We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malolo Whale Watching

Features Animals
Book In Advance
Tours from Malolo Whale Watching tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
14
All photos (14)
Full view
Traveler Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good25%
  • Average5%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible15%
Feb 16, 2018
“Thar she blows”
Mar 22, 2018
“Whale Watching”
About
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
25°
16°
Jan
25°
16°
Feb
25°
16°
Mar
Contact
101 Maalaea Boat Harbor Rd, Slip #87, Maalaea Harbor, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-5900
Website
+1 808-856-4274
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
10
5
1
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
10
5
1
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We were with a family group of 7 . The crew was courteous and helpful. The safety regulations were explained and the ship seemed to be 90% full. My Grandson was taken by the crew up to the Captains Chair and allowed to sit up...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank bryonp913
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

We will let everyone know you had a great time and the crew was great! Thanks for the special shout out!

Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

It was a good trip saw plenty of whales. The captain likes to tell jokes, you can get drinks on board. Saw several whales up close

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank oldfart5
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Sounds like you had a whale of a time! Thanks for joining us!

Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We went looking for whales. There were out there but never got close. We motored around trying to be in the right position but didn't work out. The staff were friendly and nice, so we still had a good time. It was also good that...More

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank ccriderYVR
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

We are about to get into our busy whale season. Thanks for coming out with us.

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

In the captain's intro, he said "the whales are pretty much gone now". I'm disappointed they are still selling tickets if they already know this. Price wasn't that bad but it was a complete waste of time.More

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank Marco P
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

We love helping guests to experience Maui's amazing ocean environment and are very sorry that we did not meet and exceed your expectations. Please give us a call or visit us again on your next visit to Maui. We'd love to get a chance to...More

Reviewed 9 April 2017

I wouldn't bother with this tour again, even though the price wasn't bad. Seemed pretty unprofessional. There were only two whales sighted at a distance.More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank jerrymI1826PB
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Aloha: Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback about your experience. Booking fun, safe and affordable boating adventures is one of our highest priorities, and we are very sorry to hear that your experience was anything less than wonderful. We are...More

Reviewed 18 March 2017

Because they heavily advertise the 2 for $29 special, you get a different crowd on this boat. But it is still a fun boat ride, and the whale watching is always good. Drinks are only $3, which leads to a party atmosphere, which can be...More

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank SATerribleTwins
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Glad you had a good time and would go again. We have the best deal in town! Mahalo

Reviewed 6 February 2017

Did a 2 for 1 whale watch ($30 bucks) tour on the Malolo and struck gold with the show we got. We did an afternoon watch with probably around 50 on board. We had great weather and saw some great whale activity. At least 8...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Ron H
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Thanks for your review, WOW 8 breaches!

Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Disappointing when the first thing the boat captain says as we are pulling out of the harbor is "the bar is now open". The captain made minimal attempts to veer from his set course to get near any whale activity. Difficult to move around the...More

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Gerald V
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Aloha, We are sorry you didn't see as much whale activity that you wanted to. Another trip advisor reviewer posted on the same day said that they saw 8 breaches. It is sometimes the luck of the draw. We hope you will give us another...More

Reviewed 20 January 2017

We had an 11 pm flight on a 11 am checkout day. the 4-6pm Whale watching cruise was an exceptional way to spend our last few hours on Maui. The crew showed us hospitality and many Whales-breaching , tail flapping, and flipper waving. It was...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank B F
Reviewed 19 January 2017

We have been on countless whale watches with different tour operators over the years... This was the first time we have had a bad experience. We booked the tour online for 4 adults and 4 kids (kids 12 and under free with a paying adult)...More

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank roopa27
BossFrogAccount, General Manager at Malolo Whale Watching, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

We have looked into the situation. It appears that you booked 4 adult tickets who were placed on the manifest. You brought 8 people to the harbor with you. The 4 children weren't on the manifest. The children who weren't on the manifest could not...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 54 nearby hotels
Kohea Kai Maui
104 reviews
6.23 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
2,275 reviews
10.23 km away
Maui Beach Hotel
644 reviews
11.92 km away
Days Inn by Wyndham Maui Oceanfront
1,501 reviews
11.96 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,051 nearby restaurants
Hula Cookies & Ice Cream
186 reviews
.15 km away
Cafe del Vino
36 reviews
.14 km away
Seascape Ma'alaea Restaurant
287 reviews
.21 km away
Ma'alaea General Store & Cafe
303 reviews
.31 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,215 nearby attractions
Alii Nui Sailing Charters
1,602 reviews
.18 km away
Maui Ocean Center
4,727 reviews
.31 km away
PacWhale Eco-Adventures
10,578 reviews
.37 km away
Maui Fun Charters
188 reviews
.28 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Malolo Whale Watching staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines