left which we use, for the most part, as overflow lodging for people who have cottages rented and need more sleep space. Similarly, your boat was already packaged with a cottage rental until Saturday. We try to be as fair as possible on our billing. The billing for our premium boat, the one you had reserved, is as follows: Our daily rate in 2015 was $195 plus taxes and in September there is a 25% discount, making the daily rate $146.25. Your reservation went from Friday and leaving on Thursday. Therefore a daily rate for the 6 days would have been: $877.50, or 5 days at $731.25. Upon reviewing your billing, there was only a charge for the 5 days of $731.25. You may not have noticed, but you had also received a 10% off lodging as one of our specials in September. So you saved another $103.60. I did not see any charges on your billing for the fishing guide as they work independently with us and you would have paid them directly. It is their schedule that changes from time to time, due to weather conditions, or other factors, and impacts our reservations. We do our best to meet expectations of our guests, but sometimes it is out of our hands. Being in our remote setting, there are some limitations to internet access to some areas. However, internet access is guaranteed in our main lodge. Efforts of expanding wifi are in the works. We take pride in having the best rental boats in the United States. The new premium boat that you rented ended up being diagnosed by the Mercury technician to have an insufficient charging system from the factory. The battery was unable to provide enough power for the large GPS and sonar systems. As a result, Mercury corrected the problem on all of our boats by providing a two battery system that would keep up with the demands from the electronic package. We do our absolute best to correct the situation as soon as humanly possible. If your rental boat was a piece of junk, fine, put that on us, but when they are new, none of them should be having any issues. We get your disappointment, and it is very upsetting to us, believe me. Fish filleting is complementary. If you needed it done now, it should have been done right then. I am not sure why the boys didn't get them done in a timely manner. Perhaps fishing was so good, they were backed up. :) In any case, our staff should be asking the appropriate questions as far as what time you need your fish filleted by and if you want them frozen or fresh. Thank you for your feedback. We love our hummingbirds. I wished you would have let housekeeping, myself, Jeff, or one of the dock staff know about the sticky mess, we would have cleaned it up ASAP. Or removed the feeder. Hopefully you had a bunch of hummingbirds at the cabin so you could watch and enjoy them. Jeff surely took a tongue lashing here and doesn't generally handle the bookings and I should be blamed for the mess. No one cares more about things not going right than Jeff - all of the items above were certainly not his doing, but he surely should acknowledge and apologize when items are brought to his attention. Thank you for your feedback as we do strive to make this a great place to share with the world. PLEASE TAKE US UP ON OUR OFFER - WHAT CAN WE DO TO MAKE THIS RIGHT WITH YOU. As I said, I know your honeymoon is done and over and we can't change anything, but anniversaries are still coming and well worth celebrating! Warm regards, Cathy Erickson 1-800-628-4446 1-218-993-2311
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa W wrote a review Jul 2015
Elk River, Minnesota2 contributions1 helpful vote
We were thrilled when arrived to our cottage (Norway) after a short boat ride from Pine Point Parking Lot, where staff treated us like family and helped carry all of our items from our vehicle to the boat and then to our cottage. The cottage had all the amenities of home, full kitchen (stocked with dishes, pots/pans etc.), Charcoal grill on large deck, full bathroom with shower, and comfortable beds with dressers in each bedroom.
The boat we rented was in perfect condition and new. The fishing was amazing, we have a 7 year old daughter and we did not hear "I'm bored" once! I will say, bring bug spray. The location was absolutely gorgeous! We did not participate in any of the bonfire or dinner activities as we cooked our meals in the cottage or on the grill and were asleep by dark, but I'm sure we missed good times and good company! Everyone was VERY nice and we cannot wait to plan another trip to Pine Point Lodge & Resort!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2015Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Responded 2 Aug 2015
Thank you, Melissa, We will l look forward to your next trip as I am confident that you will enjoy taking part in the other activities as well as enjoying the beautiful Crane Lake area, Voyageur's National park and the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. We will keep in touch! Jeff & Cathy Erickson
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie H wrote a review Sep 2013
Columbia, South Carolina23 contributions4 helpful votes
This is a good place if you want a real fishing experience. The houses aren't fancy, but they are accommodating. I spend most of the time out on a boat fishing with my family members to worry about a smaller room or a smaller bathroom. You can bring your own food to cook for the nights, or you can take a boat into town and eat at the bar. It's a fun get away if you are looking for something more down to earth.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2013Trip type: Traveled with family
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
James R wrote a review Jul 2013
Crown Point, Indiana2 contributions6 helpful votes
June 8 2013 paid for a week stay and the one room was too small for 3 people and the bathroom was very small. The bathroom was made for a 5 ft tall man. And there is no place to cook and the refrigerator and freezer is too small to store food for a week and to also freeze fish. I will never return to Pine Point Lodge. James Ropp
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2013Trip type: Traveled with family
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from LVMotel, Owner at Pine Point Lodge & Resort
Responded 1 Aug 2015
Dear Jim, We were sorry to hear that the cabin you had rented from another facility for your week was no longer available for you when your arrival date was nearing. You were clearly upset when you called us at the last minute looking for accommodations. None of our two or three cottages were available at our boat in resort. However, in an effort to help you, we explained that we had a two person motel room available at our drive to location in Crane Lake. We offered to add a rollaway to accommodate the 3rd person. When you asked about cooking, we explained that the room was not set up for cooking, but that there is an outdoor gas grill cooking area on the lakefront. I realized how upset you were about your cabin with the cooking facility in it no longer being available in Crane Lake. I am sure you miss it. I only wished that we would have had one our cottages open which would have given you ample room along with a full kitchen for cooking.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.