We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel

Room/Suite (7)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
eDreams
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/04/21
Priceline
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/04/21
Booking.com
US$55
View deal
Free cancellation until 19/04/21
Agoda.comUS$55
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Room review highlights
... this place is one to miss. We were "upgraded" to a ten bed room from a four bed. Although initially it looked clean on...
I booked a room that would suit the needs of my disabled wife and 2 children, I then received an email a week before my booking...
... at that time he ensured it would be open by 7 instead. Room was what you expected and included an en-suite....
Featured room amenities
Suites
Laundry Service
Internet
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Non-smoking hotel

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Paul L wrote a review Mar 2020
Wexford, Ireland74 contributions25 helpful votes
I dont put up a lot of negative reviews here. But this place is one to miss. We were "upgraded" to a ten bed room from a four bed. Although initially it looked clean on closer quarters it was quite dirty. With furls of dust and hair on pipes. The stairs was a death trap with some of the steps sloping away. The window handle broke off leaving the window neither open or closed. The room was freezing and for some reason tge radiator wasnt working. The shower was tiny and was stuck together with tape. There was no fire escape from our room and I would consider the place to actually be a death trap. The window barely opened and the area it is in is very run down and certainly not one to encourage tourists. I dont mind roughing it but this was way beyond that

If in Plymouth avoid this one like the plague. You might actually get it if you stay.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
tomju1 wrote a review Jul 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom3 contributions
I booked a room that would suit the needs of my disabled wife and 2 children, I then received an email a week before my booking telling me the room was not available due to plumbing issues (this seems to be a recurring theme .. see previous reviews). I agreed to a new room in the hotel with 3 flights of stairs due to the short notice and very little other option. On arrival we were shocked to see the police arresting people on the road by the hotel and what appeared to be alcoholics / drug addicts around the premises. There was a bin spilling rubbish all over the street opposite the main entrance. The receptionist told us there were two rules, 'don't smoke in your room and no alcohol', I thought this was a strange greeting to a hotel. My wife made it up the very steep stairs with great difficulty to the top of the hotel. We were shocked with how dirty and smelly the hotel is, the carpets are worn and it smelt of smoke in the corridors. There was a pair of old pants on the roof outside the window. The room was not as described they said six beds and it was four. The room was very basic and the two bunk beds were very unsteady. I did not feel this was an appropriate safe place for my family to stay, and it was nothing like as described. We left without staying the night. No refund offered. General manager very unhelpful.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, General Manager at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 30 Jul 2019
Very sorry that you felt this way. I did try to help on the phone by explaining that I was not permitted to refund any money without permission from the owner. I explained that if you put everything in an email I would personally make sure that you received a response. When you asked me why you needed to write an email, I explained it was because it would go to the owner to decide if the situation warranted a refund. Plus your reasons were increasing by the minute and I wanted to make sure you had everything in writing. First it was because you were under the impression that you were in a ground floor apartment, then when I found the email we sent you eight days prior to your arrival that we had an issue with the apartment and could offer you a full refund or a room at the hotel on the third floor, you changed your excuse to our stairs having no bannister rails. Unfortunately this was another falsehood as all our stairs have bannister rails, and when I explained this to you, you proceeded to come out with further excuses. Personally I got the feeling that things were being exagerated in order to garner a refund, hence the reason for asking you to put everything in an email. We are a city centre Hostel and I'm sure you will agree that most city centres do have citizens that you wouldn't want to share your home with? I am not going to deny that we are any different but as for police arresting people in the streets on your arrival, alchoholics and drug addicts around our premises I'm afraid that this is another created image in order to strengthen your case. To be honest, it started to sound like an episode of Starsky and Hutch. All the staff go out of the way to greet guests and again another exageration to paint a negative picture. I have never heard anybody being greeted with 'don't smoke in your room and no alchohol', this is one of our rules but we do start at the very least with a "hello" and check our guests in before explaining the house rules. Our stairs are normal for any staircase I have ever seen and are no steeper than normal, so again yet another exageration. Carpets are not brand new but are cleaned daily and so are our rooms. As we don't allow smoking in the hotel, I find it hard to see how it smelt of smoke. Our bunk beds are checked routinely and we would have been happy to have looked at them for you if you had mentioned this at the time, unfortunately you didn't. On a lighter note I have not seen any old pants on the roof but can assure you that if I had I would have replaced them with a new pair :)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F wrote a review May 2019
Poole, United Kingdom2 contributions
Turned up 10 minutes before they closed up for the night. Owner was friendly and very helpful. We were told breakfast started at 8, but when the owner discovered we were leaving at that time he ensured it would be open by 7 instead.

Room was what you expected and included an en-suite. Particularly enjoyed the random duvet covers including mine of Union J.

Only issues were a plug socket not working in the room.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Winter wrote a review Feb 2019
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Booked for an overnight stay for my birthday due to the amazingly low price (booked 2 rooms for 8 people) came to roughly £13 each. We were heading out for the night so just needed somewhere close by to crash.
First impression wasn't great as we stood around not knowing how to get in as no one answered the door. After paying (£27 for myself due to charges not specified when booked) we were shown to our rooms which were expectidly bog standard and were told to EACH pay £20 deposit incase we were loud coming in which is in my opinion absurd considering the amount the rooms cost. Clearly, the owner (whom we never met) is keen to get what they can out of us.
My brother ended up unexpectedly staying in a spare bed in our room after the night out. We were moved due to plumbing issues into a room with 6 beds. We decided in the morning to explain he had nowhere to stay and we are more than happy to pay for his stay but we were well made VERY aware in the morning that we would lose the totalled £80 deposit for his stay which as being uni students we cannot afford.
We were also made aware that we were loud in the morning which seems to me not possible as we slept until 9/10am to be out by 11am and spent the morning collecting our things (hungover). I feel as we are aged 19-25 we were taken advantage of and rinsed of our cash. I Will never stay here again, waste of money and quite frankly due to rude staff really put a downer on my birthday.
All In all cost me almost £50 to stay in a stretching 3 star hostel. Wish id gone with an air bnb.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: February 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Lee W, General Manager at Plymouth Backpackers Hotel
Responded 23 Oct 2019
Hi. Thanks for your feedback. Hungover is a clue to your appalling behaviour, but don’t worry about having to make the decision that you would never revisit us as I can assure you that you never will be allowed to stay with us again. Your attitudes and drunken behaviour were disgusting and I would warn any Air bnb about letting you stay at any of their establishments. Regards, Lee
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seagull Ross wrote a review Oct 2018
London, United Kingdom550 contributions42 helpful votes
I spend christmas at plymouth and this place was a really good deal, lucky nobody else show up then i had the room just for me making my stay much better and relaxing. Thank you very much for the information about the city
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Traveled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Previous