We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Schloss Wartenstein

Room/Suite (17)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... The Entry looks great, very clean and glamourise. Our room was not the biggest, but cute. The bathroom unfortunately...
... the Alps beyond. The restaurant is in a new 'winter garden' room with expansive glass windows to enjoy the scenery while you...
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had the blue room, which was so pretty and which had a stunning view of the valley below. ...
Featured room amenities
Suites
Room service
Hair Dryer
Telephone
Internet
Wheelchair Access
Mountain View
Wifi
Bath / Shower
Bottled Water
See all room amenities (14)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
hhx2_12 wrote a review Jul 2019
Cairns, Australia1,718 contributions222 helpful votes
+1
We couldn't resist staying here for a night.
What a very warm welcome we received....Wow
Thats what I call Customer service.
They also carried our heavy suitcase up the stairs, there is no elevator.
The Entry looks great, very clean and glamourise.
Our room was not the biggest, but cute.
The bathroom unfortunately was very dated and cramped.
Beds were comfortable and our view was stunning, daytime as well as night time.
Breakfast was included.
Free parking was just over the road.
The garden of the property was amazing. Such a beautiful view. Unfortunately there were no cushions on the chairs. Very uncomfortable to sit on.
Everything was well looked after.

We would highly recommend to take the road via Bad Ragaz, otherwise you will have a one lane road and it's difficult to pass another car, actually its a nightmare driving that road.
Bad Ragaz is not much further.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from ResortRagaz, Manager at Hotel Schloss Wartenstein
Responded 10 Jul 2019
Dear hhx2_12, thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! It was a pleasure for us to have you here in our Hotel. We’re very glad that you enjoyed your room with it’s beautiful view over the rhine valley. We’re doing our best to help our guests wherever we can and the time allows it! The garden with it’s lounges is open from Thursday till Sunday, that’s why there were no cushions. We hope to see you any other day here with us. Best regards, your Hotel Schloss Wartenstein Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TACustomer wrote a review Jan 2019
Zurich, Switzerland201 contributions126 helpful votes
We visited as a family two days after Christmas for dinner, The hotel sits high above the Rhine Valley with spectacular views over the pretty little spa town of Bad Ragaz and the Alps beyond. The restaurant is in a new 'winter garden' room with expansive glass windows to enjoy the scenery while you dine. At very short notice, the hotel was able to accommodate a group of eight people for a pleasant dinner.

The staff were friendly and attentive throughout our meal. Each course was nicely presented, tasty and well-cooked. Prices of food and wines were reasonable for Switzerland. Most servings were enough for average appetites. However, two under-noted examples resulted in my 'four' rating rather than the 'five' that I would otherwise have given.

Those in our group (not big eaters) who ordered 'baby lamb ribs with risotto' found that the 'baby' must have been very young indeed, because the ribs were tiny in size with much more bone than meat and only three or four ribs were served. The risotto side dish, cheap to make, was also a very small portion though a bit more would have compensated a little for the tiny ribs. Portion control with this item erred greatly on the side of caution. Maybe the kitchen was short on the dish and shared a normal portion amongst several diners?

The other, smaller, blemish was that, for dessert, I asked for an off-menu simple vanilla ice cream with chocolate sauce (this being Switzerland - the home of chocolate). The kitchen said that the sauce was not available (???). However, since it was my birthday celebration, they then served me, as a surprise, a special elaborately-decorated plate of vanilla ice cream with a delicious warm chocolate-filled mini-cake. A delicious over-compensation, but the slight initial negativity could have been avoided with a little fore-thought. Maybe just a simple communications breakdown between kitchen and waiter?

Despite the above two flaws, we would happily return for dinner in future, given the lovely views and the quality of the restaurant's service and food.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandResortBadRagaz, Manager at Hotel Schloss Wartenstein
Responded 16 Jan 2019
Dear TACustomer Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! We’re very glad that you could enjoy your stay with your family in our hotel and restaurant. Even for us working every day up here the scenic view is still spectacular at any time. We’ll discuss the 2 points you mentioned with our team. It is very important for us to get such a feedback as yours, because it's the best way getting better in every point! Hopefully we will be able to convince you on your next visit to us with a 5 star service! Best regards, Your Hotel Schloss Wartenstein Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BethandRobin wrote a review Oct 2018
Rio Rico, AZ33 contributions12 helpful votes
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had the blue room, which was so pretty and which had a stunning view of the valley below. The first night we arrived we had dinner at the restaurant. It was outstanding. Everything is locally sourced, perfectly seasoned and beautifully presented. My birthday happened to fall on one of the nights we were there, and Cecile (front desk) presented me with a lovely, hand-written card. The owner was also a very special person. A lot of genuine care goes into this gem. A plus was the pass to the hot springs spa in the town of Bad Ragaz. Really nice!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: See review- we loved the blue room, but there are several rooms with nice views of the valley.
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from GrandResortBadRagaz, Manager at Hotel Schloss Wartenstein
Responded 30 Oct 2018
Dear Beth and Robin, thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. We are very glad that you could enjoy your stay in our Hotel to the fullest. We are happy to forward your feedback to our team. We hope to welcome you soon again here with us. Best regards Your Hotel Schloss Wartenstein Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FalconRippr wrote a review May 2018
Laguna Hills, California12 contributions1 helpful vote
The hotel itself was OK, it was clean enough but the bed was somewhat uncomfortable. The staff was again...OK although somewhat standoffish. The theme at the restaurant was tiny portions of various items...we were told to start off with at least 6 dishes of varying vegetable and meat entries. We were presented with minuscule portions of simple yet tasty dishes at utterly exorbitant prices for what they were. The main attraction here was the view of Bad Ragaz and Mt. Pizol in the background. We found Bad Ragaz a unique, somewhat quirky little hamlet with an almost spiritual feel to it. The area has a kind of wellness/spiritual theme to it and is famous for it's Thermal Spa, golf course, and the pieces of eclectic artwork placed all over the city. We did not partake in the Spa but did ride the funicular part way up Mt. Pizol which proved to be really worth doing. We had some good food at a pub in town so looking back, I would bypass the hotel restaurant which was kind of silly in it's theme. But between the view from the room, the availability of the Spa, a nice golf course, and the eclectic charm of Bad Ragaz, I think one could do much worse than the Schloss Wartenstein.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Tara wrote a review Dec 2017
Geneva, Switzerland28 contributions6 helpful votes
The positifs of the hotel, a very warm welcome. The view was fantastic from our room as well as from the breakfast table. We arrived while it was snowing lat afternoon and the area looked magical in the morning.
The room, looked cute, on the rustical side with painted rose buds on all furnitures. The taste is obviously very objectif, but it was clean and nice. For some, probably, good reason, they renovated the bathrooms and basically it looked modernish with the glass walls.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Rooms
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous