We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malolo Whale Watching

Features Animals
101 Maalaea Boat Harbor Rd, Slip #87, Maalaea Harbor, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5900
+1 808-856-4274
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Whale Watching

We were with a family group of 7 . The crew was courteous and helpful. The safety regulations were... read more

Reviewed 23 March 2018
bryonp913
,
woodstock, Canada
Thar she blows

It was a good trip saw plenty of whales. The captain likes to tell jokes, you can get drinks on... read more

Reviewed 17 February 2018
oldfart5
,
Palatine, Illinois
via mobile
Read all 20 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“catamaran” (2 reviews)
“whales” (12 reviews)
“ship” (2 reviews)
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
101 Maalaea Boat Harbor Rd, Slip #87, Maalaea Harbor, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5900
CONTACT
Website
+1 808-856-4274
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"catamaran"
in 2 reviews
"whales"
in 12 reviews
"ship"
in 2 reviews
"passengers"
in 4 reviews
"crew"
in 10 reviews
"maui"
in 4 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2018

We were with a family group of 7 . The crew was courteous and helpful. The safety regulations were explained and the ship seemed to be 90% full. My Grandson was taken by the crew up to the Captains Chair and allowed to sit up...More

Thank bryonp913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We will let everyone know you had a great time and the crew was great! Thanks for the special shout out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

It was a good trip saw plenty of whales. The captain likes to tell jokes, you can get drinks on board. Saw several whales up close

Thank oldfart5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Sounds like you had a whale of a time! Thanks for joining us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We went looking for whales. There were out there but never got close. We motored around trying to be in the right position but didn't work out. The staff were friendly and nice, so we still had a good time. It was also good that...More

Thank ccriderYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

We are about to get into our busy whale season. Thanks for coming out with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

In the captain's intro, he said "the whales are pretty much gone now". I'm disappointed they are still selling tickets if they already know this. Price wasn't that bad but it was a complete waste of time.More

Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

We love helping guests to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment and are very sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. Please give us a call or visit us again on your next visit to Maui. We'd love to get a chance to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I wouldn't bother with this tour again, even though the price wasn't bad. Seemed pretty unprofessional. There were only two whales sighted at a distance.More

Thank jerrymI1826PB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Aloha: Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your experience. Booking fun, safe and affordable boating adventures is one of our highest priorities, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. We are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Because they heavily advertise the 2 for $29 special, you get a different crowd on this boat. But it is still a fun boat ride, and the whale watching is always good. Drinks are only $3, which leads to a party atmosphere, which can be...More

Thank SATerribleTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Glad you had a good time and would go again. We have the best deal in town! Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Did a 2 for 1 whale watch ($30 bucks) tour on the Malolo and struck gold with the show we got. We did an afternoon watch with probably around 50 on board. We had great weather and saw some great whale activity. At least 8...More

Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thanks for your review, WOW 8 breaches!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Disappointing when the first thing the boat captain says as we are pulling out of the harbor is "the bar is now open". The captain made minimal attempts to veer from his set course to get near any whale activity. Difficult to move around the...More

Thank Gerald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Aloha, We are sorry you didn't see as much whale activity that you wanted to. Another trip advisor reviewer posted on the same day said that they saw 8 breaches. It is sometimes the luck of the draw. We hope you will give us another...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2017

We had an 11 pm flight on a 11 am checkout day. the 4-6pm Whale watching cruise was an exceptional way to spend our last few hours on Maui. The crew showed us hospitality and many Whales-breaching , tail flapping, and flipper waving. It was...More

Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We have been on countless whale watches with different tour operators over the years... This was the first time we have had a bad experience. We booked the tour online for 4 adults and 4 kids (kids 12 and under free with a paying adult)...More

Thank roopa27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

We have looked into the situation. It appears that you booked 4 adult tickets who were placed on the manifest. You brought 8 people to the harbor with you. The 4 children weren't on the manifest. The children who weren't on the manifest could not...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 hotels in Maui
Kohea Kai Resort Maui
90 reviews
6.23 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
2,232 reviews
10.22 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
607 reviews
11.92 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Maui Oceanfront
1,468 reviews
11.96 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Hula Cookies & Ice Cream
173 reviews
.21 km away
Cafe del Vino
35 reviews
.14 km away
Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant
262 reviews
.21 km away
Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe
286 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby Attractions
Alii Nui
1,443 reviews
.18 km away
Pacific Whale Foundation
9,483 reviews
.37 km away
Maui Fun Charters
166 reviews
.28 km away
Maui Ocean Center
4,240 reviews
.31 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Malolo Whale Watching staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit