We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at High Country Lodge & Cabins

Room/Suite (179)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
$ 2.00 TV in room only had 3 channels. When we asked about why, the person told us that he didn’t know why & someone would be up...
We stayed in a one bedroom cabin located behind the lodge. When we arrived to check in there was a sign outside the office...
... booked" the 2 BR cabin and instead offered me a 2 bed room at the regular rate. As it was after 7 pm I had no choice...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Vinny R wrote a review Sep 2020
Fountain Hills, Arizona3 contributions10 helpful votes
$ 2.00 TV in room only had 3 channels. When we asked about why, the person told us that he didn’t know why & someone would be up to check it out in an hour or so. We called back after a while & cancelled request. A/C was as loud as a train & up on wall. Exhaust fan in bathroom didn’t work. No wi-fi. When we asked about the wi-fi issue we were told a story about the bandwidth size & all the people in town, that’s why it didn’t work. Another person told us that he would call the internet company. Nothing happened. Find another place to stay for sure. This is exactly what happened, so no excuses. One bar on cell phone reception & no room phone.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes1 Save
Helpful
Share
Response from HCL 3821, General Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins
Responded 10 Sep 2020
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We inspected your Flat Screen TV and the AC in the room, and the TV is working fine including all the cable channels including HBO, and no the air conditioner is not loud. We are sorry that you are unhappy because you did not know how to operate it, but you did not ask us for help either. The internet is not something we are able to control, we have the best internet in town and when the town is busy the internet is slow. Please remember, the is a rural community and it does not have the most up to date infrastructure that you would find in a bigger city. Also, we do not control who your cell phone provider is and it's service quality, we have no issues with reception on this property for our carriers. We appreciate the feedback, but we cannot help people who do not ask for help or understand the limitation of a rural mountain community.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wgm51 wrote a review Sep 2020
Albuquerque, New Mexico71 contributions36 helpful votes
We stayed in a one bedroom cabin located behind the lodge. When we arrived to check in there was a sign outside the office indicated you could not enter without a mask. The man behind the desk was NOT wearing a mask. I went ahead with the check-in process but was somewhat taken aback by this, especially since Colorado was requiring masks for all indoor public spaces at the time of our stay. As far as the cabin itself, it was fine - kind of small but perfectly ok for the two of us. The property is described as "rustic" and that is true, but not in a bad way - it was older but very clean and well maintained and was truly a log cabin - quite charming actually. One problem was the kitchen - it was not well equipped, very few cooking pans or utensils and very few dishes, etc. Also the refrigerator was tiny, and there was really not a freezer at all, only a small compartment at the top of the refrigerator that did not really freeze anything. It seems if someone is booking a cabin they may want to do a fair amount of cooking ,rather than eating at restaurants, especially during the current pandemic, but that would be difficult to do in this kitchen. The grounds are very nice, with a pond, a short hiking trail and outdoor tables. It does seem as though the property was a bit overpriced for what you get - not sure it is a great value. I was disappointed to see both people behind the desk still NOT wearing masks when we went to check out. It seems that there is not a lot of concern for guest safety at this lodge which is unfortunate - masks are most effective when both parties are wearing one - guess these folks think that doesn't apply to them.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Room Tip: Traffic noise was not noticeable inside the cabin - may be worth the extra cost vs staying in a...
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from HCL 3821, General Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins
Responded 3 Sep 2020
Thank you for your feedback. The property takes COVID-19 preaucations seriously and we have barriers at front desk to protect both staff and guests. We will definetly address your issues regarding employees not wearing masks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
van2800 wrote a review Aug 2020
Chicago, Illinois3 contributions2 helpful votes
I booked a 2 BR cabin and when I got to the resort the mgt told me the system "double booked" the 2 BR cabin and instead offered me a 2 bed room at the regular rate.
As it was after 7 pm I had no choice but to accept even though it was not what was promised when booked and no discount only upset the apple cart more.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from HCL 3821, General Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins
Responded 25 Aug 2020
There was no bait and switch as you claim. We told you there was a system error and a double booking had occurred and we had no cabins available for your stay. We offered you a full refund for the stay. You asked if we had anything else and we let you know that all we had was a hotel room. You said you will take the room and we refunded you the difference. We are very disappointed that you have chosen this type of defamatory accusations against the hotel when everyone went out of their way to rectify the situation. Especially considering you apologized to our front desk for your rude behavior.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom4628 wrote a review Aug 2020
Boulder, Colorado187 contributions40 helpful votes
The cabin of two people we had offered a cozy, comfortable room where we could stretch out and relax. The property is located along the highway just east of Pagosa Springs, towards Wolf Creek pass. Our rustic cabin had the modern amenities we would expect, including a good, comfortable bed.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from HCL 3821, General Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins
Responded 15 Aug 2020
Thank you. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily S wrote a review Jul 2020
6 contributions6 helpful votes
I rarely leave negative reviews but this time I felt like people looking for hotels in the Pagosa Springs area would need to know how this hotel operates. We arrived much to early to check in at 11am on a Sunday due to a leaking tire that we were trying not to drive on longer than necessary. We knew we’d have to wait until the next day to get the tire fixed since it was Sunday. I was thinking we’d let the hotel know we were there and once they had a room ready, they’d let us know since check in wasn’t until 4. That did not happen, there was no empathy and they said we’d have to wait until 4. I understand that this is the norm but I hoped for a bit of empathy on a hot summer day. After a couple of hours waiting outside the hotel, decided to air up the tire and go sit by the river and wait. We got back to the hotel at 340 and tried again to check in and got the same answer about check in not being until 4. The gentleman told me to go back into town and hang out for a while. We were hot, exhausted and didn’t want to go sit i a restaurant due to the current situations with the pandemic. We waited again in the parking lot for another 20 mins and then went back in at 4 to check in and the gentleman said “I don’t know if the room is ready, I haven’t heard anything from housekeeping.” At this point I was upset. We paid $150 for a basic room with a king bed and wanted to get access to the room that we paid for from 4pm-11am. Check ins seem to be getting later and later and check outs earlier, so when you pay that much for a room, you’d like to get your money’s worth. I kinda had to put my foot down, which was uncomfortable, and then the man said he would go ask housekeeping. We were finally able to check in. The man said the last thing he wanted was for us to go into a room that wasn’t clean. Well ironically, we had been parked in front of the room we were assigned and we’d not see anyone go into or out of this room for quite a while. To top of off, after all this...my husband was about to get into the a shower and was not clothed and the housekeeper unlocked the door and walked right in on him! The next morning we went to make coffee and had only been given 4 packets of decaf coffee. My feeling was that if we had to wait all the way until 4pm to check in with no exceptions, the housekeeper should have no reason to come in and we should definitely have coffee. Other things that wouldn’t have mattered without all the previous mentions, were the fact that the walls are very thin and there’s a lot of noise, you cannot bring your own drinks outside (you have to buy theirs) and the beds are quite uncomfortable. Again, these are things I would have totally let slide but when you pay $150 for a hotel that’s several miles outside of town and the hotel staff is very cold and shows no care for individual customer needs, these things start to add up. Next time we’ll find somewhere else to stay in Pagosa Springs. One final note, there was a very very nice gentleman that might be the groundskeeper that showed me a little trail I could take to find a spot to sit by the pond while we waited to check in. He went above and beyond to be polite and understanding. I didn’t want that to go unnoticed.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from HCL 3821, General Manager at High Country Lodge & Cabins
Responded 28 Jul 2020
We are sorry to hear that you found the place unacceptable because it refused to check you in at 11 am. Our check out is 11 am. Check in at the hotel is 4pm. Upon your arrival at 11 am, we notified you that your room was unavailable and people were still checking out of the hotel and we would not able to accommodate you until 4. Due to COVID -19, the hotel has implemented extra cleaning procedures to ensure our guests get a room that is thoroughly cleaned and sanitized for the safety and health of everyone on our property. We are sorry you took offense at being told that you would have to wait until actual Check-In time to access your room. The hotel staff was turning over a completely sold out hotel with limited staff due to COVID-19 and were working very hard and diligently to take care of the guests and provide the best possible service and rooms as quickly as humanly possible. Majority of the people understand and have no issues, but we do understand some people have no understanding and have no consideration for anyone but themselves. We are sorry, you had a flat tire, but that does not give you any reason to go after the hotel or its employees, because they did not give you a room at 11 am or the fact that you were required to follow the liquor laws of the State of Colorado. The property has a liquor license and is only following / implementing the rules that property must abide by. But, based on your comments on this review, we realize you find it difficult to understand basic rules and guidelines that have been put in place for health and safety. The property takes the health and welfare of our guests very seriously and will not provide a room that is not ready. Also, most people let us know if they received more decaf coffee versus regular and we are more than happy to correct that situation. But, in your case you did not bother to let anyone know. In addition, our housekeeping staff does not enter a room unless the guest specifically asks us to come in to provide service. They do not just enter, but knock before they do and only enter the room, if there is no response or if they are granted permission. We are pleased that you liked the owner of the property, who was on premises and was kind enough to point out the trail by the pond.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous