We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Zleep Hotel Billund

Room/Suite (74)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
US$82
US$78
View Deal
SAVE US$4
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$82
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... hotel experience. The website is deceiving. It says, "A Twin Room has room for two travelers. The room is spacious and...
... The staff were professional and extremely helpful. The room is compact, however for 1 or 2 nights this isn't a problem....
... at night. No problem Slept OK in bed. Basic, clean, tidy room. Essential facilities in little girls room. Breakfast...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Just Desserts wrote a review Oct 2020
34 contributions24 helpful votes
I'll never stay at this hotel again. It's the only hotel at the Billund airport, and we chose to stay there because we had a flight early the next morning. It would have been better to find somewhere in town.

To be fair, there are a couple good things about the hotel, but not enough to outweigh the bad.

1. The Lobby was nicely designed.

2. Airport location is convenient if you have to fly.

3. Mattress was comfortable.

4. The woman working in the lobby was nice. (But she seemed to be the only employee in the entire large hotel.)

5. It was clean.

Otherwise, this was a miserable hotel experience. The website is deceiving. It says, "A Twin Room has room for two travelers. The room is spacious and bright, and has been designed in a timeless and Scandinavian style. The room contains a worktable ..."

All of this is untrue. This was the smallest hotel room I have ever been in. It was not spacious and bright. It does not have a work table. Instead, it has a narrow shelf that runs along one of the walls, which is barely wide enough for a laptop. And so many things are missing from the room:

1. No closet. There's a small bar protruding from a wall, maybe 8-12 inches long, with a few hangers, but we needed more. We had several suitcases and very little space to put them.

2. The shower consists of a small curtain a the corner of the bathroom, with nothing else to separate it from the rest of the room. The shower curtain does not reach the ground, so the bathroom floods when you shower. Plus, the toilet paper dispenser is right next to the shower, so it gets wet when the shower is used.

3. No electricity in the bathroom to use a hair dryer or curling iron, that I could find.

4. No counter in the bathroom, just a sink connected to the wall. No where to put your clothes when showering. No where to set down a makeup bag or other items, except the sink.

5. The room does not have a thermostat that can be adjusted by guests. And the ventilation in the room is horrible. Unless you keep the window open, the room gets quickly gets hot and stuffy. And if the window is open you hear airport noise all night.

6. Our room came with a voucher to Gorm's restaurant, which we assumed would be where we would eat dinner. However, there is no Gorm's restaurant in Billund! It was impossible to use the voucher! Why is it even offered?

7. I wanted to call the front desk to ask a question. But there was no phone in the room and nothing to show the number of the front desk! The phone number for Zleep Billund on my confirming email actually rings to another town and they had to transfer me to the Billund front desk! I explained my situation and asked for the direct phone number of the hotel in Billund, in case I had additional questions, and they would not give it to me. They said you need to call the regional number as they don't want people calling the hotel directly. !!! That is the worst customer service I have ever heard of … that people staying in the hotel can't even call down to the front desk if they need something.

8. When arriving at the hotel, you can't check in at a reception desk. They have an automated check-in machine. During a pandemic, checking in on a touch-screen seems unhealthy. (Perhaps someone cleans the machine after each customer? I didn't see anyone clean the machine after I used it.) Additionally, the machine dispenses only one room key card, so if you want a second you need to ask the lobby attendant. So I see no advantage to having this kind of check-in.

9. The pillows were terrible. Like empty sacks.

10. The two twin mattresses are pushed together to make one large bed. There's not enough space in the room to separate them. This could be a very uncomfortable situation, in more ways than one.

In summary, good location, comfortable mattress. But nothing else in this hotel provides a good experience for the guest.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Dudat, Gæsteservice/reception at Zleep Hotel Billund
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, Thanks for your review on your recent stay at Zleep Hotel Billund. We work hard to make our guests happy and we appreciate your feedback. I'm very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. Can you please send me your name and reservation number? I would like to check which room you had booked for your stay, we have 4 different kind of rooms. During Covid19 we offer hand sanitiser everywhere in the lobby, breakfast area and our check in machines to keep our guests and staff safe. I'm sorry that you didn't see anyone cleaning the check in screens. In our daily rutines, they are getting cleaned everytime a guest checkes in. At the moment we have decided that the safest way for guests and staff to check in is on the machines. So we can keep the distance bc. of safety reasons during COVID19. Again I'm very sorry about this experience. Please send us your reservation number and we will take a look at this situation. Thank you for helping us getting better. Best regards, Front desk, Denise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenn wrote a review Oct 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Convenient location, just a few hundred metres from the terminal. The staff were professional and extremely helpful.
The room is compact, however for 1 or 2 nights this isn't a problem.
Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Denise Dudat, Gæsteservice/reception at Zleep Hotel Billund
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We hope to see you Again another time. Best regards, Zleep Hotel Billund, Denise
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daisy_May wrote a review Jul 2020
Blackpool, United Kingdom45 contributions10 helpful votes
Overnight at the airport in Zleep.
Quick check in at front desk late at night. No problem
Slept OK in bed.
Basic, clean, tidy room.
Essential facilities in little girls room.
Breakfast filling of typical buffet.
Good for the price.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebekka Ladefoged Rasmussen, Gæsteservice/reception at Zleep Hotel Billund
Responded 12 Aug 2020
Dear Daisy Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Zleep Hotel Billund. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a descriptions of the hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you again. Best Regards, Zleep Hotel Billund, Front office manager, Rebekka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyman L wrote a review Feb 2020
Perth, Australia1,207 contributions179 helpful votes
We stayed for 2 nights in October 2019. We picked Zleep hotel during our visit to Billund due to the close proximity to the airport. Do note that even though it is only 5min walk from the airport to the hotel, the whole walkway is not sheltered so if it rains, it will get wet. As we were in Bullind for LEGO house and LEGOLand, both were walkable from the hotel (40min). However there were also shuttlebuses at the airport travelling to LEGOLand throughout the day.

Check-in was fast and via a kiosk so after-hours check-in wasn't a problem or if the front desk was unattended. Room was basic (no mini-fridge) but clean. As mentioned by other viewers, the shower floor area wasn't defined, so the whole bathroom floor will get wet during shower. There is limited dining options at the hotel or the airport however at the bar, the staff can provide a menu of an external italian resturant that will deliver the meal to the hotel. Payment will be made to the delivery person (cas and card payment options). We did not opt for breakfast at the hotel and fortunately we didn't as it looked pretty basic as well.

There was a small and sufficient gym. Overall suffiicient for a short stay. What could be better is if there was a convenience store selling basic neccesities.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebekka Ladefog... R, Receptionschef at Zleep Hotel Billund
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Dear Sir. Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Zleep Hotel Billund. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. At the moment we are looking in to other options for our food. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a full descriptions of the hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we will see you again. Have a nice day. Best Regards, Zleep Hotel Billund, Front office manager, Rebekka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidenhill wrote a review Jan 2020
Birmingham47 contributions18 helpful votes
This hotel is very close to the airport terminal so is ideal for an overnight stop. It is very clean and modern without any frills at all. One member of staff was on checkin and there were 2 terminals for self check in. It still took too long as there was a long queue. I used the self check in which required you to type in so much details; home address in full, passport number, and even credit card number.

The room was so basic absolutely no frills but was clean. Breakfast was also very simple bread pastries cereals coffee with little choice. If you wanted a cooked breakfast then you could boil your self and egg. Breakfast is 99dk and I found I could have got better value at the airport.
There is also no parking at the hotel only a 20minute drop off area. Parking is using the airport parking.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rebekka Ladefog... R, Receptionschef at Zleep Hotel Billund
Responded 2 Feb 2020
Dear Sir. Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Zleep Hotel Billund. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a full descriptions of the hotel. Have a nice weekend. Best Regards, Zleep Hotel Billund, Front office manager, Rebekka
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous