We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iceland Horse Tours

Features Animals
Saudarkrokur, Iceland
More
About Iceland Horse Tours
At our farm Helluland in the north of Iceland we offer ridinglessons and horse tours. It does not matter whether you are beginners or advanced riders, whether you come alone or as a group, and you can also choose between short and long tours - we will design a trip tailored according to your individual needs!
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
See all hours
Travelers talk about

Iceland Horse Tours
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
60Reviews2Q&A
Traveler rating
  • 59
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Florine wrote a review Mar 2020
5 contributions
I booked by tour well in advance, so I could plan my trip ahead. I had good email contact with Luka, who gave me advice about my trip and kept me posted on weather changes constantly. As the ride date grew closer, the weather forecast changed to less than ideal and the plan was changed. With nice flexibility, I was able to both ride one day earlier and stay in the guest house on another night. The ride itself was very nice. The area is amazing and three girls that work there were riding with me, all the same age, so we had fun. It was too cold (-12°C) for the horses to go all out, but we managed a few tölts and a little gallop on the black sand beach. All in all, nice experience and definitely worth the detour from the ring road!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Icelandhorsetours, Inhaber at Iceland Horse Tours
Responded 12 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your words. It was really nice to have you around! All the best for you!
Read more
Tine wrote a review Sep 2019
2 contributions
We had a horse tour for one hour, just the two of us with the guide Julia. She was very nice and told us a lot about the horses and Iceland. Moreover she showed us how to ride Tölt. The price is more than fair. Thank you again for that great experience!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Icelandhorsetours, Inhaber at Iceland Horse Tours
Responded 10 Sep 2019
Thanks a lot for your review and good to hear that you enjoyed the tour! Thanks for visiting us!
Read more
Enni Lehtonen wrote a review Aug 2019
1 contribution
We booked the two-hour ride the day before and still got the tour for just us two (and the guide of course)! I was really impressed to get a private tour like that, and later found out that this is just how they do it here. It was so much more fun like this, compared to going on a tour with a lot of random people. Our guide (sorry, can’t remember her name) was super qualified and attentive! We had so much fun chatting with her and she made the tour perfect for both me and my boyfriend even though he’s a beginner and I’m more experienced. Our horses were amazing and offered us a lot of smooth tölt. Everyone was really friendly here and also the prices are very reasonable. Will definitely come back if ever in Iceland again! Thank you for a great experiance!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Icelandhorsetours, Inhaber at Iceland Horse Tours
Responded 5 Aug 2019
Thanks a lot for your review! And great to hear that you enjoyed the ride! Then we hope you will come back to Iceland so we can see you again ;)
Read more
sisterbay716 wrote a review Jul 2019
Chicago, Illinois278 contributions120 helpful votes
With only a few previous rides under my belt, I was a little skeptical about riding on the uneven terrain atop a horse whom I had never met. But Frieda, our patient and friendly guide, put me on Makka (please forgive all spellings!) and within minutes I was at ease. The 2 hour ride was simply gorgeous, leading through some grassland to the top of a rocky promontory with incredible views. We did a bit of the Icelandic gait on the flat land and I was quite pleased to have stayed on my horse. It was an exhilarating experience that I would have repeated the next morning had we had time. Note that it is COLD atop the mountain. Our day was sunny and gorgeous, but still cold. Wear gloves if you have them. We were two adults and our two teens -- and we all loved it. Helmets are supplied. Bathroom is in the family's home. This is a stable that is marked "Helluland" at the driveway, but you'll have to walk around to find the stable to the left.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Icelandhorsetours, Inhaber at Iceland Horse Tours
Responded 29 Jul 2019
Thank you so much for your words! Have a good time!
Read more
Skip wrote a review Jun 2019
1 contribution
We had a wonderful time riding the Icelandic horse.Our guide was informative and had us at ease for our tour.Highly recommend this tour.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Icelandhorsetours, Inhaber at Iceland Horse Tours
Responded 29 Jun 2019
Thank you so much and that you have been at our place!
Read more
Previous
1234569