We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jackson Orchards

Features Animals
73 Luggate-Cromwell Road | Rd2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
+64 3-445 0596
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Stopped here for fruits and ice cream!

On the way from Queenstown to Lake Wanaka. There were many fruit orchards, but we stopped here. Not... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
itcheetam
,
Los Angeles, California
Lovely icecream

Stopped here whilst travelling home from Cromwell, nice fresh fruit and the ice creams looked so... read more

Reviewed 1 May 2018
ShirlK49
,
Invercargill, New Zealand
Read all 33 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Jackson Orchards is mainly a Stonefruit Orchard based just outside of Cromwell in Central Otago. We offer an Orchard Tour where we take you around our 35ha property showing you what we do here! We also have a shop opened year around which is our outlet for our fresh fruit, veges, real fruit ice creams, smoothies & juices, honey, and other produce.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travelers talk about
“real fruit” (8 reviews)
“in season” (5 reviews)
“frozen yogurt” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Suggested Duration: < 1 hour
LOCATION
73 Luggate-Cromwell Road | Rd2, Cromwell 9384, New Zealand
CONTACT
Website
+64 3-445 0596
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"real fruit"
in 8 reviews
"in season"
in 5 reviews
"frozen yogurt"
in 3 reviews
"ice cream"
in 13 reviews
"nectarines"
in 5 reviews
"boxes"
in 4 reviews
"trees"
in 5 reviews
"apple"
in 5 reviews
"nuts"
in 4 reviews
"stone"
in 2 reviews
"queenstown"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On the way from Queenstown to Lake Wanaka. There were many fruit orchards, but we stopped here. Not too many people, but lots of fruits on stand. They also had dried fruits, nuts, jam. We also tried the ice cream which was fair. We bought...More

Thank itcheetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Stopped here whilst travelling home from Cromwell, nice fresh fruit and the ice creams looked so good so we opted for one of those too. Pleased we did, they were very nice, mine I had with frozen yoghurt which I really enjoyed and reccomend!

Thank ShirlK49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We hope you had a lovely time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

I was a bit disappointed with the range and amount of fruit & fruit products. The opposition down the road has double the choice and a lovely garden. The icecream however was very good and it is good to have a choice of frozen yoghurt.More

Thank Nonapama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We are sorry to hear there wasn't much selection available when you came. Summer is our busy period and perhaps we had been cleared out before we had time to re-stock as normally there is a huge selection of fruit available...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Their real fruit ice creams here are just delightful and delicious. You can get either ice cream or frozen yoghurt. Very tasty & delicious!

Thank Breath1070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Admin at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Thanks for your review! We hope to see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

Not so good today....we have bought many ice creams here but today sadly portion size had way too much variance. A large was purchased but the girl delivered a very small ice cream - I had noticed while waiting that the girl operating on the...More

Thank NZJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Admin at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hi Julz - Thanks for your message. I am really sorry to hear that you experienced some inconsistencies with the size of the ice cream. We value your feedback as it only helps us improve our customer service. We have had some new staff over...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Bought some "Mixed Size" Christmas Cherries online and phoned Jackson's Orchards and got confirmation the cherries are excellent and some 5 Star Restaurants in Auckland also order from them. When the cherries were received, most of the cherries are alright size ranging from 18mm to...More

Thank Steven Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your message Steven. We trust that you have received our personal reply in December, but we thought it would be best to clear this up on TripAdvisor as well. We are sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your order. Our Christmas...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We were planning on staying in Cromwell township but every motel was full. We had noticed a sign for cabins on the way in so ventured a couple of kilometers back out of town to Jackson's. Here we found that on the off season, they...More

Thank johnY7566XH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us - we will see you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 December 2017 via mobile

Now is the time to visit. The cherries are fresh and tasty. Much better than the stuff you get at the supermarket. This place is not as busy as Mrs Jones (which when I went past was bedlam). They have a good selection of dried...More

Thank JenJenE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We look forward to seeing you next summer for the cherry season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2017

We stopped over during off harvest season so there weren't much fruits to buy and also didn't make sense to take a tour of the orchards since there were no fruits to pick. There were other provisions also available for purchase like dried fruits, nuts...More

Thank WanderEatSleepPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for your review! We hope you can visit us again in summer when our famous stonefruits are available again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This place has so much on offer from fruit, veg and provisions. Sadly the pickle we purchased but it had lots of stone (fruit variety) in it, must have picked to dud one. Toilets which where away from the building were clean.More

Thank Sandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacksonOrchards, Front Office Manager at Jackson Orchards, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Sandy, we are sorry to hear that your pickle had some stone in it. Most of the provisions we sell are locally handmade - so this may have happened in error - our sincerest apologies. We would be more than happy to either refund...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 9 hotels in Cromwell
Harvest Hotel
92 reviews
.84 km away
Carrick Lodge Motel
156 reviews
1.00 km away
Colonial Manor Motel
154 reviews
1.08 km away
Lake Dunstan Motel
80 reviews
1.09 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Souvlaki & Kebab Grill
132 reviews
.91 km away
The Kitchen Cromwell
107 reviews
.92 km away
Fusee Rouge Cafe
137 reviews
.90 km away
Nichols Garden Cafe
138 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wooing Tree Vineyard
88 reviews
.45 km away
Cromwell i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
54 reviews
.88 km away
Aurum Wines
45 reviews
.58 km away
Cromwell Fruit Sculpture
39 reviews
.73 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Jackson Orchards staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor