We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Birthday treat

Visited with my sister as a treat for our birthday. The spa and treatments were very good, staff... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Joann K
,
Braintree, United Kingdom
via mobile
Average spa day

My partner bought me a Groupon voucher for my birthday for a spa day for 2 with lunch. He’s not a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
chloe_274
via mobile
Read all 211 reviews
21
All photos (21)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good24%
  • Average18%
  • Poor15%
  • Terrible13%
Travelers talk about
About
Exclusive health club and boutique day spa in Ipswich, Suffolk However you choose to relax, Riverhills (formerly Clarice House Ipswich) is the perfect retreat. Conveniently located just off the A14 in Ipswich, Suffolk, our classic country house...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 6:30 AM - 10:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Clarice House Bramford Road | Clarice House, Bramford, Ipswich IP8 4AZ, England
Website
+44 1473 463262
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
59
52
39
32
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
59
52
39
32
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmy mumlovely relaxing daychanging rooms areswimming poolbirthday treatstaff were really friendlycannot faultsconesfood was lovelyfull body massagespa daysmanicure and pedicurerelaxation roomhead massageexpress manicurespa facilitieslovely spa
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Visited with my sister as a treat for our birthday. The spa and treatments were very good, staff were friendly and helpful. Food let it down a little although the cakes were great!. Would certainly return.

Thank Joann K
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded today

Glad you enjoyed your birthday treat with us and found the staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been on many spa days and breaks in the Uk and abroad and this is by far the worst place I have been too. It’s smelly, dirty and the staff are just so rude. There are so much better places around and I...More

Thank bsbroke54
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We are really sorry to hear that you have had such a negative experience with us. To allow us to fully investigate, please could you provide us with more details by email to enquiries@riverhills.co.uk

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner bought me a Groupon voucher for my birthday for a spa day for 2 with lunch. He’s not a fan of spas so he let me take my sister with me. The voucher included a 25 minute treatment - we chose a back...More

Thank chloe_274
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry to hear that your day was 'average' - we do strive to ensure everyone fully enjoys their experience at Riverhills and apologise that this was not the case for you and your sister. We're pleased to hear of the positive elements of your...More

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely day of chillaxing. Day included hour treatment and lunch. The treatment was a full body massage and was divine! The lunch was in a lovely setting and food delicious. I would definitely look to rebook - thank you!

Thank MissAlice1980
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Thanks for your feedback, so pleased to hear you had a lovely day with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again for a return visit in the future.

Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

Bought some half price vouchers earlier in the year, so treated some friends to afternoon tea. Tea starts at 3pm, so we booked for then, a table of four. The tea comes ready prepared, so there is no choice of sandwiches or cakes, it simply...More

1  Thank nadia17051070
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

So pleased to hear you all enjoyed your afternoon tea with us. Thanks for the taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Brought a spa day for nearly £200 for me and my sister for her birthday and were left very disappointed. seats uncomfortable in the pool area and can’t lay back, only ones you could recline on are all outside and used all day by guests...More

2  Thank NEngland26
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Sorry to hear of your disappointment with your spa day at Riverhills. Despite this, we're glad to hear you did find the massage and facial treatments good. It's disappointing to hear that your gel manicure was not up to standard though and we will follow...More

Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

I am very dissappointed by constantly receiving rude attitude from the same staff member. Everytime I go to the reception desk to receive my key or card, and this particular staff member is on duty, she irritably looks me up and down and gives ignorant...More

4  Thank Theresapine
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We are very sorry that you feel this way, we do expect all our staff to treat every guest with respect and remain professional at all times. We pride ourselves on our customer service. If you feel this way again, please bring this to our...More

Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our Groupon spa day, but I have to say we were left a bit disappointed.....We didn’t take our own robes or flip flops and to be fair I did know in advance from their website that they weren’t included...More

1  Thank Lynne W
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

We are really sorry to hear that you were left disappointed with your spa day with us. Spa days purchased directly through us do include the hiring of robes and flip flops to keep but the spa days purchased through third parties do not in...More

Reviewed 30 March 2018

When I arrived on Monday 26th with my friend for my 50th Birthday treat from my husband, I passed over the paperwork that was required and asked to wait in aside room. I hadn't been before so not knowing where or what to do was...More

Thank Karen A
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Me and a friend visited for a ‘Because your worth it’ package, for a second time. Last time my friends nails were so bad I complained (it was her birthday treat) and she was given a full mani/pedi voucher. We came back and had a...More

Thank icklemonkey
Naomi W, Public Relations Manager at Riverhills, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

We're sorry to hear that the manicure your friend received was not up to standard and it's a shame it wasn't brought to our attention on the day for us to rectify at the time. We understand that this may have caused your friend embarrassment,...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
415pat152
15 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Claire T | Property representative |
You can't swim at Riverhills without a membership, unless you go on a spa day.
0
Votes
Susanmartin65
5 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Naomi W | Property representative |
Yes, you're welcome to bring your own robe with you, although they are provided for day spa guests if required.
1
Vote