We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Laban Rata Resthouse

Room/Suite (34)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
We got a private room with bathroom attached. It is above the dining area and very convenient to get our meals. The room was...
... clean everything, plus the stunning views from the common room, it truly felt like a real hotel in the sky! They even had...
... may check-in from 2pm and since we arrived earlier and the room was already available. Room was non-heated and bathrooms...
Most popular question about the rooms
Where can I book a dorm room (which website/phone)?
May 2018 |
Hi there, you can visit our Facebook page at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges or call us at +60 88 487 466. Best regards :)
Featured room amenities
Mountain View
Non-smoking rooms

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
jensu27 wrote a review Sep 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia28 contributions12 helpful votes
We got a private room with bathroom attached. It is above the dining area and very convenient to get our meals. The room was clean and there is a nice view of the rock face and waterfall. The only setback was the light in the bathroom was not working. Don't expect to get a hot shower.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Laura wrote a review Apr 2020
Gwangju, South Korea35 contributions22 helpful votes
Having climbed my fair share of mountains, I was astounded by how clean, beautiful and well put together Laban Rata Resthouse was! It was by far the nicest accommodation I've ever had on a mountain climb. With beautiful decor, comfy beds and clean everything, plus the stunning views from the common room, it truly felt like a real hotel in the sky! They even had showers (cold, but still, pretty fancy for being on a mountain.) My only complaint is, of course, the asolutely exhorbidant price, which you have to pay if you want to climb the mountain. That's not the lodge's fault at all, just the price you pay to do Kinabalu. All in all, well worth the experience and I'd practically stay here again just because it was so nice
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: dorms are least expensive, and very clean and comfortable
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sutera Sanctuary Lodges, Owner at Laban Rata Resthouse
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guests leaves with wonderful memories. I find that it's always a breath of fresh air when you can truly immerse yourself with nature and it delights me to know that you have found your sanctuary with us. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Kueh Lian See General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanieSyakirah wrote a review Sep 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia88 contributions22 helpful votes
+1
Laban Rata is the biggest accommodation on Mount Kinabalu. We may check-in from 2pm and since we arrived earlier and the room was already available. Room was non-heated and bathrooms are shared with no hot water. Buffet meals are included as part of our accommodation package, however, Laban Rata also sells a variety of different snacks and essential items, along with some meals we can purchase outside of meal times. Please note that Laban Rata is cash only and all purchases must be paid in Malaysian ringgit. The provided meals were variety and plentiful. There were some local dishes like curries and rice, some salads, pasta and noodles, soup and fruits. For climbers with specific dietary preferences for example with particular allergies, you may be served a separate meal. Please be mind, tea and coffee will be provided at supper and breakfast only, but not at dinner. Drinking water is not provided at any meal, this always needs to be purchased. It was quite rushed and crowded for dinner around 5pm, so manage your time wisely. The bathrooms were good and clean, but the water was brutally cold. Most people skip the shower and bring wet wipes to tide themselves over instead. I regretted big time taking the shower that day. I had to do hundreds star-jump to warm up my body. Bedding is provided but the non-heated dorm rooms are freezing at night. Bring clothing suitable for cold mountain weather.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Weifaq wrote a review Mar 2019
Singapore, Singapore58 contributions3 helpful votes
+1
Room range is okay.
Food is consider tasty.

Just wondering if hostel able to provide simple necessary like hot drink water will be great.

Other than that, I am quite happy with the environment of this hostel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from suterasanctuary, General Manager at Laban Rata Resthouse
Responded 25 Mar 2019
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guest leaves with wonderful memories. We will take your feedback into consideration. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Ravi Kathiravelu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nessa_11 wrote a review Feb 2019
Singapore, Singapore85 contributions64 helpful votes
I could be wrong but I think we were mostly split into rooms as per the agencies we booked with. There were 8 of us in our party, 3 from The Philippines, 2 from Germany, 1 from China, 1 from USA, and myself from Singapore. Another pax from mainland Malaysia joined us to occupy the 9th bunk bed as I think there were no other available beds available.

We were housed in Dorm Room 11, a 12-bedder on L2 overlooking a beautiful sea of fluffy clouds and an amazing sunset. Each of our beds came with 2 pillows and a duvet well-sufficient to keep us warm. Very glad Laban Rata did a very good job with wind-proofing the windows as cold air doesn't seep through them at all. There were only 2 power outlets in our dormitory so I was thankful for my hefty but quintessential powerbank. There were two communal toilets / showers, one each for male and another for female. Each was equipped with 2 shower stalls and the female's also had 2 stalls of sitting toilets and 2 wash basins. I don't believe there was hot / warm shower during our stay here so some of us did the wipedown via wet wipes and chose to only wash our hair using the icy, cold water.

Our package included 5 meals, 3 of which were served at the restaurant on L1. Laban Rata also offers ala carte dishes and some groceries, and of course, all at marked-up prices. As you can imagine, all supplies are painstakingly lugged up the mountain on the shoulders and backs of ever-friendly and smiling porters; no easy feat! All 3 included meals were buffet-style, with the dinner being the widest spread - including salad & soup, staples and meats, and finally vegetable dishes and fresh fruits.

There were 2 side doors that opened up to spiral staircases on each end of the long L2 hallway. Here, you can catch from a higher vantage point breathtaking views of the endless sea of soft, fluffy clouds circling the mountain. Absolutely stunning! For those wondering if they can take drags from their nicotine sticks, I spotted at least 2x outdoor ashtrays cum dustbins here, the closest being about ±10 feet away from the main entrance of Laban Rata Resthouse. Another was located slightly further up closer to a nearby building. All local employees feed their lungs here btw. And if you're wondering, there is no WiFi connection here.

All the staff at Laban Rata Resthouse and Restaurant were very welcoming and friendly, a common trait of the people of Kota Kinabalu. The whole place was also very clean; perhaps even cleaner than some of the other hotels in the city.

PS: I rated 3 on Sleep Quality only because I only managed to get 2 hours of sleep prior to my summit attempt... and this is at no fault of Laban Rata's; I just had happened to have had a symphony of snores from 3 different pax throughout the night...
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from suterasanctuary, General Manager at Laban Rata Resthouse
Responded 11 Feb 2019
Thank you for taking the time to highlight your satisfaction during your recent stay. We are continually trying to improve the quality of service to ensure each and every one of our guest leaves with wonderful memories. Your kind words are an inspiration for us to serve better. When you have time to spare; do check out our Facebook and Instagram for updates and promotions that might be of interest to you. My team and I certainly look forward to the pleasant opportunity of accommodating you again at our resort in the not-too-distant future. We wish you a pleasant day! Regards, Ravi Kathiravelu General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Ultruist asked a question May 2018
Sydney, Australia21 contributions
Where can I book a dorm room (which website/phone)?
May 2018 |
Hi there, you can visit our Facebook page at Sutera Sanctuary Lodges or call us at +60 88 487 466. Best regards :)
0 votes
Paint-Pots asked a question Jun 2016
Nottingham, United Kingdom136 contributions37 helpful votes
Hi there, How much is an upgrade to a private room (per person) currently? Thank you! April
Answer from michele m
Jun 2016 |
Hello! Private room for 2 persons is RM 1572. Inclusive of 5 meals.
0 votes
PreviousNext
1