We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa

Room/Suite (64)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
US$105
US$94
View deal
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
HurbUS$105
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... to arrive despite us being the only guests in the dining room. We were glad to leave. I need a spa day to recover from...
We booked a twin room and a double room for us and our two older children. The decor may be a bit 1990s and some paintwork...
... set in some nice grounds. The Bad: No toilet paper in the room on arrival, Daughter found her bathroom "guarded" by a large...
Most popular question about the rooms
Check in is from 3 but you'll be lucky got my room at 5 not impressed 👎
Answer from Brian M
Aug 2017 |
I arrived early checked in but as room not ready went into the spa until room ready Had no complaints about room it was...
Read more

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Tinkerbell wrote a review 10 Jun
Worldwide1 contribution
We went here ( two of us) in June 2021 for a spa day, which we were really looking forward to post lockdown. Unfortunately the whole day was a disappointment!

We had booked breakfast - we ordered toast with tomato/sausage with coffee each. The food quality was mediocre at best and lacked a finishing touch (eg. No butter with toast ). I was horrified when we were handed a bill for £36!!!!! When I raised it, the waitress was having none of it. " I don't set the prices " apparently. Thanks for that. Not a great start to the day!

We were eventually part refunded by reception.

Spa was just OK. The place was fairly tired looking. The bed where I had my treatments was not fit for purpose, the leather cover was threadbare, ripped and the foam was spilling out. Don't know how you can wipe down foam between clients to minimise covid spread. Not pleasant

Lunch was just as grim as breakfast. Icing on the cake was that it took nearly 30 mins to arrive despite us being the only guests in the dining room. We were glad to leave. I need a spa day to recover from this "experience"
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Whitehead, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tinks1224, Thank you for your feedback. I understand the issue with the breakfast price was resolved by our Reception team as soon as you left the restaurant but I'm sorry that this happened in the first place. We are in the process of getting some of our spa beds replaced although all beds are fully covered with sheets and towels prior to treatments and we use a 30 second sanitiser on all public areas which is effective against Covid. I'm sorry you had a wait for lunch, I have passed this on to our Head Chef, we do also have a lot of conferences taking place currently so it may have been delayed due to this, please accept my apologies for this. We get a lot of positive feedback about our Spa Days so I'm very disappointed that this was not the case for you. Please do get in touch if you would like to return and I will ensure that your booking is well taken care of. Kind Regards Lauren Whitehead General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WiltshireWanderer12 wrote a review 8 Jun
Andover, United Kingdom98 contributions53 helpful votes
We booked a twin room and a double room for us and our two older children. The decor may be a bit 1990s and some paintwork could do with a spruce up, but the room was clean and spacious. There were no fridges in the rooms, which given the heat last week, would have been nice, but there were tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was clean and had a good supply of towels. The bed... well, what can I say, possibly the best I've ever slept in. Huge bed, the most comfortable mattress and enormous fluffy feather pillows. Bliss. The staff at Reception and in the bar/restaurant were lovely, friendly, professional and polite (despite other guests rudeness). We ate in the restaurant on our first night, I can highly recommend the steaks, fish and chips (bar menu) and the Haddock with bean cassoulet. Cheese board and sticky toffee pudding also went down well. The breakfast was hot and tasty, cereal and fruit were also available. Service was impeccable. The gardens are wonderful, a really lovely setting. The only slight criticism is the housekeeping staff may be either in short supply or not terribly pro active. The hallways could do with a hoover and a dust, and we had no tissues (I know, not a big deal!) In our bathroom on arrival. We shall most definitely return.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Whitehead, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Responded 5 days ago
Dear WiltshireWanderer12, Thank you for your review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently. We have also recruited further Housekeeping Team Members in the past couple of weeks to ensure that all areas are spotless but I appreciate your comments. We hope you get chance to return and visit us in the future. Kind Regards Lauren Whitehead General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen wrote a review 7 Jun
2 contributions
The Good:
Overall the staff were brilliant with one exception (I'll get to that) very friendly & welcoming. The hotel is set in some nice grounds.
The Bad:
No toilet paper in the room on arrival, Daughter found her bathroom "guarded" by a large slug & TV aerial was shredded, so useless.
The Very Ugly:
We ordered a High Tea for an 85th Birthday to include some Vegetarian Guests, this was "forgotten" even though it had been arranged many weeks in advance. Finally, remember the one exception ?
Seems it was too much trouble to sit on the Terrace for Breakfast because they were busy !
To summarise:
Spent a lot of money, very poor return on investment & will not be going back.
More fool me !
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Whitehead, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear rsdgfdasfds, Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. I did speak with you on check out regarding the sandwiches but nothing else was mentioned so I'm sorry if you felt you couldn't discuss the other issues with me. Sunday mornings are our busiest time for breakfast where it can impact our service to have guests in different areas, I'm sorry if this was not explained properly to you at the time. As far as I'm aware all other issues were resolved during your stay with us. Kind Regards Lauren Whitehead General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Climber49499608329 wrote a review 6 Jun
3 contributions
This hotel is 2 star at best the deluxe rooms I booked were dirty and very outdated having not been updated for at least 10 years . There were no deluxe touches such as coffee and tea facilities that were filled daily no glasses in the room for drinking no bath robes no slippers no face cloths in the bathroom. I booked 2 rooms and we had a dirty face mask left by one of the cleaners this made us all feel vivid safe. It took 40 minutes to get a drink on arrival as it was the hottest day of the year we were all very thirsty. Breakfast took so long to arrive we missed our spa time over 1 hour for a cold English breakfast which arrived before we had got our cereal they just took it away and brought it back later we left most of it as there was no manager to complain to. Evening meal was no better what chef cannot cook a steak properly basic stuff we sat there every mealtime waiting to be told what they hadn't got and there was a lot of basic stuff orange juice, marmalade, choice of yogurt, pastries the list goes on if you are running out of something go to your nearest Tesco's so customers dont suffer again basic management. The good points were the spa this was very well run but that doesn't make up for such a poorly run hotel this has definitely put me of booking with Macdonald hotels again.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
David J wrote a review 5 Jun
Neston, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
This 4 star hotel carries some reputation;and we had booked to treat ourselves having missed out on two “big birthdays” during Covid-19 lockdown We weren’t disappointed with the AWESOME staff at Vital Leisure Club & Spa The facilities are excellent!;good sized pool with steam room and sauna Thermal Suite was a piece of paradise..sensory experience and calm vibe also We had pre-booked hot stone massages as spa treatments each,and they were super!
Disliked · We were very disappointed however with the way we were treated at the hotel accommodations side of things. The team at reception were tardy,unprofessional and unhelpful at best and at worst we felt disrespected and quite honestly it’s been a long time since I was the tail end of very,very poor customer service! We had arranged an early check-in at 2pm..we dutifully arrived 10mins late and were redirected to the bar lounge as the scanty explanation of “room isn’t ready!” Was the reason..ho hum ! We enjoyed some lunch (at extra cost to us) and returned to reception at 3pm where we were met with 1 very flustered reception staff member called Kate;there were at least 12 couples waiting in a limited space in front of the desk..no social distancing though we all wore masks It was reminiscent of queuing for a delayed flight and the general ambience was tense and irritable Kate said the room STILL wasn’t ready,blaming “late check outs!!” I asked whether they had an unexpected number of guests on arrival that day? And I asked were ALL the previous guests “late checkouts” as I was trying to understand how a prestigious hotel can get it soo wrong?? She retorted “you try banging on guests doors to get them to leave!” At which point I was lost for words. My partner David and I were concerned we would be missing out on our Spa treatments & use of leisure club (prebooked in time slots for Covid-19 safety) We asked for our bags to be returned to us from behind reception and very unhappily made a dash for the leisure club to try to redeem some peace n quiet that we had expected from the onset of our Spa overnight stay! The spa staff were completely understanding of our concerns and looked after us,accommodating our bags whilst we attempted to unwind 5.30pm we were allocated a room We were subsequently pleased with the quality of room etc but I’ve never been soo disgusted at how we were treated and spoken to by the hotel reception team What a shame!!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Vital health spa great, hotel shocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Lauren Whitehead, General Manager at Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Responded 2 days ago
Dear S4567LRdavidj, I have responded directly to your email to discuss the above points. Kind Regards Lauren Whitehead General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous
123456

Questions & answers about the rooms

Stevegone asked a question Aug 2017
Halifax, United Kingdom16 contributions6 helpful votes
Check in is from 3 but you'll be lucky got my room at 5 not impressed 👎
Answer from Brian M
Aug 2017 |
I arrived early checked in but as room not ready went into the spa until room ready Had no complaints about room it was superb
0 votes
Show all answers
Answer from Jessica B
Feb 2017 |
Dear Emma, Thank you for your question. I would like to reassure you that you will have a great stay. I am not sure what your concerns are. But if there is anything we can do to reassure you please let us know at the hotel. Kind regards, Mark King General Manager
1 vote
Show all answers
sueflintshire asked a question Oct 2014
Flintshire, United Kingdom433 contributions181 helpful votes
Which room did GDR stay in
Answer from Suzanne J
Nov 2014 |
A standard double on the ground floor at front of the hotel
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1