We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Wynnstay Arms by Marston's Inns

Room/Suite (13)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Room review highlights
We stayed one night in a double room for a business trip. Room : No 12 needs a lick of paint as plaster was chipped all over...
... was lovely too! The rooms are decent sized as are the en-suite bathrooms. when I came back from lunch my bed was made and...
... Book through booking.com for us it was £5 cheaper. Room clean and small. Plenty of towels. Small TV. In centre of...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Wanony wrote a review Mar 2020
North London142 contributions63 helpful votes
We stayed one night in a double room for a business trip.

Room :
No 12 needs a lick of paint as plaster was chipped all over the place . Cleaning standard was 6 / 10 with finger nails and dust around. There was black mold on the bathroom ceiling. Loo roll holder was broken. The shower hose was disgusting and filthy. Bed and linen was good. Hand soap was of decent quality. There were lots of sockets including bedside. Little shelves by the bed was useful.

Reception and check in :
Friendly and efficient, got me more teabags immediately - there was only ONE in a double room! Free and convenient parking.

Breakfast :
Stale bread to toast ourselves, the individual little portion of Marmite was open and already used (yuck!), no service for cooked breakfast - I had to go and get a waitress. I had to ask for teaspoons at the bar as there was none by the Made Your Own Tea in a Mug area - expected to use my fingers in the boiling liquid? No teaspoons to eat the yoghurt either! The actual cooked breakfast was passable.

It gets a three star rating for the reception service.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Danielle wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights! Great value considering it’s location. Friendly staff. Food is delicious! I went into town for lunch but ended up coming back for food as it’s cheaper than most of the places around and I’m so glad I did! Sandwich was lovely and my dinner was lovely too! The rooms are decent sized as are the en-suite bathrooms. when I came back from lunch my bed was made and teas and coffees all stocked up :) Definitely will be back to stay in a few weeks time!
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from WynnstayArmsWrexham, Manager at Wynnstay Arms by Marston's Inns
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Thank you Danielle for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddy wrote a review Jan 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom1,815 contributions606 helpful votes
Very difficult to find car park. Stairs in reception so not wheelchair friendly.
Book through booking.com for us it was £5 cheaper.

Room clean and small.
Plenty of towels.
Small TV.

In centre of Wrexham. Pub food available but only OK, not wow.

Bus station 300 yards away.
Railway 900 yards.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from WynnstayArmsWrexham, Manager at Wynnstay Arms by Marston's Inns
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge that our car park can be difficult to locate which is why we include an alternative postcode on our online travel agent pages to assist guests and our team is happy to provide navigation to anyone who needs it. We hope this didn't disrupt your stay too much. Please be advised, although we have stairs in our reception area, we also have a portable disabled ramp for guests who require it. And, we will always try our best to match the price of an alternative agent if you decide to book direct. We hope this helps in future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnmcintosh50 wrote a review Jan 2020
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom13 contributions14 helpful votes
Hotel could do with a complete refit including replacement carpets as they are dirty and stained in places . Walls also stained , chipped and dirty. Lift is so old and creaks and could do with a good clean . Bedding and furniture needs replacing . Food has to be eaten in the bar which has a very limited menu with mostly chain food ! Bedrooms drab with spare furnishings piled on top of what is described as a wardrobe . Power points limited and not conveniently placed . Tea and coffee not refilled and kettle dirty. Iron and ironing board has to be collected from downstairs reception , no offer of help to take it back up several floors. Ironing board falling to pieces also . One of the worse places I’ve ever stayed in . Good point is free car parking and good location . Bar Is nicely fitted bright and clean . Not value for money at all so can’t compete with basic Band B
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from TheWynnstayArms, Manager at Wynnstay Arms by Marston's Inns
Responded 20 Jan 2020
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay with us, we're sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable visit. We recognise that some of our rooms are in need of some TLC. This is why we are undergoing a significant cosmetic revamp this year to bring those rooms back up to a great standard and improve guest comfort. We also apologise if there was miscommunication on your visit as we do not prevent guests from taking food to their room, it is just that we do not offer room service. Please be assured, your comments regarding the level of housekeeping have been discussed with our team to work on improvement in these areas. We're sorry you were not offered assistance in carrying the ironing board, it may been this was an oversight as most people tend to use the lift, we will definitely make sure our reception team are making this consideration for all our guests. We apologise for your experience and hope that you would consider staying with us again, especially after the significant cosmetic work we are carrying out later this year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreacommerford@gmail.com wrote a review Jan 2020
Conwy, United Kingdom23 contributions9 helpful votes
price started at £60 a night,on booking became £80. Was given the wrong key to the room at reception, the room 104 stank of urine & there was a suspicious looking stain on the chair under the dresser,we found hairs in the bathroom on the wall in plain sight, not something we went looking for, we asked for the use of a hairdryer, by the time the receptionist returned to the room my hair was dry, no hairdryer only the excuse that "people steal them, I don't have one for you to use". The windowsill in the bedroom was covered in black mold & mildew & so was the bath, the shower curtain was the same. It's a double room with only 1 mug for a brew & no glasses for water.
The pillow left my partner with neck pain for the following 2 days & people were smoking in rooms, this was reported to reception but I do not believe anything was done about it.
The meal in the restaurant was a burnt burger that was also very poorly presented.
The following morning (new years day) the waitress, possibly struggling from the night before completely messed up the breakfast order & then we checked out, I tried to make the female receptionist that we were not happy, we did not even get an apology & she was very clearly disinterested in anything I had to say, with this I did not waste my time or efforts making her aware of all this.
ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING AND DISAPPOINTING for a special night of the year, or indeed any night. AVOID, GO ANYWHERE JUST NOT HERE.
Read more
Read less
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from WynnstayArmsWrexham, Manager at Wynnstay Arms by Marston's Inns
Responded 23 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We're sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, it is clear that your room was not up to standard. We appreciate your honesty and our team is working hard to rectify all the issues you've raised, including re-training. As the member of staff on duty checking you out, I am sorry that you felt I was disinterested, after I had asked what was wrong when you had informed me your room "was not the best" and given you an apology. If you would like to discuss things further, please contact us directly on 01978 291010. Again, our sincerest apologies.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous