We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Island Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
809
All photos (809)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good12%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“active volcano”(189 reviews)
“packed lunch”(62 reviews)
“boat ride”(79 reviews)
About
Cruise across the pristine waters of the Bay of Plenty to White Island (Whakaari) – New Zealand’s most active volcano. After being fitted with hard hats and gas masks, guides will lead you on an exploration of the crater floor. Experience roaring...more
Contact
Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Website
+64 800 733 529
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (975)
Filter reviews
876 results
Traveler rating
730
113
16
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
730
113
16
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews active volcano packed lunch boat ride live volcano gas mask white island sandwich once in a lifetime tour company flying fish new zealand unique experience steam vents lunch box sea conditions hard hats sea legs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 876 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour in perfect weather. Tour staff were wonderful and the whole experience was exceptionally well run. The three hours on the boat were relaxing and lunch on the return was very welcome. The tour itself is amazing and having done Rotorua and...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank PhilYass
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Don’t put this off. We Kiwis are notorious for seeing the world before exploring unique sights in our own back yard and White Island is so worth the effort. Who knows how much longer we can visit for any number of reasons including the constant...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank flounder51
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was one of those bucket list items for me. Yes it is an expensive day out, yet this is so much more than an island visit. The tour was well managed, everything was done safely. How often can you walk an island volcano without...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank David R
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Kia ora David R, We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Nothing really can compare to experience Whakaari/White Island firsthand, so it was great to have you join us for a tour. Cheers!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the best day with White Island Tours. Phil and Kaitlyn were our tour guides for day day and both with so much knowledge of the area. It was the best feeling being on a live volcano experiencing surroundings of sulphate and environment. We...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TrisnPete
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora TrisnPete, Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we're thrilled that you had such a great time touring Whakaari/White Island with Phil and Kaitlin, and appreciate your sharing your experience with us. Save travels back to Australia. Cheers!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having driven back up through the North Island just for this trip and to see the Bay of Plenty, it was definitely worth it. My parents and I had a fabulous morning with the crew and especially with our guides Kelsey and Josh, who were...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Muireann89
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Muireann89, After that mammoth journey to get here for the tour, we're thrilled you enjoyed your tour of Whakaari/White Island with us and thank you for taking the time to post this review. Your kind recommendation is most appreciated also. Cheers!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very good half day trip, it is expensive, but you get to do something different, like walk on a n active volcano! We went as a family, with 4 out of 6, getting very sea sick. We did stop and play with...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank RuthVick
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora RuthVick, It was great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Whakaari/White Island with us and thank you for taking the time to post this review. Cheers!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an initial delay due to a bus being late, we headed for White Island. Our tour guide - Sarah - is a geologist and gave us a very informative tour of the island, once we transferred from the boat to the land on a...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Robyn M
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia ora Robyn M, We're thrilled you enjoyed your recent tour of Whakaari/White Island with us, and thank you for taking the time to post this review. Cheers!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This tour was wonderful. The boat trip over was delightful with several pods of dolphins accompanying the boat at different times. The captain went out of his way to ensure we got the opportunity to see the dolphins up close. The island was fascinating and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank NewZanadians
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kia ora NewZanadians, We're thrilled that you enjoyed your tour of Whakaari/White Island with us, including a visit from our marine friends, and thank you for taking the time to post this review. Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What an amazing spot. Our two tour guides were very knowledgeable and super helpful. We learned a lot. Unfortunately we didn’t see any dolphins or wales from the boat.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank ukgourmettravel
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora ukgourmettravel, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're pleased you enjoy your tour of Whakaari/White Island, despite not seeing any dolphins or Whales. Can't guarantees those, I'm afraid! Cheers!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On a perfect day we set off to White Island aboard the Predator. It was smooth sailing the whole way. Just before arrival we were given hard hats,life jackets and a mask. Once we were on the island we were given a safety briefing and...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank mike p
WITManagement, Manager at White Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora Mike P, Thank you for taking the time to post this review, it was great to hear that you enjoyed your tour of Whakaari/White Island with us. Cheers!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
White Island Rendezvous
412 reviews
.01 km away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
212 reviews
.26 km away
ONE88 On Commerce
187 reviews
1.43 km away
Alton Lodge
62 reviews
1.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 61 nearby restaurants
L'Epicerie
197 reviews
.31 km away
Spice Junction
260 reviews
.32 km away
White Island Cafe
202 reviews
.00 km away
Roquette Restaurant & Bar
315 reviews
.23 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 40 nearby attractions
Mataatua: The House That Came Home
110 reviews
.10 km away
Kohi Point Lookout
82 reviews
1.60 km away
Whakatane i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
55 reviews
.28 km away
Puketapa Lookout
7 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Perthmum65
16 January 2019|
Answer
Response from WhiteIslandTours | Property representative |
Hi there, We do occasionally have passengers that have their asthma triggered by the gases. We ask all passengers to alert us at the time of check-in should they have asthma, this just ensures our guides can keep a closer... More
0
Votes
205Daniel72
9 December 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from WhiteIslandTours | Property representative |
Hi Daniel, Yes we do. This can be booked either on our website or by calling us on 0800 733 529. On its website it is called "Tour of White Island ex Rotorua". Kind regards, Patrick
0
Votes
sweify54
7 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from gsrgtr | Reviewed this property |
Has to be 'Seen to be Beieved' If you are looking for a 'Once in a lifetime opportunity' and have the cash, NZ road trip to experience 'White Island as an Andesite Stratovolcano is truly amazing and has to be 'Seen to be... More
0
Votes