We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Le Mas de la Tannerie

Room/Suite (7)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
... not have been any more charming and welcoming to us. The room was exceptionally clean, the bed very comfy, lovely and cool...
... staff and basic hotel services such as access to waste bins, room cleaning, general assistance, and a laundry list of unspoken...
... The decor is stunning, we stayed one night in a small room on the first floor and the other nights in the black and...
Featured room amenities
Housekeeping
Iron
Air conditioning
Family Rooms
Complimentary Toiletries
Wake Up Service / Alarm Clock
See all room amenities (8)

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
vharris86 wrote a review Jun 2018
London, United Kingdom3 contributions
Just returned from an amazing 4 day trip to Mas de la Tannerie and felt compelled to write a review (normally never do this!) after reading some previous reviews myself before going.

This is a truly beautiful boutique style hotel, with warm, welcoming owners who run a very smart and chic establishment.

We were welcomed with a glass of wine after a long day travelling, last minute changes to extending out stay were accommodated at short notice, and the hosts could not have been any more charming and welcoming to us.

The room was exceptionally clean, the bed very comfy, lovely and cool in the evening and a great powerful shower with local products to use. Everything had been thought of - towels for the pool, hair dryers, and tea and coffee with homemade biscuits.

The breakfast was so delicious too - local produce and plenty of yummy croissants, bread and fruit etc.

The pool is beautiful and surrounding gardens are wonderful. Their is an honesty bar stocked with yummy wines, beers, soft drinks and this works very well. We never felt like there were "rules" and we treated the place as our home for four days, and didnt ever feel unwelcome or intrusive.

We honestly could not recommend this hotel anymore, it was a fabulous stay and a great find in the Luberon / Gordes area.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: All looked wonderful !
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Bonni T wrote a review Jun 2018
3 contributions7 helpful votes
Our experience here was very poor to say the least. The biggest red flags that should steer anyone clear from this property include a racist owner who verbally assaulted us, an unprofessional operation lacking staff and basic hotel services such as access to waste bins, room cleaning, general assistance, and a laundry list of unspoken “rules” and expectations that are not communicated to you beforehand. When you break any of these surprise “rules” you will then be scolded like a child, and subjected to belligerent diatribes, locked out of community areas, and denied basic hotel requests such as the need for an additional towel, ice, etc. In addition, there was no access to Wi-Fi, even though it’s advertised as an amenity on their booking site. The antagonistic temperment of the owner, however, was completely unacceptable, and quite frankly appalling.

You will notice some themes in other travelers’ reviews, which we experienced as well: a confrontational host exhibiting verbal aggression, pettiness, “rules” made up on the spot, and punishment doled out for not following these “rules.” Guests generally feel unwelcome and uncomfortable when confronted with her uncontrollable temper, and ultimately (not surprisingly) disappointed in their stay. I agree wholeheartedly with the other travelers’ experiences, and wished I had taken the time to do more research before booking our stay here.

The uncomfortable feelings aside, by far the most upsetting part of our stay was the racism exhibited by the owner. She referred to my partner an "uneducated European" dozens of times during our stay because he is Turkish. (For example, when we told her her we weren’t aware her policy of no outside food and beverages- including bottled water in the privacy of your own room- she condescendingly responded, “Educated Europeans are aware of these things.” For the record, my partner has a PhD in economics. The way she treated him in particular was very hurtful and sad, and it’s unacceptable in this day and age to encounter such an ignorant individual, especially one whose profession is in the hospitality industry.

The property is certainly appealing based on the photographs, and is lush and green, but there are a dozen others just like it in the area run by experienced, kind people who are happy to have you as a guest. I will spare all the other grossly inappropriate details of our stay, but all in all, I certainly do not recommend this place.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2018Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Claudine000 wrote a review Jul 2017
London, United Kingdom26 contributions69 helpful votes
Puzzled about the few somehow unjust reviews from customers that may have expected five star amenities, I feel compelled to write about our experience at La Mas De La Tannerie.

First thing first, this is not a hotel. This is a labour of love of two very house proud and extremely friendly people that have a beautiful property, which they treat with lots of care. Every detail oozes love and care, and has been placed there for a reason. It is therefore not for everyone, especially not for those that in a small village in the heart of the picturesque and quaint Luberon Valley expect either a Pierre et Vacances type of holiday, where they can booze all night on a terrace or a Relais and Chateaux type of experience where they will be served throughout the day.

This is a luxury and quiet romantic B&B , set in beautiful surroundings. The house has rules, but then again as a well-mannered guest in anyone's house (even your friend's), you would make sure that those house rules are observed, right ? That may suit some people and suit others. Personally, we had zero problems with that.

Now, back to the property and rooms. Very beautifully done, and very clean. The decor is stunning, we stayed one night in a small room on the first floor and the other nights in the black and white room which is very tastefully done .The breakfast is generous and truly delicious and Hanne and Gilles make great hosts. They gave us loads of good tips and we spent our days exploring the truly gorgeous surrounding villages and the most amazing restaurants where you can eat incredible food.

If you are an experienced traveller, you should know exactly what your are looking for. We got exactly what we expected , and had a truly memorable week end. We would like to thank our hosts again for their hospitality and an unforgettable experience.

We will back for sure!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Bradfroth wrote a review Jul 2017
Melbourne, Australia40 contributions21 helpful votes
After much anticipation to arrive in such a beautiful town, we were let down by a terrible experience. Prior to our arrival, we were promised a 'light dinner' on our first night due to our late arrival (by Hannah via email). Upon arrival, that didn't happen. When I asked Hannah's husband when he would like us for dinner, Gilles responded 'No, that's impossible', we don't provide dinner for anyone. In the end we went into town for dinner. (We have no problem with that, it just would have been good to know from the beginning).

When we arrived in our room, it was fairly small and dark, however the biggest issue was the bed. It was not comfortable at all and we didn't sleep well. Not ideal given we booked for 4 nights and paid 220 Euros per night.

Hannah and Gilles have a lovely pool setup. They even have a kitchen with 2 fridges. One of them is fully stocked with drinks and there are some chips on the bench. All food and drink are available to purchase which we were notified of when we arrived and were given the tour of the property.

On the third day we went into town and purchased some local produce and some beers so that we could sit outside our room and have a cheese platter and a few beers. We love doing that sort of thing during our vacations. We find it relaxing and it means we can have a nice restaurant meal during the day and then a cost effective and easy meal at our accommodation of a night (or vice versa). While we were enjoying our dinner, we invited Hannah to join us to sample some beers. Hannah joined us and seemed to enjoy the company and the beers.

The next night (being our final night), we again bought home some local cheese and cold meats for dinner along with a few beers, exactly as we had done the day before. While I was sitting in our room, my wife went to put the beers in the fridge. Hannah pulled my wife aside and in an extremely rude an condescending manner advised her that we were not to eat our own food and beverage in sight of other guests, 'because people don't like to see other people eat'. Hannah's demanded that if we wanted to eat/drink then we could go to a designated area. Hannah then took my wife into an overgrown corner of the property with a bench in the middle of it and advised that this was the picnic area, even though they hadn't yet finished completing the picnic area.That is just bizarre.

If we were fully informed of the numerous 'rules' upon check in (or on the website prior to booking), none of these issues would have been encountered. It is unfortunate that this attitude left us feeling unwelcome.

To be clear, if the initial arrangement was for us not to bring food/drink into the accommodation we would be fine with that, but that should be communicated from the beginning and made clear. There is nothing on the website do to with bringing in food/drink. The fact that you joined us the night before make this situation very confusing!

Interestingly, Hannah also stated that she 'is not paid to empty bins full of other people's beer bottles'. My opinion is that when you are paying 220 Euros per night, emptying the bins is a fairly basic expectation of the guests. Additionally, I dare say that emptying the bins would have not been a problem if we were purchasing beers from the host's fridge.

The worst thing about this situation is the way it was handled. Hannah was very rude. Hannah said that other people 'don't want to see you eat'...then why provide chips for people to (purchase &) eat around the pool. Hannah said that she is not paid to empty the bins, yet she provides bottled alcohol/beer for people to (purchase &) consume...where are these bottles meant to go? It seems the only issue is people consuming their own products? It was ridiculous that after Hannah spoke to my wife she then removed the poolside bin so there was no where to put any other beer bottles.

We don't recommend this accommodation as a good place to stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2017Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Hanne b, Propriétaire at Le Mas de la Tannerie
Responded 9 Jul 2017
I have been reading your comments, and I will try to be as honest as I can: You have wanted to put your opinion on Trip advisor, it is your right! Nowadays it becomes a way of getting away of your frustrations , instead of talking directly with people when something goes wrong ... First of all we want to apologize for the evening of your arrival: I was out of the property , my husband who took care of the check in didn't Know about my promise about a light dinner... and his English is not so well ,he simply just misunderstood your question . When I came back , you had already left , so I just thought that you had changed your mind about a light dinner and that you just wanted to explore Gordes by night . you should have asked me the next day while we were giving you all our tips about places to explore in our beautiful Provence ! Next point, and maybe the most important to us, I want to talk about. I profit of this occasion to tell everyone who might be interested in staying in LE MAS DE LA TANNERIE : we are not a GÎTE with private Kitchen We are a private boutique Hotel in a beautiful surrounding , we only have 5 rooms.. We serve a very nice and organic breakfast for our guest in the morning... The rest of the day , most of our guests explore the region or relax by the pool In the pool house we have a self-service fridge with cool drinks and water and some snacks and ice cream... we trust people to note down on a paper and pay for their consommation before leaving. Every evening we propose apéritif platters between 6pm and 8 pm.. If you want to have dinner, we ask you to tell us in the morning while taking your breakfast...we only use fresh products! In all our rooms you can read that we don't accept pique-nique inside the property... or any conservation of food in the rooms due to the hygiene Convening ALCOHOL it is very difficult to control the consommation of our guests... The only thing that we really want is , that They don't abuse. This is very difficult to control if we let our guests bring their private alcohol in to the property. Now I want to comment the sad situation with our Australian hôtes miss Alice Armstrong and her friend: It was a very complicated situation for me, because I didn't understand the situation from the beginning... in fact when you are talking about "having some beers" , and in reality you are sitting alone watching your smartphone outside your room drinking the whole night while your girlfriend is sleeping, and the next day counting the bottles (17...) I understood that you might have a problem with alcohol, that you were more than a "normal" drinker ... In fact the second evening when you asked me to join you to make a blind test Of your beer .. I accepted because I wanted to be nice ... and first of all I thought it would be an exception! The next day when I saw you coming back With bags plenty of food, chips and Several packs of beer... I told you that it was an exception the day before... And that I couldn't continue to let you drink and eat I front of the other guests! I showed Alice a place to sit if you really wanted to drink and eat.... it was a horrible situation for me, because we never want to be unfriendly. you forgot to tell that I also washed all your clothes, and you also forgot to say thanks... that would have been normal education.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy C wrote a review Mar 2017
New York City, New York3 contributions2 helpful votes
The property is gorgeous and stylish, every corner of the property is instagrammable. We stayed at the B&B last year for two nights, paid over 550 euros for the total stay, not a small sum but still we left with an uncomfortable feeling.

Normally I would give this place an exceptional 5 stars just for its architectural beauty. However, if you would like to stay here, you should know that the house has many rules, which you'll be presented with a list in your room. No picnic on the grass, no eating by the pool, no throwing toilet paper in the toilet....etc. The list of rules will be on the back of the bathroom door and also on your reading desk if you miss it! Then we found out there are more no nos, which includes, no eating breakfast other than where it's served and babies are not really welcome (it was whispered in french).

I understand that its because the hosts are the owners of the property, so they feel very protective of their routines. And all the rules are meant to keep the property tidy. However, ultimately I feel like I was visiting my mean aunt's beautiful house and were about to be scolded for touching stuff the whole time. I've never felt this way while staying at a B&B anywhere and I am a great guest! I almost wish I could just deal with a hired help instead of the owners themselves.

One might want to consider this before you book, otherwise the property is a gem.

P.s. Internet is only available in the main house (where they live), so no internet in your room pretty much. And cute dog, didn;t smell. We were petting it during breakfast
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: September 2016Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: I would get the one with terrace on the ground floor, gorgeous view to the yard.
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
12