We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South

Room/Suite (27)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$54
Hotels.comUS$54
SnaptravelUS$54
Expedia.comUS$54
FindHotelUS$54
Trip.comUS$61
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... crumbly & it was a basic-looking older motel with exterior room entries, our room had been updated and was more than...
... reservations made through Med Inn reduced the cost of the room and feel that the hotel desk staff should have been...
... and somewhat dumpy looking. All of the surfaces inside the room were sticky (in my parents' room as well). Their shower...
Most popular question about the rooms
What is the room deposit (incidentals)?
Answer from General Manager
Sep 2016 |
$40, refundable upon check out after room inspection given that there is no smoke or damages to the room.

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
SNH122014 wrote a review Nov 2019
Downers Grove, Illinois13 contributions3 helpful votes
It was our first stay at a Red Roof Inn & based on reviews we were wary. However, although the outdoor stairways were crumbly & it was a basic-looking older motel with exterior room entries, our room had been updated and was more than satisfactory. The fridge, microwave, TV, clock/radio (not always supplied in budget motels anymore,) hairdryer, coffeemaker (excellent & enough regular coffee supplied,) sink and tub drains all worked beautifully. King bed was very comfortable & even the in-wall HVAC unit operated quietly. Best of all, for a person who reads in bed, I so appreciated the over-the-bed lighting. I hate having to hold my book under a bedside table lamp that is never tall enough or bright enough to shed enough light in the right place! There were a lot of added electrical outlets for electronics. We had a little trouble getting the key card to work on the entry door, but when I mentioned to to the clerk upon check-out she was effusive in her thanks for letting her know because she knew to notify maintenance that the battery in the lock had to be replaced--who knew? Public areas were clean & updated & although the continental breakfast was limited, it was certainly adequate for our brief stay. USA Today newspapers were available & appreciated. We visit relatives in the area a few times a year & will be happy to return to this Red Roof Inn.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM-ANNARBOR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 15 Feb 2020
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and it's amenities, our Free Continental Breakfast, and that our staff treated you with the concern you deserve. Safe travels and see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B wrote a review Oct 2019
1 contribution
I made my first reservation on line and noted that we might be checking in late due to our son having surgery. Ended up extending our stay 3 times due to our son's inpatient stay at UofM, the last 2 extensions being made through the Med Inn program through the hospital. I did not know that reservations made through Med Inn reduced the cost of the room and feel that the hotel desk staff should have been forthcomng with that little fact when I checked in on Sept. 9th. We were also charged a $100 cash deposit when our stay was extended to 10 days, this deposit requirement is not noted on the website. We stayed there from Sept. 9th through September 27th @ a cost of $1,117.00 for the 18 nights, plus $100 for deposit. We did receive the deposit back upon checking out on the 27th.

The fact that this hotel is a basic hotel was not an issue for us because, it was a pit stop for showering and resting. Continental breakfast was limited, coffee was horrible and the last week we were there they didn't offer any fresh fruit. The hotel is in dis-repair and for the money they charge, you expect better facilities. I would not reccomend this hotel unless you are looking for a hole in the wall, pit stop.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Empress5150 wrote a review Sep 2019
Lakewood Ranch, Florida340 contributions149 helpful votes
Stayed here for four nights recently while in town for a wedding. Although it was definitely convenient to many things (interstate, restaurants, and the wedding venue), in hindsight, I'd not have picked this place. First of all, it's definitely care worn and somewhat dumpy looking. All of the surfaces inside the room were sticky (in my parents' room as well). Their shower didn't work well. House Keeping was hit and miss (I had to run the maid down two out of the four days to get her to clean up the room/bring fresh towels). The staff were friendly enough and the breakfast, although not what I would chose to eat, was probably ok for a basic continental breakfast selection. It was also surprisingly quiet (although I'm sure this is not the case if it's game weekend!) I don't think I'd want to stay at this property by myself (my parents were on one side of my room and my former brother in law on the other).
Nearby are at least five other motels/hotels, next time (if there's a next time), I'd pick one of them over this place, even given it'd be more expensive.
They do accept dogs, of course, which is certainly a plus for many travelers.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
meyerla wrote a review Sep 2019
Mandeville, Louisiana444 contributions118 helpful votes
This is a basic hotel, older facility. Exterior, especially stairs, needed some maintenance. There is no elevator. Reception was well staffed and accommodating. Parking was free and plentiful. Room was upgraded and better than anticipated. However, AC had vibration which we fixed. Sink did not drain well which we had maintenance repair. Room was very clean. Hot water was hot. King bed was comfortable. Breakfast was adequate but minimal. Our room on second floor facing center was very quiet, however some complained of loud noise from nearby rooms and parking area; but it was a Michigan football weekend.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM-ANNARBOR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 28 Sep 2019
Thank you for your comments. It is encouraging to hear that you recognized our updated and clean rooms, working hot water, a comfortable bed, free continental breakfast, and our quiet accommodations. We will use your comments in our continued efforts to improve our services. Thank you for your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrGaucho1987 wrote a review Aug 2019
Santa Barbara, California770 contributions345 helpful votes
This is a discount hotel. Be warned. You get what you pay for. The facility itself is horribly worn and in need of attention. There is a lot of rust on the exposed metal of the building. The concrete on the walkway outside our room was poorly poured. Someone was smoking outside their room and left a bottle with water and cigarette butts perched on a window sill. Attractive. Inside the room, we found worn edges on everything, a very mangy carpet, holes in the sheets and it just goes on and on. Yes it is cheap. No it is not a good hotel. I would not return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GM-ANNARBOR, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Ann Arbor - U of Michigan South
Responded 28 Sep 2019
We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We are working on the outside of our Motel in order to improve our aesthetic view. We hear your comments regarding our rooms and have since received a new bedding package, continued updates, and we have created a designated smoking area in an effort to eliminate some of the issues you mentioned regarding smoking guests. We hope you reconsider your lodging options if ever your travels bring you back to our area. Thank you for your business.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

mfontenot01 asked a question Sep 2016
Brewerton, New York15 contributions4 helpful votes
What is the room deposit (incidentals)?
Answer from General Manager
Sep 2016 |
$40, refundable upon check out after room inspection given that there is no smoke or damages to the room.
1 vote
PreviousNext
1