We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gladstone Vineyard

Gladstone Road | Rd 2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
+64 6-379 8563
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Wine

Another vineyard with great wine and very knowledgeable and informative hosts. A little off the... read more

Reviewed 20 January 2018
Joy H
,
New Zealand
Great tasting, great place to camp

Such a hidden gem, the lovely Dra gave us an informative and very fun tasting, then showed us... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2018
Elizabeth M
via mobile
Read all 28 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Gladstone Vineyard is a family business with an international reputation for distinctive, high quality wines of finesse and complexity. Located an hour north of Wellington in the Wairarapa district of New Zealand’s North Island, our principal varieties are Pinot Noir, Sauvignon Blanc and Pinot Gris. Free tastings of our award-winning Gladstone Vineyard and 12,000 Miles wines are available at cellar door or purchase a tasting tray of our current release red or white wines to enjoy in our wine garden. We also welcome larger groups (10 people or more) for tastings and winery tours. Please call ahead or email us to book ($5 pp for tasting, $10 pp for a winery tour and tasting). All our wines are available by the glass or bottle to be enjoyed in our relaxed and family-friendly setting with a petanque court and childrens' play area. New Zealand cheeses, local pate and crackers are available to purchase. We also operate a Reverse BYO – which means you are welcome to bring a picnic as long as you purchase your beverages from us. Accommodation is available in our self-contained winery apartment overlooking the vines.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good28%
  • Average0%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Gladstone Road | Rd 2, Carterton 5792, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 6-379 8563
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"no charge"
in 2 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 2 reviews
"lovely atmosphere"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 6 reviews
"dra"
in 3 reviews
"lady"
in 3 reviews
"playground"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2018

Another vineyard with great wine and very knowledgeable and informative hosts. A little off the beaten track but very worth a visit. No charge for tasting, but do buy a bottle or two . . . it's great wine!

Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

Such a hidden gem, the lovely Dra gave us an informative and very fun tasting, then showed us around the vineyard where we camped for the night under the stars. "Push Me, Pull Me" wine and beer combo is not to be missed.

Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Delighted you had a great time. Thanks for coming, and having a Gladstone Vineyard experience Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

Really special campsite that has not been found by the masses. Only a couple of places and we were so lucky to be the only ones there for the night. Good wine tasting in a cozy outdoor setting whilst the kids were enjoying themselves at...More

Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Loved this place. Great service, lovely atmosphere and a cool little play area for children so good for families too. Tried the white wines with cheese, yum!

Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Delighted you enjoyed it. Roll on better weather and more visits Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Superb wine tasting made even better by our sommelier Dra. The insights into each of the wines was extensive. We will go again.

Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the vinyard for a bite of lunch, wine tasting with a view to purchase a few bottles. No one was in the tasting room, waited for 5 mins then a chef came out and apologised and started to tell us about the wines,...More

1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Yes we got that one wrong. I apologise. Your tasting trays were being prepared while we talked to the guys. They take a bit of time. We were sorry to see you go. I could make more excuses about how different the week was from...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

We chanced on this Devine place. The welcome was genuine and warm. The wine was superb. It's the middle of winter so no cafe etc: only common sense. The piggy is gorgeous and I'd honestly buy the place if my Wellington home was in Auckland...More

Thank Gogginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Stopped in on a friends recommendation and ordered the anti-pasto platter, was not very impressed with the spread and the wine that I ordered was not the wine I received. When telling the waitress about the meal and wines she replied "this is my first...More

Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the platter was not to a good standard. We apologise. The young woman was indeed on her first day at the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Went with a group of family members (all adults) to try their wines and also have lunch. Although I do not drink, apparently the wines were not all that flash and the ones people wanted to try they couldn't. The food looks like it has...More

Thank Chairmanblau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine K, Owner at Gladstone Vineyard, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

We are sorry you had a poor experience visiting our vineyard cafe. We had some problems with food delivery but offer no excuse that the food was not to a good standard. We are neither 'scaling back' our operation nor do we care any less...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We spent a lovely afternoon at the vineyard. Thanks to Craig for our tour of the winery and to Catherine for the delicious platter and tastings. This is a great little place to bring the kids and a picnic, great playground for the little ones...More

1  Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Tulloch Lodge Country Hotel
5 reviews
8.97 km away
Gateway Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
168 reviews
8.99 km away
Masterton Motor Lodge
90 reviews
9.11 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Solway Park, Wairarapa
346 reviews
9.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Clareville Bakery
211 reviews
4.84 km away
Cafe Mirabelle
139 reviews
5.39 km away
Gladstone Country Inn
157 reviews
5.05 km away
balter Bar and Kitchen
51 reviews
5.39 km away
Nearby Attractions
Stonehenge Aotearoa
135 reviews
6.74 km away
Paua World
57 reviews
5.75 km away
Wallowing Heights
11 reviews
4.57 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gladstone Vineyard staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit