We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Room/Suite (397)
Lowest prices for your stay
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
US$95
US$82
View Deal
SAVE US$13
Free cancellation until 31/10/20
Booking.com
US$90
View Deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/20
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$91
eDreamsUS$90
Trip.comUS$95
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... it was not an issue and you don't hear it from inside your room. We had a quiet sleep both nights. I'm not sure why there...
... because of Covid, the bar and restaurant were closed. The room was lovely. Big,dark wood furniture. King size bed with a...
... It would of been a nice touch if they had some sort of room service but that was missing aswell. Over all I would say 3...
Most popular question about the rooms
Is there tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms?
Answer from Mariaschefer
Jul 2016 |
No, there is complimentary in lobby. But if you want it in room they charge 5 dollars

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Amy M wrote a review 12 Oct
Vancouver, Canada29 contributions6 helpful votes
This is a great place to stay during COVID! We went with friends and were able to easily spend time together with our dogs spaced out on the shared deck overlooking the river. The rooms were cute, comfortable and clean. While there is some distant traffic noise on the river side, it was not an issue and you don't hear it from inside your room. We had a quiet sleep both nights.

I'm not sure why there would be a need for a safe, but we requested a mini fridge. Easy!

We met three staff members and all were helpful and friendly.

I definitely want to check it out in the summer, but it was super cool staying in October and watching so many eagles hunt salmon with our morning coffee. Bring your camera!

There is so much to do: eagle watch, fish, visit the horses/sheep/goats/llamas, take a bike ride, hike up into the mountain, golf. We didn't have time to check out local wineries just down the road but we'll be sure to do that next time.

I wish the hot tub and pool were warmer, but understand it is likely an extra cost and wasteful when there aren't a ton of people wanting to use it right now. A designated off-leash area would be a nice plus too :)
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Sheth, General Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great time. If you want total silence next time ask for a mountain/golf course room. You may think you lost your hearing. Thank you for mentioning our friendly and welcoming staff. Glenda, our executive Housekeeper, and her team is glad you mentioning the clean room. Hot tub temperature is set at the maximum allowed by the local health authorities. We sure will consider the idea of having an off-leash area for pets in our next management meeting. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcy M wrote a review Aug 2020
Victoria, Canada79 contributions21 helpful votes
We stayed here one night and really enjoyed it. You need to know this Inn is about 15-20min east of Kamloops. On driving through the grounds, the place is reminiscent of an old Kentucky Inn. Part of the field hold horses, and part of the neighbouring golf course.
There was a rack of bicycles for the hotel guests to use. Sadly because of Covid, the bar and restaurant were closed.
The room was lovely. Big,dark wood furniture. King size bed with a very comfortable mattress. There was a desk, and a couch with coffee table near to the patio doors. Shared balconies. Our room was facing the river, well landscaped, and overlooking the pool area. The pool is fenced. Plenty of chairs, and loungers for poolside.
Our room had a separate bathroom area, with sink and countertop separate from the toilet and the tub/shower. Good water pressure too! We will stay here again if we return to Kamloops area.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Sheth, General Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a detailed and descriptive review on Trip Advisor. Our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great time. Happy to hear that you found our beds comfortable. Love that you would stay with us when in Kamloops, our whole team takes that as a huge compliment. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsa M wrote a review Aug 2020
Vancouver, Canada1 contribution
Its basically just a sleeper Inn. There's no safety box, theres no fridge in the rooms and no coffee maker. It would of been a nice touch if they had some sort of room service but that was missing aswell. Over all I would say 3 stars. 4 stars is way too much for this hotel.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Sheth, General Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Responded 1 week ago
This is a review we don’t get often. I am sorry to hear you did not find us 4 star Inn as most of our other guests do. We do have fridges and microwave available on request. We do not have coffee makers in our room but can always brew fresh coffee and bring it to your room on request. Due to Covid19 and the need to social distance we have ordered coffee makers for all our rooms. Didn’t want to as I prefer fresh Lavazza coffee and real cream but times change and we are changing with them. Next time if you decide to stay with us, please do ask our front desk team for what you want and if possible you will get it
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tedstravelblogs wrote a review Jul 2020
Vancouver, Canada364 contributions860 helpful votes
With a commanding presence on the north shore of the South Thompson River the location of this rambling low-rise ranch-style conference hotel is peerless, and the accommodations are; well, adequate. This was an overnight family stay on the way to Wells Gray Park and, along with favourable TA ratings, its proximity to the BC Wildlife Park was the primary attraction for us. However, the property is a veteran of many campaigns that is not without flaws and does not offer too much to the passing traveller.

The good: the long drive through the hotel’s sprawling Kentucky-ranch paddocks to the river-front accommodations made a favourable first impression which was reinforced by the splendid outlook from our river view rooms – or more particularly from the expansive communal veranda that the riverfront rooms open on to. We had two connected rooms which were both clean, spacious, in a good state of repair, moderately well appointed and reasonably comfortable. Most things expected were there and most of what there was worked as expected. The Deluxe King River View suite (20) bed was comfortable, the linens crisp and clean and the pillows plentiful and adequate. The two queens in our adjoining Queen River View room (18) were similarly comfortable but the décor was a star down market and the bathroom more compact. Both bathrooms were well-lit, adequately-equipped; the water supply was hot and strong and the towels plush and plentiful. The included parking was close by the hotel entrance. The included Wifi connected easily and worked well on all our devices and there were plenty of power outlets scatted around the rooms. We only came across one staff member – at reception – during our stay and he was hospitable, helpful and efficient. Overall, the property answers to the lower end of three stars.

The not so good: there was no safe or refrigerator in either of our rooms. The décor and furnishings in the King suite were an eclectic collection of rustic and faux-antique that looked to be the issue of numerous makeovers. The Queen room was, as noted, a star or so inferior. The only natural light to the rooms was through the relatively narrow glass door to the communal veranda. Said door was mirror glazed for privacy which further compromised the ingress of natural light. It also means that at night the mirror glazing effect reversed so there was zero privacy unless the somewhat utilitarian blind was fully lowered. There are no insect screens on the doors, so they needed to stay closed and the air conditioning is noisy even at the lowest setting. Whatever, if you discard the privacy and leave the door open to the insect world you will be entertained by the persistent and intrusive traffic and train noise emanating from the south side of the river. Either the TV or the remote control in the King suite was malfunctioning so we could only get CBC News or a menu screen no matter what we did. It worked in the other room so we were doing something right. There were no staff around to contact and we were only there for a night so gave up on it.

The annoying: OK, so the whole country is still emerging from the Covid shutdown but there was no mention when we reserved the rooms that the hotel’s food service was still in total lockdown. Thus, no meals – dinner, breakfast or anything else – full stop. No bottled water was provided and none was available – although there was a soda machine right outside our door – so we resorted to the tap water. The hotel is 20 minutes or so out of Kamloops with nothing in the way of dining options anywhere nearby once you get beyond the adjoining golf club, which we did for breakfast – but only after 11:00AM.

The upshot: we won’t be back but it’s probably a fair option for conferences or adventurous travellers when the food service comes out of intensive care.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2020
Room Tip: River view rooms have the outlook but scrub the privacy
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Sheth, General Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Well I happy reading the first part of your review especially the good part, not so much later on. We have never had fridges or safes in our rooms but a fridge and microwave are available upon request. Room 20 is one of our most popular rooms. We don’t purchase our furniture from “all the same hotel suppliers” We purchased from Bombay, Ashley, etc. to make every room unique. You had a river front room which does have some across the river noise at times. The mountain side will make you think you have lost your hearing I am sorry the TV or TV remote was not working properly. I appreciate you are not intending to return but hope you enjoys your next stay in Kamloops David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samson T wrote a review Jul 2020
Toronto, Canada87 contributions37 helpful votes
These days are not the best of times reviewing hotels and inns because all properties have cut down on their facilities and one could be unfair to the property simply because the guest did not get the complete experience.
Rohan was professional and called up to check our arrival time and arranged for a microwave in our room.
Parts of the hotel areas were out of bounds and yet coffee and tea was available in the morning.
The rooms are aging gently however the room clean and neat and although I would prefer a slightly firmer mattress, I slept well and woke up refreshed.
The bathroom is a bit old fashioned, but that is the character of the place.
The balcony or verandah is common for all the guests but it is a great place to sit and contemplate the beauty of this place.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Response from Rohan Sheth, General Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Responded 14 Aug 2020
Samson this is a difficult time for all of us and is perfect to get such a great understanding review. I appreciate you mentioning Rohan as he is the reason we are able to say open. Glenda our executive housekeeper does a great job keeping our property clean and more importantly safe. I am not sure we have firmer mattresses but if we do Glenda will know. Please ask next time you book with us. You are generous about the bathrooms. The countertops do need an update and were slated to start this year. How times have changed. David
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Previous

Questions & answers about the rooms

briandav12 asked a question Feb 2016
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
Is there tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms?
Answer from Mariaschefer
Jul 2016 |
No, there is complimentary in lobby. But if you want it in room they charge 5 dollars
1 vote
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1