We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Origin Ubud

Room/Suite (92)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Travelocity
ZenHotels.com
US$194
US$164
View Deal
SAVE US$30
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
Expedia.comUS$194
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... looking directly into the so-called private pool, garden and room. Construction starts at 7am and goes through until at least...
... super helpful through out our stay from the issue with the room ( smelly toilet everyday)to our personal request ( help to...
... a new Hotel is going up. Workers looking at you or in your room all the time. The location is quite convenient as you can...
Most popular question about the rooms
Hi all Just wondering are the pool areas in the 1 bedroom private as they done seem to have a back fence TIA
Answer from Ryan M
Jan 2019 |
Dear TIA, Onniska is correct. Privacy is fine. Only a pair of binoculars, staring from across the valley will see you in your poo...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Imogen O wrote a review Feb 2020
Castlemaine, Ireland962 contributions123 helpful votes
Where to start? There is so much that is lovely about this place but for our visit the negatives far outweighed the positives.
The most disappointing aspect was the fact that there is a multistorey hotel being built opposite the resort looking directly into the so-called private pool, garden and room.
Construction starts at 7am and goes through until at least 6pm every day, no exceptions.
NO PRIVACY at all and continuous noise.

We would see the workmen and they could see us.
I’ve no idea what the resort is planning to do about this in the future but any pending guests be warned.
As for the rest…
Positives
1. The staff are uniformly lovely and keen to provide optimal service…there’s just a bit of a mismatch about what this means when the resort promotes itself as a luxurious retreat…
2. The bed is comfortable and spacious
3. The bathroom is equally spacious and well-kitted out with standard amenities (shower, bath gel, conditioner) all in large side pump packs. However, there are no other amenities such as ear buds, razor etc.
4. Each room has two golf umbrellas at door as well as a supply at main entrance – much needed during the off-season when we were staying.
5. The reservations team do pay attention to notes re if a special occasion – this was part of our wedding anniversary holiday so first night we were presented with a plate with a cake and inscription in chocolate wishing us happy anniversary.
6. Gym access is provided at Ubud Fitness centre which is an easy stroll away, down the road and in a side street. [The fact we had to ask for this instead of it automatically being provided contributed to the series of not-quite-right, ‘small omissions’ that contributed to an overall dissatisfaction but still brilliant that provided.]
7. Welcome drinks described as an inclusion on arrival and were much needed due to issues with locating the resort (will describe further below) however we ended up having to ask for same once in room. They may well have turned up without asking but for other resorts, a welcome drink is what you’re handed when you sit down to fill out the check-in paperwork and photocopying of passport…
8. Package included a 15-minute complementary massage each. Again, had to ask. Didn’t happen 1st day. Asked again 2nd day & was confirmed for between 11am and 1pm. Didn’t happen. 3rd day, received a WhatsApp message saying staff would be onsite and what time would we like. Booked and confirmed. Girls arrived promptly but turns out the massage is a foot massage only – not the next and shoulders we were hoping to be able to have. The therapists were very good and provided a 30 min foot/calf massage each with the resort offering to extend it to an hour to apologise for our room not being made up earlier that day but we declined. When the massage is only for the lower limb, half an hour is more than adequate but a gracious gesture nonetheless.
9. There was no coffee provided in room – we only hoped for instant as in any other place – but once queried the team went out & bought back 3 different types of instant coffee. Well & truly above & beyond (unfortunately all varieties included sugar in their mix but really touched that they tried)
10. The complimentary shuttle service was terrific and they didn’t stick to their very odd timetable (see attached). However, we only needed to use the first evening (pouring rain) because once orientated to our area, we could walk to the centre of town in less time than it took the shuttle as Ubud is a town riddled with one-way streets and massive traffic congestion even now during off-season. If you do use the shuttle, don’t expect fancy – we were informed it was a new bus but still only has a bench seat (padded) each side, no aircon and sliding windows left open but fabulous driver and very responsive service to pick up (there is just the one drop-off and pickup point)
11. Location, location, location. Once we became accustomed to navigating the very busy narrow road, we were within walking distance to everything that Ubud had to offer.
Negatives
1. Very difficult to locate, even for our local driver and using navigation. The map would say we had arrived but could not find any signage. This situation was compounded by the fact the road is two-way but not even single lane width with no verges and very limited opportunities to pullover or drive slowly. When I say ‘busy’ I mean the road was literally swarming with mopeds, motorbikes, cyclists, cars, foot traffic. It took four, FOUR drive pasts and two phone calls from our driver to the resort - and then staff coming out and waiting for us before entry was located. It’s not like we could just turn around when missed – as the marker on the navigation imprecise, by the time it had moved to show we had passed resort, there was nowhere to even vaguely turn around so each ‘miss’ meant driving a few further km before being able to turn around and try again. A situation that would readily be fixed by hanging a shingle out and changing the giant Origin sign on the side of the building from the current black metalwork (on dark grey background) to something that stands out. The irony is that once found it is really easy to describe location by simply saying once on the street, when you reach the 1st road to the right, immediately pull into the 1st indent on the left literally adjacent to that street & the giant temple on the corner!
2. Whilst the staff are keen, it became very hit & miss what was remembered and what wasn’t. in terms of recalling guest preferences (bear in in mind only 4 villas occupied during our stay). It became exhausting having to request things that anywhere else would either happen automatically or be remembered. Being willing doesn’t counteract the act of constantly having to ask – our request for milk WAS remembered & was supplied daily without any further request but other things not so great...
Examples: A, full complement of towels face washers etc. on check in. Next day, face towels removed and not replaced. Rang housekeeping & supplied. Same again following but we just gave up & used the hand towels as a substitute.
B. Shower cap used and not replaced. Had to ask,2nd & when still not replaced 3rd day, gave up asking.
C. No ice available in room nor self-service access so 1st rang and requested. After ten minutes went and asked up at the backroom near reception and provided. This detail not recalled so each day thereafter at around the same time, I had to call and request delivery.
D. I used the notepad up and requested replacement. Promptly provided but when I went to use it was actually devoid of paper so had to request again.
E. The compendium details to use the ‘do not disturb’ sign if not wanting to be disturbed. We did this once and restored to usual. However, we went out 2nd day for 4 hours during which time we had a WhatsApp communication with the team where we mentioned we were in town. Returned to room exhausted at 2pm to discover it had not been made up and breakfast dishes still sitting there. Rang to request and was told that they didn’t know we were out. I explained re the WhatsApp communication and more to the point why hadn’t housekeeping even attempted when there was no do not disturb sign? This was unable to be answered. Housekeeping team did come and do our room but later we discovered absence of face towel and teaspoons not replaced.
This is not an exhaustive list but just examples of a series of minor issues that collectively meant staying here was not relaxing - especially when you add in the unrelenting construction noise.
3. Despite the compendium asking guests to leave their room key at reception when they go out for any reason, there is NO reception! Nor a phone there to use if needing to make contact. Needless to say, we didn’t abide by this request. However, even had there been a phone supplied in this lounge/entry area, we found on two occasions (still daylight hours) when we rang “reception” (dial 0) no one answered necessitating me walking up and poking my head into the only open door to seek assistance.
4. In-room slides are supplied (too short for his feet and too wide for both our feet) but no bathrobes. Two lengths of fabric are supplied on hangers in the wardrobe which could have been beach towels or very heavy sarongs but that’s it. Most odd when even lower-end hotels seem to supply bathrobes.
5. Finally – and this ended up becoming the most disappointing – things left behind apparently are chucked out! We only left one item in the bathroom – but it was an expensive, travel ‘wash bag’ which is able to be used to wash clothes swiftly & efficiently yet is able to be compressed very small for packing. I had rinsed it out and left to dry behind the sink taps in bathroom but as was also white/cream like the wall it was resting against, both my husband & I missed it. Unfortunately, we then did not notice until went to use it at our next destination. In response to my email query re same, all I got was a statement staying the team would keep an eye out! Erm, no. we should have been alerted as soon as room cleaned that we had left this item behind.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear Lincatm, Thank you for staying at Origin Ubud. We do apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced due to the construction work. This, however, is an externality that is out of our control. We do value your input on this matter, and will look for possible solution together with the construction manager such as installing a cover so each side has privacy. We do appreciate for the positive comments on comfortable bed, bathroom, gym, and our reservation team. We will keep up the good work and follow up on every missing aspect that you had experienced to improve our service. As for the negative feedbacks, we do apologize for things that make your vacation unpleasant, such as: late welcome drinks and massages, lack of our attention to detail when cleaning your room, lack of towels, notepad and shower cap turnover, our lack of attention to your routine during your stay, unclear hotel signs, and the availability of coffee in the room. We are sorry for these experiences while you should have relaxed and had mind-free during your vacation instead. The management team and I have put this as our priority and have mentored our staff to ensure that all standards are upheld. We also will have a weekly review for this improvement. We will take your advice into consideration in terms of Origin sign and availability of coffee in the room as these are valuable input for improvement. All teams of Origin love what we do and we would be more than happy to have you back, to provide you with our sincere service and to show you the true positive atmosphere of Bali. If you find yourself wanting to return and to feel all the improvements, please drop an email budi@originubud.com. Best regards, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkey_MS wrote a review Feb 2020
26 contributions7 helpful votes
+1
The place itself did not deserve a four stars out of a five but the staff over there were the additional “Star”. They were being super helpful through out our stay from the issue with the room ( smelly toilet everyday)to our personal request ( help to explain us things in Indonesian and arrange “shuttle bus” to nearby, not the scheduled drop off point). Once again, thank you so much to make my stay wonderful!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Monkey_MS Thank you for staying at Origin Ubud and we do appreciate your compliment for addressing our staff as additional “Star”, despite our shortcomings that you had experienced such as smelly toilet, and misunderstood your personal request which we took immediate action on. Thank you for your input on this matter. We have found the cause of the smelly toilet and cleaned it by using an appropriate cleanser in order to relieve the smell. We ensure this cleaning method is done regularly. As for the misunderstanding issue, we have mentored our staff to pay more attention to guest needs and to practise their English way more often by actively communicating with guests whenever necessary. We will have a weekly review for this improvement to ensure that all standards are upheld. If you find yourself wanting to return and to feel all the improvements, please drop an email at budi@originubud.com. Thank you, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCDHK wrote a review Feb 2020
Hong Kong, China168 contributions76 helpful votes
I had a couple of nights in Ubud where I travel often for meetings and thought I'd try something new. The Hotel looked enticing but was a bit of a disappointment. The rooms are super minimalist and hard to feel comfortable in. Sadly, maintenance is lacking and towels need changing (all coming apart at the seams). The grass in the 'garden' is more weed than grass. The shower was clogged so water went all over the bathroom. There is a huge building site opposite where it seems a new Hotel is going up. Workers looking at you or in your room all the time. The location is quite convenient as you can walk to town, but for the money charged for a Hotel with '0' facilities I will stay in my usual haunts again next time. With some attention by the owners this could be a great place, but missing the love.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020
Room Tip: furthest down by the river
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Aria_ubud, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear TCDHK, Thank your for your recent stay and sorry for making your Ubud stop in accordance with your expectations. Thank you for your input for towels and grass in the garden that is most covered by weed that we took immediately action on it. For towels, we have started to replace them and from garden side at your villa we have cleaned it. We will make sure this is schedule, for inventory and regular treatment. One last ting, for the construction next door we have discussed with the project manager so that the front of them is plant with trees. Once again, thank you very much for your input, this has become a matter for us to improve. Since you are seen frequently coming to Ubud, please allow us to serve you once again and deliver you our Balinese hospitality and please send email me personally at budi@originubud.com Best regards, Budi and Origin Ubud Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tungky wrote a review Jan 2020
Solo, Indonesia170 contributions26 helpful votes
Nice villa.Well designed. We occupied 4 rooms in total out of their 8 villas. Walkways to the villa is VERY DARK at night, insufficient lighting is dangerous for kids and elderlies. Room floor is slippery as well. And design of the room is more suited for couples than families. Breakfast is a la carte, sufficient serving size, but minimal choice. Cleanliness is okay, but not on par with similarly priced hotel standards.

One of our villas door couldn't be locked. And the entire day our room was left unlocked. Even though the staff claims that it is safe, we are not so comfortable with the idea that a hotel/villa room could not be locked.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from asia_traveller_1997, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 29 Jan 2020
Dear Tungky Thank you very much for your valuable feedback , we happy to hear about how nice our villa & design . Refer to glitch that forwarding to our attention we really very much appreciate and will become our focus to fix it. We hope that you will back home to Origin Ubud again and enjoy our comfortable 3 bed room Cabana Pool Villa that really suitable for family Best Regards Sugeng & Origin Ubud Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaAtelierAmsterdam wrote a review Dec 2019
1 contribution
We absolutely enjoyed our stay, the hotel was beyond our expectations. The staff was incredibly nice, location is perfect, breakfast was delicious and we loved the room. Beautifully decorated and everything we needed was in there. I can totally recommend it, price quality is perfect.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from asia_traveller_1997, Manager at Origin Ubud
Responded 6 Jan 2020
Dear AnnaAtelierAmsterdam, We are so glad that we were able to let you take so many memories of great service from the team and our overall facilities and services. Thank you for describing the stay in such a lovely way and indeed we are very happy that you had a lovely time experiencing stay with us. We can't wait to welcome you back home very soon. Warm regards, Origin Ubud Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

Answer from Ryan M
Jan 2019 |
Dear TIA, Onniska is correct. Privacy is fine. Only a pair of binoculars, staring from across the valley will see you in your pool! Ryan
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1