We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Scent of Green Papaya Resort

Room/Suite (34)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Booking.com
US$41
View Deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$38
View Deal
Agoda.com
US$41
US$28
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 13/03/21
Expedia.comUS$38
eDreamsUS$41
TravelocityUS$38
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... up and they were shutting down borders. I booked the room using Agoda.com and paid about $60USD/night for a Superior...
... to try to fix it. Only 2 small bottles of water in the room - not replaced daily. Water cooler in restaurant for...
... and rented two rooms from this hotel. I lived in upstairs suite with two of my friends and the room was perfect for us....

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
ab3 wrote a review Dec 2020
Los Angeles, California188 contributions32 helpful votes
+1
My review of the Scent of Green Papaya Resort/Hotel in Panglao, Bohol, Philippines. If you're looking for a great hotel to stay at that's economical and modern, look no further than this hidden gem of a resort. It's basically just a few blocks from the beach in the Alona Beach area of Panglao, Bohol in the Philippines. I stayed here in February, right when Covid was flaring up and they were shutting down borders.

I booked the room using Agoda.com and paid about $60USD/night for a Superior King Room, which included a custom made breakfast every morning. The resort/hotel is about a five minute walk from the main road where the hustle and bustle is of Alona Beach, but if you don't feel like walking, they do have a shuttle taking you back and forth from the main road, which is lined with American-style restaurants (including McDonald's if that's your thing), as well as souvenir shops, tour kiosks etc.

The front desk staff was super cool and reminded me to choose my breakfast each evening so they could prepare it fresh for me in the morning. Also, they helped me call a ride for the ferry and also were amazing helping me book tours, including a snorkeling tour.

I had a great stay and highly recommend this place if you're looking for something different. This place even had a Balinese feel to it. There are lots of hotel options in Alona Beach, many of which are five times the price of this hotel. So if you're looking for something quaint, quiet and cool, give Scent of Green Papaya a try! I would definitely stay here again if I were ever to return to Alona Beach.

Feel free to check out my channel if you would like to see a video walk-through of my room and the hotel grounds.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
trvhapi wrote a review Feb 2020
Calgary, Canada21 contributions2 helpful votes
We would not stay here again - mainly due to location.
Pros
Nice pools which are well maintained
Good sized balcony with table and chairs
Lots of loungers around the pool with towels supplied
Breakfast is brought in from elsewhere, so need to advise night before what you want
We had some problems with our rooms and maintenance guy was there promptly to try to fix it.
Only 2 small bottles of water in the room - not replaced daily. Water cooler in restaurant for refilling.
Cons
Plumbing - Our room had no consistent hot water - despite maintenance man working on it; also foul sewer smell in bathroom
Location - walking distance to Alona Beach is about 30 minutes- 10 minutes by free shuttle; Part of road is very rough for walking especially in the dark.
Safe in both our rooms was not working until we advised them.
Overheard manager arguing with another guest. The issue was discrepancy between Agoda and their website about free breakfast for a child who was 3rd person in the room. She was telling guest it was up to him to get it changed on Agoda. Poor customer service in my opinion.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Green Papaya, General Manager at Scent of Green Papaya Resort
Responded 21 Feb 2020
Good afternoon and thank you for this complete review. Thank you for the pros you noticed during your stay. About the cons, we do apologize for the different problems you did encountered. Problem of battery with the safe should have been noticed before your checking, the information will be added to the check in process. For the plumbing problem, it is something that we are unfortunately always working on, due to local regulation regarding sewer and also during very high season the hot water can supply a lower temperature as you experienced. New solar water heater are to be installed during the year. Now about our breakfast, we do "a la carte'' the day before for a better organisation everyday and be able to serve you in the morning faster. We do all our breakfast on site, only fresh baguette and croissant are served fresh every morning. The walking distance to the beach is a 20 min by feet. The shuttle is a 6 min ride to the drop off place at Alona beach area. ( 900 meter from the resort). We do give plastic bottle only once per check in, for environmental reason we provide a free hot and cold refilling at the restaurant area available 24/7 , it saves around 1100 bottle a month, which is quite important in this country. About Agoda rules, free child stay are for free and without breakfast, like that the corresponding breakfast can be ordered if needed. As a matter of fact, TripAdvisor rules are about your experience in the resort, and not about what other guests experienced or however we settle the rules in our establishment, which are based of years of accommodations. Thanks again for your complete point of view that will definitely help us to add some control upon checking. Thanks again for your stay in our establishment from all he team SOGPR
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voyage41493849157 wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution
We were traveling in a group of 5 friends and rented two rooms from this hotel. I lived in upstairs suite with two of my friends and the room was perfect for us. Large enough balcony to host all 5 of us and the bedrooms were very clean and pretty large. Beds great and quiet place to sleep. In our room the AC was located perfectly so you really can't have a flu even if you forget it a bit too cold. That's a huge plus from my point of view :)
Pool was clean and you could start sunbathing first thing in the morning because the sun is shining right from the morning till evening. Off course there are shade options also.
Breakfast was well organized and good.
Staff was very friendly.
Location was nice, about 7min walk to the beach and there is even a free shuttle service that leaves every 30min.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
martine_floridahome wrote a review Jan 2020
UK253 contributions242 helpful votes
The hotel was at 100% occupancy and we were lucky to get an upstairs room.
The room was exceptionally clean and had everything we needed and all of the rooms faced 1 of the 2 pools. Nice balcony with table and chairs and a washing line. WiFi was good.
Plenty of sunbeds and the main pool was great if you like to swim.
The restaurant and bar were a bonus - happy hour very good prices !
The staff were amazing. Most days they were singing whilst doing their tasks - lovely to see people that seemed to really be happy with their work.
There is a free shuttle, every 30 mins to the beach but you can walk there in about 12 minutes.
(Albeit the first part is on an unmade section of the road) The driver also stopped on a couple of occasions when he saw us and asked if we wanted a lift - really thoughtful.
There is a lot of building work going on in the town.
Gia dealt with our booking and wasn’t phased by all the emails I sent ! Meeting her in person was lovely.
Chesca, Claudine, Mike, Phil all made us have an exceptionally relaxing stay. Check in and check out was excellent - particularly help with our bags and onward arrangements
400 peso from /to airport approx 12 mins.
The only slight downside to our stay was the cockerel next door which crowed constantly day and night. (Hard to believe really !)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Joanne Kent wrote a review Dec 2019
15 contributions
We arrived and were VERY pleased to have booked SOGP. The resort is beautiful, the 2 bedroom apartment is very spacious, the staff are lovely, they have an onsite restaurant AND a shuttle bus! You can’t ask for more than this resort provides. Book this place, you won’t regret it
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous