We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

All You Need to Know About the Rooms
at Hotel Ambalika

Room/Suite (5)
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Room review highlights
... to make a good hotel. But they are far from professional. No room service, not even tea/ coffee served in room. For...
We visited this property on 10th-11th Aug'19. The room size and cleanliness was average but not up to the mark of the price they...
I booked two hotel room at this hotel on 24th July 2019 and my checkin date was 28th July 2019. Upon reaching the hotel, manager...

Reviews that mention rooms

Write a review
Abhijit1971_13 wrote a review Oct 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India16 contributions13 helpful votes
The hotel is located on main road. They tried to make a good hotel. But they are far from professional. No room service, not even tea/ coffee served in room. For breakfast you have to take buffet no choice. No tea coffee maker in room ( excuse given that it is defective and sent for repairing LOL)
There photos will give you impression of a good hotel but it will not tell you the story.
The swimming pool is a joke. A big tub with dirty water as people using it.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from GeneralM104, Manager at Hotel Ambalika
Responded 9 Oct 2019
Dear Sir, Really sorry for the way you felt. Some things you mentioned are spot on, however have been misrepresented. There was no mention of the misleading booking made by your self on Makemytrip where in a room was booked for 2 but 3 turned up. I totally understand your being upset as you were charged for the same however that is how it works. You were visibily upset that you never got a sea facing room however we never received a request for the same during booking. All said and done we are sorry fpor the way you felt and hope to better your experience next time.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweta Deb wrote a review Aug 2019
Kolkata (Calcutta), India18 contributions5 helpful votes
We visited this property on 10th-11th Aug'19. The room size and cleanliness was average but not up to the mark of the price they charge( 4250 per room ).
The food is also okay type and nothing exceptional.
Cons:
1. On reaching the hotel we were said our booking was for next day which was very shocking as I had already paid 50% of the amount and they confirmed the dates on watsapp message. I felt there was lack of communication here.We had to wait till they could come up for a room.
2. The staff need to be more trained or polite as though the check out time was later they hotel boy kept asking for the keys. We had to leave early and I said I will definitely handover keys after breakfast but not sure why he again came to restaurant and asked for the keys. He had already checked the room while he came to the room for taking the luggage out. I think there is lack of politeness and courtesy among the staff.
3. We have stayed in many hotels across the country and for buffet breakfast if we asked for omlet the staff always made the same, even catering to children who have it without chilli. Strangely this restaurant only served boiled eggs and said they cannot make omlet. They were very strict as to what they served on buffet was the only food available.

Overall we didn't have a very pleasant experience and wouldn't be staying again when we visit Digha.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: August 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Pulok Das wrote a review Jul 2019
1 contribution
I booked two hotel room at this hotel on 24th July 2019 and my checkin date was 28th July 2019. Upon reaching the hotel, manager denied our checkin saying that they donot accept online booking and there tieup with oyo has been terminated. When I asked them that why they didn't bother to call and infrom me prior to the checkin date, the manager arrogantly said it's not their duty to do that. Then I asked him to show the contract termination letter/email from OYO, to which he ask me to leave the hotel premise at earliest. I was stranded in middle of the road with my aged parents and wife for almost 1 hour searching for new hotel in the vicinity.
Never ever book hotel room in this hotel. They are cheat and money mongering goons. A guest who was staying in the same hotel said me that they don't accept online booking confirmation because they sell the room offline with twice the price of online. And he was the victim too.
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled with family
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
sudipto c wrote a review Jul 2019
Salt Lake City, West Bengal, India275 contributions85 helpful votes
Number of people stayed : 17 adults 2 Kids
Number of rooms booked : 8
Best of the Rooms booked : Room Number 207
Charges in all : 5000/ for 2 persons- (1 Night accommodation + 1 Dinner,1 Breakfast,2 Lunch,1 evening snack)

Pros : Rooms well decorated/neat and clean.Perfect Air conditioning,Perfect Wifi..Proper Door Locks.

Cons : Missing DTH - TV connection, No Toilet paper roll in any washroom,No Tooth Brush/Paste provided in the Basic Kit.Dirty Towels in some rooms.

Food :
Rice perfect, Dal perfect,Potato fries Perfect
Fish fry - Rs 350 for 2 pieces ABSOLUTE BOGUS
Mutton (Bengali Style) - ABSOLUTE BOGUS in taste..Smelly materials.. Quantity was handsome

Chicken (Bengali Style) - ABSOLUTE BOGUS in taste.. Quantity was handsome

Sweet (Gulab Jamun) Rs 35 per piece - too much price ..hence not tried

Chilly chicken - Ordinary in taste (even amateur home cooks will make better chilly chicken)Quantity was handsome.

Noodles - Ordinary in taste (even amateur home cooks will make better chilly chicken)Quantity was handsome.

Fried rice - Very very ordinary..absolute Bland taste.

Omelette - Rs 53 Very nice in taste.

Complimentary breakfast - Puri NICE , Ghoogny - like water and turmeric and oil mixed together and boiled , Boiled eggs - the only thing that was eatable. POHA - You will get better tasty POHA in Kolkata based Hospitals.
Omelette included in complimentary breakfast was cooked with rotten tomatoes and was half.

Snacks : Chicken Pokora - rubbery like chewing gum, should be named as BONE POKORA.

With tea, they were supposed to serve Cookies.. what we got was Plain Britannia Biscuit.. that too was out of stock.. they had to go out and fetch Biscuits..

Service - 30 Minutes to deliver Salt/Peper to table in rush hour.

30 minutes to get boiled eggs.. Number of waiters serving food to full house Amez Restaurant - 2 - you can well make out the time they will take.

Swimming Pool - Enjoyable place, but you can see insects swimming as well.

Not visiting again.. I have stayed at other hotels within same price range and they are far better in Food and service.

Location : Good .. 5 Minutes from beach /Railway Station/
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: 207 is possibly the best room
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helpful
Share
Abhisek B wrote a review Nov 2018
Kolkata (Calcutta), India4 contributions2 helpful votes
Hotel service is excellent ,5 minutes from sea beach,staff, manager, front desk all are so helpful and professional.Room are neat and clean like premium hotels. swimming pools also neat nd cleaned.superbe
Read more
Read less
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous